DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8, 11-14, and 16-27 are pending.
Response to Arguments
The most recent claim and specification objections have been withdrawn in light of the current claim and specification amendments.
The most recent 35 U.S.C § 112 rejections have been withdrawn in light of the current claim amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8, 11-14, and 16-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner suggests incorporating more claim language in light of the specification (i.e., structural and/or functional) to overcome the prior art rejection and advance prosecution, preferably towards an allowance.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB 240579.4, filed on 04/26/2024.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/19/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 11-14, and 16-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Redlinger et al. (US Publication Number 2010/0326665 A1; hereinafter “Redlinger”).
In regard to claim 8, Redlinger discloses: A wellhead system (abstract, paragraphs [0002, 0005-0011, 0024-0035], and figures 2-6), comprising:
a wellhead retrieval tool (100) comprising a body (i.e., of 100) having a first portion (i.e., arbitrary portion comprising 125) and a second portion (i.e., arbitrary portion comprising 155), the first portion carrying a release actuator assembly (i.e., comprising 125) which is adapted to engage with a wellhead release mechanism (i.e., comprising 150) of a housing (i.e., 170 or unlabeled stationary element radially & circumferentially adjacent to 125) and which is operable to actuate the wellhead release mechanism to release a wellhead from the housing, and the second portion carrying a locking mechanism (i.e., comprising 155) which is operable to engage with the wellhead to lock the wellhead to the wellhead retrieval tool (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6); and
a wellhead assembly (i.e., comprising 10) comprising:
the housing mounted at an end of a wellbore, and
the wellhead mounted in the housing, wherein the wellhead retrieval tool is mounted on the wellhead assembly with the first portion of the body around the housing and the second portion of the body engaging with the wellhead, wherein the first portion of the body is tubular, and wherein the housing is located in a space enclosed (i.e., by virtue of being radially within) by the first portion of the body (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 11, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the body has a main passage (i.e., space comprising 115) which extends through the first and second portions of the body, wherein a first portion of the main passage is located within (i.e., radially within) the first portion of the body and a second portion of the main passage is located within (i.e., radially within) the second portion of the body, and wherein the housing is located in the first portion of the main passage and the wellhead is located in the second portion of the main passage (as shown in figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 12, Redlinger further discloses: a tubular landing string (195) which is secured to the second portion of the body (as shown in figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 13, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the housing has a tubular body which encloses a generally cylindrical space, and wherein the wellhead extends into the generally cylindrical space (as shown in figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 14, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the wellhead is provided with a wellhead locking element (155) which is movable to lock the wellhead in the housing (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 16, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the first portion of the body has an open end which is configured to facilitate the positioning of the first portion of the body around the housing (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 17, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the first portion of the body is provided with a frusto-conical portion (i.e., bottommost inner diameter surface) which is configured such that a diameter of the space enclosed by the first portion of the body decreases from the open end towards the second portion of the body (as shown in figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 18, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the wellhead retrieval tool further comprises an end cap (i.e., upper enclosed portion of 100) which is provided on the second portion of the body to at least partially close the second end of the main passage (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 19, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the wellhead retrieval tool is provided with a connector (220) which is mounted on the end cap (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 20, Redlinger discloses: A wellhead system (abstract, paragraphs [0002, 0005-0011, 0024-0035], and figures 2-6), comprising:
a wellhead retrieval tool (100) comprising a body (i.e., of 100) having a first portion (i.e., arbitrary portion comprising 125) and a second portion (i.e., arbitrary portion comprising 155), the first portion carrying a release actuator assembly (i.e., comprising 125) which is adapted to engage with a wellhead release mechanism (i.e., comprising 150) of a housing (i.e., 170 or unlabeled stationary element radially & circumferentially adjacent to 125) and which is operable to actuate the wellhead release mechanism to release a wellhead from the housing, and the second portion carrying a locking mechanism (i.e., comprising 155) which is operable to engage with the wellhead to lock the wellhead to the wellhead retrieval tool (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6), wherein the body is tubular (i.e., commensurate to that as described in the instant specification) and has a main passage (i.e., space comprising 115) which extends through the first and second portions of the body, and wherein a first portion of the main passage is located within (i.e., radially within) the first portion of the body and a second portion of the main passage is located within (i.e., radially within) the second portion of the body (as shown in figures 2-6); and
a wellhead assembly (i.e., comprising 10) comprising:
the housing mounted at an end of a wellbore; and
the wellhead mounted in the housing, wherein the wellhead retrieval tool is mounted on the wellhead assembly with the first portion of the body around the housing and the second portion of the body engaging with the wellhead, and wherein the housing is located in the first portion of the main passage and the wellhead is located in (i.e., radially within) the second portion of the main passage (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 21, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the first portion of the body has an open end which is configured to facilitate the positioning of the first portion of the body around the housing (i.e., as shown in figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 22, Redinger further discloses: wherein the first portion of the body is provided with a frusto-portion (i.e., bottommost inner diameter surface) which is configured such that a diameter of a space enclosed by the first portion of the body decreases from the open end towards the second portion of the body (as shown in figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 23, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the wellhead retrieval tool further comprises an end cap (i.e., upper enclosed portion of 100) which is provided on the second portion of the body to at least partially close the second end of the main passage (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 24, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the wellhead retrieval tool is provided with a connector (220) which is mounted on the end cap (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 25, Redlinger further discloses: a tubular landing string (195) which is secured to the second portion of the body (as shown in figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 26, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the housing has a tubular body which encloses a generally cylindrical space, and wherein the wellhead extends into the generally cylindrical space (as shown in figures 2-6).
In regard to claim 27, Redlinger further discloses: wherein the wellhead is provided with a wellhead locking element (155) which is movable to lock the wellhead in the housing (paragraphs [0024-0035] and figures 2-6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676