Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in FR on 05/24/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2405343 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 9, “locking means, for locking the crane in its rest position”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “The present invention relates to” in line 1 should be avoided/removed and “Figure for abstract: 1” in the last line should be removed. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 1, “Unit” should read ---A unit---.
In Claims 2-9 and 12, “Unit” should read ---The unit---.
In Claims 1-12, “characterized in” should read ---wherein---.
In Claim 10, line 1, “Method of operating the crane on a unit according to according to” should read ---A method of operating the crane on the unit according to---.
In Claim 11, line 1, “Method” should read ---The method---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“operating means” in line 6 of Claim 1.
“control means” in line 8 of Claim 1.
“locking means” in line 2 of Claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 5 recites “an articulated boom” – however line 2 already set forth “an articulated boom” – therefore it is unclear if the second recitation is meant to refer to the first recitation or introduce an additional articulated boom. For purposes of examination, the second recitation is being interpreted as “the articulated boom”.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, “cylindrical complementary surfaces” following the phrase “for example” will not be considered.
Regarding claim 9, “its” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because the claim is unclear as what claimed structure “its” refers to in the claim.
Regarding claim 10, “it” in lines 4 and 6 renders the claim indefinite because the claim is unclear as what claimed structure “it” refers to in the claim. Applicant may want to change “it” in line 4 to read ---the crane--- and to change “it” in line 6 to read ---the head---.
Claims 2-12 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roodenburg (EP3744674A1).
Regarding claim 1, Roodenburg discloses a unit for offshore application, comprising a deck (3a; Figure 1) equipped with a crane (1) with an articulated boom (6, 9), which crane (1) comprises: - a support structure (2), secured to said deck (3a), and - an articulated boom (6, 9), carried by said support structure (2), - operating means (¶0028, luffing assembly operates up and down movement of the boom), for operating said articulated boom (6, 9) between a working position and a rest position, and - control means (¶0028, luffing winch is controlled to extend/retract the luffing cable for positioning the boom), for piloting said operating means, which articulated boom (6, 9) comprises a main boom (6) and a terminal boom (9), in series, which terminal boom (9) comprises a head (9a) opposite said support structure (2), characterized in that said deck (3a) is equipped with a cradle (20), at a distance from the support structure (2), which comprises a receiving portion (36) on which the head (9a) of said terminal boom (9) is intended to rest in said rest position.
Regarding claim 4, Roodenburg discloses the cradle (20) consists of a column (30; Figure 2), erected on the deck (3a), which comprises: - a lower end (bottom portion of column 30) secured to the deck (3a), and - an upper end comprising the receiving portion (36).
Regarding claim 5, Roodenburg discloses the head (9a) of the terminal boom (9) and the receiving portion (36) comprise complementary surfaces, adapted to cooperate by interlocking (Figure 5a, receiving portion includes a concave cylindrical surface that mates with a portion of the sheave 12).
Regarding claim 9, Roodenburg discloses the crane (1) comprises locking means (23a; Figure 3b), for locking the crane (1) in its rest position.
Regarding claim 10, Roodenburg discloses a method of operating the crane (1) on a unit, between said working position and said rest position, when maneuvering it from the working position to the rest position (Figures 5a-5b), the crane (1) is maneuvered so that the head (9a) of the terminal boom (9) is maneuvered towards the cradle (20) until it rests on the receiving portion (36).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bangslund (WO2017167894A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bangslund discloses a unit for offshore application, comprising a deck (top surface deck of tugboat 2; Figure 1) equipped with a crane (22) with an articulated boom (32, 33), which crane (22) comprises: - a support structure (25), secured to said deck, and - an articulated boom (32, 33), carried by said support structure (25), - operating means (page 11, lines 13-19, hydraulic cylinders 36,37 operates up and down movement of the boom), for operating said articulated boom (32, 33) between a working position and a rest position, and - control means (page 11, lines 13-19 and page 12, lines 5-13, hydraulic cylinders 36,37 are controlled for positioning the boom and control unit 50 recalibrates the position of the boom), for piloting said operating means, which articulated boom (32, 33) comprises a main boom (32) and a terminal boom (33), in series, which terminal boom (33) comprises a head (distal end of terminal boom 33) opposite said support structure (25), characterized in that said deck is equipped with a cradle (11, 38), at a distance from the support structure (25), which comprises a receiving portion (38) on which the head of said terminal boom (33) is intended to rest in said rest position (at least a portion of the distal end of terminal boom 33 rests on the receiving portion 38).
Regarding claim 2, Bangslund discloses the deck is equipped with said cradle (11, 38) and is devoid of an additional support for the main boom (32; Figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Bangslund discloses the cradle (11, 38) consists of a column (11), erected on the deck, which comprises: - a lower end (bottom portion of column 11) secured to the deck, and - an upper end comprising the receiving portion (38).
Regarding claim 5, Bangslund discloses the head of the terminal boom (33) and the receiving portion (38) comprise complementary surfaces (guide surfaces 43 and a portion of the distal end of terminal boom 33; Figure 17), adapted to cooperate by interlocking.
Regarding claim 10, Bangslund discloses a method of operating the crane (22) on a unit, between said working position and said rest position, when maneuvering it from the working position to the rest position (Figures 5-6), the crane (22) is maneuvered so that the head (distal end of terminal boom 33) of the terminal boom (33) is maneuvered towards the cradle (11, 38) until it rests on the receiving portion (38; at least a portion of the distal end of terminal boom 33 rests on the receiving portion 38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roodenburg.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Roodenburg discloses the cradle (20) is installed on the deck (3a) so that, in the rest position, the terminal boom (9) has an angle N relative to the vertical. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Roodenburg to include in the rest position, the terminal boom has a angle N ranging from 0° to 10° relative to the vertical in order to reduce bending stress on the terminal boom. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roodenburg in view of Hanamoto (US10640338B2).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 12, Roodenburg discloses the above unit, but fails to teach the head of the terminal boom comprises two support members, on either side of said head, and in that the receiving portion comprises two receiving strips which are intended to come on either side of said head and to each receive one of said support members;
each receiving strip comprises at least one inclined flap which ends, at a lower end, by a notch intended to receive said support member;
said at least one inclined flap comprises a coating suitable for limiting friction;
the head of the terminal boom and the receiving portion comprise cylindrical complementary surfaces, adapted to cooperate by interlocking.
Hanamoto teaches a similar resting cradle and further teaches the head (25; Figures 3-4) of the terminal boom (23) comprises two support members (25c pin protrusions on both sides), on either side of said head (25), and in that the receiving portion (60) comprises two receiving strips (61) which are intended to come on either side of said head (25) and to each receive one of said support members (25c pin protrusions on both sides);
each receiving strip (61) comprises at least one inclined flap (IF; see Hanamoto annotated Figure 3 below) which ends, at a lower end, by a notch (N) intended to receive said support member (25c pin protrusions on both sides);
the head (25) of the terminal boom (23) and the receiving portion (60) comprise cylindrical complementary surfaces (pin 25c and notch N), adapted to cooperate by interlocking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Roodenburg to include the receiving portion and terminal boom head support members as taught by Hanamoto in order to secure and prevent movement of the terminal boom head to the receiving portion; and to include said at least one inclined flap comprises a coating suitable for limiting friction in order to prevent wear, damage, and corrosion of the mating surfaces. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Hanamoto, Annotated Figure 3
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654