DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “the first and second compressors are arranged in parallel” (claim 7). FIG. 1 shows boosters 40 and 50 connected in series only; and the limitation wherein “the external energy source includes an electrical motor, steam turbine, and/or gas turbine” (claim 11). No figure shows a driver for main air compressor 10. The limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) In ¶ 0024, the phrase “greater than 6; 5 bar(a)” appears to be a typographical error for “greater than 6.5 bar(a)” (compare claim 3).
(2) In ¶¶ 0051, 0052, and 0055, reference characters 105, 111, and 112 are used for elements of U.S. Pat. No. 9,726,427 (booster air compressor 105; turbines 107/112 and compressors 109/111; warm turbine 111), whereas ¶¶ 0048-0049 and FIG. 1 of the present application use 105 for the first condenser/reboiler and 112 for the waste oxygen stream. Further, 111 is described as a compressor in ¶ 0052 and as a turbine in ¶ 0055. Where a reference character designates a part of a cited reference rather than a part shown in Applicant’s drawings, the text should make that clear (e.g., “booster air compressor 105 of ’427”), or the character should be deleted. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.71(a); cf. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(p)(4).
(3) In ¶ 0059, terminal punctuation is missing between “both of the condenser/vaporizers” and “Finally, by increasing.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) The phrase “a second liquid nitrogen that was condensed by the second condenser” should read “a second liquid nitrogen stream that was condensed by the second condenser,” consistent with the antecedent phrase “a first liquid nitrogen stream.”
(2) The step “sending an oxygen-rich liquid from a bottom portion of the higher-pressure column to an intermediate portion of the lower-pressure column; and” ends with the conjunction “and” although further steps follow, and the next step ends with a comma (“… warmed in the heat exchanger against the compressed dry air feed,”) rather than a semicolon. Each step should be separated by a semicolon, with “and” placed only before the final step. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(i). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(1) “purification unit” in independent claim 1 (“purifying a feed air in a purification unit at a pressure greater than 15 bar(a) to yield a compressed dry air feed”) in claim 1, interpreted under § 112(f). The term “unit” is a generic placeholder; it is modified by the functional language “purification” and “purifying a feed air … to yield a compressed dry air feed”; and it is not modified by any structure, material, or acts for performing that function. The corresponding structure described in the specification is the front-end purification unit 30 containing adsorbent material that removes impurities such as water vapor and carbon dioxide from the compressed air (¶¶ 0006, 0042, 0066-0068; FIG. 1, element 30), and equivalents thereof.
(2) “compression means” in claim 10 (“the main air compressor is the only compression means used in the process that relies on an external energy source for compression”). The term “means” is modified by the functional language “compression” and “that relies on an external energy source for compression,” and it is not modified by sufficient structure for performing that function. The corresponding structure described in the specification is a compressor, namely the main air compressor 10 and the booster compressors 40, 50, a compressor relying on an external energy source being one driven by an electrical motor, steam turbine, and/or gas turbine (¶¶ 0031-0032, 0042-0043; FIG. 1), and equivalents thereof.
Claim Interpretation
Terms given the meaning set forth in the specification
During examination, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, and a term receives a special meaning where the specification sets one out with reasonable clarity. MPEP §§ 2111, 2111.01(IV). The following terms are interpreted accordingly:
(1) “lost air stream” (claim 1). The specification defines a “lost air turbine” as a turbine that expands air, or a stream having a similar composition to air, for refrigeration purposes without sending the expanded air to the distillation column system for recovery of air gases of the expanded air (¶ 0014). The “lost air stream” is therefore interpreted as a stream of air, or of a composition substantially similar to air (¶ 0040), that is expanded in the warm turbine for refrigeration and is not sent to the column system for recovery of air gases.
(2) “substantially similar” as applied to pressure (claim 2). Interpreted per ¶ 0040 as a pressure that is similar to another pressure taking into account pressure losses in the system, which in certain embodiments is within 0.5 bar(a).
(3) “oxygen-rich” (claim 1). Interpreted per ¶ 0040 as a fluid having an oxygen content greater than that of air.
(4) “warm turbine” and “cold turbine” (claim 1). These terms are interpreted as labels that identify, respectively, the turbine in which the lost air stream is expanded and the turbine in which the first portion of the compressed dry air feed is expanded. The labels alone impose no particular inlet or outlet temperature; claim 4 separately recites a relationship between the turbines’ temperature differences.
(5) “a ratio of fluid expanded in the warm turbine to compressed dry air feed” (claim 12). Interpreted, in light of ¶¶ 0019 and 0033, as the ratio of the flow rate of fluid expanded in the warm turbine to the flow rate of the compressed dry air feed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the first and second compressors are arranged in parallel.” Claim 8 recites “wherein the first and second compressors are arranged in series.” Claim 9 recites “wherein the compressed dry air feed exiting at least one of the first and second compressors is at a pressure above 50 bar(a) prior to cooling in the heat exchanger.” The phrase “the first and second compressors” lacks proper antecedent basis. The specification describes first and second compressors driven by the cold and warm turbines, respectively (¶¶ 0026-0029), but claims 7-9 do not require either turbine to drive any compressor, and the claimed process also includes compression of the feed air before purification (see claim 10; ¶ 0031). One of ordinary skill in the art therefore cannot determine with reasonable certainty which compressors claims 7, 8, 9, and 11 require, or whether those claims implicitly incorporate the subject matter of claims 5 and 6. See MPEP § 2173.05(e). For purposes of examination, “the first and second compressors” is interpreted as any first and second compressors that further pressurize the compressed dry air feed prior to cooling in the heat exchanger.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the external energy source includes an electrical motor, steam turbine, and/or gas turbine.” The term “the external energy” lacks proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as an external energy source that drives compression of air in the process.
Claim 12 recites “wherein a ratio of fluid expanded in the warm turbine to compressed dry air feed is between 0.4 and 0.6, preferably between 0.45 and 0.5” renders the claim indefinite because a broad range (0.4 to 0.6) followed by a narrower range introduced by “preferably” (0.45 to 0.5) renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear whether the narrower range is a required feature of the claim or merely an exemplary one, and therefore the boundaries of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. See MPEP §§ 2173.05(c), 2173.05(d); Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989). For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a ratio between 0.4 and 0.6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Narinsky (US 2017/0299261 A1) in view of Kraus (US 6,240,745 B1) and Turney (US 2023/0082208 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Narinsky teaches a process for production of liquid nitrogen (process for producing liquid nitrogen from air with the double distillation column system of FIG. 2) from a system of columns comprised of a higher-pressure column (first, lower column 115), a lower-pressure column (second, upper column 117), a first condenser (top condenser 116 of column 115, which is the bottom reboiler of column 117) disposed in a bottom portion of the lower-pressure column, and a second condenser (top condenser/upper reboiler 118) (¶¶ 0021, 0040-0043; fig. 2), the process comprising the steps of:
purifying a feed air (air feed 10) in a purification unit (adsorber 104, removing water and carbon dioxide) to yield a compressed dry air feed (purified air 12, combined at 13, compressed in 105 and boosted to 18) (¶¶ 0036-0037; Table 2, streams 11-18; fig. 2);
cooling the compressed dry air feed (boosted air 18) in a heat exchanger (main heat exchanger 113) (¶ 0038; fig. 2);
expanding a first portion (portion 19) of the compressed dry air feed in a cold turbine (cold turbo expander 112) to form an expanded fluid (exhaust 20) (¶¶ 0038-0039; Table 2, streams 19-20; fig. 2);
sending at least a portion (split remainder 25, fed at 33) of the expanded fluid to the higher-pressure column for separation therein (¶ 0039; Table 2, streams 25, 33; fig. 2);
liquefying a second portion (remainder 23) of the compressed dry air feed within the heat exchanger before sending at least a portion of the second portion of the compressed dry air feed to the higher-pressure column (expanded in valve 114 and fed to the middle of column 115 as a liquid air stream) (¶ 0038; Table 2, streams 23-24; fig. 2);
sending an oxygen-rich liquid (first oxygen-enriched liquid 29, 27 to 28% O2) from a bottom portion of the higher-pressure column to an intermediate portion of the lower-pressure column (through valve 123 into the middle of upper column 117) (¶ 0041; Table 2, stream 29; fig. 2);
sending a second oxygen-rich liquid (second oxygen-enriched liquid 30, 43 to 45% O2) from a bottom portion of the lower-pressure column to the second condenser (throttled in valve 124 to about one atmosphere and transferred to upper reboiler 118), wherein at least a portion of the second oxygen-rich liquid is vaporized at less than 2 bar(a) (1.28 bara) to form a top gas (vapor 35), and wherein at least a portion of the top gas is warmed in the heat exchanger against the compressed dry air feed (vapor passes through subcooler 121 and enters main heat exchanger 113 at 36, where its refrigeration is recovered) (¶¶ 0043, 0045; Table 2, streams 30, 34, 35; fig. 2); and
mixing a first liquid nitrogen stream (first liquid nitrogen stream 27) that was condensed by the first condenser with a second liquid nitrogen (nitrogen condensed in top condenser 118, withdrawn at 32) that was condensed by the second condenser to yield a liquid nitrogen product (stream 27 is fed through valve 122 into the top of upper column 117 and withdrawn with the nitrogen condensed in condenser 118 as liquid nitrogen product 32; alternatively, the first and second liquid nitrogen streams are used as the product and are passed through throttling valves into a liquid separator from which the liquid nitrogen product is removed) (¶¶ 0040, 0042, 0064-0065; Table 2, streams 27, 32; fig. 2).
Narinsky’s adsorber 104 purifies air compressed in compressor 102 to 5 to 7.5 bara (¶ 0036; Table 2, stream 12), but does not teach that the feed air is purified in the purification unit at a pressure greater than 15 bar(a).
However, Kraus teaches a process for the cryogenic separation of air in which the air is compressed in a compressor (1) and introduced, without precooling by a refrigeration unit, into adsorbers (3a, 3b) in which the impurities (CO2, water vapor) are adsorbed at a pressure greater than 15 bar(a) (at least 15 × 10^5 Pa, preferably 21 × 10^5 to 40 × 10^5 Pa; 30 × 10^5 Pa in the example), the purified air then being cooled in a cold box (4) and cryogenically distilled in columns (5), the increase in adsorption pressure reducing the water-vapor content of the air and favoring adsorption of the impurities, and at least one product preferably being recovered in liquid form (col. 3, ll. 1-13, 33-55; col. 5, l. 54 to col. 6, l. 8; col. 6, ll. 13-24, 34-48; Table; claim 1; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid nitrogen process of Narinsky to include compressing the feed air to a pressure of at least 15 × 10^5 Pa and adsorbing the water vapor and carbon dioxide in the adsorbers at that pressure, without precooling the air in a refrigeration unit, as taught by Kraus, in order to reduce the water-vapor content of the air and favor adsorption of its impurities by increasing their partial pressure, so that the air is purified at ambient temperature with far less adsorbent than at the conventional adsorption pressure of 6 × 10^5 Pa (13,500 kg versus 51,000 kg) and without a precooling refrigeration unit, the energy provided by the increased air pressure being utilized by recovering product in liquid form (Kraus col. 2, ll. 39-48; col. 3, ll. 33-40; col. 6, ll. 34-48; Table, cols. 6-7).
The modified Narinsky teaches warms portion 21 of cold expander exhaust 20 in heat exchanger 113 but returns it, at about 6.05 bara, as part of recycle stream 22 to compressor 105 without expanding it (¶¶ 0036, 0039; Table 2, stream 22), but does not teach wherein a lost air stream is warmed and expanded to less than 2 bar(a) in a warm turbine, wherein the lost air stream is selected from the group consisting of a portion of the expanded fluid from the cold turbine, a stream withdrawn from the higher-pressure column, and combinations thereof.
However, Turney teaches a process for producing liquid products (liquid nitrogen product stream 122; liquid oxygen stream 124) wherein a lost air stream (refrigerant air stream 117, a portion of expanded stream 115 from Claude expander 114) is warmed (in main heat exchanger 110, forming warmed refrigerant air stream 118) and expanded to less than 2 bar(a) (from approximately 6 bar(a) to atmospheric pressure) in a warm turbine (expansion turbine 119, a lost air turbine), wherein the lost air stream is a portion of the expanded fluid from the cold turbine (expanded stream 115 from Claude expander 114 being split into distillation stream 116, sent to column 113, and refrigerant air stream 117), the expanded stream (120) being rewarmed in the main heat exchanger and discharged as waste (stream 121) (¶¶ 0073-0075, 0079; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid nitrogen process of Narinsky, to include a lost air turbine in which a refrigerant portion of the air expanded in the cold (Claude) expander is warmed in the main heat exchanger and then expanded in an expansion turbine from approximately 6 bar(a) to atmospheric pressure, the expanded air being rewarmed in the main heat exchanger and discharged as waste, as taught by Turney, in order to provide the additional refrigeration duty needed to produce the desired flowrate of liquid product.
In regard to claim 2, the modified Narinsky teaches the process of claim 1, wherein the warm turbine (Turney’s expansion turbine 119, which receives the refrigerant portion 117 of the Claude expander exhaust 115 after it has only been warmed in main heat exchanger 110) has an inlet pressure (about 6.05 bara, the pressure at which the warmed portion 21 of Narinsky’s cold expander exhaust leaves heat exchanger 113; approximately 6 bar(a) in Turney) substantially similar to an outlet pressure of the cold turbine (Narinsky’s cold turbo expander 112, exhaust 20 at 6.15 bara), the 0.1 bar difference reflecting only the pressure loss through the heat exchanger and lying within 0.5 bar(a) (Narinsky ¶ 0039; Table 2, streams 20, 22; Turney ¶¶ 0073-0075; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid nitrogen process of Narinsky, to include a lost air turbine in which a refrigerant portion of the air expanded in the cold (Claude) expander is warmed in the main heat exchanger and then expanded in an expansion turbine from approximately 6 bar(a) to atmospheric pressure, the expanded air being rewarmed in the main heat exchanger and discharged as waste, as taught by Turney, in order to provide the additional refrigeration duty needed to produce the desired flowrate of liquid product.
In regard to claim 3, the modified Narinsky teaches the process of claim 1, wherein Narinsky further teaches wherein the second condenser (upper reboiler 118) operates at a third pressure that is less than 2 bar(a) (about one atmosphere; 1.28 bara), and wherein the lower-pressure column (upper column 117) operates at a second pressure (about 2.7 to 3.3 bara; 3.05 bara at the top) that is between the first pressure and the third pressure (¶¶ 0040-0043; Table 2, streams 32, 34, 35; fig. 2).
Narinsky’s FIG. 2 embodiment does not teach wherein the higher-pressure column operates at a first pressure that is greater than 6.5 bar(a). The FIG. 2 embodiment operates lower column 115 at about 4.5 to 6.5 bara (¶ 0040).
However, Narinsky’s FIG. 1 embodiment teaches operating the highest-pressure column (first column 115), which receives the exhaust of cold turbo expander 112 at its bottom and the liquid air stream at its middle, at a first pressure that is greater than 6.5 bar(a) (about 7.5 to 9 bara; 8.45 bara), its top condenser 116 reboiling the next, lower-pressure column (¶¶ 0025-0027; Table 1, streams 20, 25, 29; fig. 1). The range of about 7.5 to 9 bara lies within the claimed range of greater than 6.5 bar(a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the FIG. 2 process of Narinsky, to include operating the higher-pressure column, into which the cold turbo expander exhausts, at about 7.5 to 9 bara as taught by Narinsky’s FIG. 1 embodiment, in order to avoid lowering the cold expander exhaust pressure, a decrease that Narinsky teaches is inexpedient because it reduces the efficiency of the refrigeration system (¶ 0061). Where a claimed range overlaps or encompasses a range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP § 2144.05(I). See KSR, 550 U.S. 398; MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
In regard to claim 4, the modified Narinsky teaches the process of claim 1, wherein the cold turbine (Narinsky’s cold expander 112) has an inlet temperature (177.4 K) and an outlet temperature (101.1 K), a temperature difference of about 76 K, while in the same cycle Narinsky’s warm expander 111, fed at 300 K, has a temperature difference of about 123 K (Narinsky ¶ 0050; Table 3, ‘Warm’ and ‘Cold’ expanders), and the warm turbine (Turney’s expansion turbine 119) has an inlet temperature (that of warmed refrigerant air stream 118) and an outlet temperature (that of expanded refrigerant air stream 120) (Turney ¶ 0074; fig. 1).
The modified Narinsky does not explicitly teach wherein a temperature difference of the inlet and outlet temperatures of the warm turbine is greater than a temperature difference of the inlet and outlet temperatures of the cold turbine.
However, Turney teaches that the refrigerant air stream (117) split from the Claude expander exhaust is warmed in the main heat exchanger (110) before being expanded in the lost air turbine (expansion turbine 119), the lost air turbine being provided to increase cold production and supply the additional refrigeration duty needed for the desired liquid product flowrate (¶¶ 0073-0075, 0079; fig. 1). The extent of that warming sets the inlet temperature of the lost air turbine and, at the pressure ratio of approximately 6 of a lost air turbine (¶ 0073), the temperature drop across the turbine, which increases in proportion to that inlet temperature, and with it the refrigeration produced; the inlet temperature is therefore a result-effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Narinsky, to include warming the refrigerant air stream in the main heat exchanger to an inlet temperature at which the temperature drop across the lost air turbine exceeds that across the cold turbine as taught by Turney, in order to supply the additional refrigeration duty needed for the desired liquid product flowrate. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). See KSR, 550 U.S. 398; MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
In regard to claim 5, the modified Narinsky teaches the process of claim 1, wherein Narinsky further teaches the cold turbine (cold turbo expander 112) drives a first compressor (booster compressor 107) that is configured to further pressurize the compressed dry air feed (portion 16 of compressed air stream 14, boosted to 55 to 75 bara at 18) prior to cooling in the heat exchanger (113) (¶¶ 0037-0038; Table 2, streams 16, 18; fig. 2).
In regard to claim 7, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above, Narinsky as modified above teaches the process of claim 3, wherein Narinsky further teaches the first and second compressors (booster compressors 107 and 109, which further pressurize the compressed dry air feed) are arranged in parallel (booster compressors 107 and 109 can operate in series or in parallel) (¶¶ 0037, 0053; fig. 2).
In regard to claim 8, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above, Narinsky as modified by Kraus and Turney teaches the process of claim 3 as set forth above, wherein Narinsky further teaches wherein the first and second compressors (booster compressors 107 and 109) are arranged in series (as shown in FIG. 2) (¶¶ 0037, 0053; fig. 2).
In regard to claim 9, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above, Narinsky as modified by Kraus and Turney teaches the process of claim 3 as set forth above, wherein Narinsky further teaches wherein the compressed dry air feed (boosted air 18) exiting at least one of the first and second compressors (booster compressors 107, 109) is at a pressure above 50 bar(a) (55 to 75 bara; 64.2 bara) prior to cooling in the heat exchanger (113) (¶¶ 0037-0038; Table 2, stream 18; fig. 2).
In regard to claim 12, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above, Narinsky as modified by Kraus and Turney teaches the process of claim 1 as set forth above ,wherein Narinsky further teaches recovery of nitrogen as liquid nitrogen product as compared to total nitrogen sent to the higher-pressure column is between 0.55 and 0.65 (all of the processed air is sent to lower column 115 as liquid air stream 24 and gaseous air stream 33, and the liquid nitrogen output is 0.448 Nm3 per Nm3 of processed air, about 0.57 of the nitrogen in that air, which is about 78 mol% nitrogen) (¶¶ 0038-0039, 0050; Table 2, streams 24, 33; Table 3, LIN output). In the same cycle, the flows of air expanded in Narinsky’s expanders are 0.7024 and 1.5588 Nm3 per Nm3 of processed air (Table 3).
Narinsky as modified by Kraus and Turney does not explicitly teach wherein a ratio of fluid expanded in the warm turbine to compressed dry air feed is between 0.4 and 0.6.
However, Turney teaches that the flow of air expanded in a lost air turbine is a selected fraction of the total process air (typically 20 to 35%), and that the lost air turbine supplies the additional refrigeration duty needed to produce the desired flowrate of liquid product (¶¶ 0073, 0075, 0079). The lost air flow is therefore a result-effective variable that determines the refrigeration available for liquid production.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Narinsky, to include a flow of lost air expanded in the lost air turbine, relative to the compressed dry air feed, selected through routine optimization within the claimed ratio of 0.4 to 0.6 as taught by Turney, in order to provide the refrigeration duty needed for the desired liquid product flowrate.
In regard to claim 13, Narinsky as modified by Kraus and Turney teaches the process of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein a pressure ratio of the warm turbine is greater than 5.2 and less than 8 (a lost air turbine expands air from approximately 6 bar(a) to atmospheric pressure, a pressure ratio of approximately 6; expanding the warmed portion of Narinsky’s cold expander exhaust from 6.05 bara to atmospheric pressure likewise gives about 6), and wherein a ratio of a flow rate of the warm turbine to a flow rate of the cold turbine is greater than 0.6 (Narinsky’s cold turbo expander 112 processes 1.566 mol/mol of processed air, of which 0.416 mol/mol is fed to column 115 as stream 25 and the remaining portion 21, about 1.150 mol/mol, is warmed in heat exchanger 113; expanding that warmed portion in the lost air turbine, as Turney expands the warmed refrigerant portion 117/118 of its Claude expander exhaust, gives a warm-to-cold flow ratio of about 0.73) (Narinsky ¶ 0039; Table 2, streams 20, 22, 25; Turney ¶¶ 0073-0075; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid nitrogen process of Narinsky, as modified by Kraus, to include a lost air turbine in which a refrigerant portion of the air expanded in the cold (Claude) expander is warmed in the main heat exchanger and then expanded in an expansion turbine from approximately 6 bar(a) to atmospheric pressure, the expanded air being rewarmed in the main heat exchanger and discharged as waste, as taught by Turney, in order to provide the additional refrigeration duty needed to produce the desired flowrate of liquid product.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narinsky, Kraus and Turney as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kong (US 2020/0158428 A1).
In regard to claim 6, Narinsky as modified by Kraus and Turney teaches the process of claim 2 as set forth above, including the warm turbine (Turney’s expansion turbine 119). Narinsky further teaches turbo expanders (112, 111) that drive booster compressors (107, 109) to further pressurize the compressed dry air feed prior to cooling in the heat exchanger (113) (¶ 0037; fig. 2).
The modified Narinsky does not explicitly teach wherein the warm turbine, which expands the lost air stream, drives a second compressor that is configured to further pressurize the compressed dry air feed prior to cooling in the heat exchanger.
However, Kong teaches wherein the warm turbine (lost air turbine 60) drives a second compressor (booster 50; the lost air turbine being configured to drive the booster) that is configured to further pressurize the compressed dry air feed (dry air stream from front-end purification unit 30, boosted to form compressed air stream 52) prior to cooling in the heat exchanger (80) (¶¶ 0003, 0015-0016, 0030; claim 1, steps (d), (h); claim 2; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Narinsky, to include the lost air turbine driving a booster that boosts the purified dry air stream before it enters the main heat exchanger as taught by Kong, in order to use the expansion work of the lost air turbine to boost the dry air fed to the heat exchanger.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narinsky, Kraus and Turney as applied to claim 1 or 7 above, and further in view of
Guillard (US 2015/0000335 A1).
In regard to claim 10, the modified Narinsky teaches the process of claim 1, wherein a main air compressor (Narinsky’s feed air compressor 102; Kraus’s compressor 1) is disposed upstream of the purification unit (adsorber 104; adsorbers 3a, 3b) and is configured to produce the feed air purified in the purification unit (Narinsky ¶ 0036; Table 3, feed air compressor; Kraus col. 5, ll. 54-57; col. 6, ll. 13-24; fig. 2).
The modified Narinsky teaches compressing the purified air in compressor 105 (¶ 0036; Table 3, recycle compressor), but does not explicitly teach the main air compressor is the only compression means used in the process that relies on an external energy source for compression.
However, Guillard teaches an air separation process wherein air at approximately ambient pressure is compressed in main air compressors (C1, C2, C3) to a first pressure above 12 bar absolute, purified in a single purification unit (E), and sent to the system of columns without sending air at the first pressure to an air booster driven by a motor or a steam turbine, any air booster being driven by an air turbine or a nitrogen turbine, so that the main air compressors are the only compression means relying on an external energy source and all the power is introduced by the air compressors (¶¶ 0016, 0021-0025, 0044, 0062-0063, 0081; figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Narinsky, to include main air compressors that are the only externally driven compressors, any further compression of the purified air being performed by boosters driven by the process air or nitrogen turbines and no booster being driven by a motor or steam turbine, as taught by Guillard, in order to obtain appreciable savings in investment by introducing all of the energy necessary for the process through the main air compressors (Guillard ¶¶ 0006, 0016).
In regard to claim 11, the modified Narinsky teaches the process of claim 7, wherein the process compressing air in a main air compressor (Narinsky’s feed air compressor 102; Kraus’s compressor 1) (Narinsky ¶ 0036; Kraus fig. 2).
The modified Narinsky does not teach the external energy source includes an electrical motor, steam turbine, and/or gas turbine. Narinsky does not state how its compressors are driven (¶ 0036).
However, Guillard teaches wherein the external energy source that drives the compression of the air (air compressors C1, C2, C3) includes an electrical motor (single asynchronous motors M1, M2, M3, each having a direct-online, self, or autotransformer starter) (¶¶ 0026, 0053-0054, 0064; figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Narinsky, to include an asynchronous electric motor driving the main air compressor as taught by Guillard, in order to gain reliability with robust asynchronous motors that can be started directly, by reactance, or by autotransformer instead of through very expensive regulators or soft starters, which enormously simplifies the installation.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763