Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements filed April 29, 2025 and May 1, 2025 have been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saab (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0273145).
In regard to claim 1, Saab teaches a heat transfer catheter apparatus 60 for delivering heat transfer fluids at temperatures above or below normal body temperatures to selected internal body sites (see para. 0002) comprised of an outer tube 140 having a distal end, a proximal end and a longitudinal direction (see Fig. 1) and a first inner tube (not numbered) with a guide wire lumen 124 and a plurality of supply lumens 126, 127, 128, 130 for allowing a fluid to pass therethrough where, in cross-section, the lumens 126, 127, 128, 130 are formed in regions different from a region in which lumen 124 is formed (see Fig. 7 and para. 0061). Outlet (discharge) lumens 134, 135, 136, 138 are formed between an inner surface of the outer tube 140 and an outer surface of the first inner tube and lumens 126, 130 could be provided with apertures in their sidewalls to permit fluid to pass into lumens 134, 135, 136, 138 (see para. 0061). Saab does not specifically state that the device is used for a duodenal papilla insertion. However, this recitation is considered an intended use recitation that is given little patentable weight. Moreover, the structure recited by Saab does not include any structural limitations that would preclude its use for duodenal papilla insertion. Thus, the device taught by Saab is capable of being used for duodenal papilla insertion and one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to utilize the device in such a manner. Finally, it should be noted that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Also, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In regard to claim 2, Figure 7 shows that in cross-section, an eccentric distance from a centroid of the first inner tube to a centroid of the lumens 126, 127, 128, 130 is longer than an eccentric distance from the centroid of the first inner tube to a centroid of the lumen 124. In regard to claim 3, Figure 7 shows that in cross-section, the lumen 124 is formed at a position that overlaps with a centroid of the first inner tube and each of the lumens 126, 127, 128, 130 is formed at a position that does not overlap with the centroid of the first inner tube. In regard to claim 4, see paras. 0051 and 0062. In regard to claim 5, Figure 7 shows that in cross-section, only one of the holes in the supply lumens is present on one straight line passing through a centroid of the first inner tube. In regard to claim 6, Figure 7 shows that in cross-section, only one of the lumens 126, 127, 128, 130 is present on one straight line passing through a centroid of the first inner tube and the holes. In regard to claim 7, Figure 7 shows that in cross-section, the lumens 126, 127, 128, 130 are located on an imaginary circle having a center at a centroid of the first inner tube. In regard to claims 8 and 9, see Fig. 3 and paras. 0053-0054. In regard to claim 10, see para. 0047. In regard to claim 15, see Figures 3 and 4. In regard to claim 16, see Fig. 1 and paras. 0045-0046.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saab (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0273145) in view of Garcia-Meza et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2022/261146).
In regard to claim 11, Saab teaches that the multi-lumen catheter can have more of fewer lumens that the nine shown in Figures 7 and 8 (see para. 0061). Garcia-Meza et al. teach a similar cryogenic catheter with three delivery channels where the channels, due to their positioning within a catheter with a circular cross-section, would be between 105 degrees and 135 degrees apart from each other (see Figs. 15A and 15B). Garcia-Meza et al. thus demonstrate that the use of 3 fluid delivery channels spaced 105 to 135 degrees apart is well known in the art. Accordingly, since Saab teaches using fewer than nine lumens (fewer than 4 delivery lumens), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Saab with 3 delivery lumens spaced between 105 degrees and 135 degrees apart from each other, in the manner disclosed by Garcia-Meza et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 15 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 10 and 11, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/193,737 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 15 and 16 of the instant application are broader than claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 10 and 11 of the reference application. Specifically, claim 1 of the reference application contains all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application as well as the additional limitation “an external shape of the inner tube is an irregular shape.” Thus, claim 1 of the instant application is broader than claim 1 of the reference application. Claims 6, 7, 9, 10 and 11 are identical to claims 3, 7, 8, 15 and 16 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Duong et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0216581, teaches a multi-lumen cryogenic catheter.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794