DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100237615, Cho.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses a pipe connection device comprising: a pipe including a first region (near 120) and a second region (121) extended perpendicularly to the first region; and a flange (110) including a coupling hole (111) into which at least a portion of the second region of the pipe is joined, the coupling hole including: a first part (see Figure below) including a serration (near 114) and extended in parallel with a thickness direction of the flange; and a second part including an inclined surface formed to be inclined based on the thickness direction of the flange, and extended from the first part to one side surface of the flange.
[AltContent: textbox (3rd Part)][AltContent: textbox (2nd Part)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (1st Part)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses the second part is connected to the first part at one end while having a first width, and is connected to the one side surface of the flange at other end while having a second width, and the second width is greater than the first width.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses the coupling hole further includes a third part extended from the first part to other side surface opposite to the one side surface of the flange, and the third part has a greater width than the first part and is extended from the first part to the other side surface of the flange in parallel with the thickness direction of the flange.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses the flange is formed at a distance from the coupling hole and further includes a fastening hole (115) having a smaller diameter than the coupling hole.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses the serration includes: a first surface formed in parallel with a peripheral surface of the first part; and a second surface formed to be inclined with respect to the first surface.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses the pipe includes a passage through which a refrigerant for an air conditioner flows.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses a flange for pipe joint comprising: a coupling hole into which at least a portion of an external pipe is joined, the coupling hole including: a first part including a serration and extended in parallel with a thickness direction of the flange; and a second part including an inclined surface formed to be inclined based on the thickness direction of the flange, and extended from the first part to one side surface of the flange.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses the second part is connected to the first part at one end while having a first width, and is connected to the one side surface of the flange at other end while having a second width, and the second width is greater than the first width.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 4-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cho discloses the coupling hole further includes a third part extended from the first part to other side surface opposite to the one side surface of the flange, and the third part has a greater width than the first part and is extended from the first part to the other side surface of the flange in parallel with the thickness direction of the flange.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho.
In regards to claim 6, Cho discloses the claimed invention except for the serration including a protrusion portion formed by two of the second surfaces, and an angle between the two second surfaces forming the protrusion portion is 100 to 120 degrees. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the two of the second surfaces at an angle between the two second surfaces forming the protrusion portion being 100 to 120 degrees, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679