Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-21 are pending, claims 11-19 are withdrawn, and claims 20-21 are new.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/12/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,285,775. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims can be found in the allowed claims.
Claim 1 of the current application can be found in claim 1 of US 12,285,775.
Claim 2 of the current application can be found in claim 1 of US 12,285,775, where the claimed ranged of K greater than one can be made obvious to incorporate K greater then 0, as 1 is greater then 0.
Claim 4 of the current application is found in claim 3 of US 12,285,775, as claim 1 already discloses a positive none zero value for k in US 12,285,775.
Claim 6 of the current application is found in claim 1 of US 12,285,775.
Claim 7 of the current application is found in claim 3 of US 12,285,775.
Claim 8 of the current application is found in claim 10 of US 12,285,775.
Claim 9 of the current application is found in claim 11 of US 12,285,775.
Claim 10 of the current application is found in claim 13 of US 12,285,775.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lipp (U.S. 2007/0017505)
With respect to claim 1, Lipp discloses A method by an electrostatic atomizer for electrostatically atomizing a fluid (abstract), comprising:
monitoring one or more of: an emitter voltage Va of an emitter electrode (paragraph 0025, electrode associated within the spray nozzle to charge the liquid therein) in liquid contact with the fluid in a chamber of the electrostatic atomizer (paragraph 0025, fluid within 30 before the aperture formed by 80); or an aperture voltage Vb of the chamber (voltage of the aperture electrode 80/82 being at the outlet of the chamber where the aperture is then formed); or an emitter to aperture voltage (Va-Vb) (paragraph 0036-0037, and 0059, noted specifically monitoring the output current such that it can adjust the output voltage based on the measurements from the sensors);
determining one or more of: the emitter to aperture voltage (Va-Vb); the emitter voltage Va; or the aperture voltage Vb are not within respective predetermined thresholds (paragraph 0036-0038, the noted threshold being the desired voltage used in the system to obtain the desired spray); and
adjusting the emitter voltage Va and/or the aperture voltage Vb (paragraph 0036-0038, and 0059, noted specifically monitoring the output current such that it can adjust the output voltage based on the measurements from the sensors, and thus adjusting the voltage to the emitter or the aperture to get the desired difference for the desired spray),
electrostatically atomizing the fluid into a charged spray (paragraph 0006)), wherein the charged spray includes a plurality of charged droplets and/or particles (paragraph 0006).
With respect to claim 2, Lipp discloses the plurality of droplets and/or particulates in the charged spray are characterized by a K factor greater than 0 (as the droplets are charged there would be a K factor greater than 0), wherein the K factor is a ratio of electrostatic energy of surface charges (We) of the droplets in the plurality of charged droplets and surface energy (Ws) of the droplets in the plurality of charged droplets (as the noted droplets are charged, see paragraph 0025, where the surface charge balances against the tension of the liquid, where the jet breaks into droplets of more or less uniform size for the collectively forma cloud is indicative of such a positive charge resulting in a positive K factor, and thus greater then 0).
With respect to claim 4, Lipp discloses wherein the plurality of droplets and/or particulates in the charged spray are characterized by a non-zero positive K factor (as disclosed above in claim 2 and described in paragraph 0025), wherein the K factor is a ratio of electrostatic energy of surface charges (We) of the droplets in the plurality of charged droplets and surface energy (Ws) of the droplets in the plurality of charged droplets (as the noted droplets are charged, see paragraph 0025, where the surface charge balances against the tension of the liquid, where the jet breaks into droplets of more or less uniform size for the collectively forma cloud is indicative of such a positive charge resulting in a positive K factor, and thus greater then 0, if K was 0, no droplets would form, as the charge applied to the surface would not be enough to overcome the surface tension(energy) and create the cloud of droplets).
With respect to claim 5, Lipp discloses flowing the fluent material over the emitter electrode and through the aperture of the chamber (as shown in figure 1, where fluid flows over the electrode inside 30as well as the electrode of 80); and using the emitter to aperture voltage (Va - Vb) to insert charge into the fluent material as the fluent material flows over the emitter and through the aperture of the chamber and electrostatically atomizes into the charged spray (paragraph 0025).
With respect to claim 6, Lipp discloses adjusting the emitter voltage Va (paragraphs 0028 and 0041) and/or the aperture voltage Vb Va (paragraphs 0028 and 0041) to generate the plurality of droplets and/or particulates in the charged spray having a predetermined value of a K factor (paragraph 0025, see above rejection of claim 2), wherein the K factor is a ratio of electrostatic energy of surface charges (We) of the droplets in the plurality of charged droplets and surface energy (Ws) of the droplets in the plurality of charged droplets (as the noted droplets are charged, see paragraph 0025, where the surface charge balances against the tension of the liquid, where the jet breaks into droplets of more or less uniform size for the collectively forma cloud is indicative of such a positive charge resulting in a positive K factor, and thus greater then 0).
With respect to claim 7, Lipp discloses adjusting the emitter voltage Va (paragraphs 0039-0041) and/or the aperture voltage Vb (paragraphs 0039-0041) comprises one or more of:
adjusting a power supply to the emitter electrode to increase or decrease the emitter voltage Va (paragraphs 0039-0041); or adjusting a variable impedance circuit to increase or decrease the aperture voltage Vb (paragraphs 0039-0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIpp.
With respect to claim 3, Lipp discloses the plurality of droplets and/or particulates in the charged spray are monodispersed corresponding to a K factor (see above rejection of claim 2, as having a positive k factor) wherein the K factor is a ratio of electrostatic energy of surface charges (We) of the droplets in the plurality of charged droplets and surface energy (Ws) of the droplets in the plurality of charged droplets (where there is surface charge, see paragraph 0025, and surface energy (being the surface tension of the liquid being the energy of the liquid forming the tension)), but fails to disclose K ≥ 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize K ≥ 1 in the system of Lipp, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II-A). Paragraph 0025 of Lipp, discloses the electrical force exerted on the liquid surface overcomes the surface tension, generating a thin jet of liquid. This jet breaks into droplets of more or less uniform size, which collectively form a cloud. In another embodiment, the electrode is grounded while the discharge electrode is positively charged (at, for example, twice the voltage), or the nozzle electrode can be positive. In any case, a strong electric field is required. This is being understood that a higher charge onto the fluid allows for such breaking against the surface tension, so increasing the surface charge against what is understood by the examiner as the surface energy results in the jet breaking up, and higher the charge versus the surface tension (energy) then the more droplets in the collective cloud would be formed, as more energy is present to break apart the fluid into droplets.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipp in view of Kelly (U.S. 4,581,675).
With respect to claim 8, Lipp discloses wherein Va and Vb are measured, but not in relation to a third electrode physically separated from both the emitter and the chamber.
Kelly, column 9 row 55 through column 10 row 15, discloses using a third external electrode which is able to enhance acceleration of the charged droplets. Further disclosing measuring the external electrode currently (column 18 row 55 through column 19 row 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a third electrode, also measured, as disclosed by Kelly into the system of Lipp, as utilizing another electrode would allow for enhanced acceleration of the charged droplets, where the electrode of Kelly is shown external from the emitter and chamber as a noted “external electrode.”
With respect to claim 9, Lipp as modified discloses the third electrode is downstream and collects charges from at least a portion of the plurality of charged droplets (as understood the electrode of Kelly collects charges from the charged droplets such that the fluid accelerates their charges when collected and moved through the electrodes voltage to then accelerate the charged droplets).
With respect to claim 10, Lip discloses adjusting the emitter voltage Va and/or the aperture voltage Vb comprises one or more of: adjusting a power supply to the emitter electrode to increase or decrease the emitter voltage Va with respect to the voltage of the third electrode (as all adjustments, disclosed in the rejection of claim 7, would then be done with respect to the voltage that is also being applied to the third electrode incorporated by the teachings of Kelly); or adjusting a variable impedance circuit to increase or decrease the aperture voltage Vb with respect to the voltage of the third electrode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of the application fails to disclose the plurality of the droplets and/or particulates in the charged spray are monodispersed corresponding to a K factor K <1, and wherein the plurality of charged droplets and/or particulates form a spherical crystalline cage structure, and wherein a plurality of droplet diameters of the charged droplets and/or particulates are determined by an injected charge density.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752