DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0171858 to Inagaki (“Inagaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Inagaki teaches a focus control apparatus comprising:
one or more processors that execute a program stored in a memory, the one or more processors when executing the program cause the focus control apparatus to (see paragraph [0021] regarding memory containing instructions of programs that when executed by the CPU cause the CPU to perform operations corresponding to units or function):
perform focus detection (see paragraph [0004] regarding performing focus detection using a phase-difference detecting method);
control driving of a focus lens included in an optical system based on a focus detection result obtained by the focus detection (paragraph [0004] further teaches control a drive of a cous lens included in an optical system based on a focus detection result); and
set a movable range based on a search direction of the focus lens in response to a user's instruction and a position of the focus lens (for example in Figure 13D, a movable range 1303d is set in a search direction based on the object focused position and the target position of the focus lens 104, see paragraph [0102]),
wherein, in a case where an instruction regarding a first search direction is provided and thereafter an instruction regarding a second search direction that is different from the first search direction is provided, the movable range is set based on the second search direction and a first focus lens position when the instruction regarding the first search direction is provided (Figures 13A-13D show the search direction in one direction and is silent on change the direction to a different direction, however from Figure 14, changing the direction of the search direction would change the result of the flow chart so in the case that the user inputs a first search direction and then a second search direction that is different from the first search direction, the flow of Figure 14 would set the movable range based on the second search direction if that is the last one input by the user).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teaching of Inagaki to override the first search direction with the second search direction since it is the most updated input and to adjust the focus lens position based on the first focus lens position where it is currently set. This would allow for a user to make adjustments and for the system to respond accurately.
Regarding claim 3, Inagaki teaches the focus control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the movable range is set based on optical information regarding the optical system (see Claim 6 of Inagaki).
Regarding claim 4, Inagaki teaches an imaging apparatus comprising: the focus control apparatus according to claim 1; and an image pickup device configured to capture an image of a subject via the optical system (paragraph [0026] teaches capturing an object using the optical system).
Claims 7-8 are rejected similarly to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
AMY R. HSU
Examiner
Art Unit 2664
/AMY R HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638