DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rao (CN 216980026 U).
Rao teaches a support component for bonding a flexible inner screen and a curved outer screen, the support component comprising: a base (2) and an elastic body (1) arranged on an upper side of the base and configured to support the flexible inner screen (See Figures; [n0035]-[n0036]). The base and elastic body read on the instantly claimed base and flexible support table arranged on one side of the base in a first direction, respectively. The elastic body includes the instantly claimed components as labeled in the figure below:
Regarding claims 2-3, the recessed portion of Rao includes two steps, with the step closer to the main body portion having a lesser distance from the abutting surface (See Figures).
Regarding claim 4, a portion of the arc-shaped surface of Rao which has the greatest curvature extends over an outermost step as shown in Fig. 4, which meets the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the outermost step is connected to an edge of the arc-shaped support surface (See Figures).
Regarding claim 6, Rao teaches that the supporting component is utilized for a four-curved screen such that each of four edges of the elastic body includes an arc-shaped surface with bent corner portions connecting the arc-shaped edges (See Figures; [n0006]).
Claims 1, 7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2022/0063179).
Zhang teaches a supporting component comprising a base (10) on a supporting platform (70) and a flexible pressing mold (40) arranged on an upper side of the base and configured to support a flexible inner screen (See Figures; [0020]-[0021]). The base and supporting platform of Zhang collectively read on the instantly claimed base. The flexible pressing mold reads on the instantly claimed flexible support table arranged on one side of the base in a first direction. The flexible pressing mold comprises the instantly claimed components as labeled in the figure below:
Regarding claims 7 and 9, the recessed portion of the abutting surface includes a groove with an opening in which a protrusion of the base is positioned (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, either of the arc-shaped portions and its corresponding groove may be considered a first arc-shaped portion and first groove, respectively, which satisfies the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the grooves taught by Zhang extend along a longitudinal direction of the flexible pressing mold, which may be considered a third direction as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches a second arc-shaped portion and a corresponding second groove disposed therein, wherein the groove extends in the form of a strip (See Figures). The side of the main body on which the second groove is positioned is considered to meet the third direction, while the direction of extension of the second groove corresponds to the claimed second direction.
Regarding claims 13-14, the arc-shaped portion taught by Zhang may be divided into first and second support surfaces which are arranged side-by-side and have different curvatures such that the groove has a width greater than that of the first support surface as labeled in the figure below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2022/0063179).
Zhang teaches a support component, as detailed above. Regarding claim 8, the groove of Zhang is spaced apart from the arc-shaped portion (See Figures).
Zhang does not expressly disclose a depth of the groove. The selection of a groove dimension is a routine matter of design choice which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. Absent any showing that such a depth materially modifies the operation of the support component, the mere selection of a particular dimension does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2022/0063179) in view of Rao (CN 216980026 U).
Zhang teaches a support component, as detailed above. The base (10,70) of Zhang comprises first and second bearing surfaces which support the main body portion and the arc-shaped portion, respectively (See Fig. 4).
Zhang does not expressly disclose the second bearing surface in the form of a step which gradually increases as in a direction away from the first bearing surface as claimed.
Rao teaches a support component, as detailed above. The base of Rao comprises first and second bearing surfaces which support the main body portion and the arc-shaped portion, respectively, wherein the second bearing surface is stepped and gradually increases in a direction away from the first bearing surface (See Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a stepped second bearing surface in the support component of Zhang since Rao teaches that such a structure was recognized in the prior art as being suitable for such a purpose.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either one of Zhang (US 2022/0063179) or Rao (CN 216980026 U) in view of Kim (US 2021/0323293).
Zhang and Rao each anticipate the support component of claim 1, as detailed above.
Neither Zhang nor Rao expressly discloses a pressing table comprising a receiving recess configured to receive a curved cover plate, wherein an opening of the recess faces the support component.
Kim teaches a lamination apparatus (200) for bonding a curved window (110) on a display panel (120), the apparatus comprising a lower jig (230), a pad (220) disposed on an upper surface of the lower jig and configured to support the display panel, and an upper jig (210), wherein the upper jig includes an accommodation groove (210RH) which has an opening facing the lower jig and pad and configured to receive the curved window (See Figures; [0069]-[0072]; [0078]-[0084]). The lamination apparatus, curved window, upper jig, and accommodation groove read on the instantly claimed lamination device, curved cover plate, pressing table, and receiving recess, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the upper jig taught by Kim with the support component taught by Zhang or Rao in order to provide necessary pressing force during lamination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As of the date of this Office action, Examiner has not identified any reference or combination of references which would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of Zhang or Rao to include the features of claims 16-19.
Conclusion
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746