CTNF 19/192,565 CTNF 89139 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 29 April 2025 for application number 19/192,565. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 4/29/25. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (NPL titled “Tool Description for AV1 and libaom”) . Regarding claim 1 , Zhao discloses a method for encoding or decoding an end-of-block position of a transform block (section 3.6.2), the method comprising: determining a context for the end-of-block position based on an indication of texture of prediction pixels for a current block corresponding to a transform block (sections 3.6 and 3.7.1); and entropy encoding or entropy decoding the end-of-block position based on the context (section 3.6). Regarding claim 2 , see teachings of claim 1. Zhao further discloses further comprising: determining the indication of texture by calculating a variance of the prediction pixels (section 3.7.1). Regarding claim 3 , see teachings of claims 1 and 2. Zhao further discloses wherein the context is determined based on a comparison between the variance and a threshold (section 3.7.1, last paragraph). Regarding claim 4 , see teachings of claim 1. Zhao further discloses further comprising: determining the indication of texture by calculating a discrete cosine transform of the prediction pixels (section 3.4.1). Regarding claim 5 , see teachings of claims 1 and 4. Zhao further discloses wherein the context is determined based on a number of non-zero transform coefficients produced by calculating the discrete cosine transform of the prediction pixels (section 3.8.1). Regarding claim 6 , see teachings of claim 1. Zhao further discloses wherein the transform block is an encoded transform block, the end-of-block position is utilized when decoding the encoded transform block, and the current block is decoded based on the transform block and the prediction pixels (sections 3.3.2 and 3.6.2). Regarding claim 7 , see teachings of claim 1. Zhao further discloses wherein the transform block is a quantized transform block, the quantized transform block is encoded based on the end-of-block position to produce an encoded transform block, a compressed bitstream including an encoding of the end-of-block position and the encoded transform block is stored, and the transform block is determined based on the current block and the prediction pixels (sections 3.5 and 3.6.2). Regarding claim 8 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Regarding claim 9 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2. Regarding claim 10 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3. Regarding claim 11 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4. Regarding claim 12 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5. Regarding claim 13 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6. Regarding claim 14 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7. Regarding claim 15 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Regarding claim 16 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2. Regarding claim 17 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3. Regarding claim 18 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4. Regarding claim 19 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5. Regarding claim 20 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6. Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NGUYEN T TRUONG whose telephone number is (571)272-5262. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon - Fri, 6AM - 2PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JAMIE ATALA can be reached on 571-272-7384. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/192,565 Page 2 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/192,565 Page 3 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/192,565 Page 4 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/192,565 Page 5 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/192,565 Page 6 Art Unit: 2486