DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (2016/0294197) (hereinafter “Thompson”).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a system (Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) comprising: a power source (external power supply connected to Fig.1 and 2; please refer to at least ¶ 14); a deterministic energy provisioning device (at least Fig.2 and 32 in Fig.4) coupled to the power source; and a load device (system components of the system shown in Fig.1, which consumes power during the power transition events “68” in Fig.6, which includes “BOOT”, “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN”, “STREAM GAMES”, etc.; please refer to at least ¶ 14) configured to receive power from the deterministic energy provisioning device (received power from Vsys bus 38 in Fig.2; please refer to at least ¶ 34); a processor (12); and a non-transitory, computer-readable memory (14) storing executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations (please refer to at least ¶ 27) comprising: determining a first amount of power demanded by the load device (for example – the amount of power demanded by the system components during the “BOOT” event) in a first scheduled operating state (for example – “BOOT”); provisioning, by the deterministic energy provisioning device, the first amount of power to the load device during the first scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 31, 35 and 36 for provisioning required amount of power for the “BOOT” event); determining a second amount of power demanded by the load device in a second scheduled operating state (for example – amount of power demanded by the load device during either one of the event “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES”; please refer to at least ¶ 38-44), and provisioning, by the deterministic energy provisioning device, the second amount of power to the load device during the second scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 38-44).
Thompson doesn’t explicitly disclose the second amount of power being greater than the first amount of power.
However, the amount of power demanded by the load device over the events “BOOT”, “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES”) are depending on the usage amount and total time required to operate. Thus, it would have been obvious that the event such as “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES” would have consume more power than the “BOOT” event, such as Thompson mentioned in ¶ 38 that “high-power-use application such as gaming application”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the second amount of power being greater than the first amount of power, as such would have been based on the power usage amount and the total time required to operate the event.
Regarding claim 2, Thompson discloses the first scheduled operating state (“BOOT”) and the second scheduled operating state (for example “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES”) comprise a series of scheduled operating states (a series of schedule operating states of the corresponding event, which are set by application of the corresponding event) defined with respect to time.
Regarding claim 3, Thompson discloses the series of scheduled operating states comprises continuous transitions (for examples – “BOOTS” and “STREAM GAMES” required a series of schedule operating states operate in continuous transitions).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson discloses the series of scheduled operating states (series of schedule operating states of each of “BOOT”, “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES” event) is defined over deterministic time intervals.
Regarding claim 5, Thompson discloses a demand schedule (a demand schedule of each of “BOOT”, “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES” event) is associated with the series of scheduled operating states.
Regarding claim 6, Thompson discloses the demand schedule is based on at least one of a demand power schedule representative of a high performance condition of the load device (please refer to at least ¶ 39, which states “a current monitor 70 reads and stores the maximum current provided by the power manager to the processing components during the power transition event”, where “maximum current” is depending on a high performance condition of the load device) or a provisioned power schedule that is representative of a realizable energy configuration based on a minimum performance level of the second scheduled operating state.
Regarding claim 7, Thompson discloses a simulation component (32) configured to simulate performance of the load device in at least one of the first scheduled operating state or the second scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 31, 35, 36 and 38-44).
Regarding claim 8, Thompson discloses determining that the power demanded by the load device in the second scheduled operating state (for example - power demanded by the load device during “STREAM GAMES” event) exceeds the power provided by the power source occurs in advance of the load device operating in the second scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 39, 41 and 44).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson discloses the second scheduled operating state (for example - power demanded by the load device during “STREAM GAMES” event) causes a peak demand load event (please refer to at least ¶ 41-44).
Regarding claim 10, Thompson discloses the operations further comprise: storing excess energy provided by the power source (external power supply connected to Fig.1 and 2) during the first scheduled operating state (“BOOT” event; please refer to at least ¶ 28); and provisioning, by the deterministic energy provisioning device, the excess energy stored during the first scheduled operating state to the load device during the second scheduled operating state (please refer to Fig.4 and at least ¶ 28, the battery stores the exceed energy provided by the power source and operate the second scheduled operating state).
Regarding claim 11, Thompson discloses a method (Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed), comprising: determining a first amount of power demanded by a load device (for example – the amount of power demanded by the system components during the “BOOT” event) in a first scheduled operating state (for example – “BOOT” event); provisioning, by a deterministic energy provisioning device (at least Fig.2 and 32 in Fig.4), the first amount of power to the load device during the first scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 31, 35 and 36 for provisioning required amount of power for the “BOOT” event); determining a second amount of power demanded by the load device in a second scheduled operating state (for example – amount of power demanded by the load device during either one of the event “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES”; please refer to at least ¶ 38-44); and provisioning, by the deterministic energy provisioning device, the second amount of power to the load device during the second scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 38-44).
Thompson doesn’t explicitly disclose the second amount of power being greater than the first amount of power.
However, the amount of power demanded by the load device over the events “BOOT”, “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES”) are depending on the usage amount and total time required to operate. Thus, it would have been obvious that the event such as “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES” would have consume more power than the “BOOT” event, such as Thompson mentioned in ¶ 38 that “high-power-use application such as gaming application”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the second amount of power being greater than the first amount of power, as such would have been based on the power usage amount and the total time required to operate the event.
Regarding claim 12, Thompson discloses the first scheduled operating state (“BOOT”) and the second scheduled operating state (for example “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES”) comprise a series of scheduled operating states (a series of schedule operating states of the corresponding event, which are set by application of the corresponding event) defined with respect to time.
Regarding claim 13, Thompson discloses the series of scheduled operating states comprises continuous transitions (for examples – “BOOTS” and “STREAM GAMES” required a series of schedule operating states operate in continuous transitions).
Regarding claim 14, Thompson discloses the series of scheduled operating states (series of schedule operating states of each of “BOOT”, “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES” event) is defined over deterministic time intervals.
Regarding claim 15, Thompson discloses a demand schedule (a demand schedule of each of “BOOT”, “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES” event) is associated with the series of scheduled operating states.
Regarding claim 16, Thompson discloses the demand schedule is based on at least one of a demand power schedule representative of a high performance condition of the load device (please refer to at least ¶ 39, which states “a current monitor 70 reads and stores the maximum current provided by the power manager to the processing components during the power transition event”, where “maximum current” is depending on a high performance condition of the load device) or a provisioned power schedule that is representative of a realizable energy configuration based on a minimum performance level of the second scheduled operating state.
Regarding claim 17, Thompson discloses a simulation component (32) configured to simulate performance of the load device in at least one of the first scheduled operating state or the second scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 31, 35, 36 and 38-44).
Regarding claim 18, Thompson discloses determining that the power demanded by the load device in the second scheduled operating state (for example - power demanded by the load device during “STREAM GAMES” event) exceeds the power provided by a power source occurs in advance of the load device operating in the second scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 39, 41 and 44).
Regarding claim 19, Thompson discloses the second scheduled operating state (for example - power demanded by the load device during “STREAM GAMES” event) causes a peak demand load event (please refer to at least ¶ 41-44).
Regarding claim 20, Thompson discloses one or more non-transitory, computer-readable memory (14 in Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) storing executable instructions that, when executed by a processor (12), cause the processor to perform operations comprising: determining a first amount of power demanded by a load device (for example – the amount of power demanded by the system components during the “BOOT” event) in a first scheduled operating state (for example – “BOOT” event); provisioning, by a deterministic energy provisioning device (at least Fig.2 and 32 in Fig.4), the first amount of power to the load device during the first scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 31, 35 and 36 for provisioning required amount of power for the “BOOT” event); determining a second amount of power demanded by the load device in a second scheduled operating state (for example – amount of power demanded by the load device during either one of the event “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES”; please refer to at least ¶ 38-44); and provisioning, by the deterministic energy provisioning device, the second amount of power to the load device during the second scheduled operating state (please refer to at least ¶ 38-44).
Thompson doesn’t explicitly disclose the second amount of power being greater than the first amount of power.
However, the amount of power demanded by the load device over the events “BOOT”, “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES”) are depending on the usage amount and total time required to operate. Thus, it would have been obvious that the event such as “UPDATE”, “VIRUS SCAN” or “STREAM GAMES” would have consume more power than the “BOOT” event, such as Thompson mentioned in ¶ 38 that “high-power-use application such as gaming application”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the second amount of power being greater than the first amount of power, as such would have been based on the power usage amount and the total time required to operate the event.
Conclusion
/Richard Tan/Primary Examiner 2836