DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 8/17/2026. Currently claims 1-10 are pending in the application.
ELECTION / RESTRICTION
Applicant's election of Group II, claims 1-5, drawn to a method in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged. Because the applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected as the claims fail to recite the word “A” or “The” before the word “Method” at the beginning of claims. Generally, “A” is used for independent claims, and “The” is used for dependent claims. Therefore, appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 as being anticipated over Fairy et al. (CN 103 209 814 A), hereafter, referred to as “Fairy”.
Regarding claim 1, Fairy teaches a method of injecting molten material using a co-injection nozzle for injecting two different molten materials, one material being a core material and one a skin material (para. [0066] - [0069]; Fig. 12). Fairy teaches that the melt of the skin material is guided along the valve pin 1226/1276 (Fig. 12) through 150 and 1278 into "channel" 1280 and from there towards 1282 and to the nozzle outlet opening and mold gate. The area between guide section 1231 and opening 1282 is considered an internal cavity as well as 1274, from which in the upper part channels 1278 branch of into 1280, which can be considered an "auxiliary chamber of the nozzle tip". Hence the internal cavity also is considered to disclose a first cavity portion and a second cavity portion, as shown in Fig. 12. The nozzle tip 1254 comprises members 1262, 1264 and 1266 and a plurality of tunnels extension 1299. Therefore, Fairy teaches all features of the instant claim.
Regarding claims 2-3, Fairy teaches a method wherein during the injection of molten material the valve pin is moved away from the nozzle so as to leave a space between the nozzle and the walls of the internal central cavity so that the molten material reaches the nozzle by both crossing the at least one second channel and crossing said space, and wherein during an injection cycle: the valve pin is initially at its end-of-travel position inside an end portion of the internal central cavity and completely occludes both the nozzle and the outlet of the at least one second channel, the valve pin is displaced until it clears the exit of the at least one second channel, and the molten material passes through the at least one second channel to reach the nozzle; by teaching In Fig. 12, the enlarged tip guide section 1231 of the valve pin 1226 is seated in the central openings 1276, 1282, and 1294 of the tip distributor 1264, the tip cap 1166, and the tip base 1262, so that the skin or core material cannot flow into the mold cavity {not shown) from the nozzle tip skin material melt channel 1274, the core material melt channel 1272, or the outer melt channel 1280. The tip 1228 of the valve pin 1226 retracts from the mold gate 1224 and then passes through the central openings 1276, 1282, 1294 to allow simultaneous flow of the inner and outer layers of the skin material from the skin material melt channel 1274 and the outer layer melt channel 1280, respectively, as well as the flow of the core layer melt from the core material melt channel 1272, thereby allowing the formation of a three-layer molded article (para. [0069], translation in para. [0075]).
Regarding claims 4-5, Fairy teaches a method wherein with the step of mounting concentrically around the tip insert, in correspondence with the nozzle, an annular member to create said auxiliary chamber, configured to be invaded by the molten material when it exits the at least one first channel until it enters the at least one second channel, and/or an annular wall for diverting the molten material from the auxiliary chamber into the at least one second channel, and wherein said auxiliary chamber has a donut or toroidal shape and is arranged entirely around the tip insert; by teaching the features in Fig, 12, where the wall in central lower part of 1262 taking the configuration.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742