DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 8/25/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahadevan-Jansen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20240041388) hereinafter Mahadevan-Jansen.
Regarding claim 1, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches:
A tissue detection system (abstract), comprising:
a light source configured to emit a beam of light having a wavelength to illuminate a target tissue of interest ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0171]-[0172]; [0173]-[0174], light source for emitting a beam of light to illuminate a tissue including a laser at a wavelength to illuminate tissue; [0198], laser light source);
an imaging head including a detector configured to acquire auto-fluorescence of the illuminated target tissue of interest responsive to the application of the light and generate one or more auto-fluorescence images of the target tissue of interest ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0043], figures 17A-17G; [0175]-[0183], detector 1720 provides for near infrared auto-fluorescence measurements and laser speckle imaging; [0198], detector 1720 acquires both LSCI and fluorescence images; [0199]); and
a controller configured to regulate operational control of the imaging head when acquiring, receiving, and processing images ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0184], controller for acquiring and controlling the system and processing the images; [0191]-[0196]; [0198], computer that controls the instrument; [0205]-[0209]),
wherein if an intensity signal of the detected one or more auto-fluorescence images of the target tissue of interest leads to a determination of parathyroid tissue, the detector is configured to at least one of further or simultaneously acquire laser speckle contrast images to determine the amount of perfusion of the target tissue of interest to distinguish well perfused parathyroid tissue having a low speckle contrast image from less perfused tissue having a high speckle contrast image, the less perfused tissue being identified a potential false positive ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast” The high speckle contrast of the less perfused tissue is noted as devascularized tissue during LSCI imaging validation of the previously determined potential parathyroid tissue of the fluorescence imaging. Therefore, this determination forms an identification of a “potential false positive” because it take a previously identified region of interest and provides the user with a viability measurement that indicates that region was actually a false positive detection; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 2, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
wherein the detector is a near infrared auto-fluorescence system ([0076]; [0080]; [0083]-[0087], near-infrared auto-fluorescence measurements; [0099]; [0132]; [0173]-[0174], near infrared excitation wavelength; [0181], near infrared camera forms the detector; [0198], near infrared laser wavelength; [0199], near-infrared camera forms a near infrared detector).
Regarding claim 3, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
wherein the detector is a near infrared auto-fluorescence system and a laser speckle contrast image system ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0175]-[0183], detector 1720 provides for near infrared auto-fluorescence measurements and laser speckle imaging; [0198], detector 1720 acquires both LSCI and fluorescence images; [0199]).
Regarding claim 4, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
wherein the detector includes a moveable switching plate configuring to accommodate at least one filter and at least one iris, the moveable switching plate moveable between a first position wherein one of the at least one filters is positioned within an optical path of the detector allowing the detector to acquire auto-fluoresced images, and a second position wherein one of the at least one irises is positioned within the optical path of the detector allowing the detector to acquire laser speckle contrast images ([0177], switching plate with filters 1740 and iris 1745 with a first and second position for imaging of autofluoresced images and laser speckle contrast; [0178]; see also [0179]-[0184]; [0199], switching plate).
Regarding claim 5, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
further comprising a linear actuator disposed on the imaging head and configured to coordinate movement of the moveable switching plate with the controller ([0178], linear actuator; [0199], linear actuator).
Regarding claim 6, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
wherein the controller controls operations of the imaging head for:
acquiring the auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images of the illuminated target tissue of interest ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]);
receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images from the detector ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]); and
processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images to obtain speckle contrast images for the assessment of target tissue of interest identification ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 7, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches:
A tissue detection system (abstract), comprising:
a near infrared light source configured to illuminate a target tissue of interest ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0171]-[0172]; [0173]-[0174], light source for emitting a beam of light to illuminate a tissue including a laser at a near infrared wavelength to illuminate tissue; [0198], laser light source);
an imaging head including a detector configured to acquire auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images of the illuminated target tissue of interest responsive to the application of light from the light source ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0043], figures 17A-17G; [0175]-[0183], detector 1720 provides for near infrared auto-fluorescence measurements and laser speckle imaging; [0198], detector 1720 acquires both LSCI and fluorescence images; [0199]); and
a controller configured to regulate operational control of the imaging head when acquiring, receiving, and processing the images ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0184], controller for acquiring and controlling the system and processing the images; [0191]-[0196]; [0198], computer that controls the instrument; [0205]-[0209]),
wherein if an intensity signal of the detected auto-fluorescence image of the target tissue of interest leads to a determination of parathyroid tissue, the controller is configured to assess the laser speckle contrast images to determine the amount of perfusion of the target tissue of interest to distinguish well perfused parathyroid tissue having a low speckle contrast image from less perfused tissue having a high speckle contrast image, the less perfused tissue being identified a potential false positive ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast” The high speckle contrast of the less perfused tissue is noted as devascularized tissue during LSCI imaging validation of the previously determined potential parathyroid tissue of the fluorescence imaging. Therefore, this determination forms an identification of a “potential false positive” because it take a previously identified region of interest and provides the user with a viability measurement that indicates that region was actually a false positive detection; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 8, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
wherein the detector includes a moveable switching plate configuring to accommodate at least one filter and at least one iris, the moveable switching plate moveable between a first position wherein one of the at least one filters is positioned within an optical path of the detector allowing the detector to acquire auto-fluoresced images, and a second position wherein one of the at least one irises is positioned within the optical path of the detector allowing the detector to acquire laser speckle contrast images ([0177], switching plate with filters 1740 and iris 1745 with a first and second position for imaging of autofluoresced images and laser speckle contrast; [0178]; see also [0179]-[0184]; [0199], switching plate).
Regarding claim 9, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
further comprising a linear actuator disposed on the imaging head and configured to coordinate movement of the moveable switching plate with the controller ([0178], linear actuator; [0199], linear actuator).
Regarding claim 10, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
wherein the controller controls operations of the imaging head for:
acquiring the auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images of the illuminated target tissue of interest ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]);
receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images from the detector ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]); and
processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images to obtain speckle contrast images for the assessment of target tissue of interest identification ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 11, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches:
A method for intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability (abstract), comprising:
illuminating a target tissue of interest with an infrared light source ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0171]-[0172]; [0173]-[0174], light source for emitting a beam of light to illuminate a tissue including a laser at a near infrared wavelength to illuminate tissue; [0198], laser light source); and
acquiring auto-fluorescence images from a near infrared auto-fluorescence system and determining if the target tissue of interest is auto-fluorescing ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0043], figures 17A-17G; [0175]-[0183], detector 1720 provides for near infrared auto-fluorescence measurements and laser speckle imaging; [0198], detector 1720 acquires both LSCI and fluorescence images; [0199]), wherein:
if the target tissue of interest is not auto-fluorescing, illuminating a different target tissue of interest to acquire auto-fluorescence images of the different target tissue and determining if the different target tissue is auto-fluorescing and repeating the illuminating and acquiring steps until target tissue is auto-fluorescing ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability. Identification of regions of the tissue necessarily provide repeating illumination across tissue regions of interest until parathyroid auto-fluorescing tissue is identified; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast” The high speckle contrast of the less perfused tissue is noted as devascularized tissue during LSCI imaging validation of the previously determined potential parathyroid tissue of the fluorescence imaging. Therefore, this determination forms an identification of a “potential false positive” because it take a previously identified region of interest and provides the user with a viability measurement that indicates that region was actually a false positive detection; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]);
if the target tissue of interest is auto-fluorescing, acquiring images of the target tissue of interest from a laser speckle contrast imaging system to determine the amount of perfusion of the target tissue of interest wherein well perfused parathyroid tissue has low speckle contrast images while less perfused tissue has high speckle contrast images ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast” The high speckle contrast of the less perfused tissue is noted as devascularized tissue during LSCI imaging validation of the previously determined potential parathyroid tissue of the fluorescence imaging. Therefore, this determination forms an identification of a “potential false positive” because it take a previously identified region of interest and provides the user with a viability measurement that indicates that region was actually a false positive detection; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]); and
if the target tissue of interest auto-fluoresced was identified as less perfused tissue, identifying the target tissue of interest as a potential false positive ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast” The high speckle contrast of the less perfused tissue is noted as devascularized tissue during LSCI imaging validation of the previously determined potential parathyroid tissue of the fluorescence imaging. Therefore, this determination forms an identification of a “potential false positive” because it take a previously identified region of interest and provides the user with a viability measurement that indicates that region was actually a false positive detection; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 12, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
wherein an imaging head houses a detector which includes the near infrared auto-fluorescence system and the laser speckle contrast imaging system ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0175]-[0183], detector 1720 provides for near infrared auto-fluorescence measurements and laser speckle imaging; [0198], detector 1720 acquires both LSCI and fluorescence images; [0199]).
Regarding claim 13, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 12. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
further comprising:
moving a switching plate between a first position wherein at least one filter is positioned within an optical path of the detector allowing the detector to acquire auto-fluoresced images, and a second position wherein at least one iris is positioned within the optical path of the detector allowing the detector to acquire laser speckle contrast images ([0177], switching plate with filters 1740 and iris 1745 with a first and second position for imaging of autofluoresced images and laser speckle contrast; [0178]; see also [0179]-[0184]; [0199], switching plate).
Regarding claim 14, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
further comprising:
controlling movement of the switching plate with a linear actuator disposed on the imaging head ([0178], linear actuator; [0199], linear actuator); and
coordinating movement of the switching plate with a controller ([0177]-[0178], linear actuator; [0199], linear actuator).
Regarding claim 15, Mahadevan-Jansen teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Mahadevan-Jansen further teaches:
wherein the linear actuator also controls operations of the imaging head for:
acquiring the auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images of the illuminated target tissue of interest ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]);
receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images from the detector ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]); and
processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and laser speckle contrast images to obtain speckle contrast images for the assessment of target tissue of interest identification ([0043], figures 17A-17G; [0167]; [0171], autofluorescence helps identify the parathyroid and LSCI helps assess viability; [0172]-[0183], acquisition of imaging data; [0184], “receiving the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images from the detector, and processing the acquired auto-fluorescence and LSCI images to obtain speckle contrast images for the intraoperative assessment of parathyroid gland viability. In one embodiment, in the speckle contrast images, a perfused parathyroid gland has low speckle contrast, and a devascularized parathyroid gland has high speckle contrast”; [0185]; [0192]-[0194]; [0195], percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization using a logistic regression model; [0198]-[0200], “Auto-fluorescence imaging helps identify the parathyroid, while LSCI helps assess its viability”; [0205]; [0206], auto-fluorescence and LSCI image processing, including percent likelihood of parathyroid devascularization based upon the acquired speckle contrast data; [0207]-[0209]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mannoh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220007997) teaches to a combined auto-fluorescence imaging and laser speckle imaging system for parathyroid identification and viability assessment using the same tool.
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798