DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202410543721.0, filed on 04/30/2024.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0021] and [0032]: As written it reads “[…] the side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms a accommodation cavity”. However, to be grammatically correct “a accommodation cavity should be “an accommodation cavity”.
[0074]: As written it reads “For another example, as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, in some embodiments, the coupling fluid cavity structure 10 includes an acoustic window 100, a coupling fluid compensating member 400, and a transducer base500, which together enclose the coupling fluid cavity 11”. However, to correct the typo, “base500” should be “base 500”.
[0098]: As written it reads “Gas within the drive component installation cavity601 or from the atmospheric environment can enter the cavity structure of the coupling member 400 through the vent 520, providing pressure support to the coupling fluid compensating member 400”. However, to correct the typo “cavity601” should be “cavity 601”.
[0101]: As written it reads “In some embodiments, the shortest distance between any point on the second profiling surface511 and the corresponding point on the second profiled surface is equal”. However, to correct the typo “surface511” should be “surface 511”.
[0119]: As written it reads “In some embodiments, the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface420 and the corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 10mm,.[…] the third profiling surface420 and the corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 2mm […] the third profiling surface420”. However, to correct the typos, each instance of “surface420” should be “surface 420”.
[0122]: As written it reads “The device includes an ultrasonic hos and the ultrasonic probe 1 as described in any of the aforementioned embodiments”. However, the examiner believes “hos” is a typo which could be “housing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 3, 16 and 17, as written they read “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and the corresponding point on the first profiled surface is less than or equal to 10mm” (Claim 3); “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and the corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 10mm” (Claim 16); “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and the corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 2mm” (Claim 17). However, to correct the typos “10mm” should be “10 mm” and “2mm” should be “2 mm”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Steininger et al. US 2003/0055338 A1 “Steininger”.
Regarding claim 1, Steininger teaches “An ultrasonic probe, comprising:” (“An embodiment of the present invention is shown in FIG. 1 and comprises a scan probe 10, such as a 3D probe or a 3D real-time probe, having a housing 14 and a transducer array 17 in the housing 14 […] An ultrasound system 19, shown schematically, controls the transducer array 17” [0015]. Therefore, since the scan probe 10 includes the transducer array 17 which is controlled by the ultrasound system 19, the scan probe 10 represents an ultrasonic probe.);
“a transducer configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals” (“To acquire a 2D image, the transducer array 17 is rotated to a position within the available field of sweep angles corresponding to a position at which an operator desires to obtain an image. Once the transducer array 17 has been rotated to a desired scan plane, the transducer array 17 is held at the desired scan plane while images are obtained” [0020]. In order to obtain an image along a desired scan plane, the transducer array 17 must transmit and receive ultrasonic signals. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer (i.e. transducer array 17 configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals.);
“an acoustic window” (“The housing 14 includes an acoustic window portion 43 that allows ultrasound beams and echoes to pass through the housing 14 at that location. The window portion 43 spans an entire range of motion of the transducer array 17” [0018]. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes an acoustic window (i.e. acoustic window portion 43).);
“a transducer base, wherein the transducer is mounted on the transducer base” (“The housing includes a cavity in which the transducer array 17 is mounted” [0015]. Therefore, since the transducer array 17 is mounted within the cavity, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer base, wherein the transducer (i.e. transducer array 17) is mounted on the transducer base.);
“a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the acoustic window, the transducer base and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid, and the transducer is disposed in a swingable manner within the coupling fluid cavity” (“Coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10. The coupling fluid 47 provides special acoustic impedance from the surface of the transducer array 17 to the body of the patient to improve image quality. The transducer array 17 oscillates when driven by the stepper motor 37 and the gear 21. The drive shaft 24, driven by the stepper motor 37, thus moves the transducer array 17 along an arc as the drive shaft 24 rotates around the pivotal axis 42” [0018]; “The housing includes a cavity in which the transducer array 17 is mounted. The cavity is sufficiently large and appropriately shaped to permit arcuate movement of the transducer array 17, such as along an arc of 135 degrees” [0015]. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. coupling fluid 47), wherein the acoustic window (i.e. 43), the transducer base (i.e. to which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015] above), and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid, and the transducer (i.e. array 17) is disposed in a swingable manner within the coupling fluid cavity (i.e. between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10).); and
“a transducer driving component configured to drive the transducer to swing” (“The drive shaft 24 pivotally supports the transducer array 17 to enable movement of the transducer array 17 laterally (with respect to a longitudinal axis of the array) along an arc. The drive shaft 24 includes an outer end to which a drive gear 21 is mounted. The gear 21 is coupled to a motor 28 by a drive belt 33. The motor 28 may be a stepper motor 37, which allows precise increments of rotation, enabling an operator to position the transducer array 17 at any desired angle” [0015]. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24 in conjunction with the gear 21, motor 28/stepper motor 37, and drive belt 33) configured to drive the transducer to swing (i.e. laterally along an arc, with respect to the longitudinal axis 18, see FIG. 1).);
“wherein a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing, at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member is disposed between the swing trajectory and the transducer base, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the coupling fluid compensating member serves as a first profiled surface, and the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one first profiling surface that faces the first profiled surface, the first profiling surface and the first profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other” (See [0015] and [0018] above. The swing trajectory (i.e. arc along scan plane 54, shown in FIG. 1) is generated while the transducer is driven to swing (i.e. by the drive shaft 24). In this case, since the coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10, including the window portion 43 that it spans the entire range of motion of the transducer array 17, at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member is disposed between the swing trajectory and the transducer base (i.e. on which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]). Furthermore, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. smaller arc within the central scan plane 54) serves as a first profiled surface, and the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) has at least one first profiling surface that faces the first profiled surface, the first profiling surface and the first profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other.).
Regarding claim 2, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein a shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and a corresponding point on the first profiled surface is equal” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the shape of the central scan plane 54 matches that of the transducer array 17 (i.e. to which the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. compensating flid 47) containing the profiling surface attaches). Therefore, a shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and a corresponding point on the first profiled surface is equal.).
Regarding claim 3, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and the corresponding point on the first profiled surface is less than or equal to 10mm” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the shape of the central scan plane 54 matches that of the transducer array 17 (i.e. to which the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. compensating flid 47) containing the profiling surface attaches). Therefore, the shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and a corresponding point on the first profiled surface is less than or equal to 10 mm.).
Regarding claim 4, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein a surface of the transducer facing the transducer base is defined as a transducer bottom surface, at least a portion of the transducer bottom surface is concave towards an interior of the transducer to form an inner concave surface, and at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface” (“The transducer array 17 is relatively small and curved, and oscillates around a central portion 51 of the scan probe 10 which is very close to the inside tip of the scan probe 10” [0019]. This curved shape of the transducer array 17 is shown in FIG. 1. Therefore, a surface of the transducer (i.e. 17) facing the transducer base (i.e. to which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]) is defined as a transducer bottom surface, at least a portion of the transducer bottom surface is concave towards an interior of the transducer to form an inner concave surface, and at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface (see FIG. 1).).
Regarding claim 5, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein each of the at least one first profiling surface is an arc surface whose central axis is a swing axis of the transducer” (“The scan probe 10 may be held stationary at one angle relative to a patient, while the transducer array 17 moves the scan plane away from a central scan plane 54 of the scan probe 10. Hence, the scan plane is positionable at an oblique angle with respect to the central scan plane 54 and scan probe 10. The central scan plane 54 is substantially parallel to, and includes, the pivotal axis 42 and the longitudinal axis 18 of the housing 14” [0021]. As shown in FIG. 1, the smaller arc in the central scan plane 54 represents the first profiling surface. Therefore each of the at least one first profiling surface is an arc surface whose central axis (i.e. corresponding to the central scan plane 54) is a swing axis of the transducer (i.e. transducer array 17).).
Regarding claim 8, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer, the protruding part has a second profiling surface, and at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the protruding part serves as a second profiled surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other” (See [0019] as discussed with respect to claim 4 above. In this case, in order for the transducer array 17 to have a curved shape, as shown in FIG. 1, it must conform to that shape of the transducer base (i.e. to which it is mounted, see [0015]). Therefore, the transducer base has a protruding part the protrudes towards the transducer, the protruding part having a second profiling surface and at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory (i.e. smaller arc of the central scan plane 54, see FIG. 1) that faces the protruding part (i.e. of the transducer base to which the transducer array 17 is mounted) serves as a second profiled surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape (i.e. arc) and disposed opposite to each other.).
Regarding claim 9, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 8 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the transducer driving component is disposed on a side of the transducer base away from the transducer, a side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms an accommodation cavity, and at least a portion of the transducer driving component is accommodated within the accommodation cavity” (“When the motor 28 is operated, the drive belt 33 is rotated and the gear 21 is turned. The rotating gear 21 rotates the drive shaft 24 that rotates the transducer array 17. More generally, the transducer array 17 is mounted on a mechanism, such as the drive shaft 24, that defines a pivotable axis 42 around which the transducer array 17 may oscillate” [0017]. As shown in FIG. 1, the drive shaft 24 (i.e. along with the rotating gear 21, drive belt 33, motor 28/stepper motor 37) are located below the transducer array 17 (i.e. which is mounted on transducer base, see [0015]). Therefore, the transducer driving component is disposed on a side of the transducer base away from the transducer, a side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms an accommodation cavity, and at least a portion of the transducer driving component is accommodated within the accommodation cavity.).
Regarding claim 10, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 9 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base is concave inward and forms an inner concave surface within the transducer, and the protruding part extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface” (See [0019] as discussed in claim 4 above. In order for the transducer array 17 to have a curved shape as shown in FIG. 1, at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base must be concave inward and form an inner concave surface within the transducer. Furthermore, the protruding part (i.e. of the transducer base) must extend into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface to allow the transducer array 17 to conform to the shape of the transducer base (i.e. to which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]). Therefore, at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base is concave inward and forms an inner concave surface within the transducer, and the protruding part extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface.).
Regarding claim 11, Steininger teaches “An ultrasonic probe, comprising:” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, since the scan probe 10 includes the transducer array 17 which is controlled by the ultrasound system 19, the scan probe 10 represents an ultrasonic probe.);
“a transducer configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals” (See [0020] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. In order to obtain an image along a desired scan plane, the transducer array 17 must transmit and receive ultrasonic signals. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer (i.e. transducer array 17 configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals.);
“an acoustic window” (See [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes an acoustic window (i.e. acoustic window portion 43).);
“a transducer base, wherein the transducer is mounted on the transducer base” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, since the transducer array 17 is mounted within the cavity, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer base, wherein the transducer (i.e. transducer array 17) is mounted on the transducer base.),
“the acoustic window and the transducer base enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid, and the transducer is disposed in a swingable manner within the coupling fluid cavity” (See [0018] and [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Thus, the ultrasonic probe includes the acoustic window (i.e. 43) and the transducer base (i.e. on which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]) which enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid (i.e. 47), and the transducer is disposed in a swingable manner (see [0015]) within the coupling fluid cavity (i.e. between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10).); and
“a transducer driving component configured to drive the transducer to swing” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24 in conjunction with the gear 21, motor 28/stepper motor 37, and drive belt 33) configured to drive the transducer to swing (i.e. laterally along an arc, with respect to the longitudinal axis 18, see FIG. 1).);
“wherein the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer, a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the protruding part serves as a second profiled surface, and the protruding part has a second profiling surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above and “The transducer array 17 is relatively small and curved, and oscillates around a central portion 51 of the scan probe 10 which is very close to the inside tip of the scan probe 10. The transducer array 17 has a rotational arc that allows a wide field sweep angle and results in an increase in the area viewed with the transducer array 17” [0019]. In order for the transducer array 17 to have the curved shape shown in FIG. 1, the transducer base (i.e. to which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]), the transducer base must have a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer. Furthermore, a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing (i.e. by the drive shaft 24). Therefore, the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer, a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory (i.e. smaller arc within the central scan plane 54) that faces the protruding part serves as a second profiled surface, and the protruding part has a second profiling surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other.).
Regarding claim 12, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 11 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein a shortest distance between any point on the second profiling surface and a corresponding point on the second profiled surface is equal” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the shape of the central scan plane 54 (i.e. smaller arc) matches that of the transducer array 17 (i.e. which is attached to the second profiling surface of the transducer base). Therefore, a shortest distance between any point on the second profiling surface and a corresponding point on the second profiled surface (i.e. smaller arc of central scan plane 54) is equal.).
Regarding claim 13, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 11 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the transducer driving component is disposed on a side of the transducer base away from the transducer, at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base is concave inward and forms an inner concave surface within the transducer, the protruding part extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface; a side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms an accommodation cavity, and at least a portion of the transducer driving component is accommodated within the accommodation cavity” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above and [0019] as discussed with respect to claim 4 above. In order for the transducer array 17 to form a curved shape as shown in FIG. 1, the transducer array 17 must conform to a protruding part of the transducer base which forms a concave surface. As shown in FIG. 1, the drive shaft 24 (i.e. along with the rotating gear 21, drive belt 33, motor 28/stepper motor 37) are located below the transducer array 17 (i.e. which is mounted on transducer base, see [0015]). Therefore, the transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24) is disposed on a side of the transducer base away from the transducer, at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base is concave inward and forms an inner concave surface within the transducer (i.e. in order to form the curved shape, see FIG. 1 and [0019]), the protruding part (i.e. of the transducer base) extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface; a side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms an accommodation cavity (i.e. within the housing 14), and at least a portion of the transducer driving component is accommodated within the accommodation cavity (i.e. within the housing 14).).
Regarding claim 14, Steininger teaches “An ultrasonic probe, comprising:” (“An embodiment of the present invention is shown in FIG. 1 and comprises a scan probe 10, such as a 3D probe or a 3D real-time probe, having a housing 14 and a transducer array 17 in the housing 14 […] An ultrasound system 19, shown schematically, controls the transducer array 17” [0015]. Therefore, since the scan probe 10 includes the transducer array 17 which is controlled by the ultrasound system 19, the scan probe 10 represents an ultrasonic probe.)
“a probe base” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the ultrasound system 19 connects to the housing 14 in order to allow the ultrasound system 19 to control the transducer array 17 (see [0015] as discussed in claim 1 above). Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a probe base (i.e. connection between the ultrasonic system 19 and the housing 14.).;
“a connecting housing that is connected to the probe base” (“The housing 14 defines a longitudinal axis 18. The housing includes a cavity in which the transducer array 17 is mounted” [0015]. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a connecting housing (i.e. housing 14) that is connected to the probe base (i.e. connection between the ultrasonic system 19 and housing 14).).;
“an acoustic window that is connected to the connecting housing” (See [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes an acoustic window (i.e. acoustic window portion 43) that is connected to the connecting housing (i.e. housing 14).);
“a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the probe base, the acoustic window, the connecting housing and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid” (See [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. coupling fluid 47), wherein the probe base (see FIG. 1 as discussed above), the acoustic window (i.e. 43), the connecting housing (i.e. 14) and the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid (i.e. space between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10).);
“a transducer base that is disposed within the coupling fluid cavity” (See [0015] and [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, since the transducer array 17 is mounted within the cavity, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer base, wherein the transducer base is disposed within the coupling fluid cavity (i.e. coupling fluid 47 between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10).;
“a transducer configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals” (See [0020] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. In order to obtain an image along a desired scan plane, the transducer array 17 must transmit and receive ultrasonic signals. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer (i.e. transducer array 17 configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals.), “
“wherein the transducer is mounted on the transducer base and is capable of swinging within the coupling fluid cavity” (See [0015] and [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, since the transducer array 17 is mounted within the cavity of the housing 14, the transducer is mounted on the transducer base and is capable of swinging within the coupling fluid cavity (i.e. space between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10, see [0018]).); and
“a transducer driving component configured to drive the transducer to swing” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24 in conjunction with the gear 21, motor 28/stepper motor 37, and drive belt 33) configured to drive the transducer to swing (i.e. laterally along an arc, with respect to the longitudinal axis 18, see FIG. 1).);
“wherein at least a portion of an inner side wall of the connecting housing serves as a third profiled surface, the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one third profiling surface that faces the third profiled surface, the third profiling surface and the third profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other” (See [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. As shown in FIG. 1, the acoustic window portion 43 attaches to the inner surface (i.e. side wall) of the scan probe 10, wherein the coupling fluid 47 is located below the acoustic window portion 43. Therefore, at least a portion of an inner side wall of the connecting housing serves as a third profiled surface, the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) has at least one third profiling surface that faces the third profiled surface, the third profiling surface and the third profiled surface are of a same shape (i.e. arc) and disposed opposite to each other.).
Regarding claim 15, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 14 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein a shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and a corresponding point on the third profiled surface is equal” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the third profiled surface (i.e. acoustic window portion 43) matches with/is connected to the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) having at least one third profiling surface. Therefore, the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and a corresponding point on the third profiled surface is equal.).
Regarding claim 16, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 15 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and the corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 10mm” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the third profiled surface (i.e. acoustic window portion 43) matches with/is connected to the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) having at least one third profiling surface. Therefore, the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and a corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 10 mm.).
Regarding claim 17, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 15 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and the corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 2mm” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the third profiled surface (i.e. acoustic window portion 43) matches with/is connected to the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) having at least one third profiling surface. Therefore, the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and a corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 2mm.).
Regarding claim 19, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 14 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the connecting housing is elongated, and the coupling fluid compensating member is mounted on the probe base and extends into the connecting housing along a length direction of the connecting housing” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the housing 14 is elongated and the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) is mounted on the probe base (i.e. which connects to the ultrasound system 19, see FIG. 1) and extends into the connecting housing (i.e. 14) along a length direction of the connecting housing (i.e. between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 included in the length direction of the connecting housing).).
Regarding claim 20, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 14 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the ultrasonic probe is an endocavity probe” (“The ultrasonic probe may be a rectal probe, an endovaginal probe, a small part probe producing a sector-shaped scan plane, or a small linear probe producing a rectangular-shaped scan plane” [0005]. Therefore, since the ultrasonic probe may be a rectal probe or an endovaginal probe, the ultrasonic probe is an endocavity probe.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steininger et al. US 2003/0055338 A1 “Steininger” as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Nguyen-Dinh et al. US 2006/0241453 A1 “Nguyen-Dinh”.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 14 above. Although Steininger discloses that “Coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10. The coupling fluid 47 provides special acoustic impedance from the surface of the transducer array to the body of a patient to improve image quality” [0018], Steininger does not teach “wherein the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member” (Claim 6) and “wherein the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member” (Claim 18).
Nguyen-Dinh is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves ultrasonic imaging probes which “are compatible with such systems include a singing transducer which is moved by motorization means connected thereto through a rotating/swinging movement transformation system” (See [Abstract] and [0018]).
Nguyen-Dinh teaches “wherein the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member” (Claim 6) and “wherein the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member” (Claim 18) (“The transducer is equipped with a flexible membrane which is sealed, respectively, to the periphery of the transducer and to the probe housing, in order to provide separation of the fluid chamber. The transducer is equipped with a flexible membrane which is sealed, respectively, to the periphery of the transducer and to the probe housing, in order to provide separation of the fluid chamber. The flexible membrane is made from an elastomeric material (e.g., latex, silicon rubber, natural caoutchouc or the like) having a wave shape from the center to the periphery. The center of the membrane is provided with a hole that matches the transducer circumference and is bonded to that circumference. The periphery of the membrane is attached or sealed to the probe housing. When assembled, the transducer is capable of swinging movement over the operational amplitude thereof while compressing and releasing the membrane portion in the direction of movement” [0018]. Therefore, the flexible member represents a coupling fluid compensating member which is mare of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform (i.e. compress/release in the direction of movement of the transducer as it swings) based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member. Furthermore, the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material (i.e. flexible membrane, see [0018]), thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform (i.e. compress and release in the direction of movement of the transducer as it swings) based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. portion between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 containing coupling fluid 47) of Steininger such that it is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member as disclosed in Nguyen-Dinh in order to effectively provide separation of the fluid from the other devices within the ultrasonic probe and allow the fluid compensating member, and thus the coupling fluid/fluid, to move in concert with the swinging movement of the transducer. A flexible member (i.e. elastic, soft material) is one of a finite number of structures which can be used to contain a coupling fluid within an ultrasonic probe and allow it to deform in concert with the swinging of the transducer with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. portion between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 containing coupling fluid 47) of Steininger such that it is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member as disclosed in Nguyen-Dinh would yield the predictable result of effectively providing separation of the fluid from the other devices within the ultrasonic probe and allowing the fluid compensating member, and thus the coupling fluid/fluid, to move in concert with the swinging movement of the transducer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, Steininger in view of Nguyen-Dinh discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 6 above, and Steininger further teaches “further comprising a handle housing, wherein the transducer base and the handle housing enclose an installation cavity for the transducer driving component” (See [0015] as discussed in claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe further comprises a handle housing (i.e. housing 14), wherein the transducer base (i.e. on which the transducer array 17 is mounted) and the handle housing (i.e. housing 14) enclose an installation cavity (i.e. opening) for the transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24 along with the drive gear 21, motor 28/stepper motor 37, drive belt 33).);
However, Steininger in view of Nguyen-Dinh does not teach “the transducer base is provided with a vent connecting with the installation cavity for the transducer driving component, the coupling fluid compensating member has a cavity structure, and the cavity structure is covered over the vent of the transducer base and is connected with the vent, thereby connecting an inner cavity of the cavity structure with the installation cavity for the transducer driving component”.
Furthermore, during the examiner’s search, no prior art references were found to teach the above limitations alone or in combination with the other limitations of claims 1 and 6 on which this claim depends.
Thus, claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang et al. US 2011/0071399 A1 “Tang” is pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because it discloses an ultrasonic probe with a driving wheel to rotate a transducer fixedly connected thereto (see [Abstract]).
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797