DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haines et al. U.S. Patent Application 2011/0216451 (hereinafter “Haines”) and further in view of Neiger et al. U.S. Patent No. 6,339,525.
Regarding Claim 1, Haines discloses a method of self-testing a protection device interrupter (refer to Abstract and [0059]) comprising; monitoring components in the protection device interrupter to determine whether the components are operational (refer to abstract and [0059]), however Haines does not teach the monitoring during an arrangement chosen from (a) a line hot arm and a line neutral arm of the protection device interrupter being disconnected, respectively from a load hot arm and a load neutral arm of the protection device interrupter; and (b) the line hot arm and the line neutral arm of the protection device interrupter being connected, respectively, to the load hot arm and the load neutral arm of the protection device interrupter and a load connected to the protection device interrupter via the load hot arm and the load neutral is drawing zero current. However Neiger teaches the monitoring during an arrangement chosen from (a) a line hot arm and a line neutral arm of the protection device interrupter being disconnected, respectively from a load hot arm and a load neutral of the protection device interrupter; and (b) the line hot arm and the line neutral arm of the protection device interrupter being connected, respectively, to the load hot arm and the load neutral of the protection device interrupter and a load connected to the protection device interrupter via the load hot arm and the load neutral is drawing zero current (refer to col. 16 lines 35-46). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Haines to include the monitoring of Neiger to provide the advantage of detecting and preventing a fault before power is provided to prevent damage to an apparatus.
Regarding claim 8, Haines and Neiger teach the method of claim 1, further comprising disabling connection of the line hot arm and the line neutral arm to, respectively, the load hot arm and the load neutral arm when the monitored components are determined to be nonoperational during either of the arrangement (a) and the arrangement (b) (refer to Haines [0091], [0101] and [0224]).
Regarding claim 9, Haines and Neiger teach the method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring comprises monitoring a characteristic associated with at least a selected one of the components in the protection device interrupter chosen from a coil, analog signal conditioning circuitry, and an analog to digital input of a digital processor in the protection device interrupter (refer to Haines [0091], [0101] and [0224]).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 2-7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-4, 6, 7, 13, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 10, respectively, of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,306,252. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,591,546 (hereinafter “’546”), claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,644,507 (hereinafter “’507”), claims 1, 4-7, and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,940,498 (hereinafter “’498”), and/or claims 1, 5, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,306,252 (hereinafter “’252”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘507, claim 1 of ‘498, and claim 1 of ‘252 each contain all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application; claim 5 of ‘498 contains all of the limitations of claim 2 of the instant application; claim 6 of ‘498 contains all of the limitations of claim 3 of the instant application; claim 7 of ‘498 contains all of the limitations of claim 4 of the instant application; claim 4 of ‘498 contains all of the limitations of claim 5 of the instant application; claim 5 of ‘498 contains all of the limitations of claim 6 of the instant application; claims 1 and 2 of ‘546 contain all of the limitations of claim 7 of the instant application; claim 6 of ‘498 and claim 5 of ‘252 each contain all of the limitations of claim 8 of the instant application; claim 1 of ‘498, claim 2 of ‘507, and claim 13 of ‘252 each contain all of the limitations of claim 9 of the instant application; claim 2 of ‘498 and claims 1 and 2 of ‘507 each contain all of the limitations of claim 10 of the instant application; claim 6 of ‘498 and claim 7 of ‘507 each contain all of the limitations of claim 11 of the instant application; claim 7 of ‘498 and claim 10 of ‘507 each contain all of the limitations of claim 12 of the instant application; claim 9 of ‘498 and claim 8 of ‘507 each contain all of the limitations of claim 13 of the instant application; claim 10 of ‘498 and claim 9 of ‘507 each contain all of the limitations of claim 14 of the instant application; claim 8 of ‘498 and claim 11 of ‘507 each contain all of the limitations of claim 15 of the instant application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 10-15 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten or amended to overcome the Double Patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 2-7 and 11-15 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 2, especially wherein the protection device interrupter performs current sensing using at least one current sensing coil and the monitoring comprises using, during the arrangement, capacitively coupling of at least one of the line hot arm and the line neutral arm in the protection device interrupter with respect to the at least one current sensing coil to determine whether the monitored components are operational during the arrangement. Claims 3-7 and 11-15 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter based on their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 10 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 10, especially wherein the monitoring a characteristic comprises using a noise signal associated with the components during the arrangement; and the disabling connection of the line hot arm and the line neutral arm to, respectively, the load hot arm and the load neutral arm is performed when the noise signal meets a designated criterion.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839