Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 19/193,554 filed on 29 April 2025. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-18 have been rejected as follows.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for foreign applications KR10-2024-0144215, filed on 21 October 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bang (KR 102580457 B1) in view of Caristedt (US 20030111812 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bang teaches a wheel control device configured to be coupled to a wheel on a vehicle; and (see at least [007]; " to provide a vehicle attitude control device capable of adjusting the camber of a wheel") Bang describes a wheel attitude control device coupled to a wheel on a vehicle.
a control unit controlling the wheel control device (see at least [0034]; "According to an embodiment of the present invention, the independent wheel control device(1) for a vehicle includes at least one of a steering device (100),") Bang outlines a control unit for the steering device, which controls the wheels.
wherein the wheel control device includes a first actuator arm, (see at least [0010]; " a first actuator having one end hinge-coupled to a first point on the knuckle that is offset from a virtual horizontal line passing through the rotational center of the wheel and the other end hinge-coupled to the side of the vehicle body;") Bang describes a first actuator arm.
a second actuator arm separately provided from the first actuator arm, and (see at least [0010]; " [The vehicle attitude control device may further include a second actuator, one end of which is hinge-connected to a second point positioned parallel to the first point on the horizontal line on the knuckle and the other end of which is hinge-connected to the body side of the vehicle,") Bang describes a second actuator arm.
Bang does not explicitly disclose a third actuator arm spaced apart from the first actuator arm and the second actuator arm.
However, Caristedt teaches a third actuator arm spaced apart from the first actuator arm and the second actuator arm. (see at least [0004]; "A third actuator may be supported on the other control arm and connected to another portion of the knuckle. ") Caristedt describes a third actuator arm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bang to incorporate teachings of Caristedt which teaches a third actuator arm in order to better control the wheel camber as well as allow the movement of the wheel in 3 axes.
Regarding claim 2, Bang and Caristedt, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses a knuckle connected to the wheel control device and coupled to the wheel wherein the first actuator arm includes a first linear actuator connected to the knuckle,(see at least [0040]; "[The first actuator (110) has one end connected to a first point (P1) located on one side of a virtual vertical line passing through the rotation center (c1) of the wheel (W) on the knuckle(20),")
the second actuator arm includes a second linear actuator connected to the knuckle, and (see at least [0040]; "the second actuator (120) has one end connected to a second point (P2) located on the other side of a virtual vertical line passing through the rotation center (c1) of the wheel (W) on the knuckle (20).")
the third actuator arm includes a third linear actuator connected to the knuckle. (see at least [0039]; "a second actuator 120, and a subframe 130. ) and lower arm (see FIG. 3, 140).” )
Regarding claim 3, Bang and Caristedt, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses a knuckle body; (see at least [0009]; "[The present invention, for carrying out such an purpose, provides a vehicle attitude control device characterized by comprising: a knuckle")
a first knuckle arm extending from the knuckle body; (see at least [0009]; "a first actuator having one end hinge-coupled to a first point on the knuckle")
a second knuckle arm extending from the knuckle body and spaced apart from the first knuckle arm; and (see at least [0010]; "The vehicle attitude control device may further include a second actuator, one end of which is hinge-connected to a second point positioned parallel to the first point on the horizontal line on the knuckle")
a third knuckle arm spaced apart from the first knuckle arm and the second knuckle arm, (see at least [0009] ;"a lower arm having one end hinge-coupled to a point opposite to the first point on the knuckle")
wherein the first knuckle arm is connected to the first actuator arm, (see at least [0009]; "a first actuator having one end hinge-coupled to a first point on the knuckle")
the second knuckle arm is connected to the second actuator arm, and (see at least [0010]; "The vehicle attitude control device may further include a second actuator, one end of which is hinge-connected to a second point positioned parallel to the first point on the horizontal line on the knuckle")
the third knuckle arm is connected to the third actuator arm. (see at least [0009; "a lower arm having one end hinge-coupled to a point opposite to the first point on the knuckle with respect to the rotational center of the wheel and the other end coupled to the side of the vehicle body so as to be rotatable, and adjusting the camber of the wheel according to the stroke length of the first actuator.]")
Regarding claim 4, Bang and Caristedt, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses the first actuator arm further includes a motor; (see at least [0013]; "The first actuator or second actuator may include…a motor that provides rotational force to the screw shaft.")
the first linear actuator includes a cylinder having a cylinder hole and configured to extend from a chassis of a vehicle toward the knuckle, (see at least [0013]; "[The first actuator or second actuator may include a stroke module comprising a piston connected to the first point or second point and a cylinder disposed on the outside of the piston to guide the stroke of the piston and having one end connected to the subframe,")
a piston configured to reciprocate in an extension direction of the cylinder in the cylinder hole, and (see at least [0048]; " The piston (111) is guided to reciprocate linearly inside the cylinder (112) so that the stroke relatively increases (or, length increases) or the stroke decreases (or, length decreases).")
a screw shaft positioned in the cylinder hole and connected to the piston; and (see at least [0013]; "a drive module comprising a screw shaft disposed to be rotatable inside the piston,")
the motor is configured to drive the piston through the screw shaft. (see at least [0013]; "a motor that provides rotational force to the screw shaft.")
Regarding claim 6, Bang and Caristedt, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses the cylinder has a groove through which a fluid is discharged from the cylinder hole. (see at least [0139]; "Of course, an orifice structure in which fluid movement takes place can be formed between the mutually divided spaces inside the cylinder (342).")
Regarding claim 7, Bang and Caristedt, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses the wheel control device includes two wheel control devices, one each coupled to a corresponding wheel on each side of a vehicle; and (see at least [0148]; "an independent rear wheel control device for a vehicle") A control device for each rear vehicle.
the control unit includes two control units, one each configured to control a respective one of the two wheel control devices,(see at least [0196]; "[Accordingly, according to the vehicle attitude control device of the embodiment of the present invention, each wheel can be independently controlled, thereby enabling the implementation of various driving modes when applied to a vehicle, and the camber of the wheels can be independently controlled, thereby enabling the control of the vehicle's attitude.")
wherein each of the two wheel control devices includes one of the first actuator arms, one of the second actuator arms, and one of the third actuator arms. (see at least [0009]; provides a vehicle attitude control device characterized by comprising: a knuckle supporting a hub bearing coupled to the rotational center of a wheel; a first actuator having one end hinge-coupled to a first point on the knuckle that is offset from a virtual horizontal line passing through the rotational center of the wheel and the other end hinge-coupled to the side of the vehicle body; and a lower arm having one end hinge-coupled to a point opposite to the first point on the knuckle with")
Regarding claim 8, Bang teaches collecting, by a wheel control system, vehicle information of the vehicle; (see at least [0171]; "[Fig. 27 is a partial enlarged view illustrating the proximity sensor shown in Fig. 18, and Fig. 28 is a reference diagram illustrating the state in which the proximity sensor shown in Fig. 27 detects the ground clearance of a vehicle.")
determining, by the wheel control system, wheel moving information using the vehicle information; and (see at least ]0172]; " [Referring to FIG. 27, the vehicle ground clearance adjustment device (400) includes a proximity sensor (420) that measures the rotational state of the lower arm (140).")
moving the wheel by the wheel control system, (see at least [0107] ;"[The vehicle attitude control device according to an embodiment of the present invention can actively or passively adjust the camber of such wheels.")
wherein moving the wheel changes, by actuator arms of the wheel control system, a wheel track of the vehicle or changes an angle of the wheel by the actuator arms connected to the wheel (see at least [0108]; " [As shown in FIG. 14(b), when both the first actuator (110) and the second actuator (120) are compressed and the stroke decreases, the wheel (W) can rotate at the end of the lower arm to adjust to a negative camber.")
Regarding claim 9, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses the vehicle information includes a speed of the vehicle; the method further includes determining, by the wheel control system, a driving stability wheel track configured to increase driving safety of the vehicle; and moving the wheel changes the wheel track according to the driving stability wheel track by extending or shortening the actuator arms by the wheel control system. (see at least [0088]; "[Additionally, referring to Fig. 10(b), the front wheels of the vehicle can be controlled to rotate at the same angle to each other so that the turning radius (r1=r2) is the same. This high-speed turning control can be applied when the vehicle's turning speed is relatively high. When a vehicle turns at high speed, the turning radius of the left wheel (W1) positioned on the inner side and the right wheel (W2) positioned on the outer side along the turning direction are different, but since more precise turning control is possible, high-speed turning control can be selectively applied despite the difference in turning radius and while accepting noise and wear.")
Regarding claim 13, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses a first wheel control device having the actuator arms connected to a first wheel of a vehicle; (see at least [0009]; "provides a vehicle attitude control device characterized by comprising: a knuckle supporting a hub bearing coupled to the rotational center of a wheel; a first actuator having one end hinge-coupled to a first point on the knuckle that is offset from a virtual horizontal line passing through the rotational center of the wheel and the other end hinge-coupled to the side of the vehicle body;")
a second wheel control device having further actuator arms connected to a second wheel of the vehicle and spaced apart from the first wheel control device; and (see at least [0020]; " FIG. 29 is a reference diagram illustrating the process of absorbing shock through the ground clearance adjustment device shown in FIG. 22.")
a control unit controlling the first wheel control device and the second wheel control device,wherein moving the wheel includes individually controlling the first wheel control device and the second wheel control device by the control unit. (see at least [14, 15, 16]; "[According to the vehicle attitude control device according to an embodiment of the present invention,]
[0015]
[First, each wheel can be adjusted independently, allowing for the implementation of various driving modes when applied to a vehicle, and]
[0016]
[Second, the wheel camber can be adjusted independently, allowing the vehicle's posture to be controlled,]")
Regarding claim 15, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses the vehicle information includes acceleration of the vehicle and an angle of the first wheel and the second wheel of the vehicle;
(see at least [0086, 172]; the control unit analyzes the vehicle speed data…
[Referring to FIG. 27, the vehicle ground clearance adjustment device (400) includes a proximity sensor (420) that measures the rotational state of the lower arm (140).")
the method further includes determining, by the control unit, a maximum camber capable of increasing a grip of the vehicle when cornering; and (see at least [0096]; " [To prevent understeer and oversteer phenomena in such vehicles, the vehicle steering system can be controlled to maintain neutral steer along the corner direction by appropriately controlling the rotation angles of the front and rear wheels.")
moving the wheel changes, by the control unit, cambers of the first wheel and the second wheel according to the maximum camber by controlling the first wheel control device and the second wheel control device. .(see at least [92, 46]; "[Referring to Fig. 12, the vehicle steering system can vary the turning characteristics according to the state of the vehicle…Of course, the vehicle steering device (100) may also adjust the camber along with steering by operating the first actuator (110) and the second actuator (120) to increase or decrease with different stroke sizes.")
Regarding claim 16, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses the vehicle information includes acceleration of the vehicle and an angle of the first wheel and the second wheel of the vehicle;
(see at least [0086, 172]; the control unit analyzes the vehicle speed data…
[Referring to FIG. 27, the vehicle ground clearance adjustment device (400) includes a proximity sensor (420) that measures the rotational state of the lower arm (140).")
the method further includes determining, a minimum camber configured to increase driving safety of the vehicle when the vehicle is driving straight; and (see at least [106]; "[Fig. 14(c) shows the vehicle's wheels (W) positioned in a positive (+) camber state. Positive camber indicates a state where the centerline of the wheel (W) is tilted outward relative to the ground. For example, positive camber can increase straightness (e.g., in FR drive systems) and reduce the kingpin offset.")
moving the wheel changes, by the control unit, cambers of the first wheel and the second wheel according to the minimum camber by controlling the first wheel control device and the second wheel control device. .(see at least [92, 46]; "[Referring to Fig. 12, the vehicle steering system can vary the turning characteristics according to the state of the vehicle…Of course, the vehicle steering device (100) may also adjust the camber along with steering by operating the first actuator (110) and the second actuator (120) to increase or decrease with different stroke sizes.")
Regarding claim 17, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses a first actuator arm; and a second actuator arm provided separately from the first actuator arm, (see at least [39]; "two actuators are provided to ensure safety in case one of the actuators fails to perform its function, or to enable more precise steering and camber control through actuators (110, 120) spaced apart from each other.")
wherein moving the wheel changes, by the control unit, a camber of the first wheel according to the minimum camber by extending the first actuator arm and shortening the second actuator arm. (see at least [0108, 46]; "[As shown in FIG. 14(b), when both the first actuator (110) and the second actuator (120) are compressed and the stroke decreases, the wheel (W) can rotate at the end of the lower arm to adjust to a negative camber…Additionally, as shown in FIG. 5(b), steering can be performed to turn left when the stroke of the first actuator (110) decreases relative to the neutral state and the stroke of the second actuator (120) increases.")
Regarding claim 18, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses a first actuator arm, a second actuator arm, and
(see at least [0039]; "[Referring to FIGS. 4 to 8, a steering device (100) for a vehicle according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a knuckle (20), a first actuator (110), a second actuator (120), a subframe (130), and a lower arm (see FIG. 3, 140).")
Bang does not explicitly disclose a third actuator arm.
However, Caristedt teaches a third actuator arm. (see at least [0004]; "A third actuator may be supported on the other control arm and connected to another portion of the knuckle. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bang to incorporate teachings of Caristedt which teaches a third actuator arm in order to better control the wheel camber as well as allow the movement of the wheel in 3 axes.
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bang (KR 102580457 B1) in view of Caristedt (US 20030111812 A1), in further view of Sawdon (US 6612557 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Bang and Caristedt, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang does not explicitly disclose the first actuator arm further includes a proximity sensor configured to detect a position of the piston.
However, Sawdon teaches the first actuator arm further includes a proximity sensor configured to detect a position of the piston. (see at least [claim 15]; "a position sensor to sense the position of said first piston,")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bang to incorporate teachings of Sawdon which teaches a proximity sensor to determine the position of the piston in order to locate where the actuator currently is located to determine where it should be controlled.
Claims 10, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bang (KR 102580457 B1) in view of Caristedt (US 20030111812 A1), in further view of Asogawa (US 20080073138 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses moving the wheel changes the wheel track according to the fuel efficiency improvement wheel track by extending or shortening the actuator arms by the wheel control system. (see at least [92]; "[Referring to Fig. 12, the vehicle steering system can vary the turning characteristics according to the state of the vehicle.")
Bang does not explicitly disclose the vehicle information includes a speed of the vehicle; the method further includes determining a fuel efficiency improvement wheel track configured to increase a fuel efficiency of the vehicle;
However, Asogawa teaches the vehicle information includes a speed of the vehicle; the method further includes determining a fuel efficiency improvement wheel track configured to increase a fuel efficiency of the vehicle; and (see at least [0071]; "In general, the cornering power Cp is larger when the tire aspect ratio is smaller and smaller when the tire aspect ratio is larger. Conversely, the fuel efficiency improves when the aspect ratio is larger.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bang to incorporate teachings of Asogawa which teaches determining a fuel efficiency track in order to adjust the vehicle to maximize on the fuel in the vehicle and limit inconvenience to the user.
Regarding claim 11, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses the vehicle information includes a driving speed of the vehicle and an angle of the wheel for the vehicle; (see at least [0086, 172]; the control unit analyzes the vehicle speed data… [Referring to FIG. 27, the vehicle ground clearance adjustment device (400) includes a proximity sensor (420) that measures the rotational state of the lower arm (140).")
moving the wheel changes the wheel track according to the minimum wheel track by extending or shortening one or more of the actuator arms by the wheel control system. (see at least [92]; "[Referring to Fig. 12, the vehicle steering system can vary the turning characteristics according to the state of the vehicle.")
Bang does not explicitly disclose the method further includes determining, by the wheel control system, a minimum wheel track at which the vehicle does not roll over;
However, Asogawa teaches the method further includes determining, by the wheel control system, a minimum wheel track at which the vehicle does not roll over; and (see at least [0119]; " In the third embodiment, an attitude revision acceleration .DELTA.G.sub.(i) is calculated based on a target vehicle attitude that is based on a roll angle and a pitching angle.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bang to incorporate teachings of Asogawa which teaches a wheel track at which the vehicle does not rollover in order to be able to adjust the wheels to maintain safety of the user and vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses the vehicle information includes acceleration of the vehicle and an angle of the first wheel and the second wheel of the vehicle;
(see at least [0086, 172]; the control unit analyzes the vehicle speed data… [Referring to FIG. 27, the vehicle ground clearance adjustment device (400) includes a proximity sensor (420) that measures the rotational state of the lower arm (140).")
moving the wheel changes, by the control unit, a wheel track of the vehicle between the first and second wheels according to the minimum wheel track by extending or shortening one or more of the actuator arms of the first wheel control device, one or of the further actuator arms of the second wheel control device, or both. .(see at least [92, 46]; "[Referring to Fig. 12, the vehicle steering system can vary the turning characteristics according to the state of the vehicle…Of course, the vehicle steering device (100) may also adjust the camber along with steering by operating the first actuator (110) and the second actuator (120) to increase or decrease with different stroke sizes."
Bang does not explicitly disclose the method further includes determining, by the control unit, a minimum wheel track at which the vehicle does not roll over;
However, Asogawa teaches the method further includes determining, by the control unit, a minimum wheel track at which the vehicle does not roll over; and (see at least [0119]; " In the third embodiment, an attitude revision acceleration .DELTA.G.sub.(i) is calculated based on a target vehicle attitude that is based on a roll angle and a pitching angle.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bang to incorporate teachings of Asogawa which teaches a wheel track at which the vehicle does not rollover in order to be able to adjust the wheels to maintain safety of the user and vehicle.
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bang (KR 102580457 B1) in view of Caristedt (US 20030111812 A1), in further view of Baumgartel (DE 102020103917 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Bang discloses limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, Bang discloses moving the wheel changes the wheel track according to the minimum wheel track by extending or shortening one or more of the actuator arms by the wheel control system. (see at least [92]; " [Referring to Fig. 12, the vehicle steering system can vary the turning characteristics according to the state of the vehicle.")
Bang does not explicitly disclose the vehicle information includes a degree of moisture of a road surface on which the vehicle is driving and a level of frictional force between the vehicle and the road surface; the method further includes determining, by the wheel control system, a minimum wheel track at which the vehicle does not slip relative to the road surface;
However, Baumgartel teaches the vehicle information includes a degree of moisture of a road surface on which the vehicle is driving and a level of frictional force between the vehicle and the road surface; (see at least [0012]; "In a further development of the method, a coefficient of friction of the road surface in a condition class assigned to a road surface wetted with a liquid is calculated from the measured values recorded with a sound sensor, and the other sensors are used to verify the plausibility of the measured values recorded by the sound sensor.
A road surface wetted with a liquid, for example rainwater, can be detected in the wheel wells using sound sensors, in particular structure-borne sound sensors. The rainwater kicked up by the vehicle tires creates vibrations in the wheel wells, which can be evaluated using structure-borne sound sensors. A wet road surface is assigned a condition class with medium friction, i.e., with moderate to slippery adhesion of the tires to the road surface. In this friction coefficient range, i.e., in this condition class, the estimation of the friction coefficient is mainly based on the measured values acquired using acoustic sensors.")
the method further includes determining, by the wheel control system, a minimum wheel track at which the vehicle does not slip relative to the road surface; and (see at least [0012]; "The acoustic sensors can be used to determine the degree of wetting, i.e., the degree of moisture on the road surface, which is crucial for the coefficient of friction of the road surface. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bang to incorporate teachings of Baumgartel which teaches measuring the moisture of the road surface to determine a friction coefficient to determine how to safely and efficiently navigate the roads.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664