Detailed Action
This office action is in response to the listing of claims filed on April 29, 2025. Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,464. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are substantially similar in their claimed approach to providing cyber attribution of software containers. These similarities are illustrated in the table below comparing an independent claim of the present application against one from the patent.
Present Application
Claim 1
Patent 12,321,464
Claim 1
A method for software containers attribution, comprising: de-compiling a configuration file of a container image of a software container in order to obtain a de-compiled configuration file, wherein the de-compiled configuration file includes a first plurality of commands;
A method for software containers attribution, comprising: de-compiling a configuration file of a first container image of a software container, wherein the first container image is among a plurality of container images, wherein the de-compiled configuration file includes a plurality of commands;
identifying a candidate build file in the de-compiled configuration file, wherein the candidate build file contains a second plurality of commands;
identifying at least one candidate build file in the de-compiled configuration file, wherein each candidate build file contains a plurality of commands executed to create a respective container image among the plurality of container images;
and matching the configuration file to the candidate build file based on the first plurality of commands and the second plurality of commands.
determining if at least one matching condition is satisfied between each of the at least one candidate build file and the de-compiled configuration file based on the plurality of commands of the de-compiled configuration file and the plurality of commands of each of the at least one candidate build file;
associating the configuration file with each candidate build file satisfying the at least one matching condition;
As can be seen above, both sets of claims match commands between the de-compiled configuration file and the candidate build file. The present application’s independent claim is simply silent with respect to the patent’s claimed updating of the inventory after the matching. This updating feature however is present within the dependent claims. In other words, the present independent claims are simply broader by omitting a step/limitation that are later presented in dependent claims. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated dependent claim 2 into it’s independent claim 1 to update an inventory after finding a match, to ensure up to date information is available.
Claims 2-19 are similarly rejected for being substantially similar to patented claims 2-25.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,651. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are substantially similar in their claimed approach to providing cyber attribution of software containers. These similarities are illustrated in the table below comparing an independent claim of the present application against one from the patent.
Present Application
Claim 1
Patent 12,204,651
Claim 1
A method for software containers attribution, comprising: de-compiling a configuration file of a container image of a software container in order to obtain a de-compiled configuration file, wherein the de-compiled configuration file includes a first plurality of commands;
A method for software containers attribution, comprising: de-compiling a configuration file of a container image of a software container;
identifying a candidate build file in the de-compiled configuration file, wherein the candidate build file contains a second plurality of commands;
identifying at least one candidate build file in the de-compiled configuration file;
and matching the configuration file to the candidate build file based on the first plurality of commands and the second plurality of commands.
determining if at least one matching condition is satisfied between each of the at least one candidate build file and the de-compiled configuration file; wherein determining if the at least one matching condition is satisfied further comprises, when there is more than one candidate build file, matching each of the candidate build files to the de-compiled configuration file based on a matching condition, wherein the matching condition includes any one of: similarity, a creation time, a number of commands, and a hierarchical matching;
As can be seen above, both sets of claims support matching commands between the de-compiled configuration file and the candidate build file. The present application’s independent claim is simply silent with respect to the patent’s claimed updating of the inventory after the matching. This updating feature however is present within the dependent claims. In other words, the present independent claims are simply broader by omitting a step/limitation that are later presented in dependent claims. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated dependent claim 2 into it’s independent claim 1 to update an inventory after finding a match, to ensure up to date information is available.
Claims 2-19 are similarly rejected for being substantially similar to patented claims 2-25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al (US PGPub No: 2021/0311855) in view of Kim et al (US Patent No: 11,893,106), hereafter referred to as Khan and Kim, respectively.
With regard to claims 1, 10, and 11, Khan teaches through Kim, a method for software containers attribution, comprising: de-compiling (see below) a configuration file of a container image of a software container in order to obtain a de-compiled configuration file (Khan teaches the generation of a container image configuration file; see paragraph 4, Khan),
wherein the de-compiled configuration file includes a first plurality of commands (Khan teaches the configuration file can have executable commands; see paragraphs 4-5, Khan);
identifying a candidate build file in the de-compiled configuration file (Khan teaches the configuration file having one or more build configuration parameters associated with the building of the application; see paragraph 4, Khan),
wherein the candidate build file contains a second plurality of commands (Khan teaches the use of build configuration parameters associated with the building of the application; see paragraphs 4, Khan. Build files contain code (parameters are part of the code) which are commands for building the application);
and matching the configuration file to the candidate build file based on the first plurality of commands and the second plurality of commands (Khan teaches how the build configuration parameters are associated with the building of the application; see paragraphs 4 and 16, Khan. Khan explains how relevant code can be pulled for application development or testing. The relevant code can be checked for quality and tested by the container prior to being deployed; see paragraphs 51, and 53-54, Khan. When the container image configuration file’s contents are executed, container images are pulled and provided; see paragraph 54 and Figure 6, Khan).
While Khan teaches a network that supports the use of containers and reading configuration files of a container image, Khan does not explicitly cite decompiling a file. In the same field of endeavor, Kim also teaches a network that supports the use of containers; see column 1, lines 18-20, Kim. In particular, Kim teaches how script code, extracted by the container configuration analysis module, is converted into machine code (decompiling a file). An example is provided where bytecode is decompiled into source code; see column 7, lines 16-27, Kim.
By decompiling code, a system can determine if a container is based on machine code or non-machine code and can whitelist an application; accordingly, see column 1, line 65 – column 2, line 17, Kim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to have combined the teachings of Kim with those of Khan, to ensure only whitelisted applications are run, providing greater security; see column 2, lines 7-17 and column 10, lines 23-27, Kim.
With regard to claims 2 and 12, Khan teaches through Kim, the method further comprising: updating an inventory with an association between the configuration file and the candidate build file when the configuration file is matched to the candidate build file (Khan teaches using association data from developmental code within a container to retrieve the proper code with which to build; see paragraph 55 and Figures 6 and 7, Khan).
With regard to claims 3 and 13, Khan teaches through Kim, the method wherein the association provides a mapping between the container image and the candidate build file (Khan explains how dependencies/mappings associated with containers can be ached, including build automation images; see paragraphs 7-8, Khan).
With regard to claims 4 and 14, Khan teaches through Kim, the method wherein identifying the candidate build file further comprises: searching among a plurality of build files with respect to the first plurality of commands, wherein the candidate build file is identified such that at least one command of the second plurality of commands matches at least one command of the first plurality of commands (Khan teaches an image finder that can find container and build images; see paragraph 54 and Figure 6, Khan. The finder can pull container images and use the container image configuration file of a particular build to load and pull code relevant for the build; see paragraph 54, Khan).
With regard to claims 5 and 15, Khan teaches through Kim, the method wherein matching the configuration file to the candidate build file further comprises: matching the candidate build file to the de-compiled configuration file based on a matching condition, wherein the matching condition is defined with respect to at least one of: similarity; creation time; number of commands; and hierarchical matching
Khan teaches an image finder that can find container and build images; see paragraph 54 and Figure 6, Khan. The finder can pull container images and use the container image configuration file of a particular build to load and pull code relevant (i.e. similarity) for the build; see paragraph 54, Khan.
However Khan does not explicitly cite decompiling a file. In the same field of endeavor, Kim also teaches a network that supports the use of containers; see column 1, lines 18-20, Kim. In particular, Kim teaches how script code, extracted by the container configuration analysis module, is converted into machine code (decompiling a file). An example is provided where bytecode is decompiled into source code; see column 7, lines 16-27, Kim.
By decompiling code, a system can determine if a container is based on machine code or non-machine code and can whitelist an application; accordingly, see column 1, line 65 – column 2, line 17, Kim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to have combined the teachings of Kim with those of Khan, to ensure only whitelisted applications are run, providing greater security; see column 2, lines 7-17 and column 10, lines 23-27, Kim.
With regard to claims 6 and 16, Khan teaches through Kim, the method wherein the candidate build file is a first candidate build file among a plurality of candidate build files, wherein the first candidate build file is matched to the de-compiled configuration file when all candidate build files among the plurality of candidate build files match the de-compiled configuration file
Khan teaches an image finder that can find container and build images; see paragraph 54 and Figure 6, Khan. The finder can pull container images and use the container image configuration file of a particular build to load and pull code relevant for the build; see paragraph 54, Khan. Khan further provides multi-version concurrency control to manage the relational stores (i.e. can provide the most recent (i.e. first) match); see paragraph 42, Khan.
However Khan does not explicitly cite decompiling a file. In the same field of endeavor, Kim also teaches a network that supports the use of containers; see column 1, lines 18-20, Kim. In particular, Kim teaches how script code, extracted by the container configuration analysis module, is converted into machine code (decompiling a file). An example is provided where bytecode is decompiled into source code; see column 7, lines 16-27, Kim.
By decompiling code, a system can determine if a container is based on machine code or non-machine code and can whitelist an application; accordingly, see column 1, line 65 – column 2, line 17, Kim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to have combined the teachings of Kim with those of Khan, to ensure only whitelisted applications are run, providing greater security; see column 2, lines 7-17 and column 10, lines 23-27, Kim.
With regard to claims 9 and 19, Khan teaches through Kim, the method wherein the container image is formed from a plurality of build files, further comprising: generating a hierarchical representation of the container image, wherein the hierarchical representation includes a plurality of nodes arranged in a hierarchy; and associating each build file of the plurality of build files with a respective node of the plurality of nodes, wherein the candidate build file is identified based on the association between each build file of the plurality of build files and a respective node of the plurality of nodes (Khan supports storing container data with topology information; see paragraph 25, Khan. Furthermore, Khan explain how such data can be stored in graph-structured data; see paragraph 43, Khan).
Conclusion
/AZIZUL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455