Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishitani (US 6817802) in view of Fisher (US 2210206).
Regarding claim 1, Nishitani teaches a liquid applicator device for dispensing a liquid, comprising: a liquid container (3) extending between a closed end and an open end; a closure (4) extending from a closure inner end and a closure outer end; said closure inner end of said closure engaging with said open end of said liquid container; an applicator tip (5) extending between an inner end and an outer end; said applicator tip slidably engaging within said closure outer end of said closure (Figs. 1 and 3); a dispensing mechanism defining a valve body (9), an outer end and a valve body hollow (91); said dispensing mechanism receiving the liquid from said liquid container; a valve element (6) extending between a valve element inner end and a valve element outer end; a flared peripheral (64) shoulder coupled to said valve element; an expansion device (8) engaging said valve body and said valve element inner end of said valve element for impressing said flared peripheral shoulder against said valve body hollow and preventing the liquid from exiting said dispensing mechanism (Fig. 1); said applicator tip displaced inwardly relative to said closure outer end of said closure and displacing said valve element for disengaging said flared peripheral shoulder from said valve hollow body and permitting the flow of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism and through and around said applicator tip (Fig. 3).
Nishitani does not teach that said flared peripheral shoulder includes a non-linear protrusion for providing a multi-angular sealing surface between said flared peripheral shoulder against said valve body hollow and preventing leakage of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism.
Fisher teaches a flared peripheral shoulder that includes a non-linear protrusion (23) for providing a multi-angular sealing surface between said flared peripheral shoulder against a valve body hollow (18) and preventing leakage of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the flared shoulder of Nishitani with the flared shoulder of Fisher that includes a non-linear protrusion for providing a multi-angular sealing surface between said flared peripheral shoulder against said valve body hollow and preventing leakage of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism, wherein doing so would merely have been a matter of simple substitution of one known shoulder for another with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nishitani and Fisher teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 1, wherein said non-linear protrusion includes a bulbous protrusion (Fisher Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nishitani and Fisher teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 1, wherein said non-linear protrusion includes a spherical cup protrusion (Fisher Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nishitani and Fisher teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 1, wherein said non-linear protrusion includes a bell-shaped protrusion (Fisher Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nishitani and Fisher teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 1, wherein said non-linear protrusion includes an arcuate shape protrusion (Fisher Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nishitani and Fisher teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 1, wherein said non-linear protrusion includes an annular convex protrusion (Fisher Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Nishitani and Fisher teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 1, wherein said valve element and said non-linear protrusion define an integral one piece unit (Nishitani Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishitani in view of Ishida (US 2016/0166043).
Regarding claim 8, Nishitani teaches a liquid applicator device for dispensing a liquid, comprising: a liquid container (3) extending between a closed end and an open end; a closure (4) extending from a closure inner end and a closure outer end; said closure inner end of said closure engaging with said open end of said liquid container; an applicator tip (5) extending between an inner end and an outer end; said applicator tip slidably engaging within said closure outer end of said closure; a dispensing mechanism defining a valve body (9), an outer end and a valve body hollow (91); said dispensing mechanism receiving the liquid from said liquid container; a valve element (6) extending between a valve element inner end and a valve element outer end; a flared peripheral shoulder (64) coupled to said valve element; an expansion device (8) engaging said valve body and said valve element inner end of said valve element for impressing said flared peripheral shoulder against said valve body hollow and preventing the liquid from exiting said dispensing mechanism (Fig. 1); said applicator tip displaced inwardly relative to said closure outer end of said closure and displacing said valve element for disengaging said flared peripheral shoulder from said valve hollow body and permitting the flow of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism and through and around said applicator tip (Fig. 3)
Nishitani does not teach a valve flow regulator coupled to said valve element for controlling the flow of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism.
Ishida teaches a valve flow regulator (5e) coupled to a valve element (5) for controlling the flow of liquid from a dispensing mechanism.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the valve element of Nishitani to have a valve flow regulator coupled to said valve element for controlling the flow of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism as taught by Ishida for the purpose of guiding fluid to the application tip from the valve body (Ishida, ¶0053).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nishitani and Ishida teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 8, wherein said valve flow regulator is coupled between said flared peripheral shoulder and said valve element outer end (Ishida Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Nishitani and Ishida teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 9, wherein said valve flow regulator includes a plurality of ribs (Ishida 5d) defining a plurality of flow channels (Ishida 5e); and said plurality of flow channels receiving the liquid and restricting the flow of the liquid to said applicator tip.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Nishitani and Ishida teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 10, wherein said plurality of ribs extend from an inner rib end and an outer rib end; and said outer rib end of said plurality of ribs defining a linear matrix support surface for equally distributing the contact area between said valve element outer end and said inner end of said applicator tip (Ishida Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Nishitani and Ishida teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 8, wherein said valve flow regulator includes a geometric cross section structure (Ishida Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Nishitani and Ishida teaches the liquid applicator device as set forth in claim 8, wherein said valve element and said valve flow regulator define an integral one piece unit (See Nishitani Fig. 1 and Ishida Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishitani in view of Fisher and Ishida.
Regarding claim 14, Nishitani teaches a liquid applicator device for dispensing a liquid, comprising: a liquid container (3) extending between a closed end and an open end; a closure (4) extending from a closure inner end and a closure outer end; said closure inner end of said closure engaging with said open end of said liquid container; an applicator tip (5) extending between an inner end and an outer end; said applicator tip slidably engaging within said closure outer end of said closure; a dispensing mechanism defining a valve body (9), an outer end and a valve body hollow (91); said dispensing mechanism receiving the liquid from said liquid container; a valve element (6) extending between a valve element inner end and a valve element outer end; a flared peripheral shoulder (64) coupled to said valve element; an expansion device (8) engaging said valve body and said valve element inner end of said valve element for impressing said flared peripheral shoulder against said valve body hollow and preventing the liquid from exiting said dispensing mechanism (Fig. 1); said applicator tip displaced inwardly relative to said closure outer end of said closure and displacing said valve element for disengaging said flared peripheral shoulder from said valve hollow body and permitting the flow of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism and through and around said applicator tip (Fig. 3).
Nishitani does not teach that said flared peripheral shoulder includes a non-linear protrusion for providing a multi-angular sealing surface between said flared peripheral shoulder against said valve body hollow and preventing leakage of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism; or a valve flow regulator coupled to said valve element for controlling the flow of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism.
Fisher teaches a flared peripheral shoulder that includes a non-linear protrusion (23) for providing a multi-angular sealing surface between said flared peripheral shoulder against a valve body hollow (18) and preventing leakage of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism.
Ishida teaches a valve flow regulator (5e) coupled to a valve element (5) for controlling the flow of liquid from a dispensing mechanism.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the flared shoulder of Nishitani with the flared shoulder of Fisher that includes a non-linear protrusion for providing a multi-angular sealing surface between said flared peripheral shoulder against said valve body hollow and preventing leakage of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism, wherein doing so would merely have been a matter of simple substitution of one known shoulder for another with predictable results.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the valve element of Nishitani to have a valve flow regulator coupled to said valve element for controlling the flow of the liquid from said dispensing mechanism as taught by Ishida for the purpose of guiding fluid to the application tip from the valve body (Ishida, ¶0053).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754