DETAILED ACTION
This Action has been made FINAL.
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims filed 27 February 2026 is as follows:
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claims 1-3 have been amended.
Claims 1-6 have been hereby examined.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by over Larkindale et al. has been withdrawn in light of the amendments dated 27 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkindale et al. (2004. Thermotolerance and antioxidant systems in Agrostis stolonifera: Involvement of salicylic acid, abscisic acid, calcium, hydrogen peroxide, and ethylene. Journal of plant Physiology. 405-412).
Larkindale et al teach inducing thermotolerance (i.e. increase heat stress tolerance) by foliar application of 1-aminocyclopropant-1-carboxylic acid (ACC) in Agrostis stolonigera (turf grass) [entire document; abstract; page 406, col. 2, Table]. Larkindale et al teach that plants were allowed to grow for one month (developmental stage) in a greenhouse and sprayed with ACC [page 406, rt. col., paras. 3-4]. Larkindale et al teach applying ACC in a concentration of 100µM/L. The concentration of ACC was 100µM (the molecular weight of ACC in plants is approximately 101.1 grams/mole; ppm =µM X molecular weight/1000; ppm=100 X 101.1/1000 = 10.11 ppm of ACC. Larkindale et al teach spraying 50 mL of the ACC to the foliage of the plants three times daily for two days [page 406, right col., para. 3]. This exposes the plants to 30.33 ppm of ACC per day with a total of 60.66 ppm of ACC per the two-day period. The claim language does not preclude multiple applications to achieve the total concentration as recited in the claims.
Although the reference does not specifically teach the upper limits of from about 100 to about 1,000 parts per million, one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to use such a concentration to improve heat stress tolerance in plants as a matter of routine optimization and experimentation. The adjustment of particular conventional working parameters such as concentration of ACC is deemed to be merely a matter of selection and routine optimization that is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Accordingly, this type of modification would have been no more than an effort to optimize results. In the absence of any showing of criticality or unexpected results, the particular concentration of ACC is an obvious variation of what was taught in the prior art and could be arrived at during routine experimentation/optimization.
Furthermore, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical (see MPEP 2144.05).
Applicant’s Arguments dated 27 February 2026
Applicants urge that Larkindale does not disclose the newly amended effective amount of ACC; 30 to about 1,000 ppm.
These arguments have been carefully considered and are not deemed persuasive. Larkindale et al teach spraying 50 mL of the ACC to the foliage of the plants three times daily for two days [page 406, right col., para. 3]. This exposes the plants to 30.33 ppm of ACC per day with a total of 60.66 ppm of ACC over the two-day period. The claim language does not preclude multiple applications to achieve the total concentration as recited in the claims. Furthermore, if future amendments include effective amounts of ACC to be above the taught 60.66 ppm concentration, given the teachings of Larkindale et al and the knowledge at the time of the invention, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use such a concentration to improve heat stress tolerance in plants as a matter of routine optimization and experimentation.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Contact Information
/KAREN M REDDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1661