DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Morrell et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2014/0355794 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 14, and 20, Morrell discloses a filter setting method, a filter setting device, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (See [0004]) comprising: measuring an impulse response of a room in which a speaker is placed (See [0044] – [0045]); extracting a late reverberation component of the measured impulse response (See [0059]); detecting a difference between a frequency-amplitude characteristic of the extracted late reverberation component and a predetermined target characteristic (See [0059]); generating a filter coefficient that achieves a frequency response including amplification or attenuation according to the difference (See [0140] – [0141]); and setting the filter coefficient in a filter configured to process an audio signal fed to the speaker (See [0144] – [0145]).
In regards to claims 2 and 15, Morrell discloses the filter setting method and filter setting device, wherein measuring the impulse response comprises: emitting a sound from the speaker according to the audio signal; generating a signal representing the emitted sound by picking up the emitted sound with a microphone; and calculating the impulse response based on the audio signal and the signal representing the emitted sound (See [0029] and [0037]).
In regards to claims 3 and 16, Morrell discloses the filter setting method and filter setting device, comprising: smoothing the frequency-amplitude characteristic to have a constant resolution when viewed on a logarithmic frequency axis (See [0133] – [0134] and [0149]).
In regards to claims 4 and 17, Morrell discloses the filter setting method and filter setting device, comprising: extracting the late reverberation component from the impulse response by cutting out a component after a predetermined time point of the impulse response (See [0059]).
In regards to claims 5 and 18, Morrell discloses the filter setting method and filter setting device, wherein generating the filter coefficient to be set includes generating a filter coefficient that achieves a frequency response including attenuation according to the difference in frequency bands where the frequency amplitude characteristic exceeds the target characteristic (See [0084] – [0085] and [0144] – [0145]).
In regards to claims 6 and 19, Morrell discloses the filter setting method and filter setting device, wherein generating the filter coefficient to be set includes generating a filter coefficient that achieves a frequency response including attenuation according to the difference in frequency bands where the frequency amplitude characteristic exceeds the target characteristic within a human hearing range (See [0084] – [0085] and [0144] – [0145]).
In regards to claim 7, Morrell discloses the filter setting method, wherein generating the filter coefficient to be set includes generating a filter coefficient that achieves a frequency response including attenuation according to the difference in frequency bands where the frequency amplitude characteristic exceeds the target characteristic within a candidate range of low order standing waves according to dimensions of the room (See [0144] – [0145]).
In regards to claim 8, Morrell discloses the filter setting method, comprising: smoothing the frequency-amplitude characteristic to have a constant resolution when viewed on a logarithmic frequency axis (See [0133] – [0134] and [0149]).
In regards to claim 9, Morrell discloses the filter setting method, comprising: extracting the late reverberation component from the impulse response by cutting out a component after a predetermined time point of the impulse response (See [0059]).
In regards to claim 10, Morrell discloses the filter setting method, comprising: extracting the late reverberation component of the impulse response by multiplying the impulse response by a window function that includes, in an early portion thereof, a first interval where a value is zero at the predetermined time point and gradually increases with time (See [0059]).
In regards to claim 11, Morrell discloses the filter setting method, wherein generating the filter coefficient to be set includes generating a filter coefficient that achieves a frequency response including attenuation according to the difference in frequency bands where the frequency amplitude characteristic exceeds the target characteristic (See [0084] – [0085] and [0144] – [0145]).
In regards to claim 12, Morrell discloses the filter setting method, wherein generating the filter coefficient to be set includes generating a filter coefficient that achieves a frequency response including attenuation according to the difference in frequency bands where the frequency amplitude characteristic exceeds the target characteristic within a human hearing range (See[0084] – [0085] and [0144] – [0145]).
In regards to claim 13, Morrell discloses the filter setting method, wherein generating the filter coefficient to be set includes generating a filter coefficient that achieves a frequency response including attenuation according to the difference in frequency bands where the frequency amplitude characteristic exceeds the target characteristic within a candidate range of low order standing waves according to dimensions of the room (See [0144] – [0145]).
Conclusion
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693