Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9 - 12, 14, 15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US 2023/0278768) in view of Omura et al (US 2016/0040035).
With regards to claim 1, Tanaka teaches a method of manufacturing a gas barrier film (Abstract) comprising:
A gas barrier film preparation step of forming, on a support, a gas barrier layer where one or more laminated structures on an underlying organic layer and an inorganic layer are provided and an uppermost layer is a protective organic layer to prepare a gas barrier film (paragraph 12)
A bonding step of applying an adhesive to the gas barrier layer of the gas barrier film to cover an entire surface of the support, drying the adhesive and bonding a sealant layer having a width more than or equal to a width of the support to the adhesive to obtains a gas barrier film packaging material (paragraphs 152, 154 and 157)
A winding step of winding the gas barrier film packaging material (paragraph 243)
An aging step of heating and aging the wound gas barrier film packaging material (paragraph 140)
Where in the gas barrier film preparation step, a non-formation region where the laminated structure of the underlying organic layer and the inorganic layer and the protective organic layer are not formed is provided in both end parts in a width direction of the support (paragraphs 140 – 145)
Tanaka fails to explicitly disclose that the sealant layer is a thermal fusion layer.
Omura discloses a gas barrier film used for packaging materials (paragraph 2), in the same field of endeavor as Tanaka, where Omura states that the gas barrier film comprises a thermal fusion layer (paragraph 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a thermal fusion layer as a sealant layer, as suggested by Omura, in Tanaka’s method. The rationale being that, as stated by Omura, it allows to hermetically seal the packaging by applying heat (paragraph 130).
With regards to claim 2, the teachings of Tanaka and Omura are presented above. Additionally, Tanaka teaches that the inorganic layer is formed in the non-formation region (paragraphs 141 and 142).
With regards to claims 5, 7, 18 and 20, the teachings of Tanaka and Omura are presented above. Additionally, Tanaka teaches that a gas barrier performance in the non-formation region is lower than a gas barrier performance in a center portion in the width direction of the support (paragraphs 187 and 188).
With regards to claim 9, the teachings of Tanaka and Omura are presented above. Additionally, Tanaka teaches that the sealant layer is formed of polyethylene or polypropylene (paragraph 156).
With regards to claim 10, the teachings of Tanaka and Omura are presented above. Additionally, Tanaka teaches that the thickness of the sealant layer is 30 to 70 micron (paragraph 157).
With regards to claim 11, the teachings of Tanaka and Omura are presented above. Additionally, Tanaka teaches that the thickness of the support is 50 to 125 micron (paragraph 118).
With regards to claim 12, the teachings of Tanaka and Omura are presented above. Tanaka and Omura fail to explicitly disclose the width of the support but one of ordinary skills in the art would appreciate that, depending on the desired final product, one would select the desired width.
With regards to claims 14 and 15, the teachings of Tanaka and Omura are presented above. Additionally, Tanaka teaches that the adhesive is a two-liquid curable urethane adhesive (paragraphs 154 and 252).
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 13, 16, 17 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSHEL RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746