Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Mimura (2025/0135309) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mimura.
As to claim 1, Mimura discloses a racket (2) comprising a frame (4) including a head (14). Mimura further discloses the racket including a ball-hitting face stiffness value G2 is greater than or equal to 45,000 kgf/cm and less than or equal to 60,000 kgf/cm and a side pressure stiffness value G1 is greater than or equal to 5,000 kgf/cm and less than or equal to 8,000 kgf/cm ([0006] & [0086]) which is considered equivalent to a ratio (G2/G1 such as 60,000/5,000) of the ball-hitting face stiffness value to the side pressure stiffness value is greater than or equal to 3.20 as claimed.
As to claims 2 and 3, Mimura further discloses the head includes a plurality of reinforcement fibers ([0031]-[0033] & [0043]-[0047]) which is considered equivalent to the head includes a high-elasticity layer comprises straight-type reinforcement fibers as claimed. To the extent that Mimura fails to disclose the head includes a high-elasticity layer comprises straight-type reinforcement fibers as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the racket of Mimura so the plurality of fibers of the head comprises straight-type reinforcement fibers with a high-elasticity layer positioned on an inner side in the head in a thickness direction of the head to provide an additional strength and rigidity with high-elasticity and better protecting the racket. The racket of Mimura as modified comprises the high-elasticity layer as claimed.
As to claim 4, Mimura further discloses in a cross section that extends along a plane that is perpendicular to an axial direction of the frame and that passes a center of the head (Figs. 1, 5 & 14). However, Mimura fails to disclose a ratio (Tf/Wf) of a thickness Tf of the frame to a width Wf of the frame is greater than or equal to 2.0 as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the racket of Mimura so the racket is constructed with a ratio (Tf/Wf) of a thickness Tf of the frame to a width Wf of the frame is greater than or equal to 2.0 because a selection of the specific ratios would appear to have been an obvious matter of design choice based upon conventional design considerations, such as to increase the rigidity of the racket.
As to claims 5-7, Mimura discloses the ratio (G2/G1) is greater than or equal to 4.10 (see the values as in claim 1 above).
As to claims 8 and 9, Mimura discloses the side pressure stiffness value G1 is less than or equal to 90 kgf/cm and the ball-hitting face stiffness value G2 is greater than or equal to 100 kgf/cm (see the values as in claim 1 above).
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736