DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvorak (US 2,975,271) in view of Hutchison (US 6,474,839 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Dvorak teaches a solid-state canopy light fixture comprising:
a box-shaped housing (housing 4; figure 1 and 2) having a base panel (5), a first side panel (6left), a second side panel (6right), a third side panel (6front), and a fourth side panel (6back), the first, second, third, and fourth side panels (see figure 1 and 2) perimetrically bounding the base panel (5) such that the base panel (5) and the first, second, third, and fourth side panels (6left, right, front, back) collectively define an interior volume (see inside of housing 4), the first, second, third, and fourth side panels (6left, right, front and back) defining a top opening (see figure 1 and 2), spaced from the base panel (5), through which the interior volume (see housing 4 in figure 1) is accessible;
at least one hinge member (31 and 32, figure 1) formed on an exterior surface of the first side panel (6left) opposite the interior volume (see inside of housing 4);
a rib (36) projecting from an exterior surface of the second side panel (6right) opposite the interior volume (inside of housing 4), a first hole (48) being formed in the rib for receiving a fastener (65);
a lens tray (17) having a base tray panel (5), with opposing first and second faces (see figure 1 and 2), and a continuous side wall bounding the base tray panel (5), the side wall (16) protruding from the first face (see figure 1),
at least one tray hinge member (35) formed on an exterior surface of the side wall opposite the base tray panel (5), and a tray rib (37) formed on an exterior surface of the side wall opposite the base tray panel (5), a second hole (figure 2) being formed in the tray rib (37),
wherein the at least one tray hinge member (35) is hingedly connected to the at least one hinge member (31, 31) so that the lens tray (17) is rotatably displaceable, relative to the housing (4), between a first position, where the tray rib is adjacent the rib with the second hole being coaxially aligned with the first hole (48), and a second position (see figure 1 and 2), where the tray rib (figure 1 and 2) is spaced from the rib with the second hole not being coaxially aligned with the first hole (48);
a diffuser lens (15) having a generally planar outer edge bounding an inner portion (see figure 1), wherein the diffuser lens (15)is secured to the lens tray (17) so that the outer edge is located wholly within the side wall (see figure 1);
at least one board containing a plurality of lighting elements (bulbs 7 and 8) located between the lens (15) and the base tray panel (5) of the lens tray (17); and,at least one sealing element (19) adjacent the outer edge.
Dvorak does not explicitly teach at least one board carrying a plurality of solid-state lighting elements.
Hutchison teaches a board carrying a plurality of solid state lighting elements (LEDs 42; column 4, lines 54-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dvorak to include a plurality of solid state lighting elements as taught by Hutchison to generate a desired illumination output (see column 4, lines 54-65 of Hutchison).
Regarding claim 2, Dvorak teaches the canopy light fixture of claim 1, wherein the diffuser lens (15; see claim 1 of Dvorak where bowl-like lens member diffuses light) is secured to the lens tray (5) by fasteners (45, 46) extending through the outer edge of the diffuser lens (15) into engagement with the base tray panel of the lens tray (5; see figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, Dvorak teaches the canopy light fixture of claim 1, wherein an access opening (within 4; see figure 1 and 2), spaced from the side wall (see figure 2), is formed in the base tray panel (17).
Regarding claim 4, Dvorak teaches the canopy light fixture of claim 1, wherein the first hole (see figure 2 where 46 is threaded) is internally threaded.
Regardign claim 5, Dvorak teaches the canopy light fixture of claim 1, wherein the at least one sealing element (19; figure 2) is a continuous gasket formed to extend along a full length of the outer edge of the diffuser lens (15; figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Dvorak teaches the canopy light fixture of claim 1, wherein the housing includes at least one sealing element (19) bounding the top opening configured to be in sealing contact with the lens tray (15) with the lens tray (17) in the first position (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Dvorak teaches the canopy light fixture of claim 1, wherein the housing (4) includes one or more access openings extending through at least one of the base panel (5), the first side panel (6left), the second side panel (6right), the third side panel (6front), and the fourth side panel (6back) into communication with the interior volume (inside of housing 4).
Regarding claim 8, Dvorak teaches the canopy light fixture of claim 1, wherein the second side panel (6right) is located opposite the first side panel (6left) across the base panel (5).
Regarding claim 9, Dvorak teaches a solid-state canopy light fixture apparatus (see figure 1 and 2), comprising:
a box-shaped housing (housing 4) including:
a base panel (5);
a first side panel (6left);
a second side panel (6right);
a third side panel (6front); and
a fourth side panel (6back),
wherein the base panel (5) and the first, second, third, and fourth side panels (6left, right, front and back; figure 1 and 2) collectively define an interior volume (inside of housing 4) and a top opening spaced from the base panel (5) for access to the interior volume (inside of housing 4);
the housing (4) further including:
a hinge member (hinge portion 31, hinge touge 32) formed on an exterior surface of the first side panel (6left; figure 1); and
a rib (38) projecting from an exterior surface of the second side panel (6right), the rib defining a first opening (48) sized to receive a fastener (65);
a lens tray (17) mounted to the housing (4) in a manner that allows rotation, the lens tray (17) comprising:
a base tray panel (5) having opposing first and second faces (see 5 in figure 1 and 2);
a continuous side wall (see figure 2) extending from the base tray panel (5) to form a peripheral border;
at least one tray hinge member (35, figure 4) formed on an exterior surface of the side wall (6right), the tray hinge member 35 being hingedly coupled to the hinge member (hinge portion 31, hinge tongue 32) of the housing to permit rotation of the lens tray (17); and
a tray rib (36,37) formed on the exterior surface of the side wall (6right) and including a second opening (see figure 2) configured to align with the first opening when the lens tray (17) is in a closed position and to be out of alignment when the lens tray (17) is rotated to an open position (see figure 2);
a diffuser lens (15) secured to the lens tray (17), the diffuser lens (17) having a generally planar outer edge entirely recessed within the side wall (see figure 1 and 2); and at least one board carrying a plurality lighting elements (light sources 8), the board being disposed between the diffuser lens (15) and the base tray panel (5) and a sealing element (19) positioned adjacent the outer edge of the diffuser lens (15) for inhibiting an ingress of moisture.
Dvorak does not explicitly teach at least one board carrying a plurality of solid-state lighting elements.
Hutchison teaches a board carrying a plurality of solid state lighting elements (LEDs 42; column 4, lines 54-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dvorak to include a plurality of solid state lighting elements as taught by Hutchison to generate a desired illumination output (see column 4, lines 54-65 of Hutchison).
Regarding claim 10, Dvorak teaches the solid-state canopy light fixture apparatus of claim 9, wherein the diffuser lens (15) is secured to the lens tray (17) by fasteners extending through an outer edge of the diffuser lens (15) into engagement with the base tray panel (5).
Regarding claim 11, Dvorak teaches the solid-state canopy light fixture apparatus of claim 9, further comprising an access opening (inside of housing 4) formed in the base tray panel (5), the access opening being spaced from the continuous side wall (see figure 1).
Regading claim 12, Dvorak teaches the solid-state canopy light fixture apparatus of claim 9, wherein the housing (4) further includes at least one sealing element (19) bounding the top opening and configured to be in sealing contact (see figure 1) with the lens tray (17) when the lens tray is in a closed position (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Dvorak teaches the solid-state canopy light fixture apparatus of claim 9, wherein the second side panel (6right) is positioned opposite the first side panel (6left) across the base panel (5).
Regarding claim 14, Dvorak teaches the solid-state canopy light fixture apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a fastener (65) removably received in the first opening (48) of the rib and the second opening of the tray rib when the lens tray (17) is in the closed position to secure the lens tray (17) to the housing.
Regarding claim 15, Dvorak teaches the solid-state canopy light fixture apparatus of claim 9, wherein the hinge member (hinge portion 31, hinge tongue 32) and the tray hinge member (68) are interconnected via a pin (55) configured with a locking detent to resist withdrawal of the pin from a corresponding pin opening (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Dvorak teaches the solid-state canopy light fixture apparatus of claim 9, wherein the board (5) is positioned wholly within an inner portion of the diffuser lens (15; figure 2).
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875