DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/29/26 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 21, 22 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the (Specification, Drawings, and Claims) have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/12/26.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0025] needs review whether to read “A length of the crochet hook may range from about 14 to 38 cm with a diameter of about 0.6 to 25 mm” or to more clearly read “The length of the shaft 105 of the crochet hook may range from about 14 to 38 cm with a diameter of about 0.6 to 25 mm”, to be consistent with [0031] “the shaft 105 may have a length of about 14 to 38 cm and a diameter of about 0.6 to 25 mm”, as crochet hook 101 merely comprises the shaft 105 ([0031]) as one component and also includes a hook end 107 ([0032]) known as a hook portion in the claims
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 4-20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 Line 2 before “mobile device” delete “a” and substitute –the—for proper antecedent basis with Claim 1 Lines 7-8
Claim 7 Line 2 before “multiple” add –the—for proper antecedent basis with Claim 6 Line 2
Claims 8-20 status identifier is incorrect; status identifier says (withdrawn) but should instead say (canceled); remarks page 1 confirm that applicant intent is for Claims 1-7, 21, 22 to be the only pending claims; furthermore, if claims were only withdrawn, the text of all withdrawn claims should still be presented (see MPEP 714, 37 CFR 1.121(c)(2); should applicant inadvertently have cancelled the claims, the claims can be reintroduced beginning with Claim 23 with proper status identifiers (New-withdrawn) and text of the claims, and amended throughout prosecution for rejoinder considerations (see MPEP 821.04 “In order to retain the right to rejoinder, applicant is advised that the claims to the nonelected invention(s) should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the elected invention. Failure to do so may result in a loss of the right to rejoinder”); as a courtesy, the amendments are examined on its merits; however, future issues may warrant a notice of non-compliance
Disagreement with any of the aforementioned may warrant at least a 112(b) indefiniteness rejection without constituting a new rejection
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7, 21, 22 is/are rejected under U.S.C. 112(b).
The term "substantially continuous” in claim 1 Line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Especially as there is a lack of specification antecedent basis for the term, the metes and bounds for the term have not been defined. No disclosure has been provided as to the process of making (assembly, molding, etc) which could help further define the terms. Furthermore, Figs. 1A and 1B clearly illustrate lines indicating varying portions along the lengths of the hook 101 and needle 103, none of which has been disclosed in detail in the application that would further define the term. For the purposes of applying art and providing rejections, inasmuch as the hook portion is of a same invention as the shaft, the term is considered met.
The term “traditional crochet hook form factor” in Claim 22 Line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "traditional" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Though specification antecedent basis for the term can be found in [0034], and potentially in [0030], no explicit definition has been provided for the term “traditional” in the specification that would clarify the metes and bounds of the term, such as the structure meeting the term. For the purposes of applying art and providing rejections, inasmuch as the shaft and hook are met, so is the term “traditional crochet hook form factor.”
Dependent claims are rejected at the least for depending on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al (USPN 11408106), herein Moore.
Regarding Claim 1, Moore teaches a smart crochet hook (it is noted that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; see Fig. 4, 6A, 6B; Col. 11 Lines 17-19 "Crochet hook 400 illustrated in Fig. 4 is substantially similar to the crochet hook 100, 200 depicted above with reference to Figs. 1 and 2"; Col. 11 Lines 47-48 “Figs. 6A and 6B depict…electronics of the crochet hook 400”; the embodiment utilized herein is Fig. 4; although recitations may be directed to a different embodiment, such as Figs. 1A-3B, it is understood that Fig. 4 having the same numerals and concepts as recited for Figs. 1A-3B as applicable would also have the recitations apply to Fig. 4, especially in light of Col. 11 Lines 17-19; for smart-- Moore teaches the crochet hook which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of smart especially as the shaft, hook portion, sensor module, processor, wireless communication module structures below have been taught; see also Fig. 7 directed to a smart crochet hook; Col. 12 Lines 22-24 "system 700 for a smart crochet hook...system 700 includes a smart crochet hook 100"; as such, Fig. 7 applies also to Fig. 4, especially in light of Col. 14 Lines 25-32 "servers 408 may be communicatively coupled (e.g., networked) over a data network 106 to the crochet hook 100, 400...the one or more servers 408 may...make accessible associated with the crochet hook 100, 400 such as...stitch count formation", wherein recitation indicates Fig. 7 elements apply to Fig. 4 embodiment crochet hook 400 as well) comprising:
a shaft (10+15) having a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1A; Col. 9 Lines 18-19 "crochet hook 100 may include a handle 15"; Col. 9 Lines 22-23 "crochet hook 100 includes an elongate member 10 that includes a shaft 11");
a hook portion formed at the first end of the shaft (see Fig. 1A; Col. 9 Lines 22-23 "elongate member 10 may include a hook 9")
and substantially continuous with the shaft (as best understood in light of the 112(b) rejections-- see Figs. 1A, 2, where the hook portion 9 is substantially continuous at least with portion 15 of the shaft 15+10);
a sensor module integrated with the shaft and configured to detect stitch formation (see Figs. 2, 3B for sensor module of 25 integrated with shaft; Col. 12 Lines 7-10 "Crochet hook 400 includes sensors…electrically coupled to the hardware device 25 for sensing data…such as accelerometer data"; Col. 12 Lines 13-14 "accelerometer data may be used to detect that the user completed a stitch"; Moore teaches the sensor/module which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of detecting stitch formation, especially in light of the recitations);
a processor coupled to the sensor module and configured to automatically count stitches based on the detected stitch formation without manual intervention (for processor-- Col. 10 Lines 58-59 "hardware device 25 may include a processor"; for coupled—both processor and sensor are of 25 and therefore coupled; Moore teaches the processor coupled to the sensor module which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of the processor counting stitches based on detected stitching formation, especially in light of the following: 1) for sensor configured to count-- Col. 12 Lines 7-10 "crochet hook 400 includes sensors…electrically coupled to the hardware device 25 for sensing data such as motion data such as accelerometer data"; Col. 12 Lines 13-14 "accelerometer data may be used to detect that the user completed a stitch", indicating that the sensor detects motion/accelerometer data from completing a stitch; 2) furthermore, for the processor configured to count— wherein the processor and sensor are both of hardware device 25; Col. 10 Lines 59-64 “hardware device 25 may include a processor…the hardware device 25 manages the stitch and row counters”; Col. 12 Lines 10-15 “the row and stitch counters may be updated based on feedback from the sensors. For example, the accelerometer data may be used to detect that the user completed a stitch, and the hardware device 25 may automatically increment the stitch counter”, wherein increment is count, indicating the processor of the hardware device 25 counting; wherein automatic indicates without manual intervention);
a wireless communication module configured to transmit stitch count data to a mobile device (Col. 11 Lines 55-58 "electronics may further include a network module 60…for communicating with other computing devices over a data network. The network module 60 may include a wireless module"; Col. 12 Lines 35-44 "information handling devices 402 may include one or more of a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet…a smart phone…or another computing device comprising a processor"; Moore teaches the wireless communication module and mobile device which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of transmitting stitch count data, especially as applicant specification [0065] indicating that a mobile device can be computer, and Moore teaches both computing device and smart phone, further in light of the following-- see Fig. 7; Col. 14 Lines 25-32 "servers 408 may be communicatively coupled (e.g., networked) over a data network 106 to the crochet hook 100, 400...the one or more servers 408 may...make accessible associated with the crochet hook 100, 400 such as...stitch count formation" wherein the recitation indicates Fig. 7 applies to Fig. 4; as such, see the following: 1) see Fig. 7 which has crochet module 404, see Fig. 8 crochet module 404, which has instruction module 504, tracking module 506, Col. 15 Lines 12-16 "instruction module 504 receives row and stitch count information from the crochet hook 100, 400, over a wireless connection"; as such, stitch count information goes over wireless to module 504 in crochet module 404 of server 408; and/or 2) see Fig. 7 which has crochet module 404, see Fig. 8 crochet module 404, which has instruction module 504, tracking module 506; see Fig. 9; Col. 15 Lines 42-45 "tracking module 506...tracks the user's progress through the crochet pattern based on the row and stitch count received from the crochet hook 100, 400"; Col. 16 Lines 4-7 "method 900...tracks 906 a user's progress through the pattern in response to row and stitch count data received from the smart crochet hook 100, 400"; Fig. 7 clearly shows that wireless communication occurs between 100, 400 and server 408's crochet module 404 which has 506 performing 906).
Moore at least suggests the sensor module is integrated within the shaft (Col. 12 Lines 7-9 "crochet hook 400 includes sensors as part of the electrical components and electrically coupled to the hardware device 25"; Col. 10 Lines 49-50 "Figs. 3A and 3B depict top and bottom views of the electronics of the crochet 100"; Fig. 2 shows all electronics being within the shaft, wherein the sensor is of the electronics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moore such that the sensor is within the shaft with the rest of the electronics in order to protect electronic components.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Moore teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Moore further teaches a display unit integrated into the shaft and configured to display the stitch count (see Fig. 1A for integrated; for display-- Col. 10 Lines 23-24 "display 16 may be mounted to a printed circuit board 24"; Moore teaches the display unit which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of displaying stitch count, especially in light of Col. 9 Lines 33-36 "display 16…for displaying information such as the current row count and current stitch count for the current row of as crochet project or pattern").
Regarding Claim 3, modified Moore teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Moore further teaches wherein the sensor module comprises an accelerometer configured to detect movement associated with the stitch formation (see Fig. 3B; Col. 12 Lines 7-10 "Crochet hook 400 includes sensors…electrically coupled to the hardware device 25 for sensing data such as motion data such as accelerometer data"; Col. 12 Lines 13-14 "accelerometer data may be used to detect that the user completed a stitch"; Moore teaches the accelerometer which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of detecting movement associated stitch formation, especially in light of the recitations).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Moore teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Moore further teaches wherein the wireless communication module is configured to transmit the stitch count data to the mobile device running a crochet pattern application (Moore teaches the wireless communication which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of transmitting data to a mobile device running a crochet pattern application, especially in light of the following recitations: 1) see applicant specification [0065] wherein a mobile device can be a computer or smartphone; 2) for transmitting data to a mobile device—see Fig. 6B; Col. 11 Lines 55-58 "electronics may further include a network module 60…for communicating with other computing devices over a data network. The network module 60 may include a wireless module"; Col. 11 Lines 47-48 “Figs. 6A and 6B depict…electronics of the crochet hook 400”; Col. 12 Lines 35-44 "information handling devices 402 may include one or more of a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet…a smart phone…or another computing device comprising a processor"; 3) for mobile device running a crochet pattern—see Fig. 7; Col. 12 Lines 61-62 "crochet module 404 is configured to receive a crochet pattern, e.g., from a server 408", wherein 404 is on 408).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Moore teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Moore further teaches a data logging module configured to store the stitch count data over time (see Fig. 7, wherein there is a crochet module 404 on the hook; see Fig. 8, wherein 506 is of 404; Col. 15 Lines 43-45 "tracking module 506 …tracks the user's progress through the crochet pattern based on the row and stitch count received from the crochet hook 100, 400"; Moore teaches a tracking module which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of storing stitch count data over time, especially in light of the recitations such as Col. 15 Lines 45-64, such as Col. 15 Lines 49-52 "tracking module 506, based on the row and stitch information received from the crochet hook 100, 400 may present a percentage of how much of the crochet pattern has been completed" which indicates storage).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Moore teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Moore further teaches wherein the sensor module comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU) configured to detect movement associated with the stitch formation (for sensor--Col. 12 Lines 7-10 "Crochet hook 400 includes sensors…electrically coupled to the hardware device 25 for sensing data…such as accelerometer data"; Col. 12 Lines 13-14 "accelerometer data may be used to detect that the user completed a stitch"; wherein an accelerometer is an inertial measurement unit (see extrinsic evidence SBG NPL); capable of detecting movement as recited, especially in light of the recitations).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Moore teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Moore further teaches wherein the shaft and the hook maintain a traditional crochet hook form factor (as best understood in light of the 112(b) rejections—Moore teaches the shaft and hook which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being a traditional crochet hook form factor, especially in light of the recitations).
Claim(s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al (USPN 11408106), herein Moore, further in view of Wesstrom (USPN 5566633).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Moore teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 5.
Moore further teaches wherein the data logging module is further configured to track and store information about a crochet project (for track-- Col. 15 Lines 43-45 "tracking module 506 …tracks the user's progress through the crochet pattern based on the row and stitch count received from the crochet hook 100, 400"; for store— Col. 15 Lines 54-47 "tracking module 506 may track historical usage data based on the usage of the crochet hook 100, 400, such as an amount of time that it is used, how long it takes a user to complete a row that contains a certain number of stitches", wherein such history would be tracked via storage).
Moore does not explicitly teach that a module is configured to track and store multiple projects.
Wesstrom teaches tracking and storing multiple projects (see Figs. 10, 12; Col. 4 Line 22 "sewing machine 2 include…a head 4"; Col. 12 Lines 34-41 "system is setup and controlled by the control unit 200...capable of storing and operating three programs...the stitch counts are entered by depressing button T1 which decreases the stitch count, or button T2 which increases the stitch count", wherein such storage indicates tracking).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moore’s data logging module/control unit to store and track/operate multiple programs/projects as taught by Wesstrom instead of a single project/program in order to provide for a wider variety of use.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Moore teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 6.
Modified Moore further teaches wherein the wireless communication module is further configured to transmit the stored information about multiple projects to the mobile device for analysis and visualization (Modified Moore teaches the wireless communication module which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of storing information about a project to the mobile device for analysis and visualization, especially in light of Moore Col. 12 Lines 35-44 "information handling devices 402 may include one or more of a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet…a smart phone…or another computing device comprising a processor", wherein a processor indicates analysis, and at least one these devices indicate visualization; wherein Wesstrom already taught the project being multiple).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 21, 22 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Therefore, see aforementioned rejections for the argued missing limitations. Nevertheless, for clarification--
Pertaining to remarks on page 4 that Moore does not teach the structural limitations as claimed because Moore is a “much larger and less ergonomically styled crochet apparatus”—examiner respectfully disagrees. None of the claims are directed to size or style.
Pertaining to remarks on page 4 that Moore does not teach a traditional form factor of a crochet hook—examiner respectfully disagrees. As aforementioned, the term is not clearly defined and it is not clear what the metes and bounds of the term are referring to. Applicant seems to have a particular interpretation in mind that is not currently in the claims. Examiner notes that the claims can be read in light of the specification to help disclose what is included within broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, but that limitations of the specification cannot be read into the claims. See In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969), MPEP 2111. In other words, claims should structurally define “traditional form factor” in order to attempt to differentiate from the prior art of record. Nevertheless, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. No criticality has been disclosed pertaining to the shape. Even if the shape could be persuasively argued as critical, attention is directed to previously cited as pertinent art Felice (USPN 8615319). As such, further arguments pertaining to the shape do not seem to move prosecution forward.
Pertaining to remarks on page 4 that Moore is not a “common” crochet hook “ergonomically” designed and therefore the claims distinguish—examiner respectfully disagrees. Similarly as aforementioned to the term “traditional,” no explicit definition for the term “common” has been provided in the original disclosure, and is a relative term. Though the terminology related to “ergonomics” have been disclosed, the term has not been claimed. Even if amended to be claimed, all structure claimed has been met, and therefore any function of “ergonomics.”
Pertaining to remarks on page 5 that the Moore teaches a handle in addition to the shaft and is discontinuous in form with the shaft and therefore does not apply to the claims—examine respectfully disagrees. As best understood, remarks disagree with the interpretation that the term “shaft” is considered the combination of 10 and 15 in the rejection. However, remarks are not persuasive as to why the claims require a narrower interpretation. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term as currently claimed does not preclude the interpretation of element 15 as part of the term shaft. Furthermore, the current claims only indicate that the shaft and hook need to be substantially continuous relative to one another in the claims.
Pertaining to remarks on page 5 that applicant teaches a sensor that counts by performing the stitch while Moore only teaches a sensor used to update the increment of the stitch—examiner respectfully disagrees. Similarly as aforementioned, remarks are not commensurate with what is actually claimed. The claims indicate that it is the processor that counts, not the sensor. Moore’s sensor performs the same as applicant’s, as applicant’s own disclosure in [0049] indicates using an IMU (or accelerometer [0048]) to send a signal to the processor to increment/count. Moore performs similarly, as confirmed by remarks Col. 12 Lines 12-13. Moore has the same accelerometer or IMU device as applicant and sends a signal to the processor for counting, same as applicant. Similar response is given to remarks on page 6 that Moore does not disclose determining stitch count from detected formation. Moore clearly utilizes the sensor to detect stitch formation as indicated in the rejection and results in counting.
Pertaining to remarks on page 7 that a wireless communication configured to transmit stitch count data to a mobile device is not taught—examiner respectfully disagrees. Such was already taught in Claim 4, which remarks have not addressed as being improper.
Pertaining to remarks on page 7, 8 that the sensor module is in the handle and not the shaft—examiner respectfully disagrees, for reasons similarly aforementioned. Claims do not prevent the term shaft as including the handle 15 of Moore. Moore teaches a shaft as claimed inasmuch as claims have structurally claimed the term, regardless of whether or not the applicant discloses a “handle”. Furthermore, applicant’s own disclosure seem to be a handle during use.
Pertaining to remarks on page 9 that Moore and Wesstrom are incompatible technologies—examiner respectfully disagrees. The references are in the same art of endeavor as trading and storing at least one project.
Pertaining to remarks on page 9 that Moore and Wesstrom combination lacks reasoning—examiner respectfully disagrees. Remarks do not address the actual motivation given on page 10 of the office action of 2/12/26, specifically, such as the purposes of providing a wider variety of use.
Pertaining to remarks on page 9 that the combination would render the primary reference inoperable—examiner respectfully disagrees. Remarks have misconstrued the combination. Moore already teaches trading/storing a project, and is merely silent that it would be for a plurality of projects. Wesstrom teaches performing the same function (trading/storing) for a plurality. There is no requirement to modify with the entirety of Wesstrom’s disclosure as argued. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Pertaining to remarks on page 9 as to the combination requiring redesign—examiner respectfully disagrees, for reasons similarly aforementioned for the remarks pertaining to rendering operable.
Pertaining to remarks on page 10 that the rejection is hindsight—examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Pertaining to remarks on page 10 that secondary considerations make the claims patentable—examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. No evidence (such as affidavits under 37 CFR 1.132) have been provided to show that applicant meets a long felt need, to show failure of others, to show commercial success, or industry praise.
Pertaining to remarks on page 11 for Claim 21 that Moore only teaches detecting movement and no IMU—examiner respectfully disagrees, especially in light of the instant rejection. Moore clearly teaches an accelerometer and its functions, which remarks themselves confirm meets the recitation with the disclosure in [0048], [0049].
Pertaining to remarks on page 11 for Claim 22 that Moore teaches a handle in addition to a shaft and the difference of Moore’s handle/shaft is functionally different than the traditional crochet hook form factor—examiner respectfully disagrees for reasons similarly aforementioned. There is no reason that the term shaft cannot be met by Moore’s elements 10 and 15. Remarks seem to desire a narrower interpretation that is not required in the claims, let alone outlined structurally in the remarks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732