DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group IV, Claims 1, 7-9, 12-15, 18, 20 in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2-6, 10-11, 16-17, 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims including all limitations of an allowable generic claim shall be rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9, 12-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. “UV 11” and “UV 22” are non-standard terms and do not have clear definitions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, 14, 15, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heindel (NPL: “Enhancement Layer Coding for Chroma Sub-Sampled Screen Content Video,” IEEE 2022) in view of Wu (NPL: “Tunneling High-Resolution Color Content through 4:2:0 HEVC and AVC Video Coding Systems,” IEEE 2013) and Lin (NPL: “Novel Chroma Subsampling Strategy Based on Mathematical Optimization for Compressing Mosaic Videos With Arbitrary RGB Color Filter Arrays in H.264/AVC and HEVC,” IEEE 2016).
Regarding Claim 1, Heindel (NPL: “Enhancement Layer Coding for Chroma Sub-Sampled Screen Content Video,” IEEE 2022) discloses a picture encoding device (enhancement layer coding, Title, Abstract), comprising:
one or more processors (software implementation of both EL encoder and decoder, page 790 right column);
and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (software implementation of both EL encoder and decoder, page 790 right column), the picture encoding device is enabled to perform the following operations comprising:
obtaining a to be processed picture block (the current picture to code is partitioned into blocks, page 790 right column) to be encoded (uncompressed input signal, page 790 right column), and a chroma sampling rate of the picture block is higher than that of YUV 4:2:0 (YCrCb 4:4:4, page 790 right column);
obtaining a base layer (The base layer is compressed using the HEVC reference software, page 792 left column) picture block (decoded BL ~v[x] of the block B, page 793 left column) and an enhancement layer (lossless coding of enhancement layer in YCrCb 4:4:4, page 789 right column) picture block (dc[x], page 793 left column) based on the picture block (original color signal uc[x], page 793 left column), wherein a chroma sampling rate of the base layer picture block (HEVC codec is used for 4:2:0 format base layer compression, page 790 right column) is lower than (4:2:0 is lower than 4:4:4) the chroma sampling rate of the picture block (enhancement layer in YCrCb 4:4:4, page 789 right column);
performing encoding based on the base layer picture block to obtain a base layer bitstream (HEVC codec is used for 4:2:0 format base layer compression, page 790 right column);
and performing encoding based on the enhancement layer picture block to obtain an enhancement layer bitstream (lossless coding of enhancement layer in YCrCb 4:4:4, page 789 right column).
Heindel does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Tunneling High-Resolution Color Content through 4:2:0 HEVC and AVC Video Coding Systems,” IEEE 2013) teaches a pixel comprised in a first chroma component (pixels in B4, B5, B6, B7, B8, B9 of the AUX layer are not the same pixels in B2 and B3 of the MAIN view, see bottom of page 5 for pixel distribution among blocks B2-B9) of the enhancement layer (auxiliary view, Section 2 packing) picture block does not overlap a pixel (pixels in B2 and B3 of the MAIN view, see bottom of page 5 for pixel distribution among blocks B2-B9) comprised in a first chroma component of the base layer picture block (main view, Section 2, packing).
Heindel does not disclose, but Lin (NPL: “Novel Chroma Subsampling Strategy Based on Mathematical Optimization for Compressing Mosaic Videos With Arbitrary RGB Color Filter Arrays in H.264/AVC and HEVC,” IEEE 2016) teaches wherein a dimension of the picture block is 2x2 (2x2 block, page 1723 right column).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to use the frame packing of Wu in the chroma format scalability encoder of Heindel to achieve chroma format scalability at reduced complexity because Wu teaches that it enables the use of existing codec architecture while supplying full resolution content, reducing the additional complexity required in Heindel, providing a more easily implementable solution.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to sub-sample the UV blocks of Heindel in 2x2 sizes because Lin teaches that that is the customary size in which to implement sub-sampling, yielding predictable results.
Regarding Claim 13, Heindel (NPL: “Enhancement Layer Coding for Chroma Sub-Sampled Screen Content Video,” IEEE 2022) discloses the picture encoding device according to claim 1.
Heindel does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Tunneling High-Resolution Color Content through 4:2:0 HEVC and AVC Video Coding Systems,” IEEE 2013) teaches wherein a sampling format of the base layer picture block is YUV 4:2:2 (The technique can also be extended to transport 4:4:4 video through 4:2:2 systems, Abstract), and the enhancement layer picture block is either a UV22 picture block or a UV 11 picture block (in the AUX view, B4-B9 are frame packed, page 5, Section 2 packing).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to use the frame packing of Wu in the chroma format scalability encoder of Heindel to achieve chroma format scalability at reduced complexity because Wu teaches that it enables the use of existing codec architecture while supplying full resolution content, reducing the additional complexity required in Heindel, providing a more easily implementable solution.
Regarding Claim 14, Heindel (NPL: “Enhancement Layer Coding for Chroma Sub-Sampled Screen Content Video,” IEEE 2022) discloses the picture encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the performing encoding based on the enhancement layer picture block to obtain an enhancement layer bitstream comprises:
obtaining a base layer reconstructed block and/or base layer encoding information that correspond/corresponds to the base layer picture block (decoded and reconstructed BL colors … in a block B, page 792 right column – page 793 left column;
predicting the enhancement layer picture block (difference to the decoded BL chroma components, page 793 left column) based on the base layer reconstructed block and/or the base layer encoding information (decoded BL chroma component, page 793 left column) to obtain an enhancement layer residual (difference to the decoded BL chroma, page 793 left column );
and performing encoding (entropy coding, page 795 right column) based on the enhancement layer residual (chroma differences, page 795 right column) to obtain the enhancement layer bitstream (entropy coding, page 795 right column).
Regarding Claim 15, Heindel (NPL: “Enhancement Layer Coding for Chroma Sub-Sampled Screen Content Video,” IEEE 2022) discloses the picture encoding device according to claim 8, the operations further comprising:
obtaining phase sampling information, wherein the phase sampling information comprises information indicating a location of the fifth pixel and a location of the sixth pixel;
and encoding the phase sampling information.
Regarding Claim 18, Heindel (NPL: “Enhancement Layer Coding for Chroma Sub-Sampled Screen Content Video,” IEEE 2022) discloses a picture decoding device, comprising:
one or more processors;
and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the device is enabled to perform (software implementation of both EL encoder and decoder, page 790 right column) the following operations comprising:
obtaining a base layer bitstream (HEVC codec is used for 4:2:0 format base layer compression, page 790 right column) and an enhancement layer bitstream (lossless coding of enhancement layer in YCrCb 4:4:4, page 789 right column);
parsing the base layer bitstream to obtain a base layer reconstructed block (decoded BL ~v[x] of the block B, page 793 left column), and a chroma sampling rate of the base layer reconstructed block is higher than or equal to that of YUV4:2:0 (HEVC codec is used for 4:2:0 format base layer compression, page 790 right column);
parsing the enhancement layer bitstream to obtain an enhancement layer reconstructed block (dc[x], page 793 left column);
and obtaining a target reconstructed block (dc[x] + ~v[x] = uc[x], page 793 left column) based on the base layer reconstructed block (decoded BL ~v[x] of the block B, page 793 left column) and the enhancement layer reconstructed block (dc[x], page 793 left column), wherein a chroma sampling rate of the target reconstructed block is higher than the chroma sampling rate of the base layer reconstructed block (4:2:0 is lower than 4:4:4).
Heindel does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Tunneling High-Resolution Color Content through 4:2:0 HEVC and AVC Video Coding Systems,” IEEE 2013) teaches wherein a pixel comprised (pixels in B4, B5, B6, B7, B8, B9 of the AUX layer are not the same pixels in B2 and B3 of the MAIN view, see bottom of page 5 for pixel distribution among blocks B2-B9) in a first chroma component (U or V, see bottom of page 5 for pixel distribution among blocks B2-B9) of the enhancement layer reconstructed block (auxiliary view, Section 2 packing, page 5) does not overlap (pixels in B2 and B3 of the MAIN view are not in B4-B9 of the AUX view, see bottom of page 5 for pixel distribution among blocks B2-B9) a pixel comprised in a first chroma component (pixels in B2 and B3 of the MAIN view for U or V, page 5) of the base layer reconstructed block (MAIN view, page 5).
Heindel does not disclose, but Lin (NPL: “Novel Chroma Subsampling Strategy Based on Mathematical Optimization for Compressing Mosaic Videos With Arbitrary RGB Color Filter Arrays in H.264/AVC and HEVC,” IEEE 2016) teaches wherein a dimension of the picture block is 2x2 (2x2 block, page 1723 right column).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to use the frame packing of Wu in the chroma format scalability encoder of Heindel to achieve chroma format scalability at reduced complexity because Wu teaches that it enables the use of existing codec architecture while supplying full resolution content, reducing the additional complexity required in Heindel, providing a more easily implementable solution.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to sub-sample the UV blocks of Heindel in 2x2 sizes because Lin teaches that that is the customary size in which to implement sub-sampling, yielding predictable results.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Braeckman (“Lossy-to-Lossless Screen Content Coding using an HEVC Base-layer,” IEEE 2013)
Kim (US 2006/0013308) – three chroma formats in a simulcast
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485