DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsushita et al. (US Pub 2024/0233464).
As of claims 1, 16 and 17, Matsushita discloses a method for controlling a motor vehicle, which is secured by a digital vehicle key, the method comprising:
determining that a locking device is set up against addition of a new digital vehicle key, wherein the locking device denies storage of a newly generated digital vehicle key via a key management system (via operating the vehicle is in registration prohibition mode in which the ECU 4 of the vehicle denies storage of a newly generated digital key; see paragraph [0145] and [0162]);
detecting a request to unlock the locking device (via receiving a security unlock code; see paragraph [0163]-[0164]);
determining that the request is made based on a digital vehicle key authorized to do so; and disabling the locking device, so that the new digital vehicle key can be added for controlling the motor vehicle (determining that the security code is valid and switching to the registration mode, hence disabling the locking, so that the new key can be added; see paragraphs [0162]-[0165]).
As of claim 2, Matsushita discloses that the request is made using a predetermined digital vehicle key (see paragraph [0164], “The security unlock tool is, for example, a dedicated key 2. In addition, a dedicated key code can be adopted as the security unlock code. For example, the authentication ECU 4 may shift to the owner registration mode based on the fact that the in-vehicle near field communication unit 56 performs near field communication with the dedicated key 2 and receives the dedicated key code”).
As of claim 3, Matsushita discloses that it is determined that the request originates from a predetermined device assigned to the digital vehicle key (see paragraph [0164], “The security unlock tool is, for example, a dedicated key 2. In addition, a dedicated key code can be adopted as the security unlock code. For example, the authentication ECU 4 may shift to the owner registration mode based on the fact that the in-vehicle near field communication unit 56 performs near field communication with the dedicated key 2 and receives the dedicated key code”).
As of claims 6 and 7, Matsushita discloses that the request to unlock the locking device requires a direct interaction with the motor vehicle (via sending security unlocking signal including a security unlock code to the vehicle; see paragraphs [0162]).
As of claims 8 and 9, Matsushita discloses that the motor vehicle is controlled to not accept a digital vehicle key that was generated after setting up the locking device and before unlocking the locking device (via operating the vehicle in a registration prohibition mode; see paragraph [0162]).
As of claims 14 and 15, Matsushita discloses that the digital vehicle key of the motor vehicle is assignable to a group; and wherein an authorized vehicle key is recognized based on an assignment to a predetermined group (via using a predetermining security unlock tool, predetermined terminal or a dedicated key 2; see paragraphs [0163]-[0165]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita et al. (US Pub 2024/0233464) in view of Menard et al. (US Pub 2018/0012272).
As of claim 10, Matsushita discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 6 above, however it does not explicitly disclose that the key management system and the motor vehicle each carry a counter that is incremented when the locking device is set up; wherein the key management system assigns a current counter reading of its counter to a digital vehicle key to be stored; and wherein the motor vehicle denies storage of a digital vehicle key whose assigned counter reading is less than the current counter reading of the motor vehicle.
Menard discloses that the key management system (via server 50) and the motor vehicle (via vehicle 10) each carry a counter that is incremented when the locking device is set up; wherein the key management system assigns a current counter reading of its counter to a digital vehicle key to be stored; and wherein the motor vehicle denies storage of a digital vehicle key whose assigned counter reading is less than the current counter reading of the motor vehicle (see paragraphs [0053] and [0099]-[0100]).
From the teaching of Menard, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Matsushita to include the function of a counter as taught by Menard in order to enhance security of the digital key exchange.
As of claims 11-13, The Examiner takes official notice that it is known in the art that a resetting of the motor vehicle to manufacturer settings will remove all restrictions and authorization and sets the vehicle to a default setting which will unlock a set locking device (see Smith (US Pub 2018/0123804) paragraph [0188]).
Claims 4-5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita et al. (US Pub 2024/0233464) in view of Lee (US Pub 2025/0115212).
As of claims 18-19, Matsushita discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, Matsushita discloses that the DKS3 issues key in response to a request from a user, namely user mobile terminal 1, however it does not explicitly disclose that the request originates from the vehicle.
Lee discloses that the request to management server for digital keys (key management system) can be transmitted through a user interface of the vehicle or a user terminal (see paragraph [0014]).
From the teaching of Lee it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the function of transmitting a request to a key management system through a vehicle or mobile terminal as taught by Lee to provide different options to contact the key management system.
As of claims 4-5, Matsushita discloses wherein the locking device causes the key management system to not sign the newly generated digital vehicle key; and wherein the disabling of the locking device comprises transmitting a message to the key management system, so that the locking device is disabled by the key management system (see paragraph [0123], “the signals corresponding to the user's operations/instructions to the vehicle digital key system Sys, such as account creation/deletion, registration content change, service key issuance/deletion/invalidation, and the like will be simply referred to as operation signals. Here, the interface that directly accepts the user's operation may not be limited to mobile terminal 1. The DKS 3 can acquire the above operation signal via a computer arranged in an office or a home. That is, the DKS 3 is configured so that the user's operation signal can be acquired via the digital key application 104 or a dedicated web page, once a user account is deleted or suspended the DKS 3 will not be issuing new digital keys and upon receiving instructions to create, key issuance command the DKS 3 will issue keys, hence disabling the locking device).
Conclusion
/NABIL H SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689