DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as filed on November 2, 2025 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC § 112(f)
be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of
structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover
the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and
equivalents thereof.
performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in
support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure,
material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “a haptic engine configured to” recited in fourth line and sixth line of claim 1 and claim 11 respectively, is considered to read on haptic engine 304 (pgs. 10-12, paragraphs[0046]-[0049]; 304 FIG. 3).
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 limitation(s) “a haptic engine configured to” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to clearly disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In particular, no structure or material that is capable of performing the claimed functions are present or shown in FIG. 3 and substantively linked to the claimed function. Therefore, claims 1 and 11 are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Accordingly, any claim(s) dependent on claims 1 or 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based at least on same above reasoning.
Moreover, for a computer-implemented means-plus-function claim limitation invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, a general purpose computer is usually only sufficient as the corresponding structure for performing a general computing function (e.g., “means for storing data”), but the corresponding structure for performing a specific function is required to be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1747 (Fed. Cir. 2011). However, neither a specialized computer, a specialized processor circuitry, a general purpose computer, or a general processor circuitry for implementing the functionality of the haptic engine is even substantively recited and directly tied with sufficient specificity to the haptic engine and its functionality in applicable claims 1 and 11.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Accordingly, as mentioned above, any claim(s) dependent on claims 1 or 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based at least on same above reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bikumala et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0113986 A1 (hereinafter Bikumala).
Regarding claim 1, Bikumala teaches a user input device (300 FIGS. 3A-3B, paragraph[0024] of Bikumala teaches referring now to FIGS. 3A and 3B, and embodiment of an active pen 300 is illustrated; in different embodiments, the active pen 300 may be a capacitive active pen, other active pens discussed above, and/or a variety of other active pen types that may be configured to send signals to computing devices and/or their display screens in order to, for example, allow for the spatial locating of the active pen relative to the display screens; the active pen 300 includes a pen chassis 302 that houses the components of the active pen 300, only some of which are illustrated in FIG. 3B; for example, the pen chassis 302 may house a processing system 304 and a memory system 306; the memory system 306 is coupled to the processing system 304 and may include instructions that, when executed by the processing system 304, cause the processing system 304 to provide a pressure input engine 308 that is configured to perform the functionality of the pressure input engines and active pens, as well as any other functionality, discussed below; and the pen chassis 302 may further house a communication subsystem 312 that is coupled to the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via a coupling between the communication subsystem 312 and the processing system 304) and that may be configured to provide for wireless communication via a network using IEEE 802.11 protocols (Wi-Fi), via wired communications (e.g., the Ethernet protocol), and or direct communications with the computing device 200 utilizing various direct wireless communication protocols such as Bluetooth®, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE), near field communication (NFC), infrared data association (IrDA), ANT, Zigbee, and other wireless communication protocols that allow for direct wireless communication between devices, and See also at least paragraphs[0025]-[0028] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches an active pen)), comprising:
a force sensor operable to determine an amount of force applied to at least one user input surface (314 FIGS. 3A-3B, paragraph[0027] of Bikumala teaches the pen chassis 302 may also include a pressure sensing system that includes a pressure sensitive gripping element 314 that is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a plurality of pressure sensors 314a, 314b, and up to 314c that are positioned about the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; while three pressure sensors 314a-314c are illustrated, on skilled in the art will in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a single pressure sensing device that is configured to perform the functionality discussed below, as well as a plurality of pressure sensors that are configured to perform the functionality discussed below; and the pressure sensors 314a-314c may include capacitive sensing device(s), force sensor(s) incorporating force sensing resistor(s), and/or displacement sensor(s) combined with springs or other resilient members to facilitate indirect measurements of force (e.g., linear variable transformers, optical encoders, and/or switches that close at a threshold forces.) For example, each pressure sensor 314a, 314b, and 314c may be accessible on the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 300 and at respective locations on the outer surface 302a where a user's index finger, middle finger, and thumb are typically used to hold a pen or pencil in a tripod support orientation that one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will appreciate is typically used when writing with conventional writing instruments, and See also at least paragraphs[0024]-[0026], and [0028] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches a pressure sensitive gripping element that facilitates measurement of force along the outer surface of then pen’s chassis)); and
a haptic engine configured to provide a haptic output, the haptic output provided at least partly in response to the amount of force satisfying a current configuration of a configurable user input force threshold and based at least partly on a predetermined parameter associated with the current configuration of the configurable user input force threshold (315 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0044] of Bikumala teaches if, at block 512, it is determined that the location of the pressure is not changing, then the method 500 may proceed to block 518 where it is determined whether the pressure change detected at block 510 is associated with an event; in an embodiment, at block 518 the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may determine whether the pressure change is associated with an event; for example, the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may compare the pressure change to the grip profiles 418 to determine whether the pressure change substantially corresponds with an event profile that is associated with an event and an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; for example, the event profile may include predetermined force thresholds that, when satisfied, indicate that the user interaction (e.g., the change in pressure) has provided an event which is associated with an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; in a specific example, when the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a first threshold, the event input may produce instructions to perform a mouse click on the graphical user interface, while if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a second threshold, the event input may produce instructions to “Select All” information displayed on the graphical user interface; furthermore, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 satisfies a third threshold, the event input associated with the third threshold may produce instructions to capture a screen shot of information displayed on the graphical user interface; in other embodiments, an event may not be associated with an event input, but rather may be associated with an instruction provided to the computer system 400 and/or the active pen 300; for example, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a maximum threshold where any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element 314, the event may include providing instructions to the haptic feedback device 315 to signal (e.g., light, sound, vibration, or other physical sensation) to the user 604 that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; in another example, the event profiles may be application specific such that pressure detected at a first threshold when a word processing application is running on the computing device may cause the word processing application to print a document, while pressure detected at the first threshold when a photo editing application is running on the computing device may cause the photo editing application to switch between colors; similarly, the event input(s) produced according to each event profile may depend on other conditions such as, for example, whether the pen tip 316 is engaged with the IHS display screen 204; and while a few examples have been described of producing an event input on a graphical user interface on an display screen 204, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize a wide variety of events and corresponding event inputs may be provided while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0043], and [0045]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based instructions stored in memory, and wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing)).
Regarding claim 4, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 1, wherein: the amount of force applied to the at least one user input surface is associated with an application of force and a release of force; and the haptic output is a first haptic output provided at least partly in response to the application of force satisfying the current configuration of the configurable user input force threshold (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0039] of Bikumala teaches following block 508, or after it is determined that the active pen is not present at the display screen in block 506, the method 500 may proceed to block 510 to determine whether the pressure sensed at the active pen is changing; in an embodiment, at block 510, the active pen 300 and/or the computer system 400 may determine whether the pressure being provided on the active pen 300 is changing (e.g., whether the first force data captured at the first time is different than second force data captured at a second time using, for example, the pressure signals generated by the pressure sensors 314a-314c on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314.); for example, at block 510 the user 604 may be providing different pressure(s) on the same pressure sensors at which the pressure was detected at block 504, or may remove all pressure from any of those sensors; in another example, pressure sensors that were not receiving any pressure at block 504 may receive pressure from the user 604 interaction at the second time at block 510; and if the pressure has not changed at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 at block 510, then the method 500 may proceed to block 504 where it is determined whether pressure is being sensed as discussed above, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0038], and [0040]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing)).
Regarding claim 5, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 4, wherein the haptic engine is configured to provide a second haptic output, the second haptic output provided at least partly in response to the release of force no longer satisfying a second user input force threshold and based at least partly on a second predetermined parameter associated with the second user input force threshold (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0039] of Bikumala teaches following block 508, or after it is determined that the active pen is not present at the display screen in block 506, the method 500 may proceed to block 510 to determine whether the pressure sensed at the active pen is changing; in an embodiment, at block 510, the active pen 300 and/or the computer system 400 may determine whether the pressure being provided on the active pen 300 is changing (e.g., whether the first force data captured at the first time is different than second force data captured at a second time using, for example, the pressure signals generated by the pressure sensors 314a-314c on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314.); for example, at block 510 the user 604 may be providing different pressure(s) on the same pressure sensors at which the pressure was detected at block 504, or may remove all pressure from any of those sensors; in another example, pressure sensors that were not receiving any pressure at block 504 may receive pressure from the user 604 interaction at the second time at block 510; and if the pressure has not changed at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 at block 510, then the method 500 may proceed to block 504 where it is determined whether pressure is being sensed as discussed above, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0038], and [0040]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing and the haptic feedback device provides vibrations or other tactile or haptic feedback according to the pressure changing)).
Regarding claim 6, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 5, wherein the second user input force threshold is equal to the current configuration of the configurable user input force threshold (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0039] of Bikumala teaches following block 508, or after it is determined that the active pen is not present at the display screen in block 506, the method 500 may proceed to block 510 to determine whether the pressure sensed at the active pen is changing; in an embodiment, at block 510, the active pen 300 and/or the computer system 400 may determine whether the pressure being provided on the active pen 300 is changing (e.g., whether the first force data captured at the first time is different than second force data captured at a second time using, for example, the pressure signals generated by the pressure sensors 314a-314c on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314.); for example, at block 510 the user 604 may be providing different pressure(s) on the same pressure sensors at which the pressure was detected at block 504, or may remove all pressure from any of those sensors; in another example, pressure sensors that were not receiving any pressure at block 504 may receive pressure from the user 604 interaction at the second time at block 510; and if the pressure has not changed at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 at block 510, then the method 500 may proceed to block 504 where it is determined whether pressure is being sensed as discussed above, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0038], and [0040]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing and the haptic feedback device provides vibrations or other tactile or haptic feedback according to the pressure changing)).
Regarding claim 7, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 1, further comprising a device housing, the device housing defining the at least one user input surface (302, 302a FIGS. 3A-3B, paragraph[0027] of Bikumala teaches the pen chassis 302 may also include a pressure sensing system that includes a pressure sensitive gripping element 314 that is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a plurality of pressure sensors 314a, 314b, and up to 314c that are positioned about the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; while three pressure sensors 314a-314c are illustrated, on skilled in the art will in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a single pressure sensing device that is configured to perform the functionality discussed below, as well as a plurality of pressure sensors that are configured to perform the functionality discussed below; the pressure sensors 314a-314c may include capacitive sensing device(s), force sensor(s) incorporating force sensing resistor(s), and/or displacement sensor(s) combined with springs or other resilient members to facilitate indirect measurements of force (e.g., linear variable transformers, optical encoders, and/or switches that close at a threshold forces.); and for example, each pressure sensor 314a, 314b, and 314c may be accessible on the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 300 and at respective locations on the outer surface 302a where a user's index finger, middle finger, and thumb are typically used to hold a pen or pencil in a tripod support orientation that one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will appreciate is typically used when writing with conventional writing instruments, and See also at least paragraphs[0024]-[0026], and [0028] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having with a pens chassis that includes the pressure sensitive gripping element, which is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface of the pen chassis)).
Regarding claim 8, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 7, wherein the device housing is a stylus housing (302 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 5-6C, paragraph[0027] of Bikumala teaches the pen chassis 302 may also include a pressure sensing system that includes a pressure sensitive gripping element 314 that is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a plurality of pressure sensors 314a, 314b, and up to 314c that are positioned about the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; while three pressure sensors 314a-314c are illustrated, on skilled in the art will in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a single pressure sensing device that is configured to perform the functionality discussed below, as well as a plurality of pressure sensors that are configured to perform the functionality discussed below; the pressure sensors 314a-314c may include capacitive sensing device(s), force sensor(s) incorporating force sensing resistor(s), and/or displacement sensor(s) combined with springs or other resilient members to facilitate indirect measurements of force (e.g., linear variable transformers, optical encoders, and/or switches that close at a threshold forces.); and for example, each pressure sensor 314a, 314b, and 314c may be accessible on the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 300 and at respective locations on the outer surface 302a where a user's index finger, middle finger, and thumb are typically used to hold a pen or pencil in a tripod support orientation that one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will appreciate is typically used when writing with conventional writing instruments, and See also at least paragraphs[0024]-[0026], [0028], and [0033]-[0036] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having with a pens chassis that includes the pressure sensitive gripping element, which is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface of the pen chassis)).
Regarding claim 9, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 1, wherein the force sensor is a squeeze force sensor (314 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0044] of Bikumala teaches if, at block 512, it is determined that the location of the pressure is not changing, then the method 500 may proceed to block 518 where it is determined whether the pressure change detected at block 510 is associated with an event; in an embodiment, at block 518 the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may determine whether the pressure change is associated with an event; for example, the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may compare the pressure change to the grip profiles 418 to determine whether the pressure change substantially corresponds with an event profile that is associated with an event and an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; for example, the event profile may include predetermined force thresholds that, when satisfied, indicate that the user interaction (e.g., the change in pressure) has provided an event which is associated with an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; in a specific example, when the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a first threshold, the event input may produce instructions to perform a mouse click on the graphical user interface, while if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a second threshold, the event input may produce instructions to “Select All” information displayed on the graphical user interface; furthermore, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 satisfies a third threshold, the event input associated with the third threshold may produce instructions to capture a screen shot of information displayed on the graphical user interface; in other embodiments, an event may not be associated with an event input, but rather may be associated with an instruction provided to the computer system 400 and/or the active pen 300; for example, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a maximum threshold where any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element 314, the event may include providing instructions to the haptic feedback device 315 to signal (e.g., light, sound, vibration, or other physical sensation) to the user 604 that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; in another example, the event profiles may be application specific such that pressure detected at a first threshold when a word processing application is running on the computing device may cause the word processing application to print a document, while pressure detected at the first threshold when a photo editing application is running on the computing device may cause the photo editing application to switch between colors; similarly, the event input(s) produced according to each event profile may depend on other conditions such as, for example, whether the pen tip 316 is engaged with the IHS display screen 204; and while a few examples have been described of producing an event input on a graphical user interface on an display screen 204, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize a wide variety of events and corresponding event inputs may be provided while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure, and See also at least paragraphs[0024]-[0029], [0033]-[0043] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches a pressure sensitive gripping element that facilitates measurement of force (e.g., measurement of change in squeeze pressure or gripping pressure) along the outer surface of then pen’s chassis)).
Regarding claim 11, Bikumala teaches a user input device (300 FIGS. 3A-3B, paragraph[0024] of Bikumala teaches referring now to FIGS. 3A and 3B, and embodiment of an active pen 300 is illustrated; in different embodiments, the active pen 300 may be a capacitive active pen, other active pens discussed above, and/or a variety of other active pen types that may be configured to send signals to computing devices and/or their display screens in order to, for example, allow for the spatial locating of the active pen relative to the display screens; the active pen 300 includes a pen chassis 302 that houses the components of the active pen 300, only some of which are illustrated in FIG. 3B; for example, the pen chassis 302 may house a processing system 304 and a memory system 306; the memory system 306 is coupled to the processing system 304 and may include instructions that, when executed by the processing system 304, cause the processing system 304 to provide a pressure input engine 308 that is configured to perform the functionality of the pressure input engines and active pens, as well as any other functionality, discussed below; and the pen chassis 302 may further house a communication subsystem 312 that is coupled to the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via a coupling between the communication subsystem 312 and the processing system 304) and that may be configured to provide for wireless communication via a network using IEEE 802.11 protocols (Wi-Fi), via wired communications (e.g., the Ethernet protocol), and or direct communications with the computing device 200 utilizing various direct wireless communication protocols such as Bluetooth®, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE), near field communication (NFC), infrared data association (IrDA), ANT, Zigbee, and other wireless communication protocols that allow for direct wireless communication between devices, and See also at least paragraphs[0025]-[0028] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches an active pen)), comprising:
a force sensor operable to determine an amount of force applied to at least one user input surface (314 FIGS. 3A-3B, paragraph[0027] of Bikumala teaches the pen chassis 302 may also include a pressure sensing system that includes a pressure sensitive gripping element 314 that is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a plurality of pressure sensors 314a, 314b, and up to 314c that are positioned about the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; while three pressure sensors 314a-314c are illustrated, on skilled in the art will in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a single pressure sensing device that is configured to perform the functionality discussed below, as well as a plurality of pressure sensors that are configured to perform the functionality discussed below; and the pressure sensors 314a-314c may include capacitive sensing device(s), force sensor(s) incorporating force sensing resistor(s), and/or displacement sensor(s) combined with springs or other resilient members to facilitate indirect measurements of force (e.g., linear variable transformers, optical encoders, and/or switches that close at a threshold forces.) For example, each pressure sensor 314a, 314b, and 314c may be accessible on the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 300 and at respective locations on the outer surface 302a where a user's index finger, middle finger, and thumb are typically used to hold a pen or pencil in a tripod support orientation that one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will appreciate is typically used when writing with conventional writing instruments, and See also at least paragraphs[0025]-[0026], and [0028] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches a pressure sensitive gripping element that facilitates measurement of force along the outer surface of then pen’s chassis));
control circuitry configured to determine whether a set of one or more conditions is satisfied (308 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0035] of Bikumala teaches the method 500 then proceeds to block 504 where it is determined whether pressure is sensed at the active pen; in an embodiment, at block 504, the pressure input engine 308 in the active pen 300 may determine at block 504 whether a pressure is being applied to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; for example, at block 504 the pressure input engine 308 may monitor for a signal generated by the one or more of the pressure sensors 314a-314c; if pressure is sensed at block 504, then the pressure input engine 308 may enter a pressure input mode where pressure and, in some embodiments, location of that pressure, that is detected at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may be used to provide inputs to a graphical user interface provided for display on the display screen 204; for example, pressure may be sensed by the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via the pressure sensors 314a-314c) when a predetermined threshold pressure is satisfied; monitoring for a predetermined threshold pressure may operate to prevent the provisioning of pressure inputs in situations where the active pen 300 is resting on the surface 602 in FIG. 6A, or inserted into an active pen holder that has a surface that may provide a pressure to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 due to the weight of the active pen 300 and/or movement of the active pen within the active pen holder; in another example, pressure may be sensed by the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via the pressure sensors 314a-314c) when at least two locations on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 experience any pressure, or pressure that exceeds the predetermined pressure threshold; in yet another example, a pressure based application 416 (e.g., a drawing application) may be running on the computing device 400 and may be communicating with the pressure input engine 308 via the communication subsystems 312 and 410 to, for example, provided instructions that pressure inputs provided on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 should be captured; while a few examples have been provided of determining whether pressure is sensed at the active pen 300 at block 504, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that a wide variety of pressure sensing scenarios that result in pressure being sensed at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 in order to activate a pressure input mode of the active pen 300 will fall within the scope of the present disclosure as well; and if, at block 504, pressure is not sensed at the active pen 300, the method returns to block 502 where the operating mode of the active pen 300 remains in an idle mode, or is switched to an idle mode (e.g., if pressure is not sensed at the active pen for some minimum amount of time), and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], [0033]-[0034], [0036]-[0043], and [0044]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based instructions stored in memory, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing, and wherein the active pen chassis has a processing system that provides a pressure input engine that is circuitry for sensing pressure when a predetermined threshold pressure is satisfied)); and
a haptic engine configured to provide a haptic output, the haptic output provided at least partly in response to the amount of force satisfying a first user input force threshold when the set of one or more conditions is not satisfied, the haptic output provided at least partly in response to the amount of force satisfying a second user input force threshold while the set of one or more conditions is satisfied or within a time period after the set of one or more conditions is satisfied, and the second user input force threshold greater than the first user input force threshold (315 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0044] of Bikumala teaches if, at block 512, it is determined that the location of the pressure is not changing, then the method 500 may proceed to block 518 where it is determined whether the pressure change detected at block 510 is associated with an event; in an embodiment, at block 518 the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may determine whether the pressure change is associated with an event; for example, the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may compare the pressure change to the grip profiles 418 to determine whether the pressure change substantially corresponds with an event profile that is associated with an event and an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; for example, the event profile may include predetermined force thresholds that, when satisfied, indicate that the user interaction (e.g., the change in pressure) has provided an event which is associated with an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; in a specific example, when the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a first threshold, the event input may produce instructions to perform a mouse click on the graphical user interface, while if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a second threshold, the event input may produce instructions to “Select All” information displayed on the graphical user interface; furthermore, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 satisfies a third threshold, the event input associated with the third threshold may produce instructions to capture a screen shot of information displayed on the graphical user interface; in other embodiments, an event may not be associated with an event input, but rather may be associated with an instruction provided to the computer system 400 and/or the active pen 300; for example, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a maximum threshold where any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element 314, the event may include providing instructions to the haptic feedback device 315 to signal (e.g., light, sound, vibration, or other physical sensation) to the user 604 that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; in another example, the event profiles may be application specific such that pressure detected at a first threshold when a word processing application is running on the computing device may cause the word processing application to print a document, while pressure detected at the first threshold when a photo editing application is running on the computing device may cause the photo editing application to switch between colors; similarly, the event input(s) produced according to each event profile may depend on other conditions such as, for example, whether the pen tip 316 is engaged with the IHS display screen 204; and while a few examples have been described of producing an event input on a graphical user interface on an display screen 204, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize a wide variety of events and corresponding event inputs may be provided while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0043], and [0045]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing to a greater or lesser amount and the haptic feedback device provides vibrations or other tactile or haptic feedback according to the pressure changing)).
Regarding claim 12, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 11, further comprising: a stylus housing defining the at least one user input surface (302 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 5-6C, paragraph[0027] of Bikumala teaches the pen chassis 302 may also include a pressure sensing system that includes a pressure sensitive gripping element 314 that is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a plurality of pressure sensors 314a, 314b, and up to 314c that are positioned about the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; while three pressure sensors 314a-314c are illustrated, on skilled in the art will in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a single pressure sensing device that is configured to perform the functionality discussed below, as well as a plurality of pressure sensors that are configured to perform the functionality discussed below; the pressure sensors 314a-314c may include capacitive sensing device(s), force sensor(s) incorporating force sensing resistor(s), and/or displacement sensor(s) combined with springs or other resilient members to facilitate indirect measurements of force (e.g., linear variable transformers, optical encoders, and/or switches that close at a threshold forces.); and for example, each pressure sensor 314a, 314b, and 314c may be accessible on the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 300 and at respective locations on the outer surface 302a where a user's index finger, middle finger, and thumb are typically used to hold a pen or pencil in a tripod support orientation that one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will appreciate is typically used when writing with conventional writing instruments, and See also at least paragraphs[0024]-[0026], [0028], and [0033]-[0036] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having with a pens chassis that includes the pressure sensitive gripping element, which is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface of the pen chassis)); wherein, the set of one or more conditions includes a movement of the stylus housing, the movement suggesting an intention of a user to, write using the user input device; or draw using the user input device (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0035] of Bikumala teaches the method 500 then proceeds to block 504 where it is determined whether pressure is sensed at the active pen; in an embodiment, at block 504, the pressure input engine 308 in the active pen 300 may determine at block 504 whether a pressure is being applied to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; for example, at block 504 the pressure input engine 308 may monitor for a signal generated by the one or more of the pressure sensors 314a-314c; if pressure is sensed at block 504, then the pressure input engine 308 may enter a pressure input mode where pressure and, in some embodiments, location of that pressure, that is detected at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may be used to provide inputs to a graphical user interface provided for display on the display screen 204; for example, pressure may be sensed by the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via the pressure sensors 314a-314c) when a predetermined threshold pressure is satisfied; monitoring for a predetermined threshold pressure may operate to prevent the provisioning of pressure inputs in situations where the active pen 300 is resting on the surface 602 in FIG. 6A, or inserted into an active pen holder that has a surface that may provide a pressure to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 due to the weight of the active pen 300 and/or movement of the active pen within the active pen holder; in another example, pressure may be sensed by the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via the pressure sensors 314a-314c) when at least two locations on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 experience any pressure, or pressure that exceeds the predetermined pressure threshold; in yet another example, a pressure based application 416 (e.g., a drawing application) may be running on the computing device 400 and may be communicating with the pressure input engine 308 via the communication subsystems 312 and 410 to, for example, provided instructions that pressure inputs provided on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 should be captured; while a few examples have been provided of determining whether pressure is sensed at the active pen 300 at block 504, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that a wide variety of pressure sensing scenarios that result in pressure being sensed at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 in order to activate a pressure input mode of the active pen 300 will fall within the scope of the present disclosure as well; and if, at block 504, pressure is not sensed at the active pen 300, the method returns to block 502 where the operating mode of the active pen 300 remains in an idle mode, or is switched to an idle mode (e.g., if pressure is not sensed at the active pen for some minimum amount of time), and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], [0033]-[0034], [0036]-[0043], and [0044]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based instructions stored in memory, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing, and wherein the active pen chassis has a processing system that provides a pressure input engine that is circuitry for sensing pressure and even movement of the active pen within an active pen holder, which could indicate an intent of user to write or draw, when a predetermined threshold pressure is satisfied)).
Regarding claim 13, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 11, further wherein the set of one or more conditions includes an interaction of the user input device with another device (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0035] of Bikumala teaches the method 500 then proceeds to block 504 where it is determined whether pressure is sensed at the active pen; in an embodiment, at block 504, the pressure input engine 308 in the active pen 300 may determine at block 504 whether a pressure is being applied to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; for example, at block 504 the pressure input engine 308 may monitor for a signal generated by the one or more of the pressure sensors 314a-314c; if pressure is sensed at block 504, then the pressure input engine 308 may enter a pressure input mode where pressure and, in some embodiments, location of that pressure, that is detected at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may be used to provide inputs to a graphical user interface provided for display on the display screen 204; for example, pressure may be sensed by the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via the pressure sensors 314a-314c) when a predetermined threshold pressure is satisfied; monitoring for a predetermined threshold pressure may operate to prevent the provisioning of pressure inputs in situations where the active pen 300 is resting on the surface 602 in FIG. 6A, or inserted into an active pen holder that has a surface that may provide a pressure to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 due to the weight of the active pen 300 and/or movement of the active pen within the active pen holder; in another example, pressure may be sensed by the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via the pressure sensors 314a-314c) when at least two locations on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 experience any pressure, or pressure that exceeds the predetermined pressure threshold; in yet another example, a pressure based application 416 (e.g., a drawing application) may be running on the computing device 400 and may be communicating with the pressure input engine 308 via the communication subsystems 312 and 410 to, for example, provided instructions that pressure inputs provided on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 should be captured; while a few examples have been provided of determining whether pressure is sensed at the active pen 300 at block 504, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that a wide variety of pressure sensing scenarios that result in pressure being sensed at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 in order to activate a pressure input mode of the active pen 300 will fall within the scope of the present disclosure as well; and if, at block 504, pressure is not sensed at the active pen 300, the method returns to block 502 where the operating mode of the active pen 300 remains in an idle mode, or is switched to an idle mode (e.g., if pressure is not sensed at the active pen for some minimum amount of time), and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], [0033]-[0034], [0036]-[0043], and [0044]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based instructions stored in memory, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing, and wherein the active pen chassis has a processing system that provides a pressure input engine that is circuitry for sensing pressure, detecting engagement of pen tip of the active pen with a display screen a computing device and even movement of the active pen within an active pen holder, which could indicate an intent of user to write or draw, when a predetermined threshold pressure is satisfied)).
Regarding claim 14, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 11, further comprising: a stylus housing defining the at least one user input surface (302 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 5-6C, paragraph[0027] of Bikumala teaches the pen chassis 302 may also include a pressure sensing system that includes a pressure sensitive gripping element 314 that is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a plurality of pressure sensors 314a, 314b, and up to 314c that are positioned about the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 302; while three pressure sensors 314a-314c are illustrated, on skilled in the art will in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may include a single pressure sensing device that is configured to perform the functionality discussed below, as well as a plurality of pressure sensors that are configured to perform the functionality discussed below; the pressure sensors 314a-314c may include capacitive sensing device(s), force sensor(s) incorporating force sensing resistor(s), and/or displacement sensor(s) combined with springs or other resilient members to facilitate indirect measurements of force (e.g., linear variable transformers, optical encoders, and/or switches that close at a threshold forces.); and for example, each pressure sensor 314a, 314b, and 314c may be accessible on the outer surface 302a of the pen chassis 300 and at respective locations on the outer surface 302a where a user's index finger, middle finger, and thumb are typically used to hold a pen or pencil in a tripod support orientation that one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will appreciate is typically used when writing with conventional writing instruments, and See also at least paragraphs[0024]-[0026], [0028], and [0033]-[0036] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having with a pens chassis that includes the pressure sensitive gripping element, which is accessible on at least a portion of an outer surface of the pen chassis)); wherein, the set of one or more conditions includes a positioning of the stylus housing proximate a cover over a display of a tablet computer (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0035] of Bikumala teaches the method 500 then proceeds to block 504 where it is determined whether pressure is sensed at the active pen; in an embodiment, at block 504, the pressure input engine 308 in the active pen 300 may determine at block 504 whether a pressure is being applied to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; for example, at block 504 the pressure input engine 308 may monitor for a signal generated by the one or more of the pressure sensors 314a-314c; if pressure is sensed at block 504, then the pressure input engine 308 may enter a pressure input mode where pressure and, in some embodiments, location of that pressure, that is detected at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 may be used to provide inputs to a graphical user interface provided for display on the display screen 204; for example, pressure may be sensed by the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via the pressure sensors 314a-314c) when a predetermined threshold pressure is satisfied; monitoring for a predetermined threshold pressure may operate to prevent the provisioning of pressure inputs in situations where the active pen 300 is resting on the surface 602 in FIG. 6A, or inserted into an active pen holder that has a surface that may provide a pressure to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 due to the weight of the active pen 300 and/or movement of the active pen within the active pen holder; in another example, pressure may be sensed by the pressure input engine 308 (e.g., via the pressure sensors 314a-314c) when at least two locations on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 experience any pressure, or pressure that exceeds the predetermined pressure threshold; in yet another example, a pressure based application 416 (e.g., a drawing application) may be running on the computing device 400 and may be communicating with the pressure input engine 308 via the communication subsystems 312 and 410 to, for example, provided instructions that pressure inputs provided on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 should be captured; while a few examples have been provided of determining whether pressure is sensed at the active pen 300 at block 504, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that a wide variety of pressure sensing scenarios that result in pressure being sensed at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 in order to activate a pressure input mode of the active pen 300 will fall within the scope of the present disclosure as well; and if, at block 504, pressure is not sensed at the active pen 300, the method returns to block 502 where the operating mode of the active pen 300 remains in an idle mode, or is switched to an idle mode (e.g., if pressure is not sensed at the active pen for some minimum amount of time), and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], [0033]-[0034], [0036]-[0043], and [0044]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based instructions stored in memory, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing, and wherein the active pen chassis has a processing system that provides a pressure input engine that is circuitry for sensing pressure, detecting engagement of pen tip of the active pen with a display screen a computing device and even movement of the active pen within an active pen holder, which could indicate an intent of user to write or draw, when a predetermined threshold pressure is satisfied)).
Regarding claim 15, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 11, wherein the first user input force threshold is a current configuration of a configurable user input force threshold (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0039] of Bikumala teaches following block 508, or after it is determined that the active pen is not present at the display screen in block 506, the method 500 may proceed to block 510 to determine whether the pressure sensed at the active pen is changing; in an embodiment, at block 510, the active pen 300 and/or the computer system 400 may determine whether the pressure being provided on the active pen 300 is changing (e.g., whether the first force data captured at the first time is different than second force data captured at a second time using, for example, the pressure signals generated by the pressure sensors 314a-314c on the pressure sensitive gripping element 314.); for example, at block 510 the user 604 may be providing different pressure(s) on the same pressure sensors at which the pressure was detected at block 504, or may remove all pressure from any of those sensors; in another example, pressure sensors that were not receiving any pressure at block 504 may receive pressure from the user 604 interaction at the second time at block 510; and if the pressure has not changed at the pressure sensitive gripping element 314 at block 510, then the method 500 may proceed to block 504 where it is determined whether pressure is being sensed as discussed above, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0038], and [0040]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing and the haptic feedback device provides vibrations or other tactile or haptic feedback according to the pressure changing)).
Regarding claim 16, Bikumala teaches the user input device of claim 11, wherein the force sensor is a squeeze force sensor (314 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0044] of Bikumala teaches if, at block 512, it is determined that the location of the pressure is not changing, then the method 500 may proceed to block 518 where it is determined whether the pressure change detected at block 510 is associated with an event; in an embodiment, at block 518 the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may determine whether the pressure change is associated with an event; for example, the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may compare the pressure change to the grip profiles 418 to determine whether the pressure change substantially corresponds with an event profile that is associated with an event and an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; for example, the event profile may include predetermined force thresholds that, when satisfied, indicate that the user interaction (e.g., the change in pressure) has provided an event which is associated with an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; in a specific example, when the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a first threshold, the event input may produce instructions to perform a mouse click on the graphical user interface, while if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a second threshold, the event input may produce instructions to “Select All” information displayed on the graphical user interface; furthermore, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 satisfies a third threshold, the event input associated with the third threshold may produce instructions to capture a screen shot of information displayed on the graphical user interface; in other embodiments, an event may not be associated with an event input, but rather may be associated with an instruction provided to the computer system 400 and/or the active pen 300; for example, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a maximum threshold where any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element 314, the event may include providing instructions to the haptic feedback device 315 to signal (e.g., light, sound, vibration, or other physical sensation) to the user 604 that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; in another example, the event profiles may be application specific such that pressure detected at a first threshold when a word processing application is running on the computing device may cause the word processing application to print a document, while pressure detected at the first threshold when a photo editing application is running on the computing device may cause the photo editing application to switch between colors; similarly, the event input(s) produced according to each event profile may depend on other conditions such as, for example, whether the pen tip 316 is engaged with the IHS display screen 204; and while a few examples have been described of producing an event input on a graphical user interface on an display screen 204, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize a wide variety of events and corresponding event inputs may be provided while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure, and See also at least paragraphs[0024]-[0029], [0033]-[0043] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches a pressure sensitive gripping element that facilitates measurement of force (e.g., measurement of change in squeeze pressure or gripping pressure) along the outer surface of then pen’s chassis)).
Regarding claim 17, Bikumala teaches a method of operating a user input device (300 FIGS. 3A-3B, and 5, paragraph[0036] of Bikumala teaches if, at block 504, it is determined that pressure is sensed at the active pen, a pressure input mode may be initialized and the method 500 then proceeds to block 506 where it is determined whether the active pen is engaged with a display screen; in an embodiment, at block 506 and referring to FIG. 6B and FIG. 6C, the pressure input engine 308 may operate to detect whether the pen tip 316 of the active pen 300 has engaged the display screen 204 of the computing device 200; in an embodiment, “engagement” of the pen tip 316 and the display screen 204 may be detected by the engagement sensor 318 and/or the display screen presence sensor 408, and may include direct physical contact between the pen tip 316 and the display screen 204 (e.g., as detected by pressure engagement sensor 318), electrical communication between the pen tip 316 and the display screen 204 resulting from the positioning the pen tip 316 within a minimum distance from the display screen 204 with or without actually physically contacting the pen tip 316 and the display screen 204 (e.g., detected by an capacitive engagement sensor included in the display screen presence sensor 408), and/or a variety of other engagement scenarios that would be apparent to one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure; thus, in some embodiments of block 506, the pressure input engine 308 may monitor the engagement sensor 318 to determine whether engagement of the pen tip 316 and the display screen 204 is detected (or not detected) for a predetermined time period; in an example, as illustrated in FIG. 6B, the active pen 300 may be detected as engaging the display screen 204 when the pen tip 316 is detected by the engagement sensor 318 and a pressure based application 416 is running on the computer system 400; in another example, the active pen 300 may be detected as engaged with the display screen 204 when the pressure based application 416 is running on the computer system 400 and the pen tip 316 is providing pen tip inputs to that pressure based application 416 via communication with a virtual touch display screen that do not require the pen tip 316 actually physically contact the display screen 204; FIG. 6C illustrates how the active pen 300 may not be engaged with the display screen 204 when the user 604 has moved the active pen 300 away from the display screen such that the pen tip 316 is not in physical contact with the display screen 204 and, as discussed below, the active pen 300 of the present disclosure may be utilized to provide inputs to the computing device 200 in such scenarios as well; and while a few examples have been provided of determining whether the active pen 300 is engaged with or disengaged from the display screen 204, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize that a wide variety of active pen/computing engagement scenarios will fall within the scope of the present disclosure as well, and See also at least paragraphs[0024]-[0028], [0033]-[0035], and [0037]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches an active pen, and a method for providing inputs of the active pen to a computing device)), comprising:
determining a selected user input force threshold; determining a parameter of a haptic output based at least in part on the selected user input force threshold; determining that an amount of force applied to at least one user input surface of the user input device satisfies the selected user input force threshold; and triggering, at least partly in response to the amount of force applied to the at least one user input surface satisfying the selected user input force threshold, the haptic output, the haptic output based at least in part on the parameter of the haptic output (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0044] of Bikumala teaches if, at block 512, it is determined that the location of the pressure is not changing, then the method 500 may proceed to block 518 where it is determined whether the pressure change detected at block 510 is associated with an event; in an embodiment, at block 518 the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may determine whether the pressure change is associated with an event; for example, the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may compare the pressure change to the grip profiles 418 to determine whether the pressure change substantially corresponds with an event profile that is associated with an event and an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; for example, the event profile may include predetermined force thresholds that, when satisfied, indicate that the user interaction (e.g., the change in pressure) has provided an event which is associated with an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; in a specific example, when the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a first threshold, the event input may produce instructions to perform a mouse click on the graphical user interface, while if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a second threshold, the event input may produce instructions to “Select All” information displayed on the graphical user interface; furthermore, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 satisfies a third threshold, the event input associated with the third threshold may produce instructions to capture a screen shot of information displayed on the graphical user interface; in other embodiments, an event may not be associated with an event input, but rather may be associated with an instruction provided to the computer system 400 and/or the active pen 300; for example, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a maximum threshold where any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element 314, the event may include providing instructions to the haptic feedback device 315 to signal (e.g., light, sound, vibration, or other physical sensation) to the user 604 that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; in another example, the event profiles may be application specific such that pressure detected at a first threshold when a word processing application is running on the computing device may cause the word processing application to print a document, while pressure detected at the first threshold when a photo editing application is running on the computing device may cause the photo editing application to switch between colors; similarly, the event input(s) produced according to each event profile may depend on other conditions such as, for example, whether the pen tip 316 is engaged with the IHS display screen 204; and while a few examples have been described of producing an event input on a graphical user interface on an display screen 204, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize a wide variety of events and corresponding event inputs may be provided while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0043], and [0045]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing to a greater or lesser amount and the haptic feedback device provides vibrations or other tactile or haptic feedback according to the pressure changing)).
Regarding claim 18, Bikumala teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the determined parameter of the haptic output is associated with the selected user input force threshold (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0044] of Bikumala teaches if, at block 512, it is determined that the location of the pressure is not changing, then the method 500 may proceed to block 518 where it is determined whether the pressure change detected at block 510 is associated with an event; in an embodiment, at block 518 the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may determine whether the pressure change is associated with an event; for example, the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may compare the pressure change to the grip profiles 418 to determine whether the pressure change substantially corresponds with an event profile that is associated with an event and an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; for example, the event profile may include predetermined force thresholds that, when satisfied, indicate that the user interaction (e.g., the change in pressure) has provided an event which is associated with an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; in a specific example, when the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a first threshold, the event input may produce instructions to perform a mouse click on the graphical user interface, while if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a second threshold, the event input may produce instructions to “Select All” information displayed on the graphical user interface; furthermore, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 satisfies a third threshold, the event input associated with the third threshold may produce instructions to capture a screen shot of information displayed on the graphical user interface; in other embodiments, an event may not be associated with an event input, but rather may be associated with an instruction provided to the computer system 400 and/or the active pen 300; for example, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a maximum threshold where any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element 314, the event may include providing instructions to the haptic feedback device 315 to signal (e.g., light, sound, vibration, or other physical sensation) to the user 604 that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; in another example, the event profiles may be application specific such that pressure detected at a first threshold when a word processing application is running on the computing device may cause the word processing application to print a document, while pressure detected at the first threshold when a photo editing application is running on the computing device may cause the photo editing application to switch between colors; similarly, the event input(s) produced according to each event profile may depend on other conditions such as, for example, whether the pen tip 316 is engaged with the IHS display screen 204; and while a few examples have been described of producing an event input on a graphical user interface on an display screen 204, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize a wide variety of events and corresponding event inputs may be provided while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0043], and [0045]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing to a greater or lesser amount and the haptic feedback device provides vibrations or other tactile or haptic feedback according to the pressure changing)).
Regarding claim 19, Bikumala teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising: determining a set of one or more conditions is satisfied; determining a second user input force threshold that exceeds the selected user input force threshold by a predetermined amount; determining a second parameter of a second haptic output based at least in part on the second user input force threshold; determining, at least one of while the set of one or more conditions is satisfied or within a time period after the set of one or more conditions is satisfied, that a second amount of force applied to the user input device satisfies the second user input force threshold; and triggering, at least partly in response to the determination the second amount of force applied to the user input device satisfies the second user input force threshold, the second haptic output, the second haptic output based at least in part on the second parameter of the second haptic output (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0044] of Bikumala teaches if, at block 512, it is determined that the location of the pressure is not changing, then the method 500 may proceed to block 518 where it is determined whether the pressure change detected at block 510 is associated with an event; in an embodiment, at block 518 the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may determine whether the pressure change is associated with an event; for example, the pressure input engine 308, the display engine 404, and/or the application engine 412 may compare the pressure change to the grip profiles 418 to determine whether the pressure change substantially corresponds with an event profile that is associated with an event and an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; for example, the event profile may include predetermined force thresholds that, when satisfied, indicate that the user interaction (e.g., the change in pressure) has provided an event which is associated with an event input that should be produced on the graphical user interface; in a specific example, when the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a first threshold, the event input may produce instructions to perform a mouse click on the graphical user interface, while if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a second threshold, the event input may produce instructions to “Select All” information displayed on the graphical user interface; furthermore, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 satisfies a third threshold, the event input associated with the third threshold may produce instructions to capture a screen shot of information displayed on the graphical user interface; in other embodiments, an event may not be associated with an event input, but rather may be associated with an instruction provided to the computer system 400 and/or the active pen 300; for example, if the pressure detected on the active pen 300 reaches a maximum threshold where any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element 314, the event may include providing instructions to the haptic feedback device 315 to signal (e.g., light, sound, vibration, or other physical sensation) to the user 604 that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element 314; in another example, the event profiles may be application specific such that pressure detected at a first threshold when a word processing application is running on the computing device may cause the word processing application to print a document, while pressure detected at the first threshold when a photo editing application is running on the computing device may cause the photo editing application to switch between colors; similarly, the event input(s) produced according to each event profile may depend on other conditions such as, for example, whether the pen tip 316 is engaged with the IHS display screen 204; and while a few examples have been described of producing an event input on a graphical user interface on an display screen 204, one of skill in the art in possession of the present disclosure will recognize a wide variety of events and corresponding event inputs may be provided while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure, and See also at least ABSTRACT, paragraphs[0024]-[0029], and [0033]-[0043], and [0045]-[0047] of Bikumala (i.e., Bikumala teaches the active pen having a haptic feedback device that signals, such as via vibration or other physical sensation, to the user that a maximum threshold that is capable of being set has been reached and that too much pressure is being provided to the pressure sensitive gripping element such that any further pressure may damage the pressure sensitive gripping element, wherein the vibration is based on instructions stored in memory, and wherein the amount of pressure is capable of changing to a greater or lesser amount and the haptic feedback device provides vibrations or other tactile or haptic feedback according to the pressure changing)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikumala, in view of Woo et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0210757 A1 (hereinafter Woo).
Regarding claim 10, Bikumala teach the user input device of claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the force sensor comprises a strain gauge.
However, Woo teaches wherein the force sensor comprises a strain gauge (FIGS. 3A-3B, and 6A-6C, paragraph[0049] of Woo teaches the grip sensor 140 detects change in pressure or capacitance corresponding to a grip state by the user; the grip sensor may include a resistive touch sensor, a C-type capacitive touch sensor, and a strain gauge sensor; in this case, the resistive touch sensor may be defined as a sensor for recognizing coordinates corresponding to change in resistance generated by the user's input to detect change in pressure; furthermore, the C-type capacitive touch sensor may be defined as a sensor for recognizing coordinates through change in capacitance generated by the user's input; in addition, the strain gauge sensor recognizes the inner value of the sensor that is changed by pressure generated by the user to detect change in pressure; according to an alternative implementation, the grip state can be detected by using a proximity sensor rather than the grip sensor; and for example, when the user holds the electronic device, the proximity sensor detects whether an object (that is, the user's hand) is proximate to the proximity sensor and outputs a relevant signal (i.e., Woo teaches a grip sensor that includes a strain gauge sensor)).
Furthermore, Bikumala and Woo are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a virtual reality device, and involve the same problem of forming the virtual reality device to suitably control a cursor. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bikumala based on Woo wherein the force sensor comprises a strain gauge. One reason for the modification as taught by Woo is to have an apparatus for inputting a character in an electronic device (paragraph[0002] of Woo).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikumala, in view of Gajiwala et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0240282 A1 (hereinafter Gajiwala).
Regarding claim 20, Bikumala teach the method of claim 17, but does not expressly teach wherein the parameter of the haptic output is retrieved from a stored set of parameters associated with respective possible selections of the user input force threshold.
However, Gajiwala teaches wherein the parameter of the haptic output is retrieved from a stored set of parameters associated with respective possible selections of the user input force threshold (FIGS. 1, paragraph[0039] of Gajiwala teaches the disk drive unit 116 and the haptic feedback keyboard and touchpad control system 132 may include a computer-readable medium 122 in which one or more sets of instructions 124 such as software may be embedded; similarly, main memory 104 and static memory 106 may also contain a computer-readable medium for storage of one or more sets of instructions, parameters, or profiles 124 including haptic feedback modulation instructions that allow for a user to input a desired level of haptic feedback at a key or location on a touchpad; the disk drive unit 116 and static memory 106 may also contain space for data storage; further, the instructions 124 may embody one or more of the methods or logic as described herein; for example, instructions relating to the haptic feedback keyboard and touchpad control system 132 software algorithms, processes, and/or methods may be stored here; and in a particular embodiment, the instructions, parameters, and profiles 124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 104, the static memory 106, and/or within the disk drive 116 during execution by the processor 102 of information handling system 100 (i.e., Gajiwala teaches a computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions, parameters, or profiles that include haptic feedback modulation instructions for inputting and thereby obtaining a desired level of haptic feedback at a desired key location on a touch pad)).
Furthermore, Bikumala and Gajiwala are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a input device, and involve the same problem of forming the input device to suitably provide haptic feedback. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bikumala based on Gajiwala wherein the parameter of the haptic output is retrieved from a stored set of parameters associated with respective possible selections of the user input force threshold. One reason for the modification as taught by Gajiwala is to have an apparatus for providing suitable touchpad feedback (ABSTRACT of Gajiwala).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome applicable rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) 2nd paragraph indicated above, if any, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening, because for each of the claims 2-3 the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed.
Conclusion
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621