DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinshaw et al. (US 2004/0225666 A1), hereinafter “Hinshaw”, and in view of Kung et al. (US 2013/0166515 A1), hereinafter “Kung”.
As per claim 1, Hinshaw teaches a computer implemented method comprising:
“receiving a record from a data source at a server, wherein the record includes a plurality of fields” at [0031];
(Hinshaw teaches the storage unit 100 receive a new record 102 to be inserted into the base table 116)
“processing the record at the server,
(Hinshaw teaches processing the received record 102 by storing the record in the Newstuff 114. Newstuff is scanned to determine whether any new records need to be returned in response to a particular query)
“after the processing, storing the record in a primary table of a database on a first server, wherein the record is associated with a primary key in the primary table that is unique to the record” at [0031], [0037];
(Hinshaw teaches inserting the new record into the base table 116 at the time of low activity on the storage unit. Hinshaw teaches the records of the base table includes a plurality of columns, wherein in column include value that is unique to the record, such as “OrderNumber”)
“creating a view based on the primary table” at [0037]-[0038], [0042]-[0043].
(Hinshaw teaches creating a view based on the base table that provides the user only with particular columns, such as OrderNumber, OrderCustomer, OrderDate, OrderCost, while filtering out other information stored in the base table”)
Hinshaw does not explicitly teach “the processing includes performing data validation of the record” as claimed. However, Kung teaches a data consolidation system which receives data record from data sources and performing data validation on data records at [0024]-[0030] and Fig. 2. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kung with Hinshaw's teaching in order to ensure the data record contains correct/valid data format before storing the data record.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US patent No. 12,314,242. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,314,242 contains every element of claim 1 of the instant application, as detailed in the mapping table below, and as such anticipate claim 1 of the instant application.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Instant Application 19/193,871
US Patent No. 12,314,242
1.A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a record from a data source at a server, wherein the record includes a plurality of fields
processing the record at the server, wherein the processing includes performing data validation of the record;
after the processing, storing the record in a primary table of a database on a first server, wherein the record is associated with a primary key in the primary table that is unique to the record;
and creating a view based on the primary table.
1.A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a record from a data source at an ingest server, wherein the record includes a plurality of fields;
processing the record in memory at the ingest server, wherein the processing includes performing data validation of the record wherein performing the data validation includes determining that the record includes an appropriate number of fields, determining that data values of each of the plurality of fields match a predefined data type for the field, and determining that the data value of a particular field of the plurality of fields in the record is within predefined bounds for the field, wherein the predefined bounds are defined for the data source and are specific to the data source;
after the processing, storing the record in a primary table of a database on a first storage server, wherein the record is associated with a primary key in the primary table that is unique to the record;
and creating a view based on the primary table;
updating the view automatically at a determined refresh cycle; determining the refresh cycle by: determining a time lag between the processing the record in memory at the ingest server and an operation that accesses the view; setting the refresh cycle to be real-time when the time lag is lower than a threshold; and setting the refresh cycle to be a periodic time interval when the time lag is not lower than the threshold.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/KHANH B PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166
February 9, 2026