DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states that Fan does not disclose or teach “a system for determining and dissipating electrostatic charge accumulation in said electrical system”. In fact, the applicant points out in the arguments that Fan provides the capability of direct lightning current conduction, which meets some of the limitations required. The applicant then argues that Myhr does not cure the deficiencies of Fan, but the examiner disagrees as Myhr teaches a way to determine electrostatic charge accumulation. As such, updated rejections are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN 115614233) in view of Myhr (US 20100119370).
Regarding claim 1, Fan discloses A wind turbine comprising:
a rotor blade (Pg. 1, lines 16-18);
an electrical system embedded in said rotor blade (Pg. 4, lines 5-19 describes an electrical heating and lightning protection system within a blade);
a system for dissipating electrostatic charge in said electrical system (Pg. 4, lines 5-19 describe a connection between the electrical system and the ground, which allows for the dissipation of electrostatic charge in the system),
at least one switchable connection between said electrical system and ground; and, said at least one switchable connection being controllably switchable between an open state and a closed state so that: when said at least one switchable connection is in said closed state, the electrical system is grounded, and, when said at least one switchable connection is in said open state, said electrical system is not grounded. Pg. 8, lines 25-59 describes two switches 15 and 16 that provide a closed system where the system is connected to the ground when the system is not heating and an open state where the heating system is connected and the electrical system is not grounded.
However, Fan does not explicitly disclose that the system determines the electrostatic charge in the system. Fan and Myhr are analogous prior art because both describe lightning protection and ice protection systems for wind turbine blades. Myhr describes shutting down the turbine systems and processor units to prevent lightning strikes for a pre-determined period of time (Pars. 0153-0156) when lightning is sensed and operating the turbine and systems normally otherwise. Myhr further describes that lightning sensors measure the electrical current and/or voltage (Par. 0153) which provides electrostatic charge formation measurements in the sensors, which are a part of the turbine blade. Fan already describes shutting down the heating elements and grounding the blade during lightning risks (Pg. 8, lines 25-59) and Myhr describes that auxiliary systems can be shut down in response to the lightning (Par. 0155), so the control signals of Myhr would provide predictable results in the turbine of Fan. Further, Myhr describes that the sensors and systems allow for prevention of lightning risk for the turbine while allowing the system to operate normally when the turbine is not a risk (Pars. 0153-0156). Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the lightning sensors and controls of Myhr in the wind turbine of Fan because the sensors and systems allow for prevention of lightning risk for the turbine while allowing the system to operate normally when the turbine is not a risk (Pars. 0153-0156) and combining prior art elements according to known methods is obvious with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Fan in view of Myhr teaches that said electrical system includes a blade heating system for preventing accumulation of ice on said rotor blade (Fan Pg. 6, lines 44-60 and Pg. 7, lines 4-43 describes the various heating systems).
Regarding claim 3, Fan in view of Myhr teaches that said electrical system includes a first main conductor securely disposed on a suction side of said rotor blade and a second main conductor securely disposed on a pressure side of said rotor blade; and, said at least one switchable connection is electrically coupled to at least one of: said first main conductor and a ground terminal, and, said second main conductor and said ground terminal. Fan Figure 6 shows and Pg. 7, lines 40-59 describes that the various heating assemblies can be arranged along the thickness of the blade, meaning one is provided on the suction side and another is on the pressure side. Further, Pg. 8, lines 25-40 describes that the heating system is used to direct lightning current conduction, meaning that during the lightning conduction state the heating system is used as conductors which provides a first conductor on the pressure side and a second conductor on the pressure side.
Regarding claim 4, Fan in view of Myhr teaches that said electrical system includes a blade heating system for preventing accumulation of ice on said rotor blade; and, during operation, said heating system is supplied with power via said first main conductor and said second main conductor. See rejection of claim 3 above which describes that each of the heaters is used as conductors when the heaters are not operating so the heaters are powered by the conductors as shown in Fan Figures 1 and 2. Pg. 7, lines 18-30 and 45-59 describes the heating elements being used to melt ice.
Regarding claim 14, Fan discloses A wind turbine comprising:
a rotor blade (Pg. 1, lines 16-18);
an electrical system embedded in said rotor blade (Pg. 4, lines 5-19 describes an electrical heating and lightning protection system within a blade);
a system for dissipating electrostatic charge in said electrical system (Pg. 4, lines 5-19 describe a connection between the electrical system and the ground, which allows for the dissipation of electrostatic charge in the system),
at least one switchable connection between said electrical system and ground; and,
said at least one switchable connection being controllably switchable between an open state and a closed state so that when said at least one switchable connection is in said closed state, the electrical system is grounded, and,
when said at least one switchable connection is in said open state, said electrical system is not grounded (Pg. 8, lines 25-59 describes two switches 15 and 16 that provide a closed system where the system is connected to the ground when the system is not heating and an open state where the heating system is connected and the electrical system is not grounded);
a control device including a processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium having program code stored thereon (Pg. 5, lines 8-18 and pg. 8,lines 42-59);
said program code being configured, when executed by said processor, to:
determine first information which is representative of whether said electrical system is to be operated or is to be stopped if already in operation;
generate a first control signal for said at least one switchable connection, which is configured to switch said at least one switchable connection into said open state if the first information is representative that said electrical system is to be operated; and,
generate a second control signal for said at least one switchable connection, which is configured to switch said at least one switchable connection into said closed state if the first information is representative that operation of said electrical system is to be stopped (Pg. 8, lines 25-59 describes operation of the switches to be opened or closed depending on the lightning protection capability which are controlled by the processor and controller and allows for the switching between the two).
However, Fan does not explicitly disclose that the system determines the electrostatic charge in the system. Fan and Myhr are analogous prior art because both describe lightning protection and ice protection systems for wind turbine blades. Myhr describes shutting down the turbine systems and processor units to prevent lightning strikes for a pre-determined period of time (Pars. 0153-0156) when lightning is sensed and operating the turbine and systems normally otherwise. Myhr further describes that lightning sensors measure the electrical current and/or voltage (Par. 0153) which provides electrostatic charge formation measurements in the sensors, which are a part of the turbine blade. Fan already describes shutting down the heating elements and grounding the blade during lightning risks (Pg. 8, lines 25-59) and Myhr describes that auxiliary systems can be shut down in response to the lightning (Par. 0155), so the control signals of Myhr would provide predictable results in the turbine of Fan. Further, Myhr describes that the sensors and systems allow for prevention of lightning risk for the turbine while allowing the system to operate normally when the turbine is not a risk (Pars. 0153-0156). Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the lightning sensors and controls of Myhr in the wind turbine of Fan because the sensors and systems allow for prevention of lightning risk for the turbine while allowing the system to operate normally when the turbine is not a risk (Pars. 0153-0156) and combining prior art elements according to known methods is obvious with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 15, Fan in view of Myhr teaches that the program code is configured, when executed by said processor, to generate the first control signal and the second control signal repeatedly and alternatingly. Fan Pg. 8, lines 25-59 describes operation of the switches to be opened or closed depending on the lightning protection capability which are controlled by the processor and controller and allows for the switching between the two. As the signal provides opening and closing of the switches, these signals are repeated and alternating each time they are activated so the program provides repeated and alternating controls.
Regarding claim 16, Fan in view of Myhr teaches the limitations of claim 15 as set forth in the above 103 rejection. However, the current combination of Fan in view of Myhr does not explicitly teach that the program code is configured, when executed by said processor, to set, during icing conditions, a time interval from generating the first control signal to generating the second control signal being longer than a time interval from generating the second control signal to generating the next first control signal.
Myhr describes shutting down the turbine systems and processor units to prevent lightning strikes for a pre-determined period of time (Pars. 0153-0156) when lightning is sensed and operating the turbine and systems normally otherwise. Thereby, the second signal is related to the shut down of the turbine and only exists for a predetermined time when not operating as compared to the first signal where the turbine runs during normal operation. As such, when the lightning is only a threat for a short period and the turbine is operating normally otherwise, it is possible for the second control signal time to be shorter than the first control signal time as the system would normally operate for longer than it is shut down. Fan already describes shutting down the heating elements and grounding the blade during lightning risks (Pg. 8, lines 25-59) and Myhr describes that auxiliary systems can be shut down in response to the lightning (Par. 0155), so the defined time period and control signals of Myhr would provide predictable results in the turbine of Fan. Further, Myhr describes that the sensors and systems allow for prevention of lightning risk for the turbine while allowing the system to operate normally when the turbine is not a risk (Pars. 0153-0156). Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include defined shutdown time periods of Myhr in the wind turbine of Fan because the sensors and systems allow for prevention of lightning risk for the turbine while allowing the system to operate normally when the turbine is not a risk (Pars. 0153-0156) and combining prior art elements according to known methods is obvious with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 17, Fan in view of Myhr teaches that lengths of the time intervals are predetermined (Myhr Pars. 0153-0156).
Regarding claim 18, Fan in view of Myhr teaches that the program code is configured, when executed by said processor, to: provide second information which is representative of electrostatic charge formation in the rotor blade; and, determine the first information depending on the second information. Myhr describes shutting down the turbine systems and processor units to prevent lightning strikes for a pre-determined period of time (Pars. 0153-0156) when lightning is sensed and operating the turbine and systems normally otherwise. Myhr further describes that lightning sensors measure the electrical current and/or voltage (Par. 0153) which provides electrostatic charge formation measurements in the sensors, which are a part of the turbine blade. Fan already describes shutting down the heating elements and grounding the blade during lightning risks (Pg. 8, lines 25-59) and Myhr describes that auxiliary systems can be shut down in response to the lightning (Par. 0155).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN 115614233) in view of Myhr (US 20100119370) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Omura (JP 2010223148).
Regarding claim 5, Fan in view of Myhr teaches the limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the above 103 rejection. However, Fan in view of Myhr does not explicitly teach at least one needle electrode extending from a trailing edge of said rotor blade.
Fan in view of Myhr and Omura are analogous prior art because both describe lightning protection systems for wind turbine blades. Omura teaches at least one needle electrode extending from a trailing edge of the rotor blade (Figures 1 and 2, item 5 as described in paragraph 0015). Omura paragraphs 0011-0012describes the needle electrodes 5 attached to the trailing edge and that the system allows for the lightning energy to be isolated to ground voltage much more quickly (Par. 0014) and protects the blade tip (Par. 0010). As Omura describes connecting the lightining system and electrodes with the existing receptors in the blade (Pars. 0011-0012) and Fan in view of Myhr already describes using the heating system as a conductive element within the blade to ground the system, the lightning protection system and trailing edge electrodes of Omura would provide predictable results if added to the wind turbine blade of Fan in view of Myhr. Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the blade tip lightning protection system and trailing edge electrodes of Omura into the wind turbine blade of Fan in view of Myhr because the system allows for the lightning energy to be isolated to ground voltage much more quickly (Par. 0014) and protects the blade tip (Par. 0010) and combining prior art elements according to known methods is obvious with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE C RIBADENEYRA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745