DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/7/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US Pat. 12,289,353. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to substantially similar methods, systems, and media. For example, contrast instant claim 21 and claim 1 of ‘353:
‘353 Claim 1
Instant claim 21
A method comprising:
A method comprising
obtaining an indication of a collaboration control for a collaborator of a document, the collaboration control indicating an edit permission for a document layer of a graphical design of the document in relation to the collaborator;
generating a set of collaboration control data for the document, the set of collaboration control data including the collaboration control indicating the edit permission for the document layer of the graphical design of the document in relation to the collaborator;
based on an input, by the collaborator, to the document layer of the graphical design of the document, determining, using the set of collaboration control data, whether to enable an edit to the document layer of the graphical design of the document; and
based on an input, by a collaborator of a document, to a document layer of a graphical design of the document, determining, using an edit permission for the collaborator, whether to enable an edit to the document layer of the graphical design of the document;
in accordance with determining to disable the edit to the document layer of the graphical design of the document, initiating a new document layer of the graphical design in the document in which the collaborator is enabled to provide edits.
and in accordance with determining to disable the edit to the document layer of the graphical design of the document, initiating a new document layer of the graphical design in the document in which the collaborator is enabled to provide edits.
Further, remaining instant claims 22-40 correspond with subject matter disclosed by claims 2-17 of ‘353. Therefore, if a patent were to be granted, it may result in an improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” of the subject matter and may lead to possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 24-29, 31-33, 35-37, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US Pub. No. 2010/0070882), hereafter, “Wang.”
As to claim 21, Wang discloses a method comprising:
based on an input, by a collaborator of a document, to a document layer of a graphical design of the document, determining, using an edit permission for the collaborator, whether to enable an edit to the document layer of the graphical design of the document ([0045]-[0047], particularly, “In this step, the selecting a layer of the page by a user may include: the docbase management system allocates a layer other than layers allocated to other users to the user; or the user establishes a new layer; or the user initiatively selects a layer of the page which is existing in the docbase management system and is allowed to be edited.” See also [0071]); and
in accordance with determining to disable the edit to the document layer of the graphical design of the document, initiating a new document layer of the graphical design in the document in which the collaborator is enabled to provide edits ([0045]-[0047], particularly, “the docbase management system allocates a layer other than layers allocated to other users to the user” and further [0071], particularly, “Suppose UserA selects to edit layer LayerMIndex of page M, then UserB is prohibited to select layer LayerMIndex of page M when selecting a layer for editing; instead, UserB has to select another layer of page M to edit or create a new layer to edit, or the docbase management system allocates another layer to UserB.”).
As to claims 32 and 37, they are rejected by a similar rationale by that set forth in claim 21’s rejection.
As to claim 24, Wang discloses generating a set of collaboration control data for the document, wherein the set of collaboration control data includes, for the document layer of the graphical design of the document, collaboration controls corresponding with a plurality of collaborators ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claim 25, Wang discloses the set of collaboration control data includes, for the document layer of the graphical design of the document, an indication of ownership of the document layer of the graphical design ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claim 26, Wang discloses the set of collaboration control data includes collaboration controls for collaborators for a plurality of document layers of the graphical design of the document ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claims 27 and 35, Wang discloses the input comprises an addition of an object to the document layer of the graphical design of the document, a modification of an object in the document layer of the graphical design, or a removal of an object in the document layer of the graphical design ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claim 28, Wang discloses the input comprises an access of the document layer of the graphical design ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claims 29 and 36, Wang discloses determining whether to enable the edit to the document layer of the graphical design of the document comprises: accessing a set of collaboration control data for the document; based on a collaboration control indicating the edit permission, in the set of collaboration control data, for the collaborator and that corresponds with the document layer of the graphical design, determining that editing is disabled ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claim 31, Wang discloses obtaining an indication of a collaboration control for the collaborator of the document, the collaborator control indicating the edit permission for the document layer of the graphical design of the document in relation to the collaborator ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claim 33, Wang discloses Implementing the collaboration control in association with the collaborator for the particular layer of the graphical design of the document comprises including an indication of the collaboration control and an indication of the collaborator in metadata associated with the particular layer of the graphical design of the document ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claim 39, Wang discloses detecting an input, by the collaborator of the document, in association with another document layer of the graphical design of the document; referencing another collaboration control designated for the collaborator in association with the another document layer of the graphical design of the document, the another collaboration control indicating the collaborator is enabled to provide edits in association with the another document layer of the graphical design of the document; and based on the another collaboration control, permitting a new collaborator- provided edit corresponding with the another document layer of the graphical design of the document ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
As to claim 40, Wang discloses detecting an input, by another collaborator of the document, in association with the document layer of the graphical design of the document; referencing another collaboration control designated for the another collaborator in association with the document layer of the graphical design of the document, the another collaboration control indicating the another collaborator is enabled to provide edits in association with the document layer of the graphical design of the document; and based on the another collaboration control, permitting a new collaborator- provided edit corresponding with the document layer of the graphical design of the document ([0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Workiva (Workiva. “Advanced Permissions.” WorkivaSupport, 22 May 2023, https://support.workiva.com/hc/en-us/articles/360036000311-Advanced-permissions. Accessed 5 Oct. 2023. Pages 1-5; cited on IDS).
As to claims 22 and 34, Wang discloses the parent claim but does not disclose providing, for display via a permission control panel, a set of collaborators and a corresponding set of collaborators control selectors used to indicate edit permissions for a document layer of the graphical design of the document. However, Workiva discloses providing, for display via a permission control panel, a set of collaborators and a corresponding set of collaborators control selectors used to indicate edit permissions for a document layer of a graphical design of the document (Pages 2-3, screenshot, Vertical columns (e.g. “Kathleen Karlsen” among others reading on “a set of collaborators”; page 2’s screenshot more clearly indicates this and that it is not limited to single users, e.g. “Enter the user or group name into the text box and select them from the list.”) “Editor” status reading on claimed “edit permissions for a document layer” and “You can click a column or row header to select the entire row or column and assign permissions to the entire selection.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Wang and Workiva in order to provide greater control and awareness to users of the system so that collaborative control over documents may be more efficiently handled.
As to claim 23, the teachings of Wang and Workiva as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 22’s rejection further disclose obtaining an indication of a collaboration control for the collaborator based on a selection of the collaboration control via a collaborator control selector of the permission control panel (Wang, [0047]-[0049], see also [0071]-[0072] and Workiva, Page 3, particularly, “You can adjust individual section permissions for one user by selecting a cell and clicking a permission icon in the toolbar, or right-clicking a cell and selecting a permission level from the menu. You can also double-click a cell to cycle through the four permission levels.”)
Claim 30 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMaris et al (US Pub. No. 2017/0285901; cited on IDS), hereafter, “DeMaris.”
As to claim 30 and 38, Wang discloses the parent claim but does not disclose providing a notification indicating that editing is disabled for the document layer of the graphical design. However, DeMaris discloses providing a notification indicating that editing is disabled for the document layer of the graphical design ([0029], particularly, “Thus, if the user 104 does not have the required permissions, and tries to edit the metadata corresponding review status with drag and drop input, the computing device 102 may present a notification that the user 104 does not have permission to make this change (and the update may be denied).”) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Wang with DeMaris in order to provide a system that can keep user apprised of their privileges in a system.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458