DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits based on the 19/192,468 application filed on 04/29/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-21, as originally filed, are currently pending and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/10/2025 and 04/29/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1). If the invention can be drawn or illustrated then a drawing is required in lieu of black and white photorealistic images. All details in the black and white photorealistic images are not clear. Therefore, black and white line drawings are required in place of the black and white photorealistic images in Figures 3-7. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 10, 12-14, 16-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bush (US Patent No. 3,345,710; DP: 10/10/1967).
Regarding claim 1, Bush discloses a connection assembly (Female member 10, keeper 18, and locking sleeve 32; Figure 1) for connection to a cable (Wire rope 13; Figure 1) having an enlarged end piece (T head 16; Figure 1), the connection assembly comprising: a base (Female member/receiver 10; Figure 1) having a connector (Right end of female member 10 having eye 12; Figure 1) at a first end configured for connection to an attachment (Col. 2, Lines 29-35), a cavity (Interior of the cup 21; Figure 1) extending inward from a second end opposite the first end, and a base fastener hole (Hole receiving pin 39; Figure 1) extending through the base to the cavity, wherein the cavity has a threaded inner surface (Threads 22; Figure 1); a holder (Keeper 18; Figures 1 and 2) received within the cavity of the base and having a threaded outer surface that is threadably engaged with the threaded inner surface of the cavity to removably fix the holder within the cavity (Col. 2, Lines 40-44 and 51-57; Figure 1), the holder having a receiver (Notches 19; Figure 1) and a passage (Slot 17; Figure 1) extending to the receiver, wherein the passage is configured to receive the cable therethrough, and the receiver is configured to receive and engage the enlarged end piece of the cable to retain the cable within the passage (Col. 2, Lines 40-50; See Figures 1-2 and 5); a shell (Locking sleeve 32; Figure 1) having a side wall (i.e., wall of sleeve 32 extending around the top and bottom) and an end wall (Left end wall of sleeve 32; Figure 1) defining a chamber (i.e., the inside of the locking sleeve 32) receiving the base and the holder therein, such that at least the first end of the base extends out of the chamber, the end wall having an aperture (i.e., the bottom hole of the sleeve 32 formed as the end wall of sleeve 32) configured for receiving the cable therethrough to engage the holder within the chamber, wherein the shell has a shell fastener hole (Slot 41; Figure 1) extending through the side wall and into the chamber (Col. 3 Lines 30-32); and a fastener (Pin 39; Figure 1) extending through the shell fastener hole and received in the base fastener hole to removably fix the base within the chamber of the shell (Col. 1 Lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 7, Bush discloses a connection assembly (Female member 10, keeper 18, and locking sleeve 32; Figure 1) for connection to a cable (Wire rope 13; Figure 1) having an enlarged end piece (T head 16; Figure 1), the connection assembly comprising: a base (Female member/receiver 10; Figure 1) having a connector (Right end of female member 10 having eye 12; Figure 1) at a first end configured for connection to an attachment (Col. 2, Lines 29-35) and a cavity (Interior of the cup 21; Figure 1) extending inward from a second end opposite the first end; a holder (Keeper 18; Figures 1 and 2) received within the cavity of the base and removably fixed within the cavity, the holder having a passage (Slot 17; Figure 1) configured to receive the cable therethrough (Col. 2, Lines 40-44 and 51-57; Figure 1), wherein the holder is configured to engage the enlarged end piece of the cable to retain the cable within the passage (Col. 2, Lines 40-50; See Figures 1-2 and 5); and a shell (Locking sleeve 32; Figure 1) having a side wall (i.e., wall of sleeve 32 extending around the top and bottom) and an end wall (Left end wall of sleeve 32; Figure 1) defining a chamber (i.e., the inside of the locking sleeve 32) receiving the base and the holder therein, such that at least the first end of the base extends out of the chamber, the end wall having an aperture (i.e., the bottom hole of the sleeve 32 formed as the end wall of sleeve 32) configured for receiving the cable therethrough to engage the holder within the chamber, wherein the base is removably fixed within the chamber.
Regarding claim 10, Busch discloses the cavity of the base has a threaded inner surface (Threads 22; Figure 1), and the holder has a threaded outer surface that is complementary to the threaded inner surface of the base, such that the holder is removably fixed within the cavity by threaded engagement between the threaded inner surface of the base and the threaded outer surface of the holder (Col. 2, Lines 40-44 and 51-57).
Regarding claim 12, Bush discloses the base has a base fastener hole (Hole receiving pin 39; Figure 1) extending from the outer surface of the base into the cavity, and wherein the connection assembly further comprises a fastener (Pin 39; Figure 1) extending through the base fastener hole to engage the holder and further removably fix the holder within the cavity (Col. 1 Lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 13, Bush discloses the base has a base fastener hole (Hole receiving pin 39; Figure 1) in an outer surface thereof, and the shell has a shell fastener hole (Slot 41; Figure 1) extending through the side wall and into the chamber, and wherein the connection assembly further comprises a fastener (Pin 39; Figure 1) extending through the shell fastener hole and engaged with the base fastener hole to removably fix the base within the chamber of the shell (Col. 1 Lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 14, Bush discloses the holder further comprises a first end (Right end with notches 19 as seen in Figures 1 and 2), a second end (Left end of the holder/keeper 18; Figure 1) opposite the first end and adjacent to the end wall of the shell, and a receiver (Notches 19; Figures 1 and 2) in the first end, such that the passage extends through the holder to the receiver, wherein the holder is configured to engage the cable such that the cable extends through the passage to the receiver (i.e., the cable extends through the holder as seen in Figure 5), and wherein the passage has a width (i.e., the width formed by the smaller cross section of slot 17) that is configured to be smaller than the enlarged end piece of the cable to resist passage of the enlarged end piece through the passage, and the receiver has a width (i.e., the width formed by the slot 17 and the notches 19 as seen in Figure 2) that is enlarged with respect to the width of the passage, such that the receiver is configured to receive and retain the enlarged end piece (Col. 2, Lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 16, Bush discloses the connector comprises a clevis connector (i.e., the connector forms a clevis connector as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Bush discloses a cable system (Quick disconnect coupling; Col. 1, Lines 10-13; Figure 1) for use with a weightlifting machine (i.e., the wire cable 13 is of a weight machine), comprising: a cable (Wire rope 13; Figure 1) having an input end with an enlarged end piece (T head 16; Figure 1); and a connection assembly (Female member 10, keeper 18, and locking sleeve 32; Figure 1) connected to the input end of the cable, the connection assembly comprising: a base (Female member/receiver 10; Figure 1) having a connector (Right end of female member 10 having eye 12; Figure 1) at a first end configured for connection to an attachment (Col. 2, Lines 29-35) and a cavity (Interior of the cup 21; Figure 1) extending inward from a second end opposite the first end; a holder (Keeper 18; Figures 1 and 2) received within the cavity of the base and removably fixed within the cavity, the holder having a passage (Slot 17; Figure 1) receiving the cable therethrough, wherein the holder engages the enlarged end piece of the cable to retain the cable within the passage (Col. 2, Lines 40-50; See Figures 1-2 and 5); and a shell (Locking sleeve 32; Figure 1) having a side wall (i.e., wall of sleeve 32 extending around the top and bottom) and an end wall (Left end wall of sleeve 32; Figure 1) defining a chamber (i.e., the inside of the locking sleeve 32) receiving the base and the holder therein, the end wall having an aperture (i.e., the bottom hole of the sleeve 32 formed as the end wall of sleeve 32) through which the cable extends to engage the holder within the chamber, wherein the base is removably fixed within the chamber (Col. 2, Lines 40-44 and 51-57; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Bush discloses the cavity of the base has a threaded inner surface (Threads 22; Figure 1), and the holder has a threaded outer surface that is complementary to the threaded inner surface of the base, such that the holder is removably fixed within the cavity by threaded engagement between the threaded inner surface of the base and the threaded outer surface of the holder (Col. 2, Lines 40-44 and 51-57; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Bush discloses the base has a base fastener hole (Hole receiving pin 39; Figure 1) in an outer surface thereof, and the shell has a shell fastener hole (Slot 41; Figure 1) extending through the side wall and into the chamber, and wherein the connection assembly further comprises a fastener (Pin 39; Figure 1) extending through the shell fastener hole and engaged with the base fastener hole to removably fix the base within the chamber of the shell (Col. 1 Lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 21, Bush discloses the holder further comprises a first end (Right end with notches 19 as seen in Figures 1 and 2), a second end (Left end of the holder/keeper 18; Figure 1) opposite the first end and adjacent to the end wall of the shell, and a receiver (Notches 19; Figure 1) in the first end, such that the passage extends through the holder to the receiver, wherein the cable extends through the passage to the receiver (i.e., the cable extends through the holder as seen in Figure 5), and wherein the passage has a width (i.e., the width formed by the smaller cross section of slot 17) that is smaller than the enlarged end piece of the cable to resist passage of the enlarged end piece through the passage, and the receiver has a width (i.e., the width formed by the slot 17 and the notches 19 as seen in Figure 2) that is enlarged with respect to the width of the passage, such that the receiver is configured to receive and retain the enlarged end piece (Col. 2, Lines 40-50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-9, 11, 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record Lindemeier (US Patent No. 7,749,140; PD: 07/06/2010), Ondeck (US Patent No. 3,251,605; PD: 05/17/1966), Bush (US Patent No. 3,345,710; DP: 10/10/1967), Meyer (US Patent Pub. No. 2012/0295772; PD: 11/22/2012), and Meyer (US Patent Pub. No. 8,591,386; DP: 11/26/2013; DP: 11/26/2013) fail to teach or render obvious claims 2-6, 8-9, 11, 15 and 18.
Meyer discloses a connection assembly (Connection assembly 24; Figure 4) for connection to a cable (Cable 16; Figure 4) having an enlarged end piece (Enlarged ball end 36; Figure 4), the connection assembly comprising: a base (Rigid link 30; Figure 4) having a connector at a first end configured for connection to an attachment (User coupled link 22; Figure 4), a cavity (Trap portion 34; Figure 1; i.e., the cavity of the enlarged ball end 36) extending inward from a second end opposite the first end; a holder (Sleeve 70; Figure 4) received within the cavity of the base, the holder having a receiver (Flange 68; Figure 4) and a passage (Aperture 60; Figure 4) extending to the receiver, wherein the passage is configured to receive the cable therethrough, and the receiver is configured to receive and engage the enlarged end piece of the cable to retain the cable within the passage (i.e., the enlarged end piece/enlarged ball end 36 is within the cable 28 that is a part of the retainer 68); a shell (Outer collar 38; Figure 4) having a side wall and an end wall defining a chamber (i.e., the inner cavity of the collar 38) receiving the base and the holder therein, such that at least the first end of the base extends out of the chamber, the end wall having an aperture (Aperture 62; Figure 4) configured for receiving the cable therethrough to engage the holder within the chamber but does not teach a base fastener hole extending through the base to the cavity, a holder having a threaded outer surface that is threadably engaged with the threaded inner surface of the cavity to removably fix the holder within the cavity, wherein the cavity has a threaded inner surface; wherein the shell has a shell fastener hole extending through the side wall and into the chamber; and a fastener extending through the shell fastener hole and received in the base fastener hole to removably fix the base within the chamber of the shell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited for additional pertinent prior art.
/ANDREW M KOBYLARZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3784