DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 & 11 recites the limitation "the plurality of first non-formation regions" in lines 2 & 2-3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The first instance of citing “a plurality of first non-formation regions” occurs in claim 6, which claims 8 & 11 are not dependent upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 12-14, & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (JP20200150414), as cited by applicant, with provided translation.
As per claim 1:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
An acoustic wave device comprising:
a piezoelectric substrate including a piezoelectric layer (12) including a first main surface (Top) and a second main surface (bottom) facing each other and a support substrate (10) stacked on a second main surface side of the piezoelectric layer;
at least one first electrode layer (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5) between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer and not connected to a signal potential (being separate metal islands, as seen in Fig. 2 and described in page 4, second to last paragraph); and
an IDT electrode (22) on the first main surface of the piezoelectric layer and including a plurality of electrode fingers (15);
wherein when an electrode finger extending direction is defined as a direction in which the plurality of electrode fingers extend and the IDT electrode is seen from a direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction, a region where electrode fingers of the plurality of electrode fingers adjacent to each other overlap is a crossing region (25);
the first electrode layer is provided at least at a position overlapping the crossing region in plan view (Fig. 2 shows additional film is periodically spaced throughout the region 50, which includes region 25);
the piezoelectric substrate includes a first formation region overlapping the crossing region and overlapping the first electrode layer in plan view and a first non-formation region overlapping the crossing region and not overlapping the first electrode layer in plan view (periodically spaced islands of additional film 32 create formation and non-formation regions); and
the first non-formation region overlaps in plan view at least one of portions between the electrode fingers adjacent to each other (by virtue of the periodic spacing of additional film 32, this limitation is met).
As per claim 3:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
at least one cutout portion is provided in the first electrode layer (the island pattern of Fig. 2 creates horizontal and vertical cutout portions between the islands of additional film 32); and
the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping the cutout portion in plan view (areas without the first electrode layer are covered by the region 25).
As per claim 4:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the at least one first electrode layer includes only one first electrode layer (as seen in Fig. 1).
As per claim 5:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
a plurality of the first electrode layers (additional film 32 may be separated into separate layers, whereas a first of the first electrode layers overlaps with the IDT 18 in region 25, and two second first electrode layers overlap with the reflectors 24 in region 25);
wherein the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping in plan view a portion between the first electrode layers that are adjacent to each other (non-formation regions of the first of the first electrode layers are between the first electrode layers overlapping the IDT and the reflectors, as seen in Fig. 1(b).
As per claim 8:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
some of the plurality of first non-formation regions are arranged in the direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction, and others of the plurality of first non-formation regions are arranged in the electrode finger extending direction; and
when a first imaginary line is defined as an imaginary line extending in the direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction and passing through a midpoint between first non-formation regions of the plurality of first non-formation regions adjacent to each other in the electrode finger extending direction, the plurality of the first non-formation regions that are arranged in the direction orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction are located on the first imaginary line (Sato discloses in Fig. 2 the first cited non-formation regions arranged orthogonally and in an electrode finger direction by virtue of the additional film 32 being formed by islands in a rectangular grid, wherein non formation regions form lines in orthogonal directions).
As per claim 12:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
a pair of reflectors (24) on the first main surface of the piezoelectric substrate facing each other with the IDT electrode therebetween in the direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction and each of which includes a plurality of reflector electrode fingers (as seen in Fig. 1); and
at least one second electrode layer (portions of additional film 32, formed as isolated islands, overlapping the reflectors) between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer, not connected to a signal potential, and overlapping the reflectors in plan view;
wherein a region where the plurality of reflector electrode fingers adjacent to each other overlap when each of the reflectors is seen from the direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction is a reflector crossing region of each of the reflectors;
the piezoelectric substrate includes a second formation region overlapping the reflector crossing region and overlapping the second electrode layer in plan view and a second non-formation region overlapping the reflector crossing region and not overlapping the second electrode layer in plan view (periodically spaced islands of additional film 32 create formation and non-formation regions); and
the second non-formation region overlaps in plan view at least one of portions between the plurality of reflector electrode fingers that are adjacent to each other (by virtue of the periodic spacing of additional film 32, this limitation is met).
As per claim 13:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer are not connected (additional film 32 is formed as separate islands).
As per claim 14:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the piezoelectric substrate includes a dielectric layer (insulating layer 11) between the piezoelectric layer and the first electrode layer.
As per claim 17:
Sato discloses in Figs. 1-2:
at least one third electrode layer between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer and not overlapping the crossing region in plan view (portions of additional film 32, formed as isolated islands, overlapping the bus bars and areas between region 25 and region 52).
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 & 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okunaga (WO 2020184466), with US PGPub 20210408995 as translation, provided by examiner.
As per claim 1:
Okunaga discloses in Fig. 1
An acoustic wave device (title) comprising:
a piezoelectric substrate including a piezoelectric layer (4) including a first main surface (top) and a second main surface (bottom) facing each other and a support substrate (2) stacked on a second main surface side of the piezoelectric layer;
at least one first electrode layer (acoustic velocity adjustment films 11, formed as metals, [0032]) between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer and not connected to a signal potential (as seen in Fig. 1A/B); and
an IDT electrode (7) on the first main surface of the piezoelectric layer and including a plurality of electrode fingers (5a/6a);
wherein when an electrode finger extending direction is defined as a direction in which the plurality of electrode fingers extend and the IDT electrode is seen from a direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction, a region where electrode fingers of the plurality of electrode fingers adjacent to each other overlap is a crossing region (as seen in Fig. 1A);
the first electrode layer is provided at least at a position overlapping the crossing region in plan view;
the piezoelectric substrate includes a first formation region overlapping the crossing region and overlapping the first electrode layer in plan view and a first non-formation region overlapping the crossing region and not overlapping the first electrode layer in plan view (as seen in Fig. 1A); and
the first non-formation region overlaps in plan view at least one of portions between the electrode fingers adjacent to each other (as seen in Fig. 1A).
As per claim 3:
Okunaga discloses in Fig. 1
at least one cutout portion (gap between 11 & 12) is provided in the first electrode layer; and
the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping the cutout portion in plan view (as seen in Fig. 1A).
As per claim 4:
Okunaga discloses in Fig. 1
the at least one first electrode layer includes only one first electrode layer (11 & 12).
As per claim 5:
Okunaga discloses in Fig. 1
a plurality of the first electrode layers (11 & 12, separately);
wherein the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping in plan view a portion between the first electrode layers that are adjacent to each other (as seen in Fig. 1A).
As per claim 15:
Okunaga discloses in Fig. 1
the piezoelectric substrate includes an intermediate layer (energy confinement layer 3) between the piezoelectric layer and the support substrate;
and a portion of the intermediate layer is located between the first electrode layer and the support substrate (as seen in Fig. 1B).
As per claim 16:
Okunaga discloses in Fig. 7:
a hollow portion (cavity X) is provided in the piezoelectric substrate; and
the first electrode layer is provided in the hollow portion (as seen in Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP20200150414), as cited by applicant, with provided translation, in view of Michigami (WO 2021/241681), as cited by applicant, translation provided by US PGPUb 20230084908).
As per claim 2:
Sato does not disclose:
at least one through-hole is provided in the first electrode layer; and
the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping the through-hole in plan view.
Michigami discloses in Figs.1-3 & 10:
The formation of a high-acoustic velocity layer (4) below a piezoelectric layer (6) wherein the high-acoustic velocity layer is formed through providing at least one through-hole (7) in the high acoustic velocity layer as an alternative to isolated islands (64).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first electrode layer of Sato as per the shape of the high-acoustic velocity layer of Fig. 3 of Michigami as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent high-acoustic velocity layer able to provide the same function, as is well understood in the art.
As per claim 11:
Sato does not disclose:
an entirety or substantially an entirety of the plurality of first non-formation regions overlaps in plan view a portion between the plurality of electrode fingers.
Michigami discloses in Figs.1-3 & 10:
The high acoustic velocity region may be confined to the active area of the acoustic resonator between a plurality of electrode fingers ([0057-0058])
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first electrode layer of Sato so as to be confined to the area of the plurality of electrode fingers to provide the benefit of reducing pattern forming processes and improving adhesion between layers as taught by Michigami ([0057-0058])
As a consequence of the combination, an entirety or substantially an entirety of the plurality of first non-formation regions overlaps in plan view a portion between the plurality of electrode fingers.
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 11-14, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michigami (WO 2021/241681), as cited by applicant, translation provided by US PGPUb 20230084908), in view of Sato (JP20200150414), as cited by applicant, with provided translation.
As per claim 1:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
An acoustic wave device (title) comprising:
a piezoelectric substrate including a piezoelectric layer (6) including a first main surface (top) and a second main surface (bottom) facing each other and a support substrate (3) stacked on a second main surface side of the piezoelectric layer;
at least one first layer (high acoustic velocity film 4) between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer and not connected to a signal potential; and
an IDT electrode (8) on the first main surface of the piezoelectric layer and including a plurality of electrode fingers (18/19);
wherein when an electrode finger extending direction is defined as a direction in which the plurality of electrode fingers extend and the IDT electrode is seen from a direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction, a region where electrode fingers of the plurality of electrode fingers adjacent to each other overlap is a crossing region;
the first layer is provided at least at a position overlapping the crossing region in plan view (as seen in Fig. 2-3 & 6-11);
the piezoelectric substrate includes a first formation region overlapping the crossing region and overlapping the first electrode layer in plan view and a first non-formation region overlapping the crossing region and not overlapping the first layer in plan view (as seen in Fig. 1-3); and
the first non-formation region overlaps in plan view at least one of portions between the electrode fingers adjacent to each other (as seen in Fig. 2).
Michigami does not disclose the first layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first layer of Michigami as an electrode layer as an art-recognized alternative material for use as a high acoustic velocity layer below the piezoelectric layer of an acoustic wave resonator as taught by Sato (page 5 paragraph 5).
As per claim 2:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
at least one through-hole (7) is provided in the first layer; and
the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping the through-hole in plan view (as seen in Fig. 2).
Michigami does not disclose the first layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, at least one through-hole (7) is provided in the first electrode layer; and the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping the through-hole in plan view.
As per claim 3:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
at least one cutout portion is provided in the first layer (the island pattern of Figs. 10 & 11 creates horizontal and vertical cutout portions between the islands of high acoustic velocity films 64); and
the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping the cutout portion in plan view (as seen in Fig. 11).
Michigami does not disclose the first layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, at least one cutout portion is provided in the first electrode layer (the island pattern of Figs. 10 & 11 creates horizontal and vertical cutout portions between the islands of high acoustic velocity films 64); and the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping the cutout portion in plan view (as seen in Fig. 11).
As per claim 4:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
the at least one first electrode layer includes only one first layer (as seen in Fig. 2).
Michigami does not disclose the first layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the at least one first electrode layer includes only one first electrode layer (as seen in Fig. 2).
As per claim 5:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
a plurality of the first electrode layers (high acoustic velocity film 4 may be separated into separate layers, whereas a first of the first layers overlaps with the IDT 8, and two second first electrode layers overlap with the reflectors 9B and 9A);
wherein the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping in plan view a portion between the first electrode layers that are adjacent to each other (non-formation regions of the first of the first electrode layers are between the first electrode layers overlapping the IDT and the reflectors, as seen in Figs. 10 & 11).
Michigami does not disclose the first layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the combination discloses a plurality of the first electrode layers; wherein the first non-formation region includes a region of the piezoelectric substrate overlapping in plan view a portion between the first electrode layers that are adjacent to each other.
As per claim 8:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
some of the plurality of first non-formation regions are arranged in the direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction, and others of the plurality of first non-formation regions are arranged in the electrode finger extending direction; and
when a first imaginary line is defined as an imaginary line extending in the direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction and passing through a midpoint between first non-formation regions of the plurality of first non-formation regions adjacent to each other in the electrode finger extending direction, the plurality of the first non-formation regions that are arranged in the direction orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction are located on the first imaginary line (Michigami discloses in Fig. 10 the first cited non-formation regions arranged orthogonally and in an electrode finger direction by virtue of the high acoustic velocity films 64 being formed by islands in a rectangular grid, wherein non formation regions form lines in orthogonal directions).
As per claim 11:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
an entirety or substantially an entirety of the plurality of first non-formation regions overlaps in plan view a portion between the plurality of electrode fingers ([0057-0058]).
As per claim 12:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
a pair of reflectors (9A/B) on the first main surface of the piezoelectric substrate facing each other with the IDT electrode therebetween in the direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction and each of which includes a plurality of reflector electrode fingers (as seen in Fig. 1); and
at least one second layer (portions of high acoustic velocity film 4, overlapping the reflectors) between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer, not connected to a signal potential, and overlapping the reflectors in plan view;
wherein a region where the plurality of reflector electrode fingers adjacent to each other overlap when each of the reflectors is seen from the direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the electrode finger extending direction is a reflector crossing region of each of the reflectors;
the piezoelectric substrate includes a second formation region overlapping the reflector crossing region and overlapping the second layer in plan view and a second non-formation region overlapping the reflector crossing region and not overlapping the second layer in plan view (periodically spaced islands of high acoustic velocity films 64 create formation and non-formation regions); and
the second non-formation region overlaps in plan view at least one of portions between the plurality of reflector electrode fingers that are adjacent to each other (by virtue of the periodic spacing of high acoustic velocity films 64, this limitation is met).
Michigami does not disclose the second layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the second layers are second electrode layers.
As per claim 13:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
the first layer and the second layer are not connected (high acoustic velocity films 64 are formed as separate islands).
Michigami does not disclose the first layer and second layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the first and second layers are first and second electrode layers.
As per claim 14:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
the piezoelectric substrate includes a dielectric layer (low acoustic velocity layer 5) between the piezoelectric layer and the first layer.
Michigami does not disclose the first layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the first layer is a first electrode layer.
As per claim 17:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
at least one third layer between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer and not overlapping the crossing region in plan view (portions of high acoustic velocity films 64, formed as isolated islands, overlapping the wiring lines 12A and 12B).
Michigami does not disclose the third layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the third layer is a third electrode layer.
As per claim 18:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
at least one wiring line (12A/12B) on the first main surface of the piezoelectric layer;
wherein the at least one wiring line includes a first wiring line (12A) connected to the IDT electrode; and
the third layer overlaps the first wiring line in plan view (as seen in Figs. 1-3).
Michigami does not disclose the third layer is an electrode layer.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the third layer is a third electrode layer.
As per claim 19:
Michigami discloses in Figs. 1-11:
a plurality of the third layers (portions of high acoustic velocity films 64, formed as isolated islands, overlapping the wiring lines 12A and 12B); and a plurality of the wiring lines (12A/B);
wherein the plurality of wiring lines include a second wiring line connected to a potential different from a potential to which the first wiring line is connected (as seen in Fig. 1); and
the plurality of third layers include two of the third electrode layers not in contact with each other (being spatially separated and formed such as Fig. 10), one of the two third layers not in contact with each other overlaps the first wiring line in plan view, and another of the two third layers not in contact with each other overlaps the second wiring line in plan view (as seen in Figs. 1-3).
Michigami does not disclose the third layers are electrode layers.
Sato discloses the use of conductive metals for high acoustic velocity layers below piezoelectric layers of acoustic wave resonators (additional film 32, formed by a metal film, page 5 paragraph 5).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the third layers are electrode layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the combination of limitations found in claims 6-7 & 9-10 were not disclosed in or rendered obvious by the closest related prior art cited in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843