DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action responds to reply filed on 7/13/26 regarding application 19/193459 that was initially filed on 4/29/25. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. as being anticipated by Raber, US 2005/0206741 A1 (hereinafter Raber).
As for claim 20, Raber discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0051], e.g., CD), having stored a bitstream (the medium is utilized merely as a support for the bitstream, thus, the bitstream has no patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05.) …
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 - 8, 10, 11, 14 - 16, and 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al., US 2024/0048776 A1 (hereinafter Du) in view of Haskell, US 2012/0082217 A1 (hereinafter Haskell).
As for claim 1, Du discloses a video decoding method, comprising: determining whether to use a temporal interpolated prediction (TIP) frame ([0031], e.g., TIP frame) corresponding to a current picture as an output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture; in response to that it is determined that the TIP frame is not used ([0031], e.g., When TIP_frame_mode equals 1) as the output picture of the current picture, decoding a first information ([0031], e.g., normally coded, note an information related to the TIP additional reference frame), in response to that it is determined that the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture, skipping decoding the first information ([0031], e.g., normally coded, note an information related to the TIP additional reference frame).
Du does not explicitly disclose, but Haskell teaches wherein the first information ([0070], e.g., interpolation filter index) is used to indicate a first interpolation filter ([0070], e.g., interpolation filter), and the first interpolation filter is used to perform interpolation filtering ([0070], e.g., interpolation filter) on a reference block ([0070], e.g., reference frame) of a current block in the current picture; determining the first interpolation filter ([0070], e.g., interpolation filter) of the current block based on the first information; and decoding ([0070], e.g., decoder) the current block based on the first interpolation filter.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Du and Haskell before him/her to modify the reducing blockiness for codecs of Du with the teaching of method and apparatus of video coding of Haskell with a motivation to obtain a better quality and/or efficiency in processing of the image data by using the interpolation filter and/or index.
As for claim 2, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. In addition, Du further discloses determining whether to use the temporal interpolated prediction (TIP) frame corresponding to the current picture as the output picture of the current picture comprises: decoding second information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode) corresponding to the current picture from a bitstream, wherein the second information is used to indicate that the current picture is not encoded using a first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2), the first TIP mode is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture; and determining that the TIP frame is not used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture based on the second information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode).
As for claim 3, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. In addition, Du further discloses determining whether to use the temporal interpolated prediction (TIP) frame corresponding to the current picture as the output picture of the current picture comprises: decoding third information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode) from a bitstream, wherein the third information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode) is used to determine whether the current picture is decoded using a TIP manner; and determining whether to use the TIP frame as the output picture of the current picture based on the third information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode).
As for claim 4, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 3. In addition, Du further discloses determining whether to use the TIP frame as the output picture of the current picture based on the third information comprises: in response to that it is determined that the current picture is decoded using the TIP manner based on the third information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode), determining a TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP mode) corresponding to the current picture; and determining whether to use the TIP frame as the output picture of the current picture based on the TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP mode) corresponding to the current picture.
As for claim 5, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 4. In addition, Du further discloses determining whether to use the TIP frame as the output picture of the current picture based on the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture comprises: in response to that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is a first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2), determining that the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture, wherein the first TIP mode is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture.
As for claim 6, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 4. In addition, Du further discloses the method further comprises: in response to that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is a first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2), creating the TIP frame; and using the TIP frame as the output picture of the current picture and outputting the TIP frame ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2).
As for claim 7, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 4. In addition, Du further discloses determining whether to use the TIP frame as the output picture of the current picture based on the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture comprises: in response to that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is not ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 0 or TIP_frame_mode equals 1) a first TIP mode, determining that the TIP frame is not used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture, wherein the first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2) is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture.
As for claim 8, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 7. In addition, Du further discloses the method further comprises: in response to that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is a second TIP mode ([0031], e.g., When TIP_frame_mode equals 1), creating the TIP frame, wherein the second TIP mode is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as an additional reference frame ([0031], e.g., additional reference frame) of the current picture; and using the TIP frame as the additional reference frame ([0031], e.g., additional reference frame) of the current picture, and determining a reconstructed picture ([0049], e.g., reconstruction) of the current picture.
As for claim 10, the claim recites a video encoding method of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 11, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 10. In addition, Du further discloses determining whether to use the temporal interpolated prediction (TIP) frame corresponding to the current picture as the output picture of the current picture comprises: in response to that it is determined that the current picture is not encoded using a TIP manner ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 0), determining that the TIP frame is not used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture; and in response to that it is determined that the current picture is encoded using the TIP manner ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 1 or TIP_frame_mode equals 2), determining a TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP mode) corresponding to the current picture; and determining whether to use the TIP frame as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture based on the TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP mode) corresponding to the current picture.
As for claim 14, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 11. In addition, Du further discloses determining whether to use the TIP frame as the output picture of the current picture based on the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture comprises: in response to that the TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP mode) corresponding to the current picture is a first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2), determining that the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture, wherein the first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2) is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture; and in response to that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is not a first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2), determining that the TIP frame is not used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture, wherein the first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2) is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture.
As for claim 15, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 11. In addition, Du further discloses the method further comprises: encoding ([0026], e.g., encoder) the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture into a bitstream ([0031], e.g., TIP mode).
As for claim 16, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 10. In addition, Du further discloses determining whether to use the temporal interpolated prediction (TIP) frame corresponding to the current picture as the output picture of the current picture comprises: in response to that it is determined that the current picture is not ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 0 or TIP_frame_mode equals 1) encoded using a first TIP mode, determining that the TIP frame is not used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture, wherein the first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2) is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture, wherein the method further comprises: encoding second information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode) into a bitstream, wherein the second information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode) is used to indicate that a TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP mode) corresponding to the current picture is not ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 0 or TIP_frame_mode equals 1) the first TIP mode; and encoding third information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode) into a bitstream, wherein the third information ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode) is used to indicate whether the current picture is encoded using a TIP manner.
As for claim 18, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 10. In addition, Du further discloses determining the first information ([0031], e.g., normally coded, note an information related to the TIP additional reference frame); and encoding ([0026], e.g., encoder) the first information ([0031], e.g., normally coded, note an information related to the TIP additional reference frame) into a bitstream.
As for claim 19, the claim recites a video decoding apparatus of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 20, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having stored a bitstream of the method of claim 10, and is similarly analyzed.
2. Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du in view of Haskell, and further in view of He et al., US 2014/0010282 A1 (hereinafter He).
As for claim 12, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 11. In addition, Du further discloses determining the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture comprises: creating the TIP frame ([0031], e.g., TIP frame).
Du as modified by Haskell does not explicitly teach, but He teaches determining a first cost when encoding the current picture, in a case where the TIP frame is used as an additional reference frame of the current picture; determining a second cost when the TIP frame is used as the output picture of the current picture; and determining the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture based on the first cost and the second cost ([0079], e.g., select an appropriate encoding mode in order to minimize the cost).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Du, Haskell, and He before him/her to modify the reducing blockiness for codecs of Du with the teaching of reducing blockiness for codecs of He with a motivation to provide an efficient processing by using the most cost effective approach.
As for claim 13, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 12. In addition, Du further discloses determining that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is a first TIP mode ([0031], e.g., TIP_frame_mode equals 2), wherein the first TIP mode is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as the output picture ([0031], e.g., output) of the current picture; and determining that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is a second TIP mode ([0031], e.g., When TIP_frame_mode equals 1), wherein the second TIP mode is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as an additional reference frame ([0031], e.g., additional reference frame) of the current picture.
Du as modified by Haskell does not explicitly teach, but He teaches determining the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture based on the first cost and the second cost comprises: in response to that the first cost is greater than the second cost, determining that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is a first TIP mode, wherein the first TIP mode is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as the output picture of the current picture; and in response to that the first cost is less than the second cost, determining that the TIP mode corresponding to the current picture is a second TIP mode, wherein the second TIP mode is a mode in which the TIP frame is used as an additional reference frame of the current picture ([0079], e.g., select an appropriate encoding mode in order to minimize the cost).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Du, Haskell, and He before him/her to modify the reducing blockiness for codecs of Du with the teaching of reducing blockiness for codecs of He with a motivation to provide an efficient processing by using the most cost effective approach.
Response to Arguments
Applicant 's arguments filed 7/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Du nor Haskell teaches the entire technical solutions of amended independent claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Applicant’s argument is not clear how Du and Haskell fails to teach the limitations because initially Applicant states the claim 1 limitations and then describing Du’s teaching by saying “merely.” It is not clear why the Du’s description fails to teach the limitation as Applicant fails to mention what is missing in Du’s description. Thus, it is impossible to counterargue on this. Regardless, here is an explanation of how Du teaches the first portion of the Claim 1 limitations. The first limitation of determining whether a TIP frame as output picture corresponds to Du’s checking TIP_frame_mode equals 1 or 2. When TIP_frame_mode equals 1, the TIP frame is not used as output picture of the current frame. When TIP_frame_mode equals 2, the TIP frame is used as output picture of the current frame. As Du teaches whether TIP frame is used or not used as output picture based on the mode, it teaches the limitation. The second limitation of when the TIP frame is not used, decoding a first information corresponds to normally coding that involves various coding information of the current frame and the TIP additional reference frame, thus the limitation is taught. The last limitation of skipping decoding the first information when TIP frame is used as the output picture corresponds to the TIP_frame_mode equals to 2 where the TIP frame is used as output, thus, decoding the first information is not needed. The rest of the limitations are taught by Haktell.
Although Applicant argues that Du fails to mention interpolation filter and association, the OA does not assert that it is taught by Du, thus the argument does not commensurate to the OA.
Applicant argues that Haskell is silent on the concept of TIP frame and association. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Note that MPEP states that "[i]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." MPEP 2141.03 I. “Common sense teaches ... that familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes, and in many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 420 (2007). Du teaches TIP frame and Haskell teaches interpolation filter. The association is taught by the combination of the references. Thus, the combination of the references teaches all the limitations in question.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the references because there is no logical nexus. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Motivation is not required to come from a logical nexus. Note that MPEP states that “there exists in these situations a motivation to combine prior art references even absent any hint of suggestion in the reference themselves.” MPEP 2144 II. The fact that the motivation is not found in prior arts does not necessarily mean the motivation must be from the Applicant’s specification since the motivation may come from Examiner’s “employing common sense,” and the “use of common sense does not require a ‘specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference.’” MPEP 2141. In this case, motivation is provided in OA regardless of the logical nexus. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Note that the claim 20 is rejected under 35 USC § 102 in the OA mailed on 4/15/26. However, Applicant fails to amend or argue. Although Applicant mentions that the claim 20 is allowable because of dependency to Claim 10 under 35 USC § 103, the rejection under 35 USC § 102 is a separate rejection. The rejection is not overcome even if claim 10 is allowable because the rejection is not based on it’s parent claim. As there is no argument present, the rejection is repeated here for the sake of completeness.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. US 2003/0108099 discloses picture encoding method and apparatus, picture decoding method and apparatus and furnishing medium.
2. US 2005/0053294 discloses techniques and tools for progressive and interlaced video coding and decoding.
3. US 2006/0126962 discloses methods and systems for reducing blocking artifacts with reduced complexity for spatially-scalable video coding.
Conclusion
Applicant 's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached on 571-272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSEPH SUH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485