DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
• Reference characters “320” and “323” have both been used to designate “synchronous belt” (see Paragraph 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujio (US 2020/0354162) in view of Bonnet (US 6390275).
Regarding claim 1, Fujio (US 2020/0354162) teaches an unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-4), comprising a goods feeding conveyor (Fig. 1A #2), a tiltable tray assembly (Fig. 1A #1A), and a goods discharging conveyor (Fig. 1A #3) which are arranged in sequence in a longitudinal direction (Fig. 1A see #2, 1A, 3 arranged in sequence in longitudinal direction), wherein the tiltable tray assembly is configured to perform bidirectional sorting on goods in a lateral direction (Fig. 6 see #1A configured to perform bidirectional sorting in lateral direction);
the tiltable tray assembly comprises a tiltable tray part (Fig. 1A #10, 11), two load-bearing shaft rods (Fig. 3 #36, 37), and a support frame (Fig. 2 see support frame formed by #40a, 40b); the two load-bearing shaft rods are respectively arranged below two lateral sides of the tiltable tray part (Fig. 3 #36, 37 arranged below two lateral sides of #10, 11); the support frame is mounted between the two load-bearing shaft rods (Fig. 3 #40a, 40b mounted between #36, 37); the tiltable tray part is mounted at a top of a center of the support frame (Fig. 3 #10, 11 mounted at a top of the center of #40a, 40b); when the load-bearing shaft rods rotate, the tiltable tray part is tilted laterally (Paragraph 0029 lines 1-17);
a surface of the tiltable tray part (Fig. 1A surface of #1A) comprises a conveyor (Paragraph 0028 lines 8-17); a synchronous belt (Fig. 5 #44, 45) sleeves and is disposed between the two load-bearing shaft rods (Fig. 5 #44, 45 sleeves and is disposed between #36, 37); and the synchronous belt (Fig. 5 #44, 45) is pulled and connected to a bottom surface of the conveyor via a synchronous mounting (Fig. 2 see #44, 45 pulled and connected to a bottom surface of #10, 11 via #8a, 9b), to control the conveyor (Paragraph 0029 lines 1-17).
Fujio (US 2020/0354162) lacks teaching a surface of the tiltable tray part comprises a conveyor belt laterally sleeving; the synchronous belt is pulled and connected to a bottom surface of the conveyor belt via a synchronous rope, to control the conveyor belt to rotate.
Bonnet (US 6390275) teaches an unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Col. 1 lines 5-7), comprising a surface of the tiltable tray part (Fig. 1 surface of #11) comprises a conveyor belt (Fig. 1 #25) laterally sleeving (Fig. 2 see #25 laterally sleeving); the drive mechanism is actuated and connected to a bottom surface of the conveyor belt (Fig. 1 bottom surface of #25) via a synchronous rope (Fig. 1 #80 connects drive mechanism (not shown) to bottom surface of #25), to control the conveyor belt to rotate (Col. 5 lines 10-16).
Bonnet (US 6390275) explains that the tilting mechanism is equipped with a powdered conveyor belt instead of a gravity tray to provide very high sorting speed and therefore high productivity while providing package acceleration capable of exceeding 1G, while keeping the parcel in control with minimum slipping or tumbling (Col. 3 lines 30-39).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujio (US 2020/0354162) to include a surface of the tiltable tray part comprises a conveyor belt laterally sleeving; the synchronous belt is pulled and connected to a bottom surface of the conveyor belt via a synchronous rope, to control the conveyor belt to rotate as taught by Bonnet (US 6390275) in order to provide high sorting speed while keeping the goods in control with minimum slipping or tumbling.
Regarding claim 6, Fujio (US 2020/0354162) teaches a method for using the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), comprising:
in a goods conveying direction that is a longitudinal direction (Fig. 1A see longitudinal direction along #2, 1A, 3), mounting the goods feeding conveyor, the tiltable tray assembly, and the goods discharging conveyor in sequence (Fig. 1A mounting #2, 1A, 3 in sequence), and laterally arranging the tiltable tray assembly (Fig. 1A laterally arranging #1A); arranging sorting baskets (Fig. 6 #46) for two types of goods on two lateral sides of the tiltable tray assembly respectively (Fig. 6 see #46 arranged on two lateral sides of #1A);
moving the goods onto the conveyor (Fig. 1A #2 moves goods onto #1A); when the goods are in one of the two types of goods, controlling the two load-bearing shaft rods and the synchronous belt to rotate (Fig. 6 #36, 37, 44, 45 rotate), causing the tiltable tray part to tilt towards a lateral side and the synchronous mounting to pull the conveyor (Paragraph 0029 lines 1-17), causing the goods to fall into the sorting basket from the lateral side of the tiltable tray part (Fig. 6 see arrows indication goods falling into #46).
Fujio (US 2020/0354162) lacks teaching mounting a scanning module and a control system on the goods feeding conveyor; before the goods feeding conveyor conveys the goods to the tiltable tray assembly, distinguishing the types of goods by the scanning module; and moving the goods onto the conveyor belt; when the goods are in one of the two types of goods, controlling, by the control system, the two load-bearing shaft rods and the synchronous belt to rotate, causing the tiltable tray part to tilt towards a lateral side and the synchronous rope to pull the conveyor belt to rotate.
Bonnet (US 6390275) teaches a method for using the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Col. 1 lines 5-7) comprising: mounting a scanning module (Fig. 7 #1100) and a control system (Fig. 7 #1000) on the goods feeding conveyor (Col. 3 lines 6-12, 16-22); before the goods feeding conveyor conveys the goods to the tiltable tray assembly, distinguishing the types of goods by the scanning module (Fig. 5 #14 upstream #10, Col. 3 lines 6-12, 16-22); and moving the goods onto the conveyor belt (Fig. 5 #14 moves goods onto #25); when the goods are in one of the two types of goods, controlling, by the control system (Fig. 7 #1000), the drive mechanism to rotate (Fig. 1 drive mechanism of #80, Col. 5 lines 25-31), causing the tiltable tray part to tilt towards a lateral side and the synchronous rope (Fig. 1 #80) to pull the conveyor belt to rotate (Col. 5 lines 10-16).
Bonnet (US 6390275) explains that the tilting mechanism is equipped with a powdered conveyor belt instead of a gravity tray to provide very high sorting speed and therefore high productivity while providing package acceleration capable of exceeding 1G, while keeping the parcel in control with minimum slipping or tumbling (Col. 3 lines 30-39). Bonnet (US 6390275) additionally explains that the controller accepts package information such as weight, size, and destination and controls the drive belt and the tilting mechanism accordingly (Col. 5 lines 25-31). Bonnet (US 6390275) states that the input stations include conventional measuring devices to provide the package information to the controller (Col. 3 lines 6-12, 16-22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujio (US 2020/0354162) to include mounting a scanning module and a control system on the goods feeding conveyor; before the goods feeding conveyor conveys the goods to the tiltable tray assembly, distinguishing the types of goods by the scanning module; and moving the goods onto the conveyor belt; when the goods are in one of the two types of goods, controlling, by the control system, the two load-bearing shaft rods and the synchronous belt to rotate, causing the tiltable tray part to tilt towards a lateral side and the synchronous rope to pull the conveyor belt to rotate as taught by Bonnet (US 6390275) in order to provide high sorting speed while keeping the goods in control with minimum slipping or tumbling, and to provide a conventional measuring device to determine information of the incoming goods.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujio (US 2020/0354162) in view of Bonnet (US 6390275) and further in view of Ryan (US 7237670).
Regarding claim 5, Fujio (US 2020/0354162) lacks teaching the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to claim 1, wherein balls are distributed on a surface of the conveyor belt.
Ryan (US 7237670) teaches an unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Col. 1 lines 5-8), wherein balls (Fig. 1 #18) are distributed on a surface of the conveyor belt (Fig. 1 #18 distributed on surface of #17).
Ryan (US 7237670) explains that the balls are arranged to rotate on an axes parallel to the direction of belt travel (Col. 1 lines 42-48), and the balls rotate when the conveyor belt is stopped in order to push conveyed articles laterally across the conveyor belt (Col. 1 lines 63-67).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujio (US 2020/0354162) to include wherein balls are distributed on a surface of the conveyor belt as taught by Ryan (US 7237670) in order to convey articles laterally off conveyor belt, such that the articles may be transferred in three directions off the surface of the conveyor belt.
Regarding claim 11, Fujio (US 2020/0354162) lacks teaching the method for using the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to claim 6, wherein balls are distributed on a surface of the conveyor belt.
Ryan (US 7237670) teaches a method for using the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Col. 1 lines 5-8), wherein balls (Fig. 1 #18) are distributed on a surface of the conveyor belt (Fig. 1 #18 distributed on surface of #17).
Ryan (US 7237670) explains that the balls are arranged to rotate on an axes parallel to the direction of belt travel (Col. 1 lines 42-48), and the balls rotate when the conveyor belt is stopped in order to push conveyed articles laterally across the conveyor belt (Col. 1 lines 63-67).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujio (US 2020/0354162) to include wherein balls are distributed on a surface of the conveyor belt as taught by Ryan (US 7237670) in order to convey articles laterally off conveyor belt, such that the articles may be transferred in three directions off the surface of the conveyor belt.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujio (US 2020/0354162) in view of Bonnet (US 6390275) and further in view of Navarrete et al. (US 2023/0338991).
Regarding claim 7, Fujio (US 2020/0354162) lacks teaching the method for using the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to claim 6, wherein the tiltable tray assembly and the goods discharging conveyor that are adjacent to each other form a sorting unit, and a plurality of sorting units are arranged in the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to a quantity of types of goods to be distinguished.
Navarrete et al. (US 2023/0338991) teaches a method for using the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-3), wherein the bidirectional sorting assembly (Fig. 1 #18) and the goods discharging conveyor (Fig. 1 #34) that are adjacent to each other (Fig. 1 see #18 adjacent #34) form a sorting unit (Fig. 1 see unit formed by #18, 34), and a plurality of sorting units are arranged in the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Fig. 4 see series of units formed by #18, 34) according to a quantity of types of goods to be distinguished (Paragraph 0015 lines 1-9).
Navarrete et al. (US 2023/0338991) explains that the articles may be passed to a left destination or a right destination according to the destination assigned to the article, or continue on to an outfeed conveyor if the article is not assigned to either destination in each sorting unit (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-15), and further explains that a longer conveyor system may be used with multiple cross conveyors and bilateral sorting destinations (Paragraph 0015 lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujio (US 2020/0354162) to include wherein the tiltable tray assembly and the goods discharging conveyor that are adjacent to each other form a sorting unit, and a plurality of sorting units are arranged in the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to a quantity of types of goods to be distinguished as taught by Navarrete et al. (US 2023/0338991) in order to provide multiple different bilateral sorting destinations.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujio (US 2020/0354162) in view of Bonnet (US 6390275), Ryan (US 7237670) and further in view of Navarrete et al. (US 2023/0338991).
Regarding claim 15, Fujio (US 2020/0354162) lacks teaching the method for using the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to claim 11, wherein the tiltable tray assembly and the goods discharging conveyor that are adjacent to each other form a sorting unit, and a plurality of sorting units are arranged in the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to a quantity of types of goods to be distinguished.
Navarrete et al. (US 2023/0338991) teaches a method for using the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-3), wherein the bidirectional sorting assembly (Fig. 1 #18) and the goods discharging conveyor (Fig. 1 #34) that are adjacent to each other (Fig. 1 see #18 adjacent #34) form a sorting unit (Fig. 1 see unit formed by #18, 34), and a plurality of sorting units are arranged in the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device (Fig. 4 see series of units formed by #18, 34) according to a quantity of types of goods to be distinguished (Paragraph 0015 lines 1-9).
Navarrete et al. (US 2023/0338991) explains that the articles may be passed to a left destination or a right destination according to the destination assigned to the article, or continue on to an outfeed conveyor if the article is not assigned to either destination in each sorting unit (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-15), and further explains that a longer conveyor system may be used with multiple cross conveyors and bilateral sorting destinations (Paragraph 0015 lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujio (US 2020/0354162) to include wherein the tiltable tray assembly and the goods discharging conveyor that are adjacent to each other form a sorting unit, and a plurality of sorting units are arranged in the unmanned warehouse-goods sorting operation device according to a quantity of types of goods to be distinguished as taught by Navarrete et al. (US 2023/0338991) in order to provide multiple different bilateral sorting destinations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8-10 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 recites “wherein driving gears are arranged at two ends of each of the two load-bearing shaft rods; driving rods are arranged between the two load-bearing shaft rods; two ends of each of the driving rods are connected to driving racks; the driving racks are meshed with the driving gears, one of the driving rods is connected to a hydraulic push rod; and the hydraulic push rod is configured to: control the one driving rod to laterally translate and drive the two load-bearing shaft rods to rotate” wherein this configuration, in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 1, was not seen in the searched prior art.
Claim 4 recites “wherein a bottom of the synchronous belt is fixedly connected with a pallet; a bottom end of the synchronous rope is fixed on the pallet; and a top end of the synchronous rope is fixed at a bottom of the conveyor belt” wherein this configuration, in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 1, was not seen in the searched prior art.
Claims 8 and 10 would be allowable for the same reasons as clams 2 and 4, respectively.
Claims 3, 9 and 12-14 would be allowable as they are dependent upon claims 2, 8 and 10.
Conclusion
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653