DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 19/192,586 filed 4/29/2025.
Claims 1-14 have been examined and are pending. Claims 1, 13, and 14 are independent claims. This Action is made non-FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/2/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application or being significantly more.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 14, the claims are directed to an abstract idea as reciting the limitations “obtain [] a polynomial for approximating a pre-defined function in a complex root of unity,” and “obtain, by inputting the complex root in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation [], an output ciphertext comprising a function value.” Broadly interpreted, the aforementioned steps are directed to mental processes as said steps are mathematical concepts or could be performed in the human mind or using pen and paper. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Said abstract idea and/or judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application as the claim does not recite any other active steps that could be considered that the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application. It’s noted that the claim recites the steps of “perform bootstrapping for an input ciphertext encrypted with integer data …;“ However, said steps are not sufficient to consider that the abstract idea is being interpreted into a practical application. Said steps are recited at a high level of generality in gathering/processing/storing information, which are a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
It’s also noted that the claims recite additional limitation/elements (i.e., electronic device, memory, processing circuit, processor etc.,). However, said additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception or abstract idea using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements/limitations/embodiments that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As mentioned above, although the claims recite additional elements, said elements taken individually or as a combination, do not result in the claim amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea because as the additional elements perform generic computer content distributing functions routinely used in information technology field. As discussed above, the additional elements recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Therefore, the claim is directed to non- statutory subject matter.
Claims 2-12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter for the same reasons addressed above as the claims recite an abstract idea and the claims do not positively recite any other operations that could be considered as the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application or significantly more. Therefore, claims 2-12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joye (WO2023104531), international filing date November 24 2022, in view of Poeppelmann (US20190312728), filed April 8, 2019.
Regarding claim 1, Joye discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor comprising a processing circuit, wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to (Joye, page 40, line 33, through page 41, line 10, processor system 1140, device, integrated circuits, processing unit 1120, CPU, computing program components, memory 1122):
perform bootstrapping for an input ciphertext encrypted with integer data (Joye, page 12, line 34, through page 13, line 7, input and output ciphertext, "Programmable Bootstrapping Enables Efficient Homomorphic Inference of Deep Neural Networks", Integers, ciphertext, see European patent application EP21290025 (incorporated herein by reference).);
obtain an intermediate ciphertext by transforming the integer data to root of unity data (Joye, page 20, line 35, through page 21, line 4, encrypted computation, intermediate computation results, ciphertexts, polynomials, page 7, lines 28-35, modulus, degree, polynomial, field of integers, Mth root of unity, NTT techniques such as the discrete Fourier transform);
obtain, based on the intermediate ciphertext, a polynomial for approximating a pre- defined function in a root of unity (Joye, page 20, line 35, through page 21, line 4, encrypted computation, intermediate computation results, ciphertexts, polynomials, page 7, lines 28-35, modulus, degree, polynomial, field of integers, Mth root of unity, NTT techniques such as the discrete Fourier transform);
obtain an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data (Joye, page 32, line 29, through page 33, line 5, given a GGSW ciphertext C encrypting a bit b E 35 {0,1} and two GLWE ciphertexts c0 and c1 , "Programmable bootstrapping enables efficient homomorphic inference of deep neural networks". ).
Joye discloses root of unity, obtain an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data, but does not explicitly disclose complex root of unity, obtain, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data.
However, in an analogous art, obtain, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data (Poeppelmann, paragraph 0090, number theoretic transform, fast Fourier transformation, complex roots of unity, exchanged for integer roots, ciphertext, function value, integer data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Poeppelmann with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye to include obtain, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data to provide users with the benefits of preventing physical attacks such as fault and side-channel attacks (Poeppelmann: paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 2, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the input ciphertext, the intermediate ciphertext, and the output ciphertext are encrypted based on a homomorphic encryption scheme for approximately performing an addition and multiplication operation while real data and complex data are encrypted (Poeppelmann, paragraph 0090, complex roots of unity, multiplication, paragraph 0098, multiplication, addition, paragraph 0042, real coefficients)..
Regarding claim 3, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: transform values of slots expressed as a complex vector comprised in the input ciphertext to coefficient data indicating a coefficient of the polynomial, raise a modulus of the coefficient data, transform the modulus raised coefficient data to the complex vector, and transform the integer data to the complex root of unity data by performing an operation according to an approximate polynomial in the ciphertext state by using the complex vector as an input of the approximate polynomial of an exponential function (Poeppelmann, paragraph vectors, paragraph 0081, modulus, paragraph 0090, transformation, coefficient).
Regarding claim 10, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain the input ciphertext comprising the integer data by packing data expressed in bit units into integer units, and obtain result values corresponding respectively to a plurality of bits by dividing the function value comprised in the output ciphertext into the bit units (Poeppelmann, paragraph 0098, integers, bit; paragraph 0103, bits, integer)
Regarding claim 13, Joye discloses a controlling method of an electronic device, the method comprising (Joye, page 40, line 33, through page 41, line 10, processor system 1140, device, integrated circuits, processing unit 1120, CPU, computing program components, memory 1122):
performing bootstrapping for an input ciphertext encrypted with integer data (Joye, page 12, line 34, through page 13, line 7, input and output ciphertext, "Programmable Bootstrapping Enables Efficient Homomorphic Inference of Deep Neural Networks", Integers, ciphertext, see European patent application EP21290025 (incorporated herein by reference).);
obtaining an intermediate ciphertext by transforming the integer data to root of unity data (Joye, page 20, line 35, through page 21, line 4, encrypted computation, intermediate computation results, ciphertexts, polynomials, page 7, lines 28-35, modulus, degree, polynomial, field of integers, Mth root of unity, NTT techniques such as the discrete Fourier transform);
obtaining, based on the intermediate ciphertext, a polynomial for approximating a pre- defined function in a root of unity (Joye, page 20, line 35, through page 21, line 4, encrypted computation, intermediate computation results, ciphertexts, polynomials, page 7, lines 28-35, modulus, degree, polynomial, field of integers, Mth root of unity, NTT techniques such as the discrete Fourier transform);
obtaining an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data (Joye, page 32, line 29, through page 33, line 5, given a GGSW ciphertext C encrypting a bit b E 35 {0,1} and two GLWE ciphertexts c0 and c1 , "Programmable bootstrapping enables efficient homomorphic inference of deep neural networks". ).
Joye discloses root of unity, obtain an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data, but does not explicitly disclose complex root of unity, obtaining, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data.
However, in an analogous art, obtaining, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data (Poeppelmann, paragraph 0090, number theoretic transform, fast Fourier transformation, complex roots of unity, exchanged for integer roots, ciphertext, function value, integer data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Poeppelmann with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye to include obtaining, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data to provide users with the benefits of preventing physical attacks such as fault and side-channel attacks (Poeppelmann: paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 14, Joye discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising a program for executing a controlling method of an electronic device, wherein the controlling method of the electronic device comprises (Joye, page 40, line 33, through page 41, line 10, processor system 1140, device, integrated circuits, processing unit 1120, CPU, computing program components, memory 1122):
performing bootstrapping for an input ciphertext encrypted with integer data (Joye, page 12, line 34, through page 13, line 7, input and output ciphertext, "Programmable Bootstrapping Enables Efficient Homomorphic Inference of Deep Neural Networks", Integers, ciphertext, see European patent application EP21290025 (incorporated herein by reference).);
obtaining an intermediate ciphertext by transforming the integer data to root of unity data (Joye, page 20, line 35, through page 21, line 4, encrypted computation, intermediate computation results, ciphertexts, polynomials, page 7, lines 28-35, modulus, degree, polynomial, field of integers, Mth root of unity, NTT techniques such as the discrete Fourier transform);
obtaining, based on the intermediate ciphertext, a polynomial for approximating a pre- defined function in a root of unity (Joye, page 20, line 35, through page 21, line 4, encrypted computation, intermediate computation results, ciphertexts, polynomials, page 7, lines 28-35, modulus, degree, polynomial, field of integers, Mth root of unity, NTT techniques such as the discrete Fourier transform);
obtaining an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data (Joye, page 32, line 29, through page 33, line 5, given a GGSW ciphertext C encrypting a bit b E 35 {0,1} and two GLWE ciphertexts c0 and c1 , "Programmable bootstrapping enables efficient homomorphic inference of deep neural networks". ).
Joye discloses root of unity, obtain an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data, but does not explicitly disclose complex root of unity, obtaining, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data.
However, in an analogous art, obtaining, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data (Poeppelmann, paragraph 0090, number theoretic transform, fast Fourier transformation, complex roots of unity, exchanged for integer roots, ciphertext, function value, integer data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Poeppelmann with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye to include obtaining, by inputting the complex root of unity data in the polynomial to approximately perform an operation corresponding to the function in a ciphertext state, an output ciphertext comprising a function value corresponding to the integer data to provide users with the benefits of preventing physical attacks such as fault and side-channel attacks (Poeppelmann: paragraph 0011).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joye (WO2023104531), international filing date November 24 2022, in view of Poeppelmann (US20190312728), filed April 8, 2019, and further in view of Adir (US20250293854), filed March 13, 2024 .
Regarding claim 4, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose electronic device of claim 1 and root of unity and ciphertext, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain the output ciphertext by performing an operation for each term of the polynomial in the ciphertext state by using the complex root of unity data comprised in the intermediate ciphertext as an input of the polynomial.
However, in an analogous art, Adir discloses wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain the output ciphertext by performing an operation for each term of the polynomial in the ciphertext state by using the complex root of unity data comprised in the intermediate ciphertext as an input of the polynomial (Adir paragraph 0112, slots, terms, polynomials, paragraph 0030, slot, polynomial, terms, paragraph 0023, slots, terms, polynomials, paragraph 0075, complex roots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Adir with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye and Poeppelmann to include wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain the output ciphertext by performing an operation for each term of the polynomial in the ciphertext state by using the complex root of unity data comprised in the intermediate ciphertext as an input of the polynomial to provide users with the benefits of polynomial evaluation under fully homomorphic encryption (Adir: paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 11, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose electronic device of claim 1 and root of unity and ciphertext, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the input ciphertext consists of vectors comprising integer data in each of a plurality of slots, and the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: transform the integer data comprised in each of the plurality of slots to the complex root of unity data respectively, and obtain, by applying the polynomial to each of the complex root of unity data, the output ciphertext comprising all of a plurality of output data comprising function values corresponding respectively to the plurality of slots.
However, in an analogous art, Adir discloses wherein the input ciphertext consists of vectors comprising integer data in each of a plurality of slots, and the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: transform the integer data comprised in each of the plurality of slots to the complex root of unity data respectively, and obtain, by applying the polynomial to each of the complex root of unity data, the output ciphertext comprising all of a plurality of output data comprising function values corresponding respectively to the plurality of slots (Adir paragraph 0112, slots, terms, polynomials, paragraph 0030, slot, polynomial, terms, paragraph 0023, slots, terms, polynomials, paragraph 0075, complex roots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Adir with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye and Poeppelmann to include wherein the input ciphertext consists of vectors comprising integer data in each of a plurality of slots, and the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: transform the integer data comprised in each of the plurality of slots to the complex root of unity data respectively, and obtain, by applying the polynomial to each of the complex root of unity data, the output ciphertext comprising all of a plurality of output data comprising function values corresponding respectively to the plurality of slots to provide users with the benefits of polynomial evaluation under fully homomorphic encryption (Adir: paragraph 0001).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joye (WO2023104531), international filing date November 24 2022, in view of Poeppelmann (US20190312728), filed April 8, 2019, and Adir (US20250293854), filed March 13, 2024, and further in view of No (US20210328766), filed February 10, 2021.
Regarding claim 5, Joye, Poeppelmann, and Adir disclose the electronic device of claim 4.
Joye, Poeppelmann, and Adir disclose polynomial, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: perform a conjugate complex operation based on the complex root of unity data, and reduce a degree of the polynomial by omitting mutually removable terms according to a symmetrical characteristic of a conjugate complex from among the terms of the polynomial.
However, in an analogous art, No discloses wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: perform a conjugate complex operation based on the complex root of unity data, and reduce a degree of the polynomial by omitting mutually removable terms according to a symmetrical characteristic of a conjugate complex from among the terms of the polynomial (No, paragraph 0039, reduce degree, paragraph 0064, complex conjugate, paragraph 0067, modulus, coefficient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of No
with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye, Poeppelmann, and Adir to include wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: perform a conjugate complex operation based on the complex root of unity data, and reduce a degree of the polynomial by omitting mutually removable terms according to a symmetrical characteristic of a conjugate complex from among the terms of the polynomial to provide users with the benefits of processing a ciphertext based on homomorphic encryption (No: paragraph 0002).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joye (WO2023104531), international filing date November 24 2022, in view of Poeppelmann (US20190312728), filed April 8, 2019, and further in view of Blatt (US20220416995), filed June 28, 2022.
Regarding claim 6, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Joye and Poeppelmann disclose cipher text, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: reduce, based on the output ciphertext being obtained, errors of the output ciphertext by correcting the function value in the ciphertext state to converge to one function value from among 0 or 1 using the function value comprised in the output ciphertext as an input of a pre- defined refinement polynomial.
However, in an analogous art, Blatt discloses wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: reduce, based on the output ciphertext being obtained, errors of the output ciphertext by correcting the function value in the ciphertext state to converge to one function value from among 0 or 1 using the function value comprised in the output ciphertext as an input of a pre- defined refinement polynomial (Blatt, paragraph 0068, function, derivative; paragraph 0072, error, prevent correct decryption, taking a larger interval, approximation, trade off).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Blatt with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye and Poeppelmann to include wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: reduce, based on the output ciphertext being obtained, errors of the output ciphertext by correcting the function value in the ciphertext state to converge to one function value from among 0 or 1 using the function value comprised in the output ciphertext as an input of a pre- defined refinement polynomial to provide users with the benefits of accelerating processor execution of computations over homomorphically encrypted data (Blatt: paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 7, Joye, Poeppelmann, and Blatt disclose the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain the polynomial in which the function value and a derivative value for the function value simultaneously match with the function using the complex root of unity data comprised in the intermediate ciphertext as an input (Blatt, paragraph 0068, function, derivative; paragraph 0072, error, prevent correct decryption, taking a larger interval, approximation, trade off).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joye (WO2023104531), international filing date November 24 2022, in view of Poeppelmann (US20190312728), filed April 8, 2019, and further in view of Hoshizuki .
Regarding claim 8, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Joye and Poeppelmann discloses root of unity and polynomial, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: divide the polynomial into a plurality of lower degree terms and a plurality of high- order terms by using the complex root of unity data comprised in the intermediate ciphertext as an input, and obtain the output ciphertext comprising the function value by multiplying an operation result for the high-order terms after accumulating operation results for the lower degree terms.
However, in an analogous art, Hoshizuki discloses wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: divide the polynomial into a plurality of lower degree terms and a plurality of high- order terms by using the complex root of unity data comprised in the intermediate ciphertext as an input, and obtain the output ciphertext comprising the function value by multiplying an operation result for the high-order terms after accumulating operation results for the lower degree terms (Hoshizuki, paragraph 0474, lower degree term, higher degree term, paragraph 0440, homomorphic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshizuki with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye and Poeppelmann to include wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: divide the polynomial into a plurality of lower degree terms and a plurality of high- order terms by using the complex root of unity data comprised in the intermediate ciphertext as an input, and obtain the output ciphertext comprising the function value by multiplying an operation result for the high-order terms after accumulating operation results for the lower degree terms to provide users with the benefits of a fully homomorphic ciphertext that has a value with an error as a plaintext (Hoshizuki: abstract).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joye (WO2023104531), international filing date November 24 2022, in view of Poeppelmann (US20190312728), filed April 8, 2019, and further in view of Zhu (US20250005193), filed November 8, 2023.
Regarding claim 9, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Joye and Poeppelmann disclose ciphertext and integer data and intermediate ciphertexts, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the input ciphertext comprises a plurality of input ciphertexts, and the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain in parallel a plurality of intermediate ciphertexts corresponding respectively to the plurality of input ciphertexts by transforming the integer data comprised in each of the plurality of input ciphertexts to the complex root of unity data, obtain a plurality of polynomials corresponding respectively to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts, and obtain a plurality of output ciphertexts corresponding respectively to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts by applying the plurality of polynomials to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts.
However, in an analogous art, Zhu discloses wherein the input ciphertext comprises a plurality of input ciphertexts, and the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain in parallel a plurality of intermediate ciphertexts corresponding respectively to the plurality of input ciphertexts by transforming the integer data comprised in each of the plurality of input ciphertexts to the complex root of unity data, obtain a plurality of polynomials corresponding respectively to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts, and obtain a plurality of output ciphertexts corresponding respectively to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts by applying the plurality of polynomials to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts (Zhu, paragraph 0125, ciphertext, parallel, integers, transformation, ciphertext, intermediate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye and Poeppelmann to include wherein the input ciphertext comprises a plurality of input ciphertexts, and the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain in parallel a plurality of intermediate ciphertexts corresponding respectively to the plurality of input ciphertexts by transforming the integer data comprised in each of the plurality of input ciphertexts to the complex root of unity data, obtain a plurality of polynomials corresponding respectively to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts, and obtain a plurality of output ciphertexts corresponding respectively to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts by applying the plurality of polynomials to the plurality of intermediate ciphertexts to provide users with the benefits of an end-to-end efficient privacy-preserving computation apparatus and method for secure two-party matrix inversion (Zhu: paragraph 0002).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joye (WO2023104531), international filing date November 24 2022, in view of Poeppelmann (US20190312728), filed April 8, 2019, and further in view of Greenberg .
Regarding claim 12, Joye and Poeppelmann disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Joye and Poeppelmann disclose integer data, polynomial, and bootstrapping but do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: adjust, based on a predetermined threshold value indicating an expression range of the integer data, an encryption parameter and a degree of the polynomial used in the bootstrapping.
However, in an analogous art, Greenberg discloses wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: adjust, based on a predetermined threshold value indicating an expression range of the integer data, an encryption parameter and a degree of the polynomial used in the bootstrapping (Greenberg, paragraph 0004, adjust parameter, encryption).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Greenberg with the electronic device/ method/ method/ non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Joye and Poeppelmann to include wherein the instructions, when executed individually or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: adjust, based on a predetermined threshold value indicating an expression range of the integer data, an encryption parameter and a degree of the polynomial used in the bootstrapping to provide users with the benefits of adjusting parameters to prevent an overflow event (Greenberg: paragraph 0004 ).
Conclusion
/W.J.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439