DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. If Applicant fails to provide a sufficiently descriptive title, Examiner will do so upon allowance of the claims.
Priority
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: Fig. 47 and the associated disclosure in the specification is not found in the parent applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (WO 2019/037499, published 2/28/2019; *note: US 2020/0388214 will be relied upon as an English translation for WO 2019/037499, and Examiner will refer to the reference as Yang ‘214).
Regarding claim 1, Yang ‘214 discloses a display panel, comprising: a gate driving circuit (abstract, figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136, scan circuits S and EM),
a pixel driving circuit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136),
and a light-emitting component (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, light emitting device L);
wherein the pixel driving circuit comprises a driving transistor (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, DTFT), a data writing module (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, M6), an initialization module (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, M1 and M2), and a light-emitting control module (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, M3 and M4);
wherein the data writing module is configured for transmitting a data voltage signal to a control terminal of the driving transistor such that the driving transistor generates a driving current according to the data voltage signal provided by a data signal terminal (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, e.g., see fig. 9);
wherein the initialization module is configured for providing an initialization voltage signal to at least one of the control terminal of the driving transistor or an anode of the light-emitting component (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, e.g., see fig. 8);
wherein the light-emitting control module is connected in series between a positive power signal terminal and the light-emitting component (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, e.g., see fig. 10);
and wherein a transistor in the initialization module is a P-type transistor and a transistor in the light-emitting control module is an N-type transistor, or a transistor in the initialization module is an N-type transistor and a transistor in the light-emitting control module is a P-type transistor (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, e.g., see ¶ 111);
wherein a control terminal of the initialization module and a control terminal of the light-emitting control module are configured for receiving a gate driving signal generated by a same gate driving circuit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, e.g., S2 and S1; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136).
Regarding claim 2, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the gate driving circuit comprises a transmit driving circuit, the gate driving signal is a transmit driving signal (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136, scan circuits S and EM).
Regarding claim 3, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the pixel driving circuit is configured for receiving at most two types of gate driving signals (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136, scan circuits S and EM).
Regarding claim 4, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the pixel driving circuit further comprises a first light-emitting control unit and a second light-emitting control unit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, M4 and M3);
the first light-emitting control unit is electrically connected between the positive power signal terminal and a first terminal of the driving transistor, and the second light-emitting control unit is electrically connected between a second terminal of the driving transistor and the light-emitting component (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, M4 and M3).
Regarding claim 8, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the pixel driving circuit further comprises a threshold compensation transistor electrically connected between the control terminal of the driving transistor and a second terminal of the driving transistor (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, M5),
and the control terminal of the initialization module and a control terminal of the threshold compensation transistor are configured for receiving a gate driving signal generated by a same gate driving circuit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, e.g., S2 and S1; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136).
Regarding claim 9, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the gate driving circuit comprises a transmit driving circuit, the transmit driving circuit comprises a plurality of cascaded transmit driving units, and the control terminal of the threshold compensation transistor is configured for receiving a transmit driving signal generated by a current-stage transmit driving unit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, scan circuits S and EM, e.g., S1; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136).
Regarding claim 31, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘214.
Regarding claim 10, Yang ‘214 fails to explicitly disclose wherein a transistor in the initialization module and the threshold compensation transistor are each a semiconductor oxide transistor. However, Examiner takes official notice that the use of semiconductor oxide transistors is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang ‘214 with the well-known semiconductor oxide transistors since such a modification achieves the predictable result of utilizing well-known materials and manufacturing practices.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 10.
Regarding claim 21, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claims 5-6, 12, 14-15, 18-19, 22-23, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu et al. (US 2023/0042603).
Regarding claim 5, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the initialization module comprises a gate initialization transistor which is electrically connected between an initialization signal terminal and the control terminal of the driving transistor (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, e.g., M1);
the gate driving circuit comprises a transmit driving circuit, the transmit driving circuit comprises a plurality of cascaded transmit driving units (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136, scan circuits S and EM);
and a control terminal of the gate initialization transistor is configured for receiving a transmission driving signal generated by a previous-stage transmission driving unit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, S2; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136).
Yang ‘214 fails to disclose a control terminal of the first light-emitting control unit is configured for receiving a transmission driving signal generated by a previous-stage transmission driving unit.
Huangfu teaches a control terminal of the first light-emitting control unit is configured for receiving a transmission driving signal generated by a previous-stage transmission driving unit (figs. 3-6, ¶ 84-85, EM(n-1)).
Yang ‘214 and Huangfu are both directed to pixel driving circuits for OLED displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the device of Yang ‘214 with the device of Huangfu since such a modification reduces manufacturing difficulty and cost (Huangfu, ¶ 85).
Regarding claim 6, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein a control terminal of the second light-emitting control unit is configured for receiving a transmit driving signal generated by a current-stage transmit driving unit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, S1; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136).
Regarding claim 12, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the pixel driving circuit further comprises an anode initialization transistor electrically connected between the initialization signal terminal and the anode of the light-emitting component (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, M2; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136);
and the gate driving circuit comprises a scan driving circuit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136, scan circuits S and EM),
a control terminal of the anode initialization transistor is configured for receiving a scan driving signal generated by the scan driving circuit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, S2; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136).
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the data writing module comprises a data writing transistor electrically connected between a data voltage signal terminal and the first terminal of the driving transistor (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, M6; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136);
and the gate driving circuit further comprises a scan driving circuit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136, scan circuits S and EM),
a control terminal of the data writing transistor is configured for receiving a scan driving signal generated by a scan driving circuit (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-111, S1; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136).
Regarding claim 22, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 23, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 27, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12.
Regarding claim 28, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 30, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 19.
Claims 7, 13, 16, 24-26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu as applied to claims 5, 14, and 22 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2017/0263187).
Regarding claim 7, Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu fails to disclose wherein a control terminal of the second light-emitting control unit is configured for receiving a transmit driving signal generated by a subsequent-stage transmit driving unit.
Zhu teaches wherein a control terminal of the second light-emitting control unit is configured for receiving a transmit driving signal generated by a subsequent-stage transmit driving unit (figs 1-3, ¶ 22-32, T5 receives E2, see also fig. 9, ¶ 94, ¶ 99-103, a scanning signal line between two adjacent rows may be multiplexed).
Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu and Zhu are both directed to pixel driving circuits for OLED displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the device of Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu with the device of Zhu since such a modification reduces the layout area occupied by the circuit (Zhu, ¶ 103).
Regarding claim 13, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the pixel driving circuit further comprises an anode initialization transistor electrically connected between the initialization signal terminal and the anode of the light-emitting component (figs. 7-10, ¶ 103-124, M2; see also fig. 11, ¶ 129-136),
Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu fails to disclose a control terminal of the anode initialization transistor is configured for receiving a transmit driving signal generated by a current-stage transmit driving unit.
Zhu teaches a control terminal of the anode initialization transistor is configured for receiving a transmit driving signal generated by a current-stage transmit driving unit (figs 1-3, ¶ 22-32, T1 receives S1; see also fig. 9, ¶ 99-103).
Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu and Zhu are both directed to pixel driving circuits for OLED displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the device of Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu with the device of Zhu since such a modification provides the voltage level of the anode may be more stable (¶ 27) and reduces the layout area occupied by the circuit (Zhu, ¶ 103).
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 24, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 25, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the pixel driving circuit comprises an initialization phase, a data writing phase and a light-emitting phase (figs. 7-10, ¶ 112-124).
Zhu further teaches the semiconductor oxide initialization transistor is configured for initializing an anode of the light-emitting component (figs 1-4, ¶ 48-50).
Regarding claim 26, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13.
Regarding claim 29, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13.
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang ‘214 in view Huangfu as applied to claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0358405; hereinafter referred to as Yang ‘405).
Regarding claim 11, Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gate initialization transistor is configured for initializing the anode of the light-emitting component.
Yang ‘405 teaches wherein the gate initialization transistor is configured for initializing the anode of the light-emitting component (figs. 6-9, ¶ 63-72, see also ¶ 77-80, Vref provided through T4 and T3 to reset nodes N3 and N1).
Yang’ 214 in view of Huangfu and Yang ‘405 are both directed to pixel driving circuits for OLED displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the device of Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu with the device of Yang ‘405 since such a modification reduces after image (Yang ‘405, ¶ 78) and improves contrast (Yang ‘405, ¶ 80).
Regarding claim 17, Yang ‘214 discloses wherein the pixel driving circuit further comprises an initialization phase, a data writing phase and a light-emitting phase (figs. 7-10, ¶ 112-124).
Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu fails to explicitly disclose the initialization transistor is configured for initializing both the control terminal of the driving transistor and the anode of the light-emitting component during the initialization phase.
Yang ‘405 teaches the initialization transistor is configured for initializing both the control terminal of the driving transistor and the anode of the light-emitting component during the initialization phase (figs. 6-9, ¶ 63-72, see also ¶ 77-80, Vref provided through T4 and T3 to reset nodes N3 and N1).
Yang’ 214 in view of Huangfu and Yang ‘405 are both directed to pixel driving circuits for OLED displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the device of Yang ‘214 in view of Huangfu with the device of Yang ‘405 since such a modification reduces after image (Yang ‘405, ¶ 78) and improves contrast (Yang ‘405, ¶ 80).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See attached Notice of References Cited.
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626