DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-6,9-11,14-15,19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4,11,27,28,31,36, 46 of copending Application No. 18178388 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application 18178388 claims a friction reducing vibration tool, having a rotary driving device, a valve having a rotary component and a stationary component, a bypass passage, a bypass actuator have a valve poppet, a sensor and a processor. Thus, the claim limitations although broader are obviously met by the patent. Therefore, the claims are obviously directed toward the same invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18178388 in view of Espinoza et al. 20220034165 . The application does not claim the rotary driving device is a Moineau-style rotor within a stator. Espinoza teaches that a Moineau-style rotor within a stator is a known driver for rotating a valve (see abstract). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims disclosed by the application to have Moineau-style rotor within a stator rotate the valve in view of the teachings of Espinoza as this is a known rotary driver for a valve.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18178388 in view of Gillis 20140246234 . The application does not claim the bypass actuator comprises an electric motor and a ball screw. Gillis teaches that electric motor and a ball screw is a known type of bypass valve actuator (see paragraph 0089). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims disclosed by the application to have a electrical motor and ball screw to operate the bypass valve in view of the teachings of Gillis as this is a known type of valve actuator.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rodney 20150337652 .
Referring to claim 11, Rodney discloses a method of activating or deactivating a friction-reducing vibration tool in a drill string, the method comprising: detecting a stimulus using a sensor (116); and electrically activating or deactivating the friction-reducing vibration tool in response to signals from the sensor indicative of the stimulus being detected (see paragraph 0020).
Referring to claim 12, Rodney discloses generating a control signal from surface; and transmitting the control signal downhole, wherein the control signal is the stimulus (see paragraph 0020, controller 142, at surface can send signal to fluid pulse source, FPS) .
Referring to claim 13, Rodney discloses activating or deactivating a plurality of friction-reducing vibration tools ( see figure 2, at right signals sent to two friction reducing tools, at 132) in a drill string at the same time using the control signal.
Referring to claim 15, Rodney disclose the stimulus is a condition downhole ( sensor 116 is located downhole, see paragraph 0020).
Claim(s) 11-12, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lanning et al. 20230296013 .
Referring to claim 11, Lanning (see fig 2b) discloses a method of activating or deactivating a friction-reducing vibration tool in a drill string, the method comprising: detecting a stimulus using a sensor (sensor 203 or transceiver 211); and electrically activating or deactivating the friction-reducing vibration tool in response to signals from the sensor indicative of the stimulus being detected (see paragraph 0057).
Referring to claim 12, Lanning discloses generating a control signal from surface; and transmitting the control signal downhole, wherein the control signal is the stimulus (see fig 1, and paragraph 0059, control signal can be generated by surface control at 50 and sent downhole) .
Referring to claim 15, Lanning disclose the stimulus is a condition downhole ( see fig. 2b, sensor 203 is located downhole, see paragraph 0020).
Referring to claim 18, Lanning discloses the control signal is a variation in pressure cycles ( signal can be mud pulse signal, see paragraph 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanning et al. 20230296013 in view of Moody 20210262340.
Referring to claims 16 and 17,Lanning does not disclose the control signal is a series of timed pump cycles or a series of timed rotary cycles. Moody teaches sending controls signals by rotary cycles or pump cycles (see paragraph 0031). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Lanning to have the control signal be a series of timed pump cycles in view of the teachings of Moody with a reasonable expectation of success as this is merely a simple substitution of one type of telemetry system for sending control signals for another type of telemetry system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mody et al. 20050257931, Samuel 20200011146, Switzer et al., 20220003063 disclose detecting a stimulus with a sensor and activating a friction reducing vibration tool based on the stimulus.
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672