DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claims 1 and 11 filed on April 16, 2026 has been entered and considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 11-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Judd et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2025/0214739; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Judd discloses an electronic equipment control system (100 and 430-460), (fig. 4, [0046]), comprising:
a portable, multipurpose passenger control unit (100 and 110), the portable, multipurpose passenger control unit, (fig. 1, [0020]), comprising:
a portable passenger control unit (100), (fig. 1, [0020]); and
a fixed base (110), (fig. 1, [0020]),
wherein the portable passenger control unit (100) comprises a base portion (i.e. base portion of handset device 100 to be attach to docking station 110), (fig. 1, [0020]),
wherein the fixed base (110) comprises a holder (212) configured to receive the base portion (i.e. recessed area 212 for storing the handset device 100), (fig. 2, [0024]),
wherein the fixed base (110), which is configured to receive the portable passenger control unit (100) via the holder (212) and base portion (i.e. base portion of handset device 100 to be attach to docking station 110), (fig. 2, [0020 and 0024]),
wherein, responsive to the portable passenger control unit (100) being coupled to the holder (212), the portable passenger control unit (100) is configured to control one or more electronic devices (430) within a suite (i.e. when sitting in passenger seat), (i.e. handset 100 is operable by a passenger to control selection and delivery of content from an IFE content server to a display unit, control selection and delivery of ground-based content through a connectivity server connected through a satellite network with ground web servers (e.g., browser Internet web servers), play games, signal a flight attendant, control settings of the display unit (e.g., brightness, volume, display on/off, etc.), control seat lighting, control seat actuator(s) (e.g., recline actuator), etc.), (fig. 4, [0021 and 0046-0047]).
However, Judd does not mention wherein the fixed base comprises a projector configured for projecting images onto a surface.
In a similar field of endeavor, Heym teaches
wherein the fixed base (43), which is configured to receive the portable passenger control unit (12) via the holder (45) and base portion (42), comprises a projector (12) configured for projecting images onto a surface (14), (figs. 1, 2 and 4, [0032, 0041-0042 and 0046]),
wherein at least one of the one or more electronic devices is the projector (12), (fig. 4, [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Judd, by specifically providing the projector, as taught by Heym, for the purpose of displaying information to the user.
Regarding claim 2, Judd discloses wherein the fixed base (110) further comprises a locking mechanism (202 and 204) and wherein the locking mechanism is configured to lock the portable passenger control unit (100) in the fixed base when placed in the holder (212), (fig. 2, [0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Judd discloses wherein the one or more electronic devices are at least one of a light (i.e. handset 100 for controlling seat lighting) within the suite (i.e. in the passenger’s seat), (fig. 2, [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Judd discloses wherein the portable, multipurpose passenger control unit (100 and 110) is at least one of electronically or communicatively (i.e. communication interface 420) coupled to an electrical system or a communication system (i.e. connectivity server 440, cabin network 450 and IFE content server 460) in order to control the one or more electronic devices (430) within the suite (passenger’s seat), (fig. 4, [0047]).
Regarding claim 6, Judd discloses wherein the fixed base (110) comprises:
a mounting plate (200) that is configured to mechanically mount to a surface within the suite (passenger’s seat) (i.e. mounting device 200 may be mounted to a seat surface), (fig. 2, [0022]); and
a base (210) that is configured to be fixedly coupled to the mounting plate (200), (fig. 2, [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Judd discloses an aircraft, [0019], the aircraft comprising:
a suite (passenger’s seat), [0021]; and
an electronic equipment control system (100 and 430-460), (fig. 4, [0046]), deployed within the suite (passenger’s seat), the electronic equipment control system comprising:
a portable, multipurpose passenger control unit (100 and 110), the portable, multipurpose passenger control unit, (fig. 1, [0020]), comprising:
a portable passenger control unit (100), (fig. 1, [0020]); and
a fixed base (110), (fig. 1, [0020]),
wherein the portable passenger control unit (100) comprises a base portion (i.e. base portion of handset device 100 to be attach to docking station 110), (fig. 1, [0020]),
wherein the fixed base (110) comprises a holder (212) configured to receive the base portion (i.e. recessed area 212 for storing the handset device 100), (fig. 2, [0024]),
wherein the fixed base (110), which is configured to receive the portable passenger control unit (100) via the holder (212) and base portion (i.e. base portion of handset device 100 to be attach to docking station 110), (fig. 2, [0020 and 0024]),
wherein, responsive to the portable passenger control unit (100) being coupled to the holder (212), the portable passenger control unit (100) is configured to control one or more electronic devices (430) within the suite (i.e. handset 100 is operable by a passenger to control selection and delivery of content from an IFE content server to a display unit, control selection and delivery of ground-based content through a connectivity server connected through a satellite network with ground web servers (e.g., browser Internet web servers), play games, signal a flight attendant, control settings of the display unit (e.g., brightness, volume, display on/off, etc.), control seat lighting, control seat actuator(s) (e.g., recline actuator), etc.), (fig. 4, [0021 and 0046-0047]).
However, Judd does not mention wherein the fixed base comprises a projector configured for projecting images onto a surface.
In a similar field of endeavor, Heym teaches
wherein the fixed base (43), which is configured to receive the portable passenger control unit (12) via the holder (45) and base portion (42), comprises a projector (12) configured for projecting images onto a surface (14), (figs. 1, 2 and 4, [0032, 0041-0042 and 0046]),
wherein at least one of the one or more electronic devices is the projector (12), (fig. 4, [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Judd, by specifically providing the projector, as taught by Heym, for the purpose of displaying information to the user.
Regarding claim 12, please refer to claim 2 for details.
Regarding claim 14, please refer to claim 4 for details.
Regarding claim 15, please refer to claim 5 for details.
Regarding claim 16, please refer to claim 6 for details.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Judd in view of Heym and in view of Pajic (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0093220; already of record).
Regarding claim 7, Judd discloses wherein, responsive to the portable passenger control unit (100) being coupled to the holder (212), the portable passenger control unit (100) is configured to be electrically charged via the holder (i.e. a docking station for a handset is a device or accessory designed to provide a convenient and often secure location for the placement, charging, and/or electrical connection of a handset with the entertainment system), (fig. 2, [0015]).
However, Judd in view of Heym does not mention responsive to the portable passenger control unit being removed from the holder, the portable passenger control unit is configured to provide an alert.
In a similar field of endeavor, Pajic teaches
wherein, responsive to the portable passenger control unit (108) being coupled to the holder (104), the portable passenger control unit is configured to be electrically charged via the holder (i.e. the controller 328 may be configured to charge an electronic device 108 via a port 208), (fig. 3d, [0087]), and
wherein, responsive to the portable passenger control unit (108) being removed from the holder, the portable passenger control unit is configured to provide an alert to a user of the portable passenger control unit indicating that the portable passenger control unit is no longer being charged (i.e. the tray table 104 may emit an alert if the sensor detects that the portable electronic device is absent from the inner tray, hence no longer being charged), (fig. 3d, [0014 and 0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Judd in view of Heym, by specifically providing the alert when the device is absent from the tray, as taught by Pajic, for the purpose of preventing theft of the device, [0059].
Regarding claim 17, please refer to claim 7 for details.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Judd in view of Heym and in view of Fagan et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062618; already of record).
Regarding claim 8, Judd in view of Heym discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Judd in view of Heym does not mention a control ring.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fagan teaches
wherein the portable passenger control unit (140) further comprises a control ring (142) that is configured to be manually rotated by a passenger in order to select an action to be performed, the action being to control one or more of the one or more electronic devices within the suite (i.e. the passenger can control the knob 142 to control menu items icon 152, table lighting icon 154, media icon 156 and reading light icon 158 within the passenger seating area 58), (figs. 3 and 8, [0085, 0123, 0127 and 0136-0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Judd in view of Heym, by specifically providing the knob, as taught by Fagan, for the purpose of having additional functionality for controlling lightings and more.
Regarding claim 9, Fagan discloses wherein the portable passenger control unit (140) further comprises a display (146) that is configured to display one or more actions (i.e. menus 152, 154, 156 and 158) for controlling one or more of the one or more electronic devices (i.e. table lighting) within the suite (passenger seating area 58) and wherein the control ring (142) is configured to select between the one or more actions using the display (i.e. the display 146 is a touch-sensitive display that receives input consistent with one or more menu items shown on the display 146), (figs. 3 and 8, [0085 and 0125-0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Judd in view of Heym, by specifically providing the display, as taught by Fagan, for the purpose of having additional functionality for controlling lightings and more.
Regarding claim 18, please refer to claim 8 for details.
Regarding claim 19, please refer to claim 9 for details.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Judd in view of Heym and in view of Ding (U.S. Patent No. 9,477,329; already of record).
Regarding claim 10, Judd in view of Heym discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Judd in view of Heym does not mention an audio sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ding teaches wherein the portable passenger control unit (200) further comprises an audio sensor (microphone) configured to receive an audible command (i.e. audibly input commands) for controlling one or more of the one or more electronic devices (i.e. center button 210 may contain a microphone through which a user may audibly input commands such as air temperature, seat temperature, etc.) within the suite (vehicle), (figs. 2-3, col. 4, lines 45-51 and col. 6, lines 32-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Judd in view of Heym, by specifically providing the microphone for audio input commands, as taught by Ding, for the purpose of increasing functionality for the user.
Regarding claim 20, please refer to claim 10 for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, the reference of Heym has been added for new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/LONG D PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623