DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 6 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
- Claim 6 should recite “…wherein the circumference of the tool housing around the motor housing is in the range of…”
- Claim 6 should recite “…190 mm.”
- Claim 18 should recite “…a circuit board including a plurality of power switches disposed on a first surface thereof…”
- Claim 18 should recite “…electrically located on a current path from the battery pack to the electric motor…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the phrase “bearing support member” in line 7.
Claim 3 recites the phrase “output member” in line 1.
Claim 3 recites the phrase “output member” in line 4.
Claim 4 recites the phrase “output member” in line 2.
Claim 5 recites the phrase “output line” in line 2.
Claim 7 recites the phrase “retention members” in line 2.
Claim 9 recites the phrase “bearing support member” in line 2.
Claim 10 recites the phrase “bearing support member” in line 1.
Claim 18 recites the phrase “bearing support structure” in line 6.
Claim 11 recites the phrase “sense magnet ring” in line 3.
Claim 12 recites the phrase “sense magnet ring” in line 7.
Claim 19 recited the phrase “sense magnet ring” in line 3.
Claim 20 recites the phrase “sense magnet ring” in line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “…the motor housing including a substantially cylindrical body…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the motor housing is cylindrical or not.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “…a motor bearing is formed proximate the first end…” This claim is deemed indefinite because proximate is a relative term.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “…the motor housing in contact with the substantially cylindrical body…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the motor housing is cylindrical or not.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “…a wire receiving portion extending proximate the outer surface…” This claim is deemed indefinite because proximate is a relative term.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “…the circuit board is oriented along a plane that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the plane is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis or not.
Claim 5 recites phrase “…an output spindle is substantially perpendicular to the rotor shaft.” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the output spindle is perpendicular to the rotor shaft or not.
Claim 6 recites the phrase “…the range of approximately 140 mm to approximately 190.” This claim is deemed indefinite because the values outside of this range are unclear due to the use of the word approximately.
Claim 7 recites the phrase “…a plurality of retention members projecting substantially axially away from the stator…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the retention member projects axially away or not.
Claim 13 recites the phrase “…the circuit board proximate the first end…” This claim is deemed indefinite because proximate is a relative term.
Claim 13 recites the phrase “…the heat sink does not cover at least a portion of the second surface of the circuit board…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear how much the portion is.
Claim 14 recites the phrase “…covering a substantially portion of the second surface…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the second surface is covered or not.
Claim 16 recites the phrase “…the heat sink does not cover at least portions of the second surface. The claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear how much the portion is.
Claim 18 recites the phrase “…the motor housing including a substantially cylindrical body…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the motor housing is cylindrical or not.
Claim 18 recites the phrase “…a motor bearing formed at a rear end of the substantially cylindrical body…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear if the motor bearing is formed at the rear end or not.
Claim 18 recites the phrase “…the circuit board is oriented along a plane that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the plane is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis or not.
Claim 18 recites the phrase “…the circuit board opposite the first surface and proximate the first end of the motor housing…” This claim is deemed indefinite because proximate is a relative term.
Claim 18 recites the phrase “…the heat sink covers a substantial portion of the second surface…” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the heat sink covers the second surface or not.
Claim 19 recites the phrase “…a through-hole proximate the bearing pocket…” This claim is deemed indefinite because proximate is a relative term.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “…the bearing pocket…” in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
8. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 depends on non-existent claim 15. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9, 13, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatfield et al. (EP 2 675 041 A2; “Hatfield”) in view of Ekstrom et al. (US 2015/0280517; “Ekstrom”).
Regarding claim 1, Hatfield discloses a power tool (Fig. 1) comprising:
a tool housing (102);
a battery receptacle (see annotated diagram 1 below) configured to receive a power tool battery pack (108);
a motor housing (102a) disposed within the tool housing (102; Fig. 1), the motor housing (102a) including a substantially cylindrical body extending around a longitudinal axis (see annotated diagram 2 below) between a first end (see annotated diagram 2 below) of the motor housing (102a) and a second end (see annotated diagram 2 below) of the motor housing (102a; Fig. 1), wherein a bearing support member (218) supporting a motor bearing (252) is formed proximate the first end (see annotated diagram 2 below; Figs. 1, 2C);
an electric motor (104) disposed within the motor housing (102a; Fig. 1), the electric motor (104) comprising:
a rotor (250) including a rotor core (256) mounted on a rotor shaft (254; Fig. 2A), wherein the rotor shaft (254) is supported along the longitudinal axis (see annotated diagram 2 below) by the motor bearing (252; Fig. 2A; para. [0003]); and
a stator (240) including a stator lamination stack (242) supporting a plurality of stator windings (232; Fig. 2B) disposed within the motor housing (102a; Fig. 1) in contact with the substantially cylindrical body (Fig. 1), an end insulator (550, 552) mounted on an end of the stator lamination stack (242; Fig. 5C) to insulate the plurality of stator windings (232) from the stator lamination stack (242; para. [0027]), and a plurality of stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right) mounted to the end insulator (550, 552; Fig. 5C) and electrically coupled with the plurality of stator windings (232; Figs. 5C, 5H),
wherein each of the plurality of stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right) includes a body portion (504) having an outer surface (Fig. 5E) facing away from the longitudinal axis (see annotated diagram 2 below), a wire receiving portion (516) extending proximate the outer surface (Figs. 5C-5E) and electrically coupled with a magnet wire (532) that forms at least one of the plurality of stator windings (232; Fig. 5H), and a tab portion (518) extending from the body portion (504) away from the stator (240; Figs. 5C, 5H); and
wherein the tab portion (518) of the each of the plurality of the stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right) is physically and electrically coupled with the control unit (106; para. [0027]).
Hatfield fails to disclose a circuit board disposed on a current path from the battery pack to the electric motor, wherein the circuit board is oriented along a plane that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and is fastened to the first end of the motor housing via at least one fastener, wherein the tab portion of the each of the plurality of stator terminals is physically and electrically coupled with the circuit board.
However, Ekstrom teaches a circuit board (202) disposed on a current path from a battery pack (108) to an electric motor (104; Fig. 1), wherein the circuit board (202) is oriented along a plane (see annotated diagram 3 below) that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (see annotated diagram 3 below; Figs. 3A, 3B) and is fastened to a first end (see annotated diagram 3 below) of the motor housing (111) via at least one fastener (see annotated diagram 4 below; fastening is defined as: to fix or firmly secure. In the instant case, element 202 is firmly secure to the clamshell housing (111), after the fasteners are applied).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the power tool and tab portion of Hatfield by having provided the circuit board of Ekstrom, in order to provide the electronic control switch, control module and plurality of heat sinks (para. [0007]).
Diagram 1
Diagram 2
Diagram 3
Diagram 4
Regarding claim 2, Hatfield discloses the power tool (Fig. 1).
Hatfield fails to disclose further comprising a plurality of power switches mounted on the circuit board, an electronic controller disposed within the tool housing and configured to switch a switching operation of the plurality of power switches to regulate supply of electric power from the battery pack to the motor.
However, Ekstrom teaches a plurality of power switches (206) mounted on the circuit board (202), an electronic controller (218) disposed within the tool housing (102; via element 204) and configured to switch a switching operation of the plurality of power switches to regulate supply of electric power from the battery pack (108) to the motor (104; para. [0004], [0005], [0016]).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the power tool of Hatfield by having provided the plurality of power switches and the electronic controller of Ekstrom, in order to regulate the power from the battery to the motor (para. [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Hatfield discloses wherein the circumference of the tool housing (102) around the motor housing (102a; Fig. 1).
Hatfield fails to disclose tool housing in the range of approximately 140 mm to approximately 190.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the aforementioned range, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 7, Hatfield discloses wherein the end insulator (550, 552) comprises a plurality of retention members (slots created by the spaces between elements 506) projecting substantially axially away from the stator (240) and defining a plurality of receiving slots (Fig. 5C), wherein the plurality of receiving slots securely receives the plurality of stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right; Figs. 5C, 5H).
Regarding claim 8, Hatfield discloses wherein each of the plurality of stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right) includes a pair of legs (see annotated diagram 5 below) extending from the body portion (504), wherein the wire receiving portion (516) extends between the pair of legs and is folded over the outer surface of the body portion (504; Figs. 5D, 5E).
Diagram 5
Regarding claim 9, Hatfield discloses wherein a radial plane (see annotated diagram 6 below) that passes through the bearing support member (218) intersects the plurality of stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right; Fig. 2B).
Diagram 6
Regarding claim 13, Hatfield discloses the power tool (Fig. 1).
Hatfield fails to disclose further comprising a heat sink mounted on the second surface of the circuit board proximate the first end of the motor housing, wherein the heat sink does not cover at least a portion of the second surface of the circuit board on which the at least one positional sensor is mounted.
However, Ekstrom teaches a heat sink (208) mounted on the first surface of the circuit board (202) proximate the first end (see annotated diagram 3 above) of the motor housing (111), wherein the heat sink (208) does not cover at least a portion of the second surface of the circuit board (para. [0002], [0060]).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the power tool of Hatfield by having provided the heat sinks and sensor of Ekstrom, in order to transfer heat away from the power switches (para. [0018]).
Hatfield in view of Ekstrom fail to disclose the heat sink mounted on the second surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the heat sink on the second surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Hatfield in view of Ekstrom fail to disclose the positional sensor being mounted to the second surface of the circuit board
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the position sensor on the second surface of the circuit board, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Regarding claim 14, Hatfield discloses the power tool (Fig. 1).
Hatfield fails to disclose further comprising a heat sink mounted on the circuit board and covering a substantial portion of the second surface of the circuit board.
However, Ekstrom teaches a heat sink (208) mounted on the circuit board (202) and covering a substantial portion of the first surface of the circuit board (202; Figs. 2A, 2B).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the power tool of Hatfield by having provided the heat sinks and sensor of Ekstrom, in order to transfer heat away from the power switches (para. [0018]).
Hatfield in view of Ekstrom fail to disclose the heat sink mounted on the second surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the heat sink on the second surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 16, Hatfield discloses the tab portion (518) of the plurality of stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right; Figs. 5C-5E).
Hatfield fails to disclose the circuit board comprises a plurality of slots that receive the tab portion, wherein the heat sink does not cover at least portions of the second surface of the circuit board.
However, Ekstrom teaches a plurality of slots (215b; Fig. 2B), wherein the heat sink (208) does not cover at least portions of the second surface of the circuit board (202).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the tab portion of Hatfield by having provided the plurality of slots of Ekstrom, in order to connect the circuit board to the motor, and to transfer heat away from the power switches (para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 17, Hatfield discloses wherein the stator (240) is received through the second end (see annotated diagram 2 above) of the motor housing (102a; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Hatfield discloses a power tool (Fig. 1) comprising:
a tool housing (102);
a battery receptacle (see annotated diagram 1 above) configured to receive a power tool battery pack (108);
a motor housing (102a) disposed within the tool housing (102; Fig. 1), the motor housing (102a) including a substantially cylindrical body extending around a longitudinal axis (see annotated diagram 2 above) and bearing support structure (218) supporting a motor bearing (252) is formed at a rear end of the substantially cylindrical body (Figs. 1, 2C);
an electric motor (104) disposed within the motor housing (102a; Fig. 1), the electric motor (104) comprising:
a rotor (250) including a rotor core (256) mounted on a rotor shaft (254; Fig. 2A), wherein the rotor shaft (254) is supported along the longitudinal axis (see annotated diagram 2 above) by the motor bearing (252; Fig. 2A; para. [0003]); and
a stator (240) including a stator lamination stack (242) supporting a plurality of stator windings (232; Fig. 2B) disposed within the motor housing (102a; Fig. 1) in contact with the substantially cylindrical body (Fig. 1), an end insulator (550, 552) mounted on an end of the stator lamination stack (242; Fig. 5C) to insulate the plurality of stator windings (232) from the stator lamination stack (242; para. [0027]), and a plurality of stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right) mounted to the end insulator (550, 552; Fig. 5C) and electrically coupled with the plurality of stator windings (232; Figs. 5C, 5H);
wherein the plurality of stator terminals (502 left, 502 middle, 502 right) passes through a plurality of openings formed in the rear ends of the motor housing (102a; Figs. 2A-2C).
Hatfield fails to disclose a circuit board including a plurality of switches disposed a first surface thereof and electrically located a current path from the battery pack to the electric motor, wherein the circuit board is oriented along a plane that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and is fastened to the rear end of the motor housing via at least one fastener, wherein the circuit board comprises a plurality of slots; and a heat sink mounted on a second surface of the circuit board opposite the first surface and proximate the first end of the motor housing, wherein the heat sink covers a substantial portion of the second surface of the circuit board, but it does not cover at least portions of the circuit board around the plurality of slots.
However, Ekstrom teaches a circuit board (202) including a plurality of switches (206) disposed a first surface thereof (Figs. 2A, 2B) and electrically located a current path from a battery pack (108) to an electric motor (104; Fig. 1), wherein the circuit board (202) is oriented along a plane (see annotated diagram 3 above) that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (see annotated diagram 3 above; Figs. 3A, 3B) and is fastened to a rear end of the motor housing (111) via at least one fastener (see annotated diagram 4 above; fastening is defined as: to fix or firmly secure. In the instant case, element 202 is firmly secure to the clamshell housing (111), after the fasteners are applied), wherein the circuit board (202) comprises a plurality of slots (215b; Fig. 2B), and a heat sink (208) mounted on the first surface (Fig. 2A) of the circuit board (202) proximate the first end (see annotated diagram 3 above) of the housing (111), wherein the heat sink (208) covers a substantial portion of the first surface of the circuit board (202; Fig. 2A), but it does not cover at least portions of the circuit board (202) around the plurality of slots (215b; Figs. 2A, 2B).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the stator terminals of Hatfield by having provided the plurality of slots in the circuit board and heat sink of Ekstrom, in order to connect the circuit board to the motor, and to transfer heat away from the power switches (para. [0018]).
Hatfield in view of Ekstrom fail to disclose the heat sink mounted on the second surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the heat sink on the second surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
11. Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatfield et al. (EP 2 675 041 A2; “Hatfield”) in view of Ekstrom et al. (US 2015/0280517; “Ekstrom”) and as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Lutz (US 2016/0036089).
Regarding claim 3, Hatfield in view of Ekstrom disclose further comprising an output member rotatably driven by the rotor shaft (254; para. [0015]), wherein the electric motor (104), when powered by the battery pack (108; para. [0016]), produces a maximum power output.
Hatfield in view of Ekstrom fail to disclose the maximum power output of at least 1600 watts for driving the output member.
However, Lutz teaches motor produces a maximum power output of at least 1600 watts for driving the spindle (para. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time applicant's invention was filed, to modify the motor of Hatfield in view of Ekstrom by having provided the wattage, as taught by Lutz, in order to provide sufficient power to rotate the spindle of the power tool at a higher rpm.
Regarding claim 4, Hatfield discloses further comprising a gear case (102b) supporting the output member (Fig. 1; para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, Hatfield discloses wherein the output member (Fig. 1; para. [0015]) comprises an output spindle that is substantially perpendicular to the rotor shaft (254; refer to 112 2nd rejection above).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 10-12, 19 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, Hatfield et al. (EP 2 675 041 A2; “Hatfield”) is the most relevant prior art.
Hatfield discloses wherein the bearing support member (218) includes a bearing pocket (see annotated diagram 7 below) projecting in the direction away from the stator (240) and supporting the motor bearing (252; Figs. 2A, 2B).
Hatfield fails to disclose the bearing pocket projecting in the direction of the stator.
It would not have been obvious to modify Hatfield with the aforementioned limitation because projecting the bearing pocket in the direction of the stator would interfere with the actuation of the bearing. Projecting the bearing pocket away from the stator allows for the bearing to be disposed within the bearing pocket.
Diagram 7
Regarding claim 19, Hatfield discloses wherein the motor housing (102a) includes a through-hole (see annotated diagram 8 below) proximate the bearing pocket (see annotated diagram 7 above), and the rotor shaft (254).
Hatfield fails to disclose wherein the rotor shaft extends through the bearing pocket and the through-hole.
It would not have been obvious to modify Hatfield with the aforementioned limitation because the through-hole axis is perpendicular to the bearing pocket axis. The rotor shaft would not be able to extend through the through-hole.
Diagram 8
Conclusion
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EYAMINDAE JALLOW whose telephone number is (571)270-1927. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am-5:00pm and alternating Fridays from 7:30am-4:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, SHELLEY SELF, can be reached on (571)272-4524. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/EYAMINDAE C JALLOW/
Primary Examiner, AU 3731