1. In response to the Office Action dated on 02/26/2026, applicant(s) amend the application as follow:
Claims amended: 1, 9 and 17
Claims canceled: none
Claims newly added: none
Claims pending: 1-20
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues “independent claims have been amended. Accordingly, this rejection has been render in moot. Accordingly, it is respectfully that this rejection be withdrawn in view of the claim amendment submitted herewith.” The claim language in this application and others are similar such that they cover the similar concept. Other applications as parent applications also includeed the amended claim language in the disclosure. Therefore, it can be modified to meet invention as claimed.
Applicant argues “Zhou fails to teach or suggest “in response to an indication that a first user within the set of users has access a digital representation of a subset of a set of data output by a computing device, executing, by at least a processor using a computer model…”
Please see the Karppanen reference regarding to executing, by the at least one processor using a computer model…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. The applicant arguments filed on 05/26/2026 pages 7-12 was persuasive, and 101 rejection was withdrawn.
Double Patenting
grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or
improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent
possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is
appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application
claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application
claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See,
e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d
1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir.
1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d
438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA
1969).
used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting
provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the
examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the
scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to
examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159.
See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to
file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR
1.321(b).
double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be
accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the
NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1.
For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action,
see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c)
may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13.
Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in
which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or
PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely
online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-
processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal
Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclamer)
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being
unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,097,349 B1. Although the claims at issue
are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application claim
language direct to similar which include nodal data structure which each of the node include
subset of file and linking the node to each other nodes. Instant application includes generating nodal data structure using model and the nodal data structure include nodes and links. The 349 includes other limitation such as scanning and retrieving set of file, generating the identifier for files, access history and generating score for each messages and output the set of notification according to scores. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to remove the additional limitation to arrive the same invention as claimed.
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being
unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,115,505 B2. Although the claims at issue
are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application claim
language direct to similar which include nodal data structure which each of the node include
subset of file and linking the node to each other nodes. Instant application includes generating nodal data structure using model and the nodal data structure include nodes and links The 505 includes other limitation such as scanning the repositories to identify set of data include subset of data which performed by a device, generating identification for subset of data, retrieving the node include the content and presenting the document including context data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to remove the additional limitation to arrive the same invention as claimed.
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being
unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,442,950 B2. Although the claims at issue
are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application claim
language direct to similar which include nodal data structure which each of the node include
subset of file and linking the node to each other nodes. Instant application includes generating nodal data structure using model and the nodal data structure include nodes and links The 950 includes other limitations such as a uniform resource locator or at least one action performed using at least one computing device, determining using an identification of electronic document, at least one node within a set of nodes of nodal data structure, a notification include context data associated with other linked node, the presented context data indicating Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to remove the additional limitation to arrive the same invention as claimed.
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being
unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11/741115 B2. Although the claims at issue
are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application claim
language direct to similar which include nodal data structure which each of the node include
subset of file and linking the node to each other nodes. Instant application includes generating nodal data structure using model and the nodal data structure include nodes and links, The 349 includes other limitation such as each subset of the set of data representing at least one file, a uniform resource locator, or an action performed using computer device, determining at least one node within the set of nodes of the nodal data structure the corresponds to query term and displaying context data associated with one node linked to other node. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to remove the additional limitation to arrive the same invention as claimed.
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being
unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,799 B2. Although the claims at issue
are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application claim
language direct to similar which include nodal data structure which each of the node include
subset of file and linking the node to each other nodes. Instant application includes generating nodal data structure using model and the nodal data structure include nodes and links. The 799 includes other limitation such executing a computer model using a nodal data structure by inputting the indication that the user has interacted with the presentation of the subset of the set of data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to remove the additional limitation to arrive the same invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et
al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0047149 A1) in view of Karppanen (Pub. No. US 2019/0079906 A1).
As to claim 1, Zhou discloses a method comprising:
In response to an indication that a first user within a first set of users has accessed a digital representation of a subset of a set of data outputted by a computing device (users accessing the electronic document can quickly jump to the related subject) (paragraph 0003), wherein each node within the set of nodes corresponds to a respective subset of the set of data, and wherein each pair of nodes that comprises two nodes relevant to each other based on a relevancy threshold are associated together within the nodal data structure (hence, as will be apparent from the above example, in case it is determine the category distance between a pair of link nodes 110 falls within the defined threshold...) (paragraph 0028);
identifying, by the at least one processor using the nodal data structure, at least one
node corresponding to the subset of the set of data and at least one second user within a
second set of users associated with the subset of the set of data (a node is kept in the graph if it
is matched a phrase in the document 300 or it is directly linked to a node that is match to a
phase in the electronic document 300) (paragraph 0032); and
Zhou does not disclose executing, by the at least one processor, using a computer model to generate a nodal data structure associated with at least one of the computing device, the first user, the first set of users, or the set of data, to identify an identifier for the subset of the set of data, wherein the nodal data structure comprises a set of nodes and a set of links, presenting, by the at least one processor to the computing device, data corresponding to the at least one node within the nodal data structure, and presenting, by the at least one processor to the computing device, data corresponding to the at least one node within the nodal data structure. However, Karppanen executing, by the at least one processor, using a computer model to generate a nodal data structure associated with at least one of the computing device, the first user, the first set of users, or the set of data, to identify an identifier for the subset of the set of data, wherein the nodal data structure comprises a set of nodes and a set of links (generate a document object model based at least partly on the document, wherein the document object mode comprises a tree structure having a plurality of nodes, and wherein individual nodes of the plurality of node correspond to respective objects of the plurality of objects; identify a background subset of the plurality of nodes to the shared memory block; render the exclusory subset of the plurality of nodes to the shared memory block) (claim 1) presenting, by the at least one processor to the computing device, data corresponding to the at least one node within the nodal data structure (wherein rendering individual nodes in the exclusory subset depends on rendering at least a respective portion in the exclusory subset depends on rendering at least a respective portion of the rendered background subset, generate rendered network content based at least in part on rendered nodes in the shared memory block) (claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include executing, by the at least one processor, using a computer model to generate a nodal data structure associated with at least one of the computing device, the first user, the first set of users, or the set of data, to identify an identifier for the subset of the set of data, wherein the nodal data structure comprises a set of nodes and a set of links, presenting, by the at least one processor to the computing device, data corresponding to the at least one node within the nodal data structure, and presenting, by the at least one processor to the computing device, data corresponding to the at least one node within the nodal data structure in order to provide data for review as disclosed by
As to claim 2, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of users is the same the second set of users (users) (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 3, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data corresponding to the at least one node within the nodal data structure comprises an image of the second user
(document is both text and image) (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 4, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data corresponding to
the at least one node within the nodal data structure comprises contact information of the
second user (document include profile which include contact information) (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 5, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data corresponding to
the at least one node within the nodal data structure comprises an indication of a project
associated with the second user (graph include document which is related to people)
(paragraph 0028).
As to claim 6, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data corresponding to
the at least one node within the nodal data structure comprises an indication of a document
associated with the second user or the subset of the set of data (each document associated
with user such as author, writer and/or people who upload or post document) (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 7, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data corresponding to
the at least one node within the nodal data structure comprises an indication of a time period of
association between the second user and the subset of the set of data (the time the document is
upload the document) (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 8, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the presented data further
comprises an action can be taken corresponding to at least one of sending, sharing, accessing
(accessing document) (paragraph 0003), downloading, printing, copying, transmitting, revising,
creating, opening, saving, seeing related nodes, or getting directions.
Claim 9 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 1, Zhou discloses a computer-
readable medium storing a set of instructions that when executed (a computer program stored
on a suitable computer readable media storage device...) (paragraph 0045), cause at least one
processor (executed on a computer) (paragraph 0045).
Claim 10 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 2.
Claim 11 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 3.
Claim 12 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 4.
Claim 13 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 5.
Claim 14 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 6.
Claim 15 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 7.
Claim 16 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 8.
Claim 17 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 1, Zhou discloses a system
comprising: a server (server) (paragraph 0045).
Claim 18 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 3.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 4.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAOQUOC N. TO
Examiner
Art Unit 2154
/BAOQUOC N TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154