DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment, filed on October 20 of 2025, has been entered. No claim has been amended, cancelled, or added. Claims 1-14 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 6 being independent.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. If a satisfactory title is not supplied by the applicant, the examiner may, at the time of allowance, change the title by an examiner’s amendment, per MPEP 606.01. Any changes to claim scope at time of allowance may also result in an additional title amendment.
At this time, the following title is suggested: Box-Shaped Light Fixture with Concentric Ribs Diffuser.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content, language and format of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. In certain patents, particularly those for compounds and compositions, wherein the process for making and/or the use thereof are not obvious, the abstract should set forth a process for making and/or use thereof. If the new technical disclosure involves modifications or alternatives, the abstract should mention by way of example the preferred modification or alternative.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following:
(1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation;
(2) if an article, its method of making;
(3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use;
(4) if a mixture, its ingredients;
(5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses phrases which could be implied, refers to the purported merits or speculative applications of the invention, and fails to concisely describe the subject matter of applicant’s invention. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The Examiner respectfully suggests amending the originally filed abstract as indicated below.
ABSTRACT. A includes a housing with a base panel and fourth side panels perimetrically bounding the base panel and defining an interior volume and a top opening; a diffuser lens having at least three concentric ribs, the outer perimeter of the diffuser matching the shape of the top opening; at least one board disposed in the interior volume, and at least three sets of solid-state light generating elements arranged on the at least one board, each set arranged along and in alignment with a corresponding one of the ribslight fixture might also include an electronic control module configured to independently activate each set of solid-state light generating elements
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because they include grammatical, syntax, and/or typographical errors. Appropriate correction is required to place the claims in proper form for allowance (see proposed claim amendment, below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 is indefinite as it is not clear, from the context of the claim, whether the recitation “at least one reflector located on the at least board surrounding each of” is attempting to define at least one “reflector” provided to each of the “solid-state lighting elements”, or simply at least one “reflector” provided to the “solid-state lighting elements” collectively (i.e., a single member acting as a reflector for all solid-state lighting elements). The applicant is advised that, in comparing the claimed invention with the Prior Art, the Examiner assumed, based on the originally filed description and drawings, claim 1 as attempting to define at least one “reflector” provided to the “solid-state lighting elements” collectively.
Dependent claims 2-5 are rejected at least for their dependency on indefinite independent claim 1, as detailed above.
Proposed Claim Amendments
The Examiner respectfully suggests amending the claims as indicated below. The applicant is advised that, if the proposed amendments are accepted, all claims must be carefully reviewed to reflect and/or accommodate the new language.
CLAIM 1. A solid-state canopy light fixture comprising:
a box-shaped housing having a base panel, a first side panel, a second side panel, a third side panel, and a fourth side panel, the first, second, third, and fourth side panels peripherally bounding the base panel such that the base panel and the first, second, third, and fourth side panels collectively define an interior volume, the first, second, third, and fourth side panels defining a top opening, spaced from the base panel, through which the interior volume is accessible;
a diffuser lens securable to the housing, the diffuser lens having an outer perimeter generally matched to the shape of the top opening, wherein the diffuser lens includes first, second, and third concentric ribs which protrude in a direction away from the interior volume, wherein:
the first rib located outside the second rib and having a first width;
the second rib located outside the third rib and having a second width which is less than the first rib; and,
the third rib having a third width which is more than the second width
at least one board containing [[the ]]solid-state lighting elements, wherein each set arranged along and in alignment with a corresponding one of the first, second, and third ribs
at least one reflector located on the at least board surrounding
CLAIM 6. A solid-state canopy light fixture comprising:
a box-shaped housing including a base panel, and a plurality of side panels extending from the base panel and arranged to peripherally define an interior cavity and a top opening;
a diffuser lens configured to cover the top opening of the housing, the diffuser lens comprising a plurality of concentric, diffractive ribs projecting outwardly from an inner lens surface, each rib having a predetermined rib width, such that at least one of the rib widths is smaller than that of an immediately adjacent rib, to diffract transmitted light at a distinct beam angle;
a circuit board positioned within the interior cavity near the diffuser lens and carrying multiple discrete groups of solid-state lighting elements, with each group aligned with a corresponding diffractive rib;
a reflective member formed on the circuit board and arranged to surround the solid-state lighting elements, so as to direct light toward the diffuser lens; and
an electronic control module electrically connected to the circuit board and configured to independently activate each group of solid-state lighting elements to adjust both light beam angles and correlated color temperatures.
Claim Rejections Based on Prior Art
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PILAT et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,447,639) in view of HONG et al. (U.S. Pat. 11,118,755).
Figure 15 of U.S. Pat. 10,477,639 (PILAT et al.), modified and annotated to clearly reference claimed structural elements and features.
Regarding independent claim 1 (as best understood), PILAT et al. discloses a solid-state canopy light fixture 1 (as seen in Figure 15) including a housing 24 (as seen in Figure 15) having a base panel (surface of element 24 proximate element 20, as seen in Figure 15), a first side panel (outside peripheral wall of element 24, as seen in Figure 15), the first side panels perimetrically bounding the base panel (as seen in Figure 15) such that the base panel and the first panel collectively define an interior volume (space defined by element 24, as seen in Figure 15), the first panel defining a top opening (opening of element 24 receiving element 150, as seen in Figure 15), spaced from the base panel (as seen in Figure 15), through which the interior volume is accessible (as evidenced by Figure 15); a diffuser lens (as seen in Figure 3) securable to the housing 24 (as seen in Figure 15), the diffuser lens having an outer perimeter generally matched to the shape of the top opening (as evidenced by Figure 15), wherein the diffuser lens includes first, second, and third concentric ribs 102/108/114 (as seen in Figure 3) which protrude in a direction away from the interior volume (as seen in Figure 15), wherein: the first rib 102 having a first width (as seen in Figure 3); the second rib 108 having a second width (as seen in Figure 3); and, the third rib 114 having a third width (as seen in Figure 3), wherein, the first rib 102 is located outside of the second rib 108, with the second rib 108 being located outside of the third rib 114; at least one board 20 (as seen in Figure 15) containing a plurality of solid-state lighting elements 122 (as seen in Figure 15) located adjacent the lens (as seen in Figure 15), the board 20 containing first, second, and third sets (concentric groups of element 122, as seen in Figure 11) of the solid-state lighting elements 122 (as seen in Figure 15), wherein: the first set of solid-state lighting elements 122 are arranged along, and in alignment with, the first rib 102 (as seen in Figure 1); the second set of solid-state lighting elements 122 are arranged along, and in alignment with, the second rib 108 (as seen in Figure 1); and, the third set of solid-state lighting elements 122 are arranged along, and in alignment with, the third rib 114 (as seen in Figure 11); and at least one reflector (surface of element 20 facing element 100 is inherently reflective, as seen in Figure 15) located on the at least board 20 (as seen in Figure 15) surrounding each of the solid-state lighting elements 122 (as seen in Figure 15).
PILAT et al. fails to disclose the housing 24 being specifically box-shaped with at least four side panels perimetrically bounding a base panel, or the second width being less than the first and third widths.
However, HONG et al. discloses a light fixture (as seen in Figure 4) including a box-shaped housing 13 (as seen in Figure 4) having a base panel (side of element 13 including element 13b, as seen in Figure 4), a first side panel (as seen in Figure 4), a second side panel (as seen in Figure 4), a third side panel (as seen in Figure 4), and a fourth side panel (as seen in Figure 4), the base panel (as seen in Figure 4) defining an interior volume (as seen in Figure 4), and a top opening (as seen in Figure 4); a diffuser lens 12 (as seen in Figure 4) securable to the housing 13 (as seen in Figure 4) and having an outer perimeter generally matched to the shape of the top opening (as seen in Figure 4), wherein the diffuser lens 12 includes a rib 122 (as seen in Figure 1); at least one board 11 (as seen in Figure 4) containing a plurality of solid-state lighting elements 32 (as seen in Figure 3) located adjacent the lens 12 (as seen in Figure 4) and arranged along, and in alignment with, the rib 122 (as seen in Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Prior Art box-shaped housing 13 of HONG et al. with the patented light fixture of PILAT et al., according to the known methods taught by HONG et al., to yield the predictable result of providing a more uniform light projection as taught by HONG et al. in lines 16-18 of column 3 (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formed the ribs such that the second width was less than the first and third widths, as it has been long held by the courts that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, one would have been motivated to achieve the predictable result of providing a desired light projection pattern (as admitted by the applicant in paragraph 0018 and 0019, of the originally filed specification).
Regarding dependent claim 2 (as best understood), PILAT et al. discloses, or at least suggests when combined with HONG et al., as previously detailed, all the limitations of the claims, except the at least one reflector being formed of polyethylene terephthalate.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice of the use and advantages of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), specifically for manufacturing reflective elements, are old and well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to manufacture the reflective surface of the board 20 of PILAT et al. a PET material, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). One would have been motivated to achieve the predictable result of providing the board 20 of the lighting fixture of PILAT et al., as previously modified by HONG et al., with a material having high reflectivity and durability.
Regarding independent claim 3 (as best understood), PILAT et al. discloses the first width being substantially equal to the third width (all elements 102/108/114 are shown having substantially the same width, as evidenced by Figure 15).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PILAT et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,447,639) in view of HONG et al. (U.S. Pat. 11,118,755), as previously applied, further in view of LIM et al. (U.S. Pat. 11,933,476).
Regarding independent claim 4 (as best understood), PILAT et al. discloses, or at least suggests when combined with HONG et al., as previously detailed, all the limitations of the claims, except the first, second, and third sets of the solid-state lighting elements 122 are independently controllable.
However, LIM et al. discloses a lighting fixture 100 (as seen in Figure 12A) including a housing 80 (as seen in Figure 12A); a board 30 (as seen in Figure 12A) having a plurality of solid-state lighting elements 32 (as seen in Figure 28) arranged in concentric sets (see lines 20-23 of column 15); and a light modifier 1 (as seen in Figure 12A) including a plurality of concentric ribs 11 (as seen in Figure 1C) corresponding to the concentric sets of lighting elements 32 (as seen in Figure 28). The plurality of solid-state lighting elements 32 configured to be independently controllable (“strings, groups, or individual LEDs”, see lines 11-16 of column 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Prior Art independently control scheme of LIM et al. with the lighting fixture of PILAT et al., as previously modified by HONG et al., according to the known methods taught by LIM et al., to yield the predictable result of selectively controlling the characteristics of the light output of the lighting fixture (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397).
Regarding independent claim 5 (as best understood), PILAT et al. discloses, or at least suggests when combined with HONG et al. and LIM et al., as previously detailed, all the limitations of the claims, with LIM et al. further disclosing subsets of the first, second and third sets of the solid-state lighting elements 32 are independently controllable (“strings, groups, or individual LEDs”, see lines 11-16 of column 16).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shimizu (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2013/0265752), Nakamura et al. (U.S. Pat. 8,573,809), Pickard (U.S. Pat. 8,841,834), Leshniak et al. (U.S. Pat. 9,797,585), Wang (U.S. Pat. 9,810,403), Liu et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0245771), Kishikawa et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,683,987), Zou et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,914,452), Shima et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,982,835), and Eilersten et al. (U.S. Pat. 11,774,060) disclose lighting fixtures including an array of solid-state light emitting elements disposed on a circuit board provided within an enclosure, and a light modifier having a plurality of ribs configured to correspond to the array of light emitting elements. Some of the lighting fixtures disclose box-shape enclosures and means for individually controlling the light emitting elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-14 (as best understood) are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant teaches a light fixture including a box-shape housing with a base panel and a plurality of side panels extending from the base to define an interior cavity and a top opening; a diffuser lens configured to cover the top opening, and including a plurality of concentric diffractive ribs projecting outwardly from and inner surface, at least one of the ribs having a smaller width than that of an immediately adjacent rib, such as to diffract light at a distinct beam angle; a circuit board positioned within the interior cavity and carrying multiple discrete groups of solid-state lighting elements, each group aligned with a corresponding rib; and a reflective member formed on the circuit board to surround the lighting elements so as to direct light towards the diffuser lens. An electronic control module electrically is connected to the circuit board and configured to independently activate each group of lighting elements to adjust both light beam angles and CCTs.
Conclusion
/ISMAEL NEGRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875