DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a wrapping assembly” in claim 13 (interpreted to be a frame, a first roller, a second roller, a third roller, and an endless belt wrapped around the three rollers, see Para. 0007 of Applicant’s specification) and “a napkin delivery assembly” in claim 18 (interpreted to be a fan, see Para. 0032 of Applicant’s specification).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “operatively connected the at least one base” should be “operatively connected to the at least one base”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chaganos (US 2014/0054205).
Regarding claim 1, Chaganos discloses a utensil picker (Fig. 1, item A) for picking up at least one utensil (Fig. 2, item 23, 24, 25) from at least one utensil magazine (Fig. 2, item B) storing a plurality of utensils (Fig. 2, item 21, 22), the utensil picker comprising:
at least one movable arm (Fig. 1, item 5);
at least one base (Fig. 1, item 6) connected to the at least one movable arm (Fig. 1); and
at least two fingers (Fig. 6) connected to each base of the at least one base (Fig. 1, grasping mechanism 9 is connected to base 6), each finger of the at least two fingers comprising:
a fingertip (Fig. 6, fingertip is the structure extending upward toward base 6 and connected to housing 30, 31) operatively connected the at least one base (Fig. 1), the fingertip being configured to move vertically with respect to the at least one base (Para. 0065); and
an attachment (Fig. 6, item 30, 31, 32) (Fig. 7, item 33, 34) provided at an end of the fingertip (Fig. 6) for attaching one utensil of the at least one utensil to the finger (Para. 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 2, Chaganos discloses the utensil picker of claim 1, wherein the attachment is a permanent magnet (Para. 0066).
Regarding claim 3, Chaganos discloses the utensil picker of claim 1, wherein the attachment is an electro-magnet (Para. 0066).
Regarding claim 4, Chaganos discloses the utensil picker of claim 1, further comprising at least one track (Para. 0049), the at least one movable arm being movable along the at least one track (Para. 0049, arm 5 is moveable linearly along a predetermine path).
Regarding claim 5, Chaganos discloses the utensil picker of claim 1, wherein the at least two fingers are connected under the at least one base (Fig. 1, the fingers extending between base 6 and attachment 30, 31 are connected at the underside of base 6).
Regarding claim 8, Chaganos discloses the utensil picker of claim 1, wherein: each finger of the at least two fingers further comprises a housing (Fig. 7, item 30, 31) connected to the at least one base (Fig. 7); and for each finger, the fingertip (Fig. 7, item 33, 34) is at least partially housed in the housing (Fig. 7, lifting element 33 and lifting element holder 34 are located within housing 30, 31).
Regarding claim 9, Chaganos discloses the utensil picker of claim 8, wherein each housing has an open end (Fig. 7, lifting element 33 and lifting element holder 34 are located on the open bottom side of housing 30, 31) for receiving the fingertip (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaganos.
Regarding claim 11, Chaganos does not expressly disclose the utensil picker of claim 1, wherein the at least two fingers are at least three fingers arranged in a line.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include at least three fingers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 12, Chaganos does not expressly disclose the utensil picker of claim 11, wherein the at least three fingers are three or four fingers.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include three or four fingers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaganos in view of Handsaeme (BE-1016123-A5, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 13, Chaganos discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1, Fig. 2) for wrapping a napkin around at least one utensil comprising:
at least one magazine (Fig. 2, item B, item 21, 22) for storing the at least one utensil (Para. 0059-0060);
the utensil picker (Fig. 1) of claim 1 for picking up the at least one utensil from the at least one magazine (Para. 0065-0067) and for bringing the at least one utensil (Para. 0065-0067) from the at least one magazine to the wrapping assembly (Para. 0065-0067).
Chaganos does not expressly disclose a wrapping assembly for wrapping the napkin around the at least one utensil.
However, Handsaeme teaches a wrapping assembly (Handsaeme, Fig. 2, item 1, rollers 2, 4, 5, frame surrounding rollers, belt 7) for wrapping the napkin around the at least one utensil.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Chaganos and Handsaeme to modify the apparatus of Chaganos to include the wrapping assembly of Handsaeme. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to fully enclose the product being wrapped (Handaeme, Machine Translation, page 1).
Regarding claim 14, Chaganos discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein:
each magazine (Chaganos, Fig. 2, item B) of the at least one magazine has a corresponding at least two fingers (Chaganos, Fig. 1, item 9) of the at least two fingers (Chaganos, Para. 0065-0067); and for each magazine the corresponding at least two fingers are configured to pick up at least one utensil (Chaganos, Para. 0065-0067) at a time from the magazine (Chaganos, Para. 0065-0067).
Regarding claim 15, Chaganos discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein for each magazine the corresponding at least two fingers are configured to pick up a single utensil (Chaganos, Para. 0065-0067) at a time from the magazine (Chaganos, Para. 0065-0067).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 10, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731