DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 2010/0164886).
As to claim 1, Nakamura teaches an input device, comprising:
a switch (switches 13, fig. 1);
a communication interface to communicate with the information processing apparatus ([0041] the driver 113c determines whether a control process, which is determined in accordance with the combinational operation (i.e. a combination of simultaneously executed operations) between an operation on the touch pad 16a and an operation on the touch pad 16b, is preset in the touch pad control data 113d. If this control process is preset, the driver 113c outputs a corresponding control code. The CPU 111 executes the control process which corresponds to the control code that is output from the driver 113c);
a plurality of touchpads (16a and 16b, fig. 1); and
circuitry (the laptop in fig. 1 has different circuitries),
wherein, when a combination of operations on the plurality of touchpads is received, the circuitry identifies a code corresponding to the combination of the operations on the plurality of touchpads and outputs the identified code to an information processing apparatus via the communication interface ([0041], figs. 7-14).
As to claim 2, Nakamura teaches the input device, further comprising a housing (computer main body 11, fig. 1) provided with the plurality of touchpads (16a and 16b, fig. 1), wherein the housing does not have a display (fig. 1 illustrates that computer main body 11 does not include a display).
As to claim 3, Nakamura teaches the input device, wherein the circuitry is configured to: distinguish operations on the plurality of touchpads (touch pads 16a and 16b in figs. 7-14) based on at least one of operation direction, duration of contact, frequency of contact, area of contact, or a number of contact areas on the plurality of touchpads (touch pads 16a and 16b in figs. 7-14); and output a code corresponding to the distinguished operations on the plurality of touchpads to the information processing apparatus via the communication interface ([0052] in accordance with the control code from the driver 113c, the OS 113a executes control processes such as a scroll function control, an image enlargement/reduction function control, a sound volume/luminance function control and an audio playback function control, see figs. 7-14 and the corresponding paragraphs).
As to claim 6, Nakamura teaches the input device, wherein each of the plurality of touchpads is arranged on at least one of a left side, a right side, a front side, and a back side of the input device (see pads 16a and 16b at the front side).
As to claim 7, Nakamura teaches a control method, comprising: when a combination of operations on a plurality of touchpads is received ([0041] the combinational operation (i.e. a combination of simultaneously executed operations) between an operation on the touch pad 16a and an operation on the touch pad 16b), identifying a code corresponding to the combination of the operations on the plurality of touchpads ([0041] the driver 113c determines whether a control process, which is determined in accordance with the combinational operation (i.e. a combination of simultaneously executed operations) between an operation on the touch pad 16a and an operation on the touch pad 16b, is preset in the touch pad control data 113d. If this control process is preset, the driver 113c outputs a corresponding control code. The CPU 111 executes the control process which corresponds to the control code that is output from the driver 113c) and outputting the identified code to an information processing apparatus via a communication interface ([0041], figs. 7-14).
As to claim 8, Nakamura teaches a non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the processors to perform a method ([0097]), the method comprising :
when receiving a combination of operations on a plurality of touchpads ([0041] the combinational operation (i.e. a combination of simultaneously executed operations) between an operation on the touch pad 16a and an operation on the touch pad 16b), identifying a code corresponding the combination of the operations on the plurality of touchpads ([0041] the driver 113c determines whether a control process, which is determined in accordance with the combinational operation (i.e. a combination of simultaneously executed operations) between an operation on the touch pad 16a and an operation on the touch pad 16b, is preset in the touch pad control data 113d. If this control process is preset, the driver 113c outputs a corresponding control code. The CPU 111 executes the control process which corresponds to the control code that is output from the driver 113c) and outputting the identified code to an information processing apparatus via a communication interface ([0041], figs. 7-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2010/0164886) in view of Li (US 2017/0123516).
As to claim 4, Nakamura does not teach receiving a combination of operations on the plurality of touchpads and an operation on the switch as claimed.
However, Li teaches the input device, wherein when receiving a combination of operations on the plurality of touchpads and an operation on the switch ([0130] the user may use the thumb 902 to press down on the thumb button 105, and meanwhile swipe both the index finger 903 and middle finger 904 upward or downward across the index touch pad and middle touch pad, so as to increase or decrease the 3-D view angle, [0143], [0307]), the circuitry identifies a code corresponding to the combination of the operations on the plurality of touchpads and the operation on the switch-and outputs the identified code to the information processing apparatus ([0102] finger operations on the two buttons/touch pads of controller 800 and on the three buttons/touch pads of controller 100 may generate control commands and instructions in similar manners) via the communication interface ([0136] the computing device 1604 may need a wireless communication module or hardware (e.g., a wireless dongle) for establishing wireless connections with the controller 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamura to teach, a combination of operations on the plurality of touchpads and an operation on the switch, as suggested by Li. The motivation would have been in order to provide “integrated user interface for the user to interact with various computing devices, and thus enhances user experience” ([0056]).
3. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2010/0164886) in view of Li (US 2017/0123516) and further in view of Yamamoto (US 2014/0152573).
As to claim 5, Nakamura does not teach the input device as claimed.
However, Li teaches the input device further comprising a memory to store the code corresponding to combination of operations ([0211] processor system 2602 may implement machine instructions stored in a memory system, such as software for analyzing input information and accordingly controlling various peripherals. In at least one embodiment, processor system 2602 may collect and analyze input data from buttons, touch pads, motion sensors, and/or microphone of the controller 100, and translate the input data into control commands) on the plurality of touchpads as mapping information ([0130] the user may use the thumb 902 to press down on the thumb button 105, and meanwhile swipe both the index finger 903 and middle finger 904 upward or downward across the index touch pad and middle touch pad, so as to increase or decrease the 3-D view angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamura to teach, a memory to store the code corresponding to combination of operations on the plurality of touchpads, as suggested by Li. The motivation would have been in order to provide “integrated user interface for the user to interact with various computing devices, and thus enhances user experience” ([0056]).
Nakamura combined with Li does not teach a plurality of mapping tables and changing the mapping table as claimed.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein
the mapping information includes a plurality of mapping tables, and the circuitry is configured to change a mapping table currently used to one of other mapping tables in response to receiving a mapping table change request ([0028] The key input management module 33 has a touch key determination module 37 which determines the kind of the SW key 11 which is touched on the touch screen 10, and a mapping change module 38 which changes the HW key mapping tables 34a, 34b, . . . to be used, [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamura and Li to teach, a plurality of mapping tables and changing the mapping table, as suggested by Yamamoto. The motivation would have been in order to improve operability and user interaction.
Conclusion
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628