CTNF 19/192,485 CTNF 94707 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the multiple receptacles of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2, ”the capacity” should be amended to –a capacity --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the limitation "the number of the receptacle(s)" in line 2. Claim 4 depends from claim 1 where there is only one receptacle mentioned. The use of “(s)” implies that multiple receptacles may be present in the electric fuel cell vehicle where it is unclear if there is only one receptacle or multiple receptacles as seen in claim 3. The Office recommends amending the claim to depend from claim 3. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered as at least one receptacle. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 20180266633 A1) in view of Uchida (JP 2015214992 A) in further view of Aoki (JP 4492063 B2) . Regarding Claim 1: Fujita discloses a fuel cell electric vehicle (20, Figure 1), comprising: a fuel cell system (21 and 22, Figure 2, the fuel cell and hydrogen tank are the fuel cell system) provided with a fuel cell (21, Figure 2) and a hydrogen tank (22, Figure 2); a receptacle (25, Figure 2) for connection to a nozzle (13, Figure 2), the receptacle (25, Figure 2) being provided at the head of a hydrogen introducing pipe (23, Figure 2, the filling passage is the hydrogen introducing pipe) of the fuel cell electric vehicle (20, Figure 2); and a control unit (28, Figure 2) adapted to transmit information of the fuel cell electric vehicle (Paragraph [0030], information regarding the tank is transmitted to the gas station). Fujita does not disclose: a control unit adapted to transmit information on the type of receptacle of the fuel cell electric vehicle for determining a proper flow for hydrogen filling of the hydrogen tank. Uchida teaches a fuel gas filling system, comprising: a control unit (230, Figure 1) adapted to transmit information on the type of receptacle (Paragraphs [0016-0018], the type of receptacle is transmitted by the control unit) of the fuel cell electric vehicle (200, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujita to include a control unit adapted to transmit information on the type of receptacle of the fuel cell electric vehicle as taught by Uchida with the motivation to provide a desired flow rate based on information received from the vehicle to increase the filling speed. Fujita and Uchida do not teach: a control unit adapted to transmit information on the type of receptacle of the fuel cell electric vehicle for determining a proper flow for hydrogen filling of the hydrogen tank. Aoki teaches a hydrogen supply station, comprising: determining a proper flow for hydrogen filling of the hydrogen tank (Paragraphs [0038] and [0047], the proper flow for hydrogen filling of the hydrogen tank (7) is determined based on the maximum allowable filling speed of the hydrogen tank). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujita and Uchida to include determining a proper flow for hydrogen filling of the hydrogen tank as taught by Aoki with the motivation to suppress the inside of the tank from being heated when filling with hydrogen to reduce the pressure energy loss. Through the combination of Fujita, Uchida, and Aoki, the control unit (28, Figure 2) of Fujita transmits information on the type of receptacle as seen in Uchida where the information is used to determine a proper flow for the hydrogen filling of the hydrogen tank as seen in Aoki. Regarding Claim 2: Fujita discloses: wherein the control unit (28, Figure 2) is adapted to transmit the capacity of the hydrogen tank (Paragraph [0030], the filling capacity of the hydrogen tank (22) is transmitted). Regarding Claim 5: Fujita discloses: wherein the control unit (28, Figure 2) is adapted to transmit wirelessly (Paragraph [0030], the control unit is connected to a communication device (26) to wirelessly communicate with the gas station). Regarding Claim 6: Fujita discloses: wherein the control unit (28, Figure 2) is adapted to calculate the pressure rise rate (Paragraphs [0036-0037], the pressure rise rate (pressure change rate) is calculated by the control unit) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Uchida in further view of Aoki and Yoshida (US 20210388947 A1) . Regarding Claim 3: Fujita discloses: the receptacle (25, Figure 2). Fujita, Uchida, and Aoki do not teach: further comprising multiple receptacles. Yoshida teaches a hydrogen filling apparatus, comprising: further comprising multiple receptacles (61-1 and 61-2, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujita, Aoki, and Uchida to include multiple receptacles as taught by Yoshida with the motivation to fill multiple groups of tanks at once to reduce the amount of time fueling larger vehicles . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Uchida in further view of Aoki, Yoshida (US 20210388947 A1), and Boisen (US 20200276909 A1) . Regarding Claim 4: Fujita discloses: the receptacle (25, Figure 2) and the control unit (28, Figure 2). Fujita, Uchida, and Aoki do not teach: wherein the control unit is adapted to transmit the number of the receptacle(s). Yoshida teaches a hydrogen filling apparatus, comprising: transmit the number of receptacles (Paragraphs [0038-0040], the information regarding the vehicle type is used to determine along with operator selection the number of receptacles used). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujita, Aoki, and Uchida to include transmit the number of receptacles as taught by Yoshida with the motivation to fill multiple groups of tanks at once to reduce the amount of time fueling larger vehicles. Fujita, Uchida, Aoki do not teach: wherein the control unit is adapted to transmit the number of the receptacle(s). Boisen teaches communication systems for hydrogen fueling, comprising: wherein the control unit (210, Figure 2A) is adapted to transmit the number of tanks (Paragraph [0030], the control unit transmits static vehicle information). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujita, Aoki, Yoshida, and Uchida to include the control unit is adapted to transmit the number of tanks as taught by Boisen with the motivation to increase fueling speed and safety through communicating information regarding the vehicle. Through the combination of Fujita, Aoki, Yoshida, Uchida, and Boisen, the control unit the control unit is adapted to transmit the number of receptacles. The control unit of Fujita would transmit the static information of the vehicle as seen in Boisen that includes the number of receptacles seen in Yoshida . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamamoto (US 12111017 B2) teaches a filling module comprising a fuel cell vehicle and multiple receptacles. Saiki (US 8684044 B2) teaches a fluid charging system comprising a fuel cell vehicle, a hydrogen tank, a receptacle, and a control unit. Hoover (US 11254202 B2) teaches a fueling system comprising a fuel cell vehicle, a hydrogen tank, a receptacle, and a control unit. Shin (US 20240377030 A1) teaches a vehicle refueling system comprising a fuel cell vehicle, a hydrogen tank, a receptacle, and a control unit. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES whose telephone number is (571)272-5373. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday: 9:30AM to 5:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kenneth Rinehart can be reached at (571) 272-4881. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753 /KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 Application/Control Number: 19/192,485 Page 2 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 19/192,485 Page 3 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 19/192,485 Page 4 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 19/192,485 Page 5 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 19/192,485 Page 6 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 19/192,485 Page 7 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 19/192,485 Page 8 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 19/192,485 Page 9 Art Unit: 3753