Claims 1-20 are active in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Patent No. 12,287,710. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite substantially similar claim limitations as depicted in the table below.
Instant Application
12,287,710
1. A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving event data at an active deployment of a data intake and query system;
processing the event data in a plurality of stages of the data intake and query system to convert the event data into searchable buckets of indexed data, wherein files generated at each stage of the processing are uploaded to a first scalable storage module in the active deployment; and
replicating the files generated at each stage of the processing to a second scalable storage module in a standby deployment of the data intake and query system.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising responsive to an outage at the active deployment, transitioning control to the standby deployment.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising recovering the event data at the standby deployment using the files replicated to the second scalable storage module.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: recovering the event data at the standby deployment; and processing the recovered event data at the standby deployment to generate buckets of indexed data searchable at the standby deployment.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data intake and query system comprises a cloud deployment of the data intake and query system, and wherein the data intake and query system is associated with one or more stacks, wherein each stack is dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a stack, wherein the stack comprises a group of computing devices dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one ingestor to ingest event data received at the active deployment, a search head communicatively coupled with one or more indexers, wherein the one or more indexers index and search data associated with the subscriber, wherein the search head processes events returned by the one or more indexers in response to a query and produces results to respond to the query.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a group of computing devices, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one queue service, a scalable storage server, at least one server pod and at least one metadata database, wherein the at least one queue service stores messages referencing locations associated with the event data on the scalable storage server, wherein the scalable storage server is included in the first scalable storage module and the second scalable storage module and stores the files generated at each stage of the processing, wherein the at least one server pod coordinates one or more indexers deployed in the active deployment that index the event data, and wherein the metadata database stores metadata associated with the indexed event data generated by the one or more indexers and stored on the scalable storage server.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: ingesting the event data and transforming the event data into ingested file blocks; generating messages corresponding to the ingested file blocks to be uploaded to a queue, wherein each message contains a reference pointer to a location on the first scalable storage module where a corresponding ingested file block is stored; and uploading the ingested file blocks to the first scalable storage module.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: accessing a queue to retrieve a location pointer for an ingested file block associated with the event data; retrieving the ingested file block using the location pointer from the first scalable storage module; indexing event data in the ingested file block; and uploading hot bucket slices comprising indexed event data to the first scalable storage module.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: responsive to a determination that a threshold number of hot bucket slices have been uploaded by one of more indexers in the active deployment to the first scalable storage module, concatenating the hot bucket slices; generating a metadata file and a time-series index file associated with the hot bucket slices; consolidating the concatenated hot bucket slices, the metadata file and the time-series index file into a hot bucket; and changing the status of the hot bucket to a warm bucket, wherein the hot bucket remains operable for writing by an indexer, and wherein the warm bucket is no longer open for writing.
11. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising recovering the event data at the standby deployment, wherein recovering the event data at the standby deployment comprises: accessing an ingested file block from the second scalable storage module; extracting metadata from the ingested file block comprising a location pointer to the ingested file block on the second scalable storage module; and uploading a message to a queue in the standby deployment comprising the metadata.
12. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising recovering the event data at the standby deployment, wherein recovering the event data at the standby deployment comprises: accessing one or more hot bucket slices from the second scalable storage module; repairing the one or more hot bucket slices; concatenating the hot bucket slices into a journal; generating one or more other files used in a creation of a bucket; and creating a warm bucket using the journal and the one or more other files.
13. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising recovering the event data at the standby deployment, wherein recovering the event data at the standby deployment comprises: accessing one or more warm buckets from the second scalable storage module; extracting metadata from the one or more warm buckets; populating the metadata in a metadata database; and making the warm buckets available for searching by one or more indexers.
14. A computing device, comprising:
a processor; and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations including:
receiving event data at an active deployment of a data intake and query system;
processing the event data in a plurality of stages of the data intake and query system to convert the event data into searchable buckets of indexed data, wherein files generated at each stage of the processing are uploaded to a first scalable storage module in the active deployment; and
replicating the files generated at each stage of the processing to a second scalable storage module in a standby deployment of the data intake and query system.
15. The computing device of claim 14, wherein the data intake and query system comprises a cloud deployment of the data intake and query system, and wherein the data intake and query system is associated with one or more stacks, wherein each stack is dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system.
16. The computing device of claim 14, wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a stack, wherein the stack comprises a group of computing devices dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one ingestor to ingest event data received at the active deployment, a search head communicatively coupled with one or more indexers, wherein the one or more indexers index and search data associated with the subscriber, wherein the search head processes events returned by the one or more indexers in response to a query and produces results to respond to the query.
17. The computing device of claim 14, wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a group of computing devices, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one queue service, a scalable storage server, at least one server pod and at least one metadata database, wherein the at least one queue service stores messages referencing locations associated with the event data on the scalable storage server, wherein the scalable storage server is associated with the first scalable storage module and the second scalable storage module and stores the files generated at each stage of the processing, wherein the at least one server pod coordinates one or more indexers deployed in the active deployment that index the event data, and wherein the metadata database stores metadata associated with the indexed event data generated by the one or more indexers and stored on the scalable storage server.
18. The computing device of claim 14, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: ingesting the event data and transforming the event data into ingested file blocks; generating messages corresponding to the ingested file blocks to be uploaded to a queue, wherein each message contains a reference pointer to a corresponding ingested file block; and uploading the ingested file blocks to a scalable storage module deployed in the active deployment.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processor to perform operations including:
receiving event data at an active deployment of a data intake and query system;
processing the event data in a plurality of stages of the data intake and query system to convert the event data into searchable buckets of indexed data, wherein files generated at each stage of the processing are uploaded to a first scalable storage module in the active deployment; and
replicating the files generated at each stage of the processing to a second scalable storage module in a standby deployment of the data intake and query system.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the data intake and query system comprises a cloud deployment of the data intake and query system, and wherein the data intake and query system is associated with one or more stacks, wherein each stack is dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system.
1. A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving event data at an active deployment of a data intake and query system;
processing the event data in a plurality of stages of the data intake and query system to convert the event data into searchable buckets of indexed data, wherein files generated at each stage of the processing are uploaded to a first scalable storage module in the active deployment;
replicating the files generated at each stage of the processing to a second scalable storage module in a standby deployment of the data intake and query system;
responsive to an outage at the active deployment, transitioning control to the standby deployment; and
recovering the event data at the standby deployment using the files replicated to the second scalable storage module.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: processing the recovered event data at the standby deployment to generate buckets of indexed data searchable at the standby deployment.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data intake and query system comprises a cloud deployment of the data intake and query system, and wherein the data intake and query system is associated with one or more stacks, wherein each stack is dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a stack, wherein the stack comprises a group of computing devices dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one ingestor to ingest event data received at the active deployment, a search head communicatively coupled with one or more indexers, wherein the one or more indexers index and search data associated with the subscriber, wherein the search head processes events returned by the one or more indexers in response to a query and produces results to respond to the query.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a group of computing devices, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one queue service, a scalable storage server, at least one server pod and at least one metadata database, wherein the at least one queue service stores messages referencing locations associated with the event data on the scalable storage server, wherein the scalable storage server is included in the first scalable storage module and the second scalable storage module and stores the files generated at each stage of the processing, wherein the at least one server pod coordinates one or more indexers deployed in the active deployment that index the event data, and wherein the metadata database stores metadata associated with the indexed event data generated by the one or more indexers and stored on the scalable storage server.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: ingesting the event data and transforming the event data into ingested file blocks; generating messages corresponding to the ingested file blocks to be uploaded to a queue, wherein each message contains a reference pointer to a location on the first scalable storage module where a corresponding ingested file block is stored; and uploading the ingested file blocks to the first scalable storage module.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: accessing a queue to retrieve a location pointer for an ingested file block associated with the event data; retrieving the ingested file block using the location pointer from the first scalable storage module; indexing event data in the ingested file block; and uploading hot bucket slices comprising indexed event data to the first scalable storage module.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: responsive to a determination that a threshold number of hot bucket slices have been uploaded by one of more indexers in the active deployment to the first scalable storage module, concatenating the hot bucket slices; generating a metadata file and a time-series index file associated with the hot bucket slices; consolidating the concatenated hot bucket slices, the metadata file and the time-series index file into a hot bucket; and changing the status of the hot bucket to a warm bucket, wherein the hot bucket remains operable for writing by an indexer, and wherein the warm bucket is no longer open for writing.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein recovering the event data at the standby deployment comprises: accessing an ingested file block from the second scalable storage module; extracting metadata from the ingested file block comprising a location pointer to the ingested file block on the second scalable storage module; and uploading a message to a queue in the standby deployment comprising the metadata.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein recovering the event data at the standby deployment comprises: accessing one or more hot bucket slices from the second scalable storage module; repairing the one or more hot bucket slices; concatenating the hot bucket slices into a journal; generating one or more other files used in a creation of a bucket; and creating a warm bucket using the journal and the one or more other files.
11. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein recovering the event data at the standby deployment comprises: accessing one or more warm buckets from the second scalable storage module; extracting metadata from the one or more warm buckets; populating the metadata in a metadata database; and making the warm buckets available for searching by one or more indexers.
12. A computing device, comprising:
a processor; and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations including: receiving event data at an active deployment of a data intake and query system;
processing the event data in a plurality of stages of the data intake and query system to convert the event data into searchable buckets of indexed data, wherein files generated at each stage of the processing are uploaded to a first scalable storage module in the active deployment;
replicating the files generated at each stage of the processing to a second scalable storage module in a standby deployment of the data intake and query system;
responsive to an outage at the active deployment, transitioning control to the standby deployment; and recovering the event data at the standby deployment using the files replicated to the second scalable storage module.
13. The computing device of claim 11, wherein the data intake and query system comprises a cloud deployment of the data intake and query system, and wherein the data intake and query system is associated with one or more stacks, wherein each stack is dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system.
14. The computing device of claim 11, wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a stack, wherein the stack comprises a group of computing devices dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one ingestor to ingest event data received at the active deployment, a search head communicatively coupled with one or more indexers, wherein the one or more indexers index and search data associated with the subscriber, wherein the search head processes events returned by the one or more indexers in response to a query and produces results to respond to the query.
15. The computing device of claim 11, wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a group of computing devices, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one queue service, a scalable storage server, at least one server pod and at least one metadata database, wherein the at least one queue service stores messages referencing locations associated with the event data on the scalable storage server, wherein the scalable storage server is associated with the first scalable storage module and the second scalable storage module and stores the files generated at each stage of the processing, wherein the at least one server pod coordinates one or more indexers deployed in the active deployment that index the event data, and wherein the metadata database stores metadata associated with the indexed event data generated by the one or more indexers and stored on the scalable storage server.
16. The computing device of claim 11, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: ingesting the event data and transforming the event data into ingested file blocks; generating messages corresponding to the ingested file blocks to be uploaded to a queue, wherein each message contains a reference pointer to a corresponding ingested file block; and uploading the ingested file blocks to a scalable storage module deployed in the active deployment.
17. The computing device of claim 11, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: accessing a queue to retrieve a location pointer for an ingested file block associated with the event data; retrieving the ingested file block using the location pointer from the first scalable storage module; indexing event data in the ingested file block; and uploading hot bucket slices associated with the event data to the first scalable storage module.
18. The computing device of claim 11, wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: responsive to a determination that a threshold number of hot bucket slices have been uploaded by one of more indexers in the active deployment to the first scalable storage module, concatenating the hot bucket slices; generating a metadata file and a time-series index file associated with the hot bucket slices; consolidating the concatenated hot bucket slices, the metadata file and the time-series index file into a hot bucket; and changing the status of the hot bucket to a warm bucket, wherein the hot bucket remains operable for writing by an indexer, and wherein the warm bucket is no longer open for writing.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processor to perform operations including:
receiving event data at an active deployment of a data intake and query system;
processing the event data in a plurality of stages of the data intake and query system to convert the event data into searchable buckets of indexed data, wherein files generated at each stage of the processing are uploaded to a first scalable storage module in the active deployment;
replicating the files generated at each stage of the processing to a second scalable storage module in a standby deployment of the data intake and query system; responsive to an outage at the active deployment, transitioning control to the standby deployment; and recovering the event data at the standby deployment using the files replicated to the second scalable storage module.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the data intake and query system comprises a cloud deployment of the data intake and query system, and wherein the data intake and query system is associated with one or more stacks, wherein each stack is dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system.
Examiner's Note
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicants in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention.
It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. "The use of patents as references is not Limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the Literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123).
The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vogler-Ivashchanka (US 11,537,942).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 19, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses a computer-implemented method, a computing device, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions (Figure 70), comprising:
receiving event data at an active deployment of a data intake and query system (Figures 4-5, and col. 13, line 60 to col. 14, line 8, the data intake and query system 108 can generate events from the received data and store the events in buckets in a common storage system. In response to received queries, the data intake and query system can assign one or more search nodes to search the buckets in the common storage);
processing the event data in a plurality of stages of the data intake and query system to convert the event data into searchable buckets of indexed data, wherein files generated at each stage of the processing are uploaded to a first scalable storage module in the active deployment (col. 17, line 1 to col. 18, line 26); and
replicating the files generated at each stage of the processing to a second scalable storage module in a standby deployment of the data intake and query system (col. 17, line 1 to col. 18, line 26 and col. 34, lines 1-40).
Regarding claim 2, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses responsive to an outage at the active deployment, transitioning control to the standby deployment (col. 26, lines 22-42).
Regarding claim 3, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses recovering the event data at the standby deployment using the files replicated to the second scalable storage module (col. 34, lines 1-40).
Regarding claim 4, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses recovering the event data at the standby deployment (col. 13, line 60 to col. 14, line 8 and Col. 30, lines 20-34); and processing the recovered event data at the standby deployment to generate buckets of indexed data searchable at the standby deployment (Col. 30, lines 20-34).
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 20, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses wherein the data intake and query system comprises a cloud deployment of the data intake and query system (Figure 2), and wherein the data intake and query system is associated with one or more stacks, wherein each stack is dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system (col. 26, lines 22-42).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a stack, wherein the stack comprises a group of computing devices dedicated to a subscriber of the data intake and query system, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one ingestor to ingest event data received at the active deployment, a search head communicatively coupled with one or more indexers, wherein the one or more indexers index and search data associated with the subscriber, wherein the search head processes events returned by the one or more indexers in response to a query and produces results to respond to the query. Please see col. 22, line 1-65 and col. 26, lines 22-42.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses wherein the data intake and query system is associated with a group of computing devices, and wherein the group of computing devices comprises at least one queue service, a scalable storage server, at least one server pod and at least one metadata database, wherein the at least one queue service stores messages referencing locations associated with the event data on the scalable storage server, wherein the scalable storage server is included in the first scalable storage module and the second scalable storage module and stores the files generated at each stage of the processing, wherein the at least one server pod coordinates one or more indexers deployed in the active deployment that index the event data, and wherein the metadata database stores metadata associated with the indexed event data generated by the one or more indexers and stored on the scalable storage server. Please see col. 30, line 64 to col. 36, line 18.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: ingesting the event data and transforming the event data into ingested file blocks; generating messages corresponding to the ingested file blocks to be uploaded to a queue, wherein each message contains a reference pointer to a location on the first scalable storage module where a corresponding ingested file block is stored; and uploading the ingested file blocks to the first scalable storage module. Please see col. 22, line 1-65, col. 26, lines 22-42 and col. 31, line 55 to col. 33, line 54.
Regarding claim 9, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses wherein at least one stage of the plurality of stages comprises: accessing a queue to retrieve a location pointer for an ingested file block associated with the event data; retrieving the ingested file block using the location pointer from the first scalable storage module; indexing event data in the ingested file block; and uploading hot bucket slices comprising indexed event data to the first scalable storage module. Please see col. 31, line 55 to col. 33, line 54.
Regarding claim 11, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses recovering the event data at the standby deployment, wherein recovering the event data at the standby deployment comprises: accessing an ingested file block from the second scalable storage module; extracting metadata from the ingested file block comprising a location pointer to the ingested file block on the second scalable storage module; and uploading a message to a queue in the standby deployment comprising the metadata. Please see col. 31, line 55 to col. 33, line 54.
Regarding claim 13, Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses recovering the event data at the standby deployment, wherein recovering the event data at the standby deployment comprises: accessing one or more warm buckets from the second scalable storage module; extracting metadata from the one or more warm buckets; populating the metadata in a metadata database; and making the warm buckets available for searching by one or more indexers. Please see col. 37, line 48 to col. 39, line 24.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if overcome the Double Patenting rejection and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burke (US 11,574,242) Vogler-Ivashchanka discloses Guided workflows for machine learning-based data analysis.
/MERILYN P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 May 01, 2026