DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Amendment
The following office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on 06/25/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent from a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 3, 16 and 17 are amended to address claim objections. Claims 1-6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments and 35 U.S.C. 102/103 sections below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 10-11, filed 06/25/2026, with respect to the objections to the specification and claims in the non-final rejection of 03/25/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the specification and claims in the non-final rejection of 03/25/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 11-17, filed 06/25/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1-5, 8-17 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) in the non-final rejection of 03/25/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The Applicant respectfully submits that anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102 requires that each and every limitation of a claim be found, either expressly or inherently, in a single prior art reference, arranged as in the claim. As explained below, the Applicant argues that Steininger fails to disclose at least one limitation of each of independent claims 1, 11 and 14, and therefore cannot anticipate those claims or the claims that depend therefrom.
With respect to Independent Claim 1
Independent claim 1 recites, among other limitations, "a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the acoustic window, the transducer base and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid," and further recites that "at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member is disposed between the swing trajectory and the transducer base, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the coupling fluid compensating member serves as a first profiled surface, and the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one first profiling surface that faces the first profiled surface, the first profiling surface and the first profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other."
In the rejection of claim 1, the coupling fluid 47 of Steininger was identified as corresponding to the recited coupling fluid compensating member. Applicant respectfully submits that the above identification is in error. As disclosed at paragraph [0018] of Steininger, the coupling fluid 47 is a liquid acoustic transmission medium that is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 to provide a specific acoustic impedance for improving image quality. Being a liquid, the coupling fluid 47 has no fixed shape and no independent structure of its own, and merely fills the available space within the scan probe 10. Accordingly, the coupling fluid 47 cannot present any shaped surface, and in particular cannot present a first profiling surface that is of a same shape as, and disposed opposite to, a first profiled surface of the swing trajectory.
By contrast, the coupling fluid compensating member 400 recited in claim 1 is a distinct structural component, which is one of the components that, together with the acoustic window 100 and the transducer base 500, encloses the coupling fluid cavity 11. The coupling fluid compensating member 400 has a defined first profiling surface 410 that is of a same shape as, and disposed opposite to, the first profiled surface of the swing trajectory of the transducer 20, so that the coupling fluid compensating member 400 can be positioned as close as possible to the swing trajectory of the transducer 20 without affecting the swing of the transducer 20, thereby reducing the size of the coupling fluid cavity 11 and the volume of the coupling fluid, which lightens the weight of the ultrasonic probe 1. A liquid medium and such a structural component differ fundamentally in physical form, in structural attributes, and in function, and the liquid coupling fluid 47 of Steininger cannot satisfy the structural limitations recited for the coupling fluid compensating member 400.
Therefore, Steininger fails to disclose at least the limitation "a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the acoustic window, the transducer base and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid," as well as the limitation "at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member is disposed between the swing trajectory and the transducer base, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the coupling fluid compensating member serves as a first profiled surface, and the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one first profiling surface that faces the first profiled surface, the first profiling surface and the first profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other," as recited in claim 1. Because at least these limitations are absent from Steininger, claim 1 is not anticipated. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that Steininger fails to disclose the limitations: “a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the acoustic window, the transducer base and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid," as well as the limitation "at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member is disposed between the swing trajectory and the transducer base, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the coupling fluid compensating member serves as a first profiled surface, and the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one first profiling surface that faces the first profiled surface, the first profiling surface and the first profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other”.
Specifically, the examiner notes that paragraph [0018] of Steininger discloses “The housing 14 includes an acoustic window portion 43 that allows ultrasound beams and echoes to pass through the housing 14 at that location. The window portion 43 spans an entire range of motion of the transducer array 17. Coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10. The coupling fluid 47 provides special acoustic impedance from the surface of the transducer array 17 to the body of the patient to improve image quality”. In this case, the coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10, the interior surface of the scan probe 10 including the window portion 43 which spans the entire range of motion of the transducer array 17. Therefore, the examiner respectfully asserts that the combination of the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 (i.e. including the acoustic window portion 43) represents “a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the acoustic window, the transducer base and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid". The examiner did not intend the coupling fluid 47 itself to represent the coupling fluid compensation member. Each instance of “(i.e. coupling fluid 47)” or “(i.e. 47)” in the office action was intended to be “(i.e. containing coupling fluid 47)”. The examiner respectfully notes that the combination of the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 (i.e. including the acoustic window portion 43) represents the coupling fluid compensating member.
Additionally, since the window portion 43 spans an entire range of motion of the transducer array 17 and the coupling fluid 47 is located between the transducer array 17 and the acoustic window portion 43, "at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. transducer array 17 in combination with the window portion 43/interior surface of the scan probe 10) is disposed between the swing trajectory and the transducer base, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the coupling fluid compensating member serves as a first profiled surface (i.e. curved surface of the transducer array 17), and the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one first profiling surface that faces the first profiled surface (i.e. curved surface of the window portion 43), the first profiling surface and the first profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other”.
Therefore, the examiner respectfully maintains that Steininger teaches the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons stated above. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) is respectfully maintained for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments section above and in the 35 U.S.C. 102 section below.
2. With respect to Independent Claim 11
Independent claim 11 recites, among other limitations, "wherein the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer, a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the protruding part serves as a second profiled surface, and the protruding part has a second profiling surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other."
In the rejection of claim 11, it was asserted that, in order for the transducer array 17 to assume the arc shape shown in FIG. 1 of Steininger, the transducer base must have a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer. Applicant respectfully disagrees with this assertion. Paragraph [0015] of Steininger and FIG. 1 disclose only that the housing 14 includes a cavity that is sufficiently large and appropriately shaped to permit arcuate movement of the transducer array 17, such as along an arc of 135 degrees, and paragraphs [0019] and [0020] of Steininger describe that the transducer array 17 is small and arc-shaped and swings about a central portion of the scan probe 10 to provide a wide range of scan angles. Steininger nowhere discloses that the base on which the transducer array 17 is mounted has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer array 17.
The assertion that such a protruding part must necessarily be present is respectfully submitted to be unsupported speculation rather than an express or inherent disclosure. Inherency may not be established by probabilities or possibilities, and the mere fact that a particular feature may result from a given arrangement is not sufficient to establish that the feature is inherently present. The arc shape of the transducer array 17 does not require the base to have a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer array 17, and the transducer array 17 may be mounted by other arrangements. Accordingly, Steininger fails to disclose, expressly or inherently, the limitation "wherein the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer ... the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other," as recited in claim 11. Claim 11 is therefore not anticipated, and Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claim 11.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that Steininger does not teach "wherein the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer, a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the protruding part serves as a second profiled surface, and the protruding part has a second profiling surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other.".
The examiner respectfully maintains that in order for the transducer array 17 to maintain a curved shape which corresponds to the central portion 51 and the window portion 43 (see FIG. 1), the individual elements of the transducer array 17 must be positioned on a protruding part (i.e. curved surface) that protrudes towards the transducer and includes a second profiling surface to which the swing trajectory, and the second profiled surface, faces. The examiner notes that protruding part is being interpreted broadly to include a curved surface (i.e. the tip/top of the curve protrudes relative to the ends of the curve). Should the Applicant desire the term protruding part to be interpreted differently, the examiner would recommend amending the claim to further define features of the protruding part which would preclude it from being interpreted as simply a curved surface.
Thus, the examiner respectfully maintains that Steininger teaches the limitations of claim 11 for the reasons stated above. Therefore, the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) is respectfully maintained for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments section above and in the 35 U.S.C. 102 section below.
With respect to Independent Claim 14
Independent claim 14 recites, among other limitations, "a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the probe base, the acoustic window, the connecting housing and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid," and further recites that "at least a portion of an inner side wall of the connecting housing serves as a third profiled surface, the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one third profiling surface that faces the third profiled surface, the third profiling surface and the third profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other."
As in the rejection of claim 1, the coupling fluid 47 of Steininger was identified as corresponding to the recited coupling fluid compensating member. For the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1, this identification is respectfully submitted to be in error. The coupling fluid 47 of Steininger is a liquid acoustic transmission medium that has no fixed shape and no independent structure, and therefore cannot present a third profiling surface that is of a same shape as, and disposed opposite to, a third profiled surface formed by an inner side wall of a connecting housing. By contrast, the coupling fluid compensating member 400 recited in claim 14 is a distinct structural component that, together with the probe base 300, the acoustic window 100, and the connecting housing 200, encloses the coupling fluid cavity 11, and that has a third profiling surface 420 of a same shape as, and disposed opposite to, the third profiled surface formed by at least a portion of an inner side wall of the connecting housing 200.
Therefore, Steininger fails to disclose at least the limitation "a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the probe base, the acoustic window, the connecting housing and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid," as well as the limitation "the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one third profiling surface that faces the third profiled surface, the third profiling surface and the third profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other," as recited in claim 14. Claim 14 is therefore not anticipated, and Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claim 14.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s argument that Steininger fails to disclose "a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the probe base, the acoustic window, the connecting housing and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid,". The examiner respectfully refers the Applicant to paragraph [0018] of Steininger as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. The examiner notes that the coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10, the interior surface of the scan probe 10 including the window portion 43 which spans the entire range of motion of the transducer array 17. Therefore, the examiner respectfully asserts that the combination of the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 (i.e. including the acoustic window portion 43) represents "a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the probe base, the acoustic window, the connecting housing and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid,".
Furthermore, as shown in FIG. 1, the window portion 43 attaches to the inner surface (i.e. side wall) of the scan probe 10, wherein the coupling fluid 47 is located below the window portion 43 and consequently above the transducer array 17 (i.e. the window portion 43 and the transducer array 17 in combination representing a coupling fluid compensating member). Therefore, at least a portion of an inner side wall of the connecting housing serves as a third profiled surface, the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. window portion 43 in combination with transducer array 17 and containing the coupling fluid) has at least one third profiling surface that faces the third profiled surface, the third profiling surface and the third profiled surface are of a same shape (i.e. arc) and disposed opposite to each other.
Thus, the examiner respectfully maintains that Steininger teaches the limitations of claim 14 for the reasons stated above. Therefore, the rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) is respectfully maintained for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments section above and in the 35 U.S.C. 102 section below.
4. With respect to Dependent Claims 2-5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20
Claims 2-5 and 8-10 depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 1; claims 12 and 13 depend from claim 11; and claims 15-17, 19, and 20 depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 14.
Each of these dependent claims is allowable for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to the independent claim from which it depends, and further in view of the additional features that each recites.
The examiner respectfully maintains that due to their dependence on claims 1, 11 and 14, respectively, these claims are subject to the reasoning provided therein. Thus, the examiner respectfully maintains that Steininger teaches the limitations of claims 2-5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19-20 for the reasons stated above. Therefore, the rejections of claims 2-5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) are respectfully maintained for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments section above and in the 35 U.S.C. 102 section below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 17-18, filed 06/25/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 6 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the non-final rejection of 03/25/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Claim 6 depends from claim 1, and claim 18 depends from claim 14. Nguyen-Dinh was relied upon only for the recitation that the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, and was not relied upon to remedy the deficiencies of Steininger noted above with respect to the coupling fluid compensating member and the profiling surface limitations of claims 1 and 14. Nguyen-Dinh does not disclose or suggest the recited coupling fluid compensating member having a first profiling surface, or having a third profiling surface, that is of a same shape as, and disposed opposite to, a corresponding profiled surface, and therefore does not cure the deficiencies of Steininger. Accordingly, claims 6 and 18 are allowable for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to claims 1 and 14, respectively, and further in view of the additional features that they recite. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claims 6 and 18.
The examiner respectfully maintains that Nguyen-Dinh teaches the limitations of claims 6 and 18, particularly with respect to the coupling fluid compensation member being made of an elastic, soft material. Furthermore, Nguyen-Dinh was not relied on to teach features of the independent claims.
Therefore, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claims 6 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments section above and the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Steininger et al. US 2003/0055338 A1 “Steininger”.
Regarding claim 1, Steininger teaches “An ultrasonic probe, comprising:” (“An embodiment of the present invention is shown in FIG. 1 and comprises a scan probe 10, such as a 3D probe or a 3D real-time probe, having a housing 14 and a transducer array 17 in the housing 14 […] An ultrasound system 19, shown schematically, controls the transducer array 17” [0015]. Therefore, since the scan probe 10 includes the transducer array 17 which is controlled by the ultrasound system 19, the scan probe 10 represents an ultrasonic probe.);
“a transducer configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals” (“To acquire a 2D image, the transducer array 17 is rotated to a position within the available field of sweep angles corresponding to a position at which an operator desires to obtain an image. Once the transducer array 17 has been rotated to a desired scan plane, the transducer array 17 is held at the desired scan plane while images are obtained” [0020]. In order to obtain an image along a desired scan plane, the transducer array 17 must transmit and receive ultrasonic signals. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer (i.e. transducer array 17 configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals.);
“an acoustic window” (“The housing 14 includes an acoustic window portion 43 that allows ultrasound beams and echoes to pass through the housing 14 at that location. The window portion 43 spans an entire range of motion of the transducer array 17” [0018]. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes an acoustic window (i.e. acoustic window portion 43).);
“a transducer base, wherein the transducer is mounted on the transducer base” (“The housing includes a cavity in which the transducer array 17 is mounted” [0015]. Therefore, since the transducer array 17 is mounted within the cavity, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer base, wherein the transducer (i.e. transducer array 17) is mounted on the transducer base.);
“a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the acoustic window, the transducer base and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid, and the transducer is disposed in a swingable manner within the coupling fluid cavity” (“Coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10. The coupling fluid 47 provides special acoustic impedance from the surface of the transducer array 17 to the body of the patient to improve image quality. The transducer array 17 oscillates when driven by the stepper motor 37 and the gear 21. The drive shaft 24, driven by the stepper motor 37, thus moves the transducer array 17 along an arc as the drive shaft 24 rotates around the pivotal axis 42” [0018]; “The housing includes a cavity in which the transducer array 17 is mounted. The cavity is sufficiently large and appropriately shaped to permit arcuate movement of the transducer array 17, such as along an arc of 135 degrees” [0015]. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. containing coupling fluid 47), wherein the acoustic window (i.e. 43), the transducer base (i.e. to which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015] above), and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid, and the transducer (i.e. array 17) is disposed in a swingable manner within the coupling fluid cavity (i.e. between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10).); and
“a transducer driving component configured to drive the transducer to swing” (“The drive shaft 24 pivotally supports the transducer array 17 to enable movement of the transducer array 17 laterally (with respect to a longitudinal axis of the array) along an arc. The drive shaft 24 includes an outer end to which a drive gear 21 is mounted. The gear 21 is coupled to a motor 28 by a drive belt 33. The motor 28 may be a stepper motor 37, which allows precise increments of rotation, enabling an operator to position the transducer array 17 at any desired angle” [0015]. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24 in conjunction with the gear 21, motor 28/stepper motor 37, and drive belt 33) configured to drive the transducer to swing (i.e. laterally along an arc, with respect to the longitudinal axis 18, see FIG. 1).);
“wherein a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing, at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member is disposed between the swing trajectory and the transducer base, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the coupling fluid compensating member serves as a first profiled surface, and the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one first profiling surface that faces the first profiled surface, the first profiling surface and the first profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other” (See [0015] and [0018] above. The swing trajectory (i.e. arc along scan plane 54, shown in FIG. 1) is generated while the transducer is driven to swing (i.e. by the drive shaft 24). In this case, since the coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10, including the window portion 43 that it spans the entire range of motion of the transducer array 17, at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member is disposed between the swing trajectory and the transducer base (i.e. on which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]). Furthermore, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. smaller arc within the central scan plane 54) serves as a first profiled surface, and the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) has at least one first profiling surface that faces the first profiled surface, the first profiling surface and the first profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other.).
Regarding claim 2, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein a shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and a corresponding point on the first profiled surface is equal” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the shape of the central scan plane 54 matches that of the transducer array 17 (i.e. to which the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. compensating flid 47) containing the profiling surface attaches). Therefore, a shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and a corresponding point on the first profiled surface is equal.).
Regarding claim 3, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and the corresponding point on the first profiled surface is less than or equal to 10mm” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the shape of the central scan plane 54 matches that of the transducer array 17 (i.e. to which the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. compensating flid 47) containing the profiling surface attaches). Therefore, the shortest distance between any point on the first profiling surface and a corresponding point on the first profiled surface is less than or equal to 10 mm.).
Regarding claim 4, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein a surface of the transducer facing the transducer base is defined as a transducer bottom surface, at least a portion of the transducer bottom surface is concave towards an interior of the transducer to form an inner concave surface, and at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface” (“The transducer array 17 is relatively small and curved, and oscillates around a central portion 51 of the scan probe 10 which is very close to the inside tip of the scan probe 10” [0019]. This curved shape of the transducer array 17 is shown in FIG. 1. Therefore, a surface of the transducer (i.e. 17) facing the transducer base (i.e. to which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]) is defined as a transducer bottom surface, at least a portion of the transducer bottom surface is concave towards an interior of the transducer to form an inner concave surface, and at least a portion of the coupling fluid compensating member extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface (see FIG. 1).).
Regarding claim 5, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein each of the at least one first profiling surface is an arc surface whose central axis is a swing axis of the transducer” (“The scan probe 10 may be held stationary at one angle relative to a patient, while the transducer array 17 moves the scan plane away from a central scan plane 54 of the scan probe 10. Hence, the scan plane is positionable at an oblique angle with respect to the central scan plane 54 and scan probe 10. The central scan plane 54 is substantially parallel to, and includes, the pivotal axis 42 and the longitudinal axis 18 of the housing 14” [0021]. As shown in FIG. 1, the smaller arc in the central scan plane 54 represents the first profiling surface. Therefore each of the at least one first profiling surface is an arc surface whose central axis (i.e. corresponding to the central scan plane 54) is a swing axis of the transducer (i.e. transducer array 17).).
Regarding claim 8, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer, the protruding part has a second profiling surface, and at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the protruding part serves as a second profiled surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other” (See [0019] as discussed with respect to claim 4 above. In this case, in order for the transducer array 17 to have a curved shape, as shown in FIG. 1, it must conform to that shape of the transducer base (i.e. to which it is mounted, see [0015]). Therefore, the transducer base has a protruding part the protrudes towards the transducer, the protruding part having a second profiling surface and at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory (i.e. smaller arc of the central scan plane 54, see FIG. 1) that faces the protruding part (i.e. of the transducer base to which the transducer array 17 is mounted) serves as a second profiled surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape (i.e. arc) and disposed opposite to each other.).
Regarding claim 9, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 8 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the transducer driving component is disposed on a side of the transducer base away from the transducer, a side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms an accommodation cavity, and at least a portion of the transducer driving component is accommodated within the accommodation cavity” (“When the motor 28 is operated, the drive belt 33 is rotated and the gear 21 is turned. The rotating gear 21 rotates the drive shaft 24 that rotates the transducer array 17. More generally, the transducer array 17 is mounted on a mechanism, such as the drive shaft 24, that defines a pivotable axis 42 around which the transducer array 17 may oscillate” [0017]. As shown in FIG. 1, the drive shaft 24 (i.e. along with the rotating gear 21, drive belt 33, motor 28/stepper motor 37) are located below the transducer array 17 (i.e. which is mounted on transducer base, see [0015]). Therefore, the transducer driving component is disposed on a side of the transducer base away from the transducer, a side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms an accommodation cavity, and at least a portion of the transducer driving component is accommodated within the accommodation cavity.).
Regarding claim 10, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 9 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base is concave inward and forms an inner concave surface within the transducer, and the protruding part extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface” (See [0019] as discussed in claim 4 above. In order for the transducer array 17 to have a curved shape as shown in FIG. 1, at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base must be concave inward and form an inner concave surface within the transducer. Furthermore, the protruding part (i.e. of the transducer base) must extend into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface to allow the transducer array 17 to conform to the shape of the transducer base (i.e. to which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]). Therefore, at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base is concave inward and forms an inner concave surface within the transducer, and the protruding part extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface.).
Regarding claim 11, Steininger teaches “An ultrasonic probe, comprising:” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, since the scan probe 10 includes the transducer array 17 which is controlled by the ultrasound system 19, the scan probe 10 represents an ultrasonic probe.);
“a transducer configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals” (See [0020] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. In order to obtain an image along a desired scan plane, the transducer array 17 must transmit and receive ultrasonic signals. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer (i.e. transducer array 17 configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals.);
“an acoustic window” (See [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes an acoustic window (i.e. acoustic window portion 43).);
“a transducer base, wherein the transducer is mounted on the transducer base” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, since the transducer array 17 is mounted within the cavity, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer base, wherein the transducer (i.e. transducer array 17) is mounted on the transducer base.),
“the acoustic window and the transducer base enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid, and the transducer is disposed in a swingable manner within the coupling fluid cavity” (See [0018] and [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Thus, the ultrasonic probe includes the acoustic window (i.e. 43) and the transducer base (i.e. on which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]) which enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid (i.e. 47), and the transducer is disposed in a swingable manner (see [0015]) within the coupling fluid cavity (i.e. between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10).); and
“a transducer driving component configured to drive the transducer to swing” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24 in conjunction with the gear 21, motor 28/stepper motor 37, and drive belt 33) configured to drive the transducer to swing (i.e. laterally along an arc, with respect to the longitudinal axis 18, see FIG. 1).);
“wherein the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer, a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory that faces the protruding part serves as a second profiled surface, and the protruding part has a second profiling surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above and “The transducer array 17 is relatively small and curved, and oscillates around a central portion 51 of the scan probe 10 which is very close to the inside tip of the scan probe 10. The transducer array 17 has a rotational arc that allows a wide field sweep angle and results in an increase in the area viewed with the transducer array 17” [0019]. In order for the transducer array 17 to have the curved shape shown in FIG. 1, the transducer base (i.e. to which the transducer array 17 is mounted, see [0015]), the transducer base must have a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer. Furthermore, a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing (i.e. by the drive shaft 24). Therefore, the transducer base has a protruding part that protrudes towards the transducer, a swing trajectory is generated while the transducer is driven to swing, at least a portion of a surface of the swing trajectory (i.e. smaller arc within the central scan plane 54) that faces the protruding part serves as a second profiled surface, and the protruding part has a second profiling surface, the second profiling surface and the second profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other.).
Regarding claim 12, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 11 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein a shortest distance between any point on the second profiling surface and a corresponding point on the second profiled surface is equal” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the shape of the central scan plane 54 (i.e. smaller arc) matches that of the transducer array 17 (i.e. which is attached to the second profiling surface of the transducer base). Therefore, a shortest distance between any point on the second profiling surface and a corresponding point on the second profiled surface (i.e. smaller arc of central scan plane 54) is equal.).
Regarding claim 13, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 11 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the transducer driving component is disposed on a side of the transducer base away from the transducer, at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base is concave inward and forms an inner concave surface within the transducer, the protruding part extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface; a side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms an accommodation cavity, and at least a portion of the transducer driving component is accommodated within the accommodation cavity” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above and [0019] as discussed with respect to claim 4 above. In order for the transducer array 17 to form a curved shape as shown in FIG. 1, the transducer array 17 must conform to a protruding part of the transducer base which forms a concave surface. As shown in FIG. 1, the drive shaft 24 (i.e. along with the rotating gear 21, drive belt 33, motor 28/stepper motor 37) are located below the transducer array 17 (i.e. which is mounted on transducer base, see [0015]). Therefore, the transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24) is disposed on a side of the transducer base away from the transducer, at least a portion of a surface of the transducer that faces the transducer base is concave inward and forms an inner concave surface within the transducer (i.e. in order to form the curved shape, see FIG. 1 and [0019]), the protruding part (i.e. of the transducer base) extends into a region enclosed by the inner concave surface; a side of the protruding part that faces the transducer driving component forms an accommodation cavity (i.e. within the housing 14), and at least a portion of the transducer driving component is accommodated within the accommodation cavity (i.e. within the housing 14).).
Regarding claim 14, Steininger teaches “An ultrasonic probe, comprising:” (“An embodiment of the present invention is shown in FIG. 1 and comprises a scan probe 10, such as a 3D probe or a 3D real-time probe, having a housing 14 and a transducer array 17 in the housing 14 […] An ultrasound system 19, shown schematically, controls the transducer array 17” [0015]. Therefore, since the scan probe 10 includes the transducer array 17 which is controlled by the ultrasound system 19, the scan probe 10 represents an ultrasonic probe.)
“a probe base” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the ultrasound system 19 connects to the housing 14 in order to allow the ultrasound system 19 to control the transducer array 17 (see [0015] as discussed in claim 1 above). Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a probe base (i.e. connection between the ultrasonic system 19 and the housing 14.).;
“a connecting housing that is connected to the probe base” (“The housing 14 defines a longitudinal axis 18. The housing includes a cavity in which the transducer array 17 is mounted” [0015]. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a connecting housing (i.e. housing 14) that is connected to the probe base (i.e. connection between the ultrasonic system 19 and housing 14).).;
“an acoustic window that is connected to the connecting housing” (See [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes an acoustic window (i.e. acoustic window portion 43) that is connected to the connecting housing (i.e. housing 14).);
“a coupling fluid compensating member, wherein the probe base, the acoustic window, the connecting housing and the coupling fluid compensating member enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid” (See [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. containing coupling fluid 47), wherein the probe base (see FIG. 1 as discussed above), the acoustic window (i.e. 43), the connecting housing (i.e. 14) and the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. containing coupling fluid 47) enclose a coupling fluid cavity for coupling fluid (i.e. space between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10).);
“a transducer base that is disposed within the coupling fluid cavity” (See [0015] and [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, since the transducer array 17 is mounted within the cavity, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer base, wherein the transducer base is disposed within the coupling fluid cavity (i.e. coupling fluid 47 between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10).;
“a transducer configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals” (See [0020] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. In order to obtain an image along a desired scan plane, the transducer array 17 must transmit and receive ultrasonic signals. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer (i.e. transducer array 17 configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals.), “
“wherein the transducer is mounted on the transducer base and is capable of swinging within the coupling fluid cavity” (See [0015] and [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, since the transducer array 17 is mounted within the cavity of the housing 14, the transducer is mounted on the transducer base and is capable of swinging within the coupling fluid cavity (i.e. space between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10, see [0018]).); and
“a transducer driving component configured to drive the transducer to swing” (See [0015] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe includes a transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24 in conjunction with the gear 21, motor 28/stepper motor 37, and drive belt 33) configured to drive the transducer to swing (i.e. laterally along an arc, with respect to the longitudinal axis 18, see FIG. 1).);
“wherein at least a portion of an inner side wall of the connecting housing serves as a third profiled surface, the coupling fluid compensating member has at least one third profiling surface that faces the third profiled surface, the third profiling surface and the third profiled surface are of a same shape and disposed opposite to each other” (See [0018] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. As shown in FIG. 1, the acoustic window portion 43 attaches to the inner surface (i.e. side wall) of the scan probe 10, wherein the coupling fluid 47 is located below the acoustic window portion 43. Therefore, at least a portion of an inner side wall of the connecting housing serves as a third profiled surface, the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. containing coupling fluid 47) has at least one third profiling surface that faces the third profiled surface, the third profiling surface and the third profiled surface are of a same shape (i.e. arc) and disposed opposite to each other.).
Regarding claim 15, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 14 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein a shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and a corresponding point on the third profiled surface is equal” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the third profiled surface (i.e. acoustic window portion 43) matches with/is connected to the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) having at least one third profiling surface. Therefore, the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and a corresponding point on the third profiled surface is equal.).
Regarding claim 16, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 15 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and the corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 10mm” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the third profiled surface (i.e. acoustic window portion 43) matches with/is connected to the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) having at least one third profiling surface. Therefore, the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and a corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 10 mm.).
Regarding claim 17, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 15 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and the corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 2mm” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the third profiled surface (i.e. acoustic window portion 43) matches with/is connected to the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) having at least one third profiling surface. Therefore, the shortest distance between any point on the third profiling surface and a corresponding point on the third profiled surface is less than or equal to 2mm.).
Regarding claim 19, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 14 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the connecting housing is elongated, and the coupling fluid compensating member is mounted on the probe base and extends into the connecting housing along a length direction of the connecting housing” (See FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the housing 14 is elongated and the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. 47) is mounted on the probe base (i.e. which connects to the ultrasound system 19, see FIG. 1) and extends into the connecting housing (i.e. 14) along a length direction of the connecting housing (i.e. between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 included in the length direction of the connecting housing).).
Regarding claim 20, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 14 above, and Steininger further teaches “wherein the ultrasonic probe is an endocavity probe” (“The ultrasonic probe may be a rectal probe, an endovaginal probe, a small part probe producing a sector-shaped scan plane, or a small linear probe producing a rectangular-shaped scan plane” [0005]. Therefore, since the ultrasonic probe may be a rectal probe or an endovaginal probe, the ultrasonic probe is an endocavity probe.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steininger et al. US 2003/0055338 A1 “Steininger” as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Nguyen-Dinh et al. US 2006/0241453 A1 “Nguyen-Dinh”.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Steininger discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 14 above. Although Steininger discloses that “Coupling fluid 47 is positioned between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10. The coupling fluid 47 provides special acoustic impedance from the surface of the transducer array to the body of a patient to improve image quality” [0018], Steininger does not teach “wherein the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member” (Claim 6) and “wherein the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member” (Claim 18).
Nguyen-Dinh is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves ultrasonic imaging probes which “are compatible with such systems include a singing transducer which is moved by motorization means connected thereto through a rotating/swinging movement transformation system” (See [Abstract] and [0018]).
Nguyen-Dinh teaches “wherein the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member” (Claim 6) and “wherein the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member” (Claim 18) (“The transducer is equipped with a flexible membrane which is sealed, respectively, to the periphery of the transducer and to the probe housing, in order to provide separation of the fluid chamber. The transducer is equipped with a flexible membrane which is sealed, respectively, to the periphery of the transducer and to the probe housing, in order to provide separation of the fluid chamber. The flexible membrane is made from an elastomeric material (e.g., latex, silicon rubber, natural caoutchouc or the like) having a wave shape from the center to the periphery. The center of the membrane is provided with a hole that matches the transducer circumference and is bonded to that circumference. The periphery of the membrane is attached or sealed to the probe housing. When assembled, the transducer is capable of swinging movement over the operational amplitude thereof while compressing and releasing the membrane portion in the direction of movement” [0018]. Therefore, the flexible member represents a coupling fluid compensating member which is mare of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform (i.e. compress/release in the direction of movement of the transducer as it swings) based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member. Furthermore, the coupling fluid compensating member is made of an elastic, soft material (i.e. flexible membrane, see [0018]), thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform (i.e. compress and release in the direction of movement of the transducer as it swings) based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. portion between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 containing coupling fluid 47) of Steininger such that it is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member as disclosed in Nguyen-Dinh in order to effectively provide separation of the fluid from the other devices within the ultrasonic probe and allow the fluid compensating member, and thus the coupling fluid/fluid, to move in concert with the swinging movement of the transducer. A flexible member (i.e. elastic, soft material) is one of a finite number of structures which can be used to contain a coupling fluid within an ultrasonic probe and allow it to deform in concert with the swinging of the transducer with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the coupling fluid compensating member (i.e. portion between the transducer array 17 and the interior surface of the scan probe 10 containing coupling fluid 47) of Steininger such that it is made of an elastic, soft material, thereby allowing the coupling fluid compensating member to adaptively deform based on a pressure exerted by the coupling fluid on the coupling fluid compensating member as disclosed in Nguyen-Dinh would yield the predictable result of effectively providing separation of the fluid from the other devices within the ultrasonic probe and allowing the fluid compensating member, and thus the coupling fluid/fluid, to move in concert with the swinging movement of the transducer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, Steininger in view of Nguyen-Dinh discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 6 above, and Steininger further teaches “further comprising a handle housing, wherein the transducer base and the handle housing enclose an installation cavity for the transducer driving component” (See [0015] as discussed in claim 1 above. Therefore, the ultrasonic probe further comprises a handle housing (i.e. housing 14), wherein the transducer base (i.e. on which the transducer array 17 is mounted) and the handle housing (i.e. housing 14) enclose an installation cavity (i.e. opening) for the transducer driving component (i.e. drive shaft 24 along with the drive gear 21, motor 28/stepper motor 37, drive belt 33).);
However, Steininger in view of Nguyen-Dinh does not teach “the transducer base is provided with a vent connecting with the installation cavity for the transducer driving component, the coupling fluid compensating member has a cavity structure, and the cavity structure is covered over the vent of the transducer base and is connected with the vent, thereby connecting an inner cavity of the cavity structure with the installation cavity for the transducer driving component”.
Furthermore, during the examiner’s search, no prior art references were found to teach the above limitations alone or in combination with the other limitations of claims 1 and 6 on which this claim depends.
Thus, claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boyd et al. US 4,796,632 A “Boyd” is pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because it discloses “The adapter includes a probe receptacle 16 for receiving the head of probe 10 and a coupling surface 18. Between the receptacle 16 and the coupling surface 18 is a fluid filled coupler, as will be described more fully with reference to FIGS. 3-6” [Column 2, Lines 63-68].
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797