DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/6/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims recites “… activate a coordination mode that at least partially synchronizes movement of …” in lines 6-7. Nowhere in the originally filed specification discloses activating the coordination mode that can at least partially synchronizes movement of the machines. The Applicant is requested to clearly and specifically point out where in the originally filed specification disclose this specific feature.
Claims 21-25 and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation recites “… activate a coordination mode that at least partially synchronizes movement of …” in lines 6-7 of claims 21 and 34 render the claims indefinite because it is not clear how “at least partially synchronizes movements” define. It is understood that movements can either be synchronized or not synchronized and it is not defined and clear how movements can only be partially synchronized when they are synchronized. There is not disclosure in the originally filed specification that provide the definition of the feature.
Claims 22-25 and 35-40 depend on claims 21 and 34 respectively including all the limitations in the base claim and therefore are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26, 27, 29 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rekow (US 2011/0112730 A1).
For claim 26, Rekow discloses a computing system comprising:
at least one processor; and
memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the computing system to:
identify a geographic location of an agricultural harvesting machine during a crop processing operation in a field (Fig. 4-6, para. 0027, where location of the machines are determined);
based on the geographic location of the agricultural harvesting machine during the crop processing operation in the field, determine a harvesting machine turn path for the agricultural harvesting machine to perform a turn on the field (Para. 0040, where the paths and turns for the machines are determined based on the locations);
generate a support machine turn path based on the harvesting machine turn path (Para. 0043, 0053, 0057, 0065, where the turn path of the support machines is generated based on the lead vehicle); and
communicate an indication of the support machine turn path to a communication device associated with a support machine (Fig. 7-14, para. 0054, where the paths of the machines are communicated between the vehicles).
For claim 27, Rekow discloses the computing system of claim 26, and further comprising one or more communication systems configured to communicate with the agricultural harvesting machine and the support machine (Para. 0092, 0093, 0100, 0117, 0120, where the vehicles communicate to one another).
For claim 29, Rekow discloses the computing system of claim 26, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the computing system to:
identify a curvature of a portion of harvesting machine turn path;
identify a path offset; and
generate the support machine turn path that corresponds to the curvature and has a distance from the harvesting machine turn path based on the path offset (Para. 0118, 0120-0123, where the turn path and corresponding offset of the follower vehicles based on the leader vehicle are identified and generated to maintain the synchronization of the movements).
For claim 32, Rekow discloses the computing system of claim 26, wherein the computing system comprises a cloud computing environment (Para. 0032, where the system may be a cloud computing environment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30, 31 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rekow (US 2011/0112730 A1) as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Desai et al. (11,372,402).
For claim 30, Rekow discloses the computing system of claim 26, but does not specifically disclose receive characteristic data indicative of a characteristic associated with operation of the agricultural harvesting machine; and determine a target unloading operation based on the characteristic, wherein the indication of the support machine turn path comprises an indication of the target unloading operation. Desai in the same field of the art discloses receive characteristic data indicative of a characteristic associated with operation of the agricultural harvesting machine; and determine a target unloading operation based on the characteristic, wherein the indication of the support machine turn path comprises an indication of the target unloading operation (Col. 8, ln 5-64, where the unloading operations to the grain carts are coordinated between the machines based on various received characteristic data such as positions and operations of the carts and side pipe and capacity of the carts). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the inventio of Rekow to receive characteristic data indicative of a characteristic associated with operation of the agricultural harvesting machine; and determine a target unloading operation based on the characteristic, wherein the indication of the support machine turn path comprises an indication of the target unloading operation, as taught by Desai to provide an effective way to unload the grain into the grain carts.
For claim 31, Rekow, as modified, discloses the computing system of claim 30, wherein the characteristic comprises at least one of: a status of a communication connection between the agricultural harvesting machine and the support machine; an unloading status; or a predicted crop yield (Desai – at least in col. 8, ln 5-64, where the unloading operations to the grain carts are coordinated between the machines based on various received characteristic data such as positions and operations of the carts and side pipe and capacity of the carts, the unloading status of the system).
For claim 33, Rekow, as modified, disclose the computing system of claim 26, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the computing system to select an unloading mode corresponding to the turn based on a selection criterion, the selection criterion comprising one or more of:
a connection status of a communication channel between the agricultural harvesting machine and the support machine (Desai – at least in col. 10, ln 6-29, where the conditions and connection status of the communication between the combine and carts affects the unloading mode of the machines based on the conditions and statuses).
Double Patenting
Claims 26, 28 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12/317,776. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claim 1 of the Patent read on the same features of the Application of claim 26. Claims 2 and 8 of the Patent is almost identical if not claimed the same limitations as claims 28 and 29 of the Application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
For claim 28, the prior arts on record do not teach, describe and/or suggest all the limitations as presented in the claim including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as a whole and specifically generate the support machine turn path based on a determination that the turn has a turning rate above a threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2010/0094481 A1) Anderson discloses a high integrity coordination system for lead vehicle and following vehicles in a field including during turns.
/SZE-HON KONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657