Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 2013.0290092).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka disclose:
A method comprising: obtaining hand tracking data from one or more cameras of a hand in a pose corresponding to an input gesture; and in response to a determination that at least part of the hand is occluded: determining, based on the hand tracking data, whether the hand is self- occluded (see Fig. 3-5, 10; [0047, 0060, 0135-0139, 0159]; cameras 201 to track hand pose of user corresponding to an input gesture; at S12 self-occlusion of user hand is determine based on tracking data)
in response to a determination that the hand is self-occluded, providing a gesture signal for the input gesture to invoke an action corresponding to the input gesture (see Fig. 3-5, 10; [0047, 0060, 0135-0139, 0159]; in response to determination of self-occlusion (e.g., S13, S14, S15 are all based on self-occlusion determination S12) in put action (S15 being yes) device is back in normal operation mode M1 to receive hand gesture input actions)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Tanaka further disclose:
determining whether the hand is self-occluded comprises: obtaining occlusion scores for each of a plurality of portions of the hand; and determining, based on relative locations of the plurality of portions of the hand, whether the hand is self-occluded (see [0140]; occlusion scores (e.g., reliability threshold to determine self-occlusion) of joint portions of hands)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Tanaka further disclose:
determining whether the hand is self-occluded comprises: obtaining an occlusion value for a first portion of the hand; and determining whether a second portion of the hand is in front of the first portion of the hand (see Fig. 8-9; [0123-0128]; where occlusion values are the depth measurement of joints, where the first portion is the index finger and is determined to be behind the second portion (thumb)).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Tanaka further disclose:
the determination whether the hand is self-occluded is performed in response to a determination that a valid gesture criteria is satisfied based on the hand tracking data (see Fig. 10; S11 – normal operation mode for satisfying valued gestures; S12 is determination is performed in response to S11’s permitted state).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Tanaka further disclose:
determining whether the hand is self-occluded comprises: obtaining a maximum occlusion score among the occlusion scores for the plurality of portions of the hand (see [0140]; second reliability threshold (max) to determine self-occlusion).
Regarding claims 8, 10-12 and 14, claims 8, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1, 3-5 and 7, respectively.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, where Tanaka further disclose:
one or more processors; and one or more computer readable medium comprising computer readable code executable by the one or more processors (see [0217-0219] processor; memory to store computer readable code).
Regarding claims 17-19, claims 17-19 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 3-5, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Schwesinger (US 2015.0123901).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Tanaka is not explicit as to, but Schwesinger disclose:
obtaining additional hand tracking data from the one or more cameras; in response to a determination that at least part of the hand is occluded based on the additional hand tracking data: determining, based on the additional hand tracking data, that the hand is occluded by a physical object; and in response to determining that the hand is occluded by the physical object, rejecting the input gesture (see Fig. 14; [0065]; where it is determined hand is occluded by physical object and input gesture is rejected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Schwesinger to that of Tanaka to predictably prevent unintended gesture inputs ([0065]).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, claims 9 and 16 are each rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/kenneth bukowski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621