DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the application/communication filed 9/25/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending, Claims 17-20 are withdrawn, and Claims 1-16 have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 9/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the pumping system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “a fluid transport system”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saik (US 2006/0107978 A1)
Re claim 1, Saik discloses a cleaning apparatus for cleaning a chamber (abstract), comprising:
a reservoir (see fig. 8, ref. 170, 88, 90, 92) for storing a cleaning chemistry;
a spray nozzle (ref. 52) for distributing the cleaning chemistry within the chamber:
a fluid transport system (refs. 94, 180, 182, 50, ref. 34, 190, 162, 163,170, 262, 229, 264, 266) for conveying the cleaning chemistry from the reservoir to the spray nozzle and returning the cleaning chemistry from the chamber to a reservoir;
a power source (¶ [0052] electrically operated or pneumatically operated) for powering the pumping system; and
a control unit (ref. 104, [0052] control station) for controlling operation of the pumping system.
Re claim 2, wherein the fluid transport system is comprised of: a first pump (ref. 94) for conveying the cleaning chemistry from the reservoir to the spray nozzle; and a second pump (ref. 163 or ref. 229 or ref. 231 or ref. 96) for returning the cleaning chemistry from the chamber to the reservoir.
Re claim 3, wherein the reservoir comprises a floor (see fig. 10 ref. 231 has a suction port that penetrates a floor of the reservoir structure 170) and a first port (inlet port to ref. 231) disposed in the floor, and the second pump comprises a suction port fluidically coupled to the first port (intake to vacuum pump 231) (alternatively consider fig. 11, ref. 96 has a suction port on the floor of the other reservoir structure 192).
Re claim 5, further comprising a housing having an interior chamber (see figs. 9-11 housing of either refs. 82 or 170), wherein the second pump (refs. 163, 229, 231, 96 draw fluid into either of the interiors) is configured to create a suction that draws fluid into the interior chamber.
Re claim 6, wherein the reservoir comprises a floor (se rejection to claim 3 above) and at least one side wall (see figs. 11, side wall adjacent ref. 23), further comprising a first port disposed in the floor of the reservoir (suction intake of ref. 231) and a second port (output of ref. 231 through sidewall) disposed in the at least one side wall of the reservoir, wherein the second pump comprises a suction port fluidically coupled to the first port and an exhaust port fluidically coupled to the second port (see fig. 10).
Re claims 12-13, Regarding “wherein the cleaning chemistry includes a descaler and neutralizing agent” and “an acid-based cleaning agent”, this is a statement of intended use. Here, the reservoir of Saik is capable of storing any cleaning chemistry including a descaler and neutralizing agent and acid-based cleaning agent, if so desired. See MPEP 2114.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saik (US 2006/0107978 A1).
Re claim 8, Saik discloses as shown above including manual or electronic control (¶ [0052]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit includes: a first timer for activating the first pump; and a second timer for activating the second pump. However, the mere automation of a known manual process for predetermined times is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, where it is understood that cleaning efficacy is a function of time.
Re claim 9, Regarding “wherein said first and second pumps are selected from one of a rotary vane pump and a bilge pump”, the selection of off-the-shelf pumps suitable for its intended use of pumping liquids prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Re claim 10, Regarding “wherein the spray nozzle is rotatable”, Saik discloses the nozzle is inserted (¶ [0046], [0049]) via rigid rod-like conduit (claim 14), the rod thus being capable of relative rotation (i.e. circular cross-section). To any extent it is not clear the rod and the nozzle are rotatable, it would have been obvious to enable rotation of the spray nozzle for dynamic cleaning and positioning of the nozzle.
Re claim 11, Regarding “wherein the power source includes a rechargeable battery”, the selection of an off-shelf power source, e.g. rechargeable battery for electrical power is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Re claims 14-15, Regarding “wherein the reservoir is at least a portion of an interior chamber of a housing that houses the first and second pumps, the power source, and the control unit” and “further comprising a housing having an interior to house the fluid transport system, the reservoir, the power source, and the control unit”, see fig. 10 pumps having housing that includes reservoir of 170 and/or the inclusion of an overall house to protect all components, e.g. all of reservoirs 88-92, pumps 96,98 and control 104 within an overall housing being within the skills of one of ordinary skill in the art, for purpose of protecting the components therein. There being no patentable subject matter in simply enclosing known components.
Claims 4 and 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saik (US 2006/0107978 A1) in view of EP 2241806 B1 (“EP’806”) (machine transition attached) and Harris (US 2024/0001412 A1).
Re claims 4 and 7, Saik discloses as shown above including wherein the reservoir comprises a floor (see rejection to claim 3 above) and further discloses at least one side wall (see figs. 9-11 sidewalls of ref. 170 or ref. 82), but does not disclose a second port disposed in the at least one side wall; and a selector valve having an output port and at least two input ports, the selector valve configured to selectively couple one of the at least two input ports to the output port, wherein the second pump is coupled to the output port of the selector valve, one of the at least two input ports is coupled to the first port, and the other of the at least two ports is coupled to the second port.
However, EP’806 discloses it is known in the storage tank cleaning and removal art to have a plurality of inputs (see fig. 1 refs. 8a, b, c) that approach a reservoir from a plurality of directions including bottom (ref. 8a) and sides (ref. 8b, c) and an input port disposed in the at least one side wall (see fig. 2).
Regarding the selector valve, Harris discloses it is known tank cleaning art (abstract) to provide a selector valve (ref. 84) to selectively merge return/suction inputs to a single pump (ref. 18).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide at least at least a second port disposed in a sidewall along with a plurality of suction input ports, as suggested by EP’806, in order to recover multiple fluid returns; and to further combine the multiple inputs with a selector valve, as taught by Harris, in order to utilize a single pump for all fluid returns.
Re claim 7, Claim 7 reads substantively identical scope as claim 4, where the third port reads on the second port, except as to clarification that the second pump’s suction port is coupled to the output port of the selector valve. In the combination above, the multiple suction inputs merge to feed the single suction port of the pump.
Re claim 16, Harris further discloses wherein the control unit includes a wireless remote control (a wireless connection or remote monitoring, e.g. via Internet or (mobile) radio connection).
Conclusion
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711