DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton, IV et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2023/0027543 A1), hereinafter Shelton, in view of Kulkarni et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2022/0103471 A1), hereinafter Kulkarni.
2. With respect to claims 1 and 15, a system for remotely controlling robotic assisted medical procedures (0081, the remote surgical site, where the robotic system can be seen in 0040), the system comprising: a plurality of point-of-presence nodes configured to connect any physician console of a plurality of physician consoles to any compatible patient-side robotic procedure system of a plurality of patient-side robotic procedure systems configured to be located remotely from the plurality of physician consoles (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042 & 0052); a first PoP node of the plurality of PoP nodes configured to be connected to: a first physician console of the plurality of physician consoles by a first dedicated connection and a second physician console of the plurality of physician consoles by a second dedicated connection (0042 & 0052, where the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); and a second PoP node of the plurality of PoP nodes configured to be connected to: a first patient-side robotic procedure system of the plurality of patient-side robotic procedure systems by a third dedicated connection and a second patient-side robotic procedure system of the plurality of patient-side robotic procedure systems by a fourth dedicated connection (figure 4, where the surgical hub connects different interfaces with different devices. See also: 0180, the virtual surgical hub being built from a plurality of smaller surgical hubs as well as the different operating theaters of 0102); the first and second PoP nodes being further configured to: enable a first session connection between the first physician console and the first patient-side robotic procedure system to facilitate performing a first robotic assisted medical procedure, the first session connection spanning the first dedicated connection connecting the first physician console to the first PoP node, the third dedicated connection connecting the first patient-side robotic procedure system to the second PoP node (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); via the first session connection, facilitate transmission of first control data from the first physician console to the first patient-side robotic procedure system, the first control data being used by the first patient-side robotic procedure system to control at least one instrument or at least one imaging system of the first patient-side robotic procedure system (0042, where the robotic control can be seen in figure 2 & 0100, the wireless communication); via the first session connection, facilitate transmission of first image data obtained by the at least one imaging system of the first patient-side robotic procedure system to the first physician console (0070); enable a second session connection between the second physician console and the second patient-side robotic procedure system to facilitate performing a second robotic assisted medical procedure, the second session connection spanning the second dedicated connection connecting the second physician console to the first PoP node, the fourth dedicated connection connecting the second patient-side robotic procedure system to the second PoP node (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); via the second session connection, facilitate transmission of second control data from the second physician console to the second patient-side robotic procedure system, the second control data being used by the second patient-side robotic procedure system to control at least one instrument or at least one imaging system of the second patient-side robotic procedure system (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); and via the second session connection, facilitate transmission of second image data obtained by the at least one imaging system of the second patient-side robotic procedure system to the second physician console (0070).
However, while Shelton did teach that the devices can be located in different geographical locations (0050 & 0180), Shelton did not explicitly state that the different PoP/Hub devices directed connected with each other in as much as Shelton did not explicitly state that the second PoP node configured to be connected to the first PoP node by a fifth connection. On the other hand, Kulkarni did teach that the second PoP node configured to be connected to the first PoP node by a fifth connection (0030-0031 & 0069. See also: figure 4, items 420, 425, and 445, where the hubs are the PoP devices). Both of the systems of Shelton and Kulkarni are directed towards managing connected devices via hubs and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Shelton, to utilize direct hub-to-hub connections, as taught by Kulkarni, in order to more easily facilitate remote control of disparate devices.
3. As for claims 2 and 16, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 15 (respectively). In addition, Shelton taught wherein the first and second session connections facilitate simultaneous transmission of first data over the first session connection and second data over the second session connection such that the first and second robotic assisted medical procedures can be performed simultaneously, and wherein the first data is separated from the second data (0011 & 0167).
4. As for claims 3 and 17, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 15 (respectively). In addition, Shelton taught wherein the at least one of first, second, third, or fourth dedicated connections further comprises a direct connection (figure 4, device 1a-1n & 0064. See also: 0177, the dedicated Rs-232).
5. As for claim 4, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Kulkarni taught wherein the fifth connection comprises a dedicated connection (0007, the leased lines).
6. As for claim 5, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Kulkarni taught wherein at least one of the first or second PoP nodes is configured to be connected to at least one other PoP node (figure 4, items 420, 425).
7. As for claims 6 and 20, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 15 (respectively). In addition, Shelton taught receive a first request to establish the first session connection between the first physician console and the first patient-side robotic procedure system (0203); responsive to receiving the first request, establish the first session connection between the first physician console and the first patient-side robotic procedure system; receive a second request to establish the second session connection between the second physician console and the second patient-side robotic procedure system; and responsive to receiving the second request, establish the second session connection between the second physician console and second first patient-side robotic procedure system (0203, where the robotic control can be seen in 0197).
8. As for claim 18, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 15. In addition, Kulkarni taught wherein the at least one of first or second dedicated connections comprises a leased line (0007, the leased lines).
9. As for claim 19, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 15. In addition, Shelton taught wherein the third connection comprises a dedicated connection (0064).
10. With respect to claim 7, Shelton taught a system for remotely controlling robotic assisted medical procedures (0081, the remote surgical site, where the robotic system can be seen in 0040), the system comprising: a plurality of point-of-presence nodes configured to connect any physician console of a plurality of physician consoles to any compatible patient-side robotic procedure system of a plurality of patient-side robotic procedure systems configured to be located remotely from the plurality of physician consoles (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042 & 0052); a first PoP node of the plurality of PoP nodes configured to be connected to a first physician console of the plurality of physician consoles by a first dedicated connection (0042 & 0052, where the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); a second PoP node of the plurality of PoP nodes configured to be connected to a first patient-side robotic procedure system of the plurality of patient-side robotic procedure systems by a second dedicated connection, the second PoP node configured to be connected to the first PoP node by a third connection (figure 4, where the surgical hub connects different interfaces with different devices. See also: 0180, the virtual surgical hub being built from a plurality of smaller surgical hubs as well as the different operating theaters of 0102); and a third PoP node of the plurality of PoP nodes configured to be connected to: the first PoP node by a fourth connection and the second PoP node by a fifth connection (0042 & 0052, where the process is repeated), the first, second, and third PoP nodes being further configured to: enable a first session connection between the first physician console and the first patient-side robotic procedure system to facilitate performing a first robotic assisted medical procedure, the first session connection spanning the first dedicated connection connecting the first physician console to the first PoP node, the second dedicated connection connecting the first patient-side robotic procedure system to the second PoP node (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064), via the first session connection, facilitate transmission of first control data from the first physician console to the first patient-side robotic procedure system, the first control data being used by the first patient-side robotic procedure system to control at least one instrument or at least one imaging system of the first patient-side robotic procedure system (0042, where the robotic control can be seen in figure 2 & 0100, the wireless communication); and via the first session connection, facilitate transmission of first image data obtained by the at least one imaging system of the first patient-side robotic procedure system to the first physician console (0070).
However, while Shelton did teach that the devices can be located in different geographical locations (0050 & 0180), Shelton did not explicitly state that the different PoP/Hub devices directed connected with each other in as much as Shelton did not explicitly state that the third connection connecting the first and second PoP nodes or 2) the fourth connection connecting the first PoP node to the third PoP node and the fifth connection connecting the second PoP node to the third PoP node. On the other hand, Kulkarni did teach that the third connection connecting the first and second PoP nodes or 2) the fourth connection connecting the first PoP node to the third PoP node and the fifth connection connecting the second PoP node to the third PoP node (0030-0031 & 0069. See also: figure 4, items 420, 425, and 445, where the hubs are the PoP devices). Both of the systems of Shelton and Kulkarni are directed towards managing connected devices via hubs and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Shelton, to utilize direct hub-to-hub connections, as taught by Kulkarni, in order to more easily facilitate remote control of disparate devices.
11. As for claim 8, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 7. In addition, Shelton taught wherein the first, second, and third PoP nodes are configured to: at a first time, enable the first session connection that spans the first dedicated connection connecting the first physician console to the first PoP node, the second dedicated connection connecting the first patient-side robotic procedure system to the second PoP node, and the third connection connecting the first and second PoP nodes (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); and at a second time subsequent to the first time: determine that performance of the third connection satisfies a degradation threshold; and in response to determining that performance of the third connection satisfies the degradation threshold, adjust the first session connection to span the first dedicated connection, the second dedicated connection, the fourth connection connecting the first PoP node to the third PoP node, and the fifth connection connecting the second PoP node to the third PoP node (0198, where the improving throughput implicitly teaches the degradation. Accordingly, the redundant routes can be seen in 0167).
12. As for claim 9, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 7. In addition, Shelton taught wherein: the first PoP node of the plurality of PoP nodes is further configured to be connected to a second physician console of the plurality of physician consoles by the first dedicated connection (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); the second PoP node of the plurality of PoP nodes is further configured to be connected to a second patient-side robotic procedure system of the plurality of patient-side robotic procedure systems by the second dedicated connection (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); and the first, second, and third PoP nodes are further configured to: enable a second session connection between the second physician console and the second patient-side robotic procedure system to facilitate performing a second robotic assisted medical procedure, the second session connection spanning the first dedicated connection connecting the second physician console to the first PoP node, the second dedicated connection connecting the second patient-side robotic procedure system to the second PoP node (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064), and one of 1) the third connection connecting the first and second PoP nodes or 2) the fourth connection connecting the first PoP node to the third PoP node and the fifth connection connecting the second PoP node to the third PoP node (Kulkarni: 0030-0031 & 0069. See also: figure 4, items 420, 425, and 445, where the hubs are the PoP devices); via the second session connection, facilitate transmission of second control data from the second physician console to the second patient-side robotic procedure system, the second control data being used by the second patient-side robotic procedure system to control at least one instrument or at least one imaging system of the second patient-side robotic procedure system; and via the second session connection, facilitate transmission of second image data obtained by the at least one imaging system of the second patient-side robotic procedure system to the second physician console (0042, where the robotic control can be seen in figure 2 & 0100, the wireless communication).
13. As for claim 10, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 9. In addition, Shelton taught wherein the first and second session connections facilitate simultaneous transmission of first data over the first session connection and second data over the second session connection such that the first and second robotic assisted medical procedures can be performed simultaneously, and wherein the first data is separated from the second data (0167-0167).
14. As for claim 11, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 7. In addition, Shelton taught wherein: the third PoP node of the plurality of PoP nodes is further configured to be connected to a third patient-side robotic procedure system of the plurality of patient-side robotic procedure systems by a sixth dedicated connection (Fig 4, devices 1a-1n and 2a-2m, where the surgical hub connects to multiple user interfaces and multiple devices in accordance with 0042, & the dedicated connection can be seen in 0064); and the first and third PoP nodes are further configured to: enable a third session connection between the first physician console and the third patient-side robotic procedure system to facilitate performing a third robotic assisted medical procedure, the third session connection spanning the first dedicated connection connecting the first physician console to the first PoP node, the sixth dedicated connection connecting the third patient-side robotic procedure system to the third PoP node, and the fourth connection connecting the first PoP node to the third PoP node; via the third session connection, facilitate transmission of third control data from the first physician console to the third patient-side robotic procedure system, the third control data being used by the third patient-side robotic procedure system to control at least one instrument or at least one imaging system of the third patient-side robotic procedure system (0042, where the robotic control can be seen in figure 2 & 0100, the wireless communication); and via the third session connection, facilitate transmission of third image data obtained by the at least one imaging system of the third patient-side robotic procedure system to the first physician console (0070).
15. As for claim 12, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 7. In addition, Shelton taught wherein the at least one of first or second dedicated connections further comprises a direct connection (0064. See also: 0041, the direct communication).
16. As for claim 13, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 7. In addition, Shelton taught wherein at least one of the third, fourth, or fifth connections comprises a dedicated connection (0064).
17. As for claim 14, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 7. In addition, Shelton taught a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: receive a first request to establish the first session connection between the first physician console and the first patient-side robotic procedure system (0203); and responsive to receiving the first request, establish the first session connection between the first physician console and the first patient-side robotic procedure system (0203, where the robotic control can be seen in 0197).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) Ross et al. (Patent No. US 9,251,313 B2), columns 2-4.
(b) McGlennen et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2011/0178814 A1), 0037 & 0071.
(c) Roh et al. (Patent No. US 11,908,566 B2), columns 31-32.
(d) Wang et al. (Patent No. US 9,849,593 B2), column 1.
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443