DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Penilla et al., U.S. Patent Number 11,889,394 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Penilla discloses a control display method, performed by an in-vehicle electronic device, comprising: receiving a first input from a user when a target interface is displayed on a display screen of the in-vehicle electronic device (col. 15, lines 27-28, received touch input; FIG. 7), wherein the target interface is a projection interface of a mobile electronic device on the display screen, and the first input is used to adjust a focus position (FIG. 7, col. 16, lines 34-36, user’s smart phone or mobile device is synchronized with the user interface of the vehicle; col. 20, lines 24-26, user has selected the certain application, a custom arrangement of the apps and systems on the user interface can be enabled); and moving the focus position to a target control in response to the first input, and displaying the target control in a target display manner (col. 16, lines 42-45, user can custom configure to have content from applications running on the portable device to be displayed in the vehicle displayed in a specific location; col. 17, lines 18-19, certain applications can increase in size when being used or decrease in size to enable selection), wherein the target control is a control in the target interface, the target display manner is consistent with a display manner of a focus state control in a first interface of the in-vehicle electronic device, and the first interface is a native interface of the in-vehicle electronic device (col. 20, lines 9-18, local device might be the user’s mobile phone; data from the local devices can be synchronized locally to the display of the vehicle in selected regions; these selected regions of the display can be defied by the user during customization, or can be defined automatically by the system; FIG. 10; col. 24, lines 10-13, user interface can be generated using cloud processing with the preferences set by the user, the applications, the native vehicle controls, and the customer arrangements).
Regarding claim 2, Penilla discloses wherein displaying the target control in the target display manner comprises: sending a focus state display parameter of the in-vehicle electronic device and a control name of the target control to the mobile electronic device, so that the mobile electronic device adjusts a display manner of the target control in a second interface to the target display manner according to the focus state display parameter, wherein the second interface is a display interface of the mobile electronic device, and display content of the second interface is the same as that of the target interface (col. 23, lines 14-38, custom user interface configuration can then be transferred to the vehicle; network accessible storage which allows access to the user to program and modify the user interface using any computer or device; including the vehicle itself; custom user interface can be activated; col. 23, lines 43-46, user interfaces associated with application loaded on the user’s portal device can also synchronize to the display screens of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 3, Penilla discloses wherein displaying the target control in the target display manner comprises: sending a control name of the target control to the mobile electronic device, so that the mobile electronic device feeds back target control information of the target control to the in-vehicle electronic device (col. 12, lines 9-15, associated any portable device applications to the customized configuration, the custom UI may be transferred; the transfer of the customize UI to that user account profile can include saving specific identifier information); receiving the target control information fed back by the mobile electronic device (col. 12, lines 16-20, once the custom UI has been saved; the user can then transfer or the manufacturer cloud services can transfer the profile and custom UI to the vehicle); and drawing a first control according to the target control information and a focus state display parameter of the in-vehicle electronic device, and displaying the first control in a target position, wherein the target position corresponds to a display position of the target control in the target interface, and the first control is the target control displayed in the target display manner (col. 25, lines 38-45, after the processing of stored procedure code is manipulated with arguments provided by the controller inputs visual and or sensory results are presented to the user in the view portion of the model view controller paradigm).
Regarding claim 4, Penilla discloses wherein the target control information comprises a target control icon, a target control position, and a target control size, and drawing the first control according to the target control information and the focus state display parameter of the in-vehicle electronic device, and displaying the first control in the target position comprises: processing the target control icon according to the focus state display parameter, to obtain a second control (col. 34, lines 2-4, defining positional locations for graphical user interface (GUI) items of the custom configuration); adjusting a size of the second control according to the target control size to obtain the first control (col. 34, lines 17-20, adjusting positional locations for graphical user interface (GUI) items of the custom configuration based on the learned patterns); and displaying the first control in the target position (col. 13, lines 1-2, displays can be provided with a control interface to enable the API to access the display functionality; col. 13, lines 54-56, adjusting the location and position of application components displayed on a vehicle display).
Regarding claim 5, Penilla discloses wherein the focus state display parameter comprises at least one of the following: a border display parameter, a zoom parameter, a background display parameter, a shadow display parameter, a brightness display parameter, or a color display parameter (col. 13, lines 51-54, customization is defined by the user, for example, by selecting specific applications, selecting different background colors, wallpapers, for the user interface, selecting different input interfaces).
Regarding claims 6-10, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 1-6. Penilla further discloses an in-vehicle electronic device (1906, vehicle computer), comprising a processor (1914, central processing unit) and a memory storing a program or an instruction (1912, memory) that is capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor (col. 26, lines 15-23).
Regarding claims 11-15, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 1-5. Penilla further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program or an instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform (col. 26, lines 17-23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dellinger U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0289029 A1
Dellinger discloses paragraph 0207, focus selector; while the cursor is over a particular user interface, the particular user interface element is adjusted in accordance with the detected input; focus is moved from one region of a user interface to another region of the user interface; paragraph 0209, FIGS. 6A-6I, user interfaces for customizing user adjustable instrument clusters; paragraph 0211, 600A is a mobile phone that is in a wired (e.g., USB, Lightning) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi) communication with display screen 600B and/or display screen 600C that includes an instrument panel of the automobile/vehicle, or with an external computer system having display screen 600B and/or an external computer system having display screen 600C. In some embodiments, display screen 600B and display screen 600C are provided on a dashboard 602 of an automobile/vehicle. In some embodiments, a mobile phone (e.g., computer system 600A) communicates instruction signals for generating user interfaces at display screens 600B and 600C, in accordance with various embodiments discussed herein. Further, in some embodiments, user interactions detected at display screen 600B and/or 600C are communicated to the mobile phone (e.g., computer system 600A). In some embodiments, user interfaces displayed on display screen 600B, as described herein, are provided at a display screen of computer system 600A.
Chandupatla et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0318135 A1
Chandupatla discloses paragraph 0018, receive user input to the in-vehicle computing system for controlling audio output, visual display output, user preferences, control parameter selection, etc.; received via external devices and/or mobile device; paragraph 0033, collected data may be transferred by application to external device interface over network; specific user data requests may be received at mobile device from in-vehicle computing system via the external device interface; enable the requested data to be collected on the mobile device or requested adjustments made to the components.
Zhou et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2025/0173107 A1
Zhou discloses paragraph 0342, the in-vehicle terminal receives a first operation performed by the user on a first interface; paragraph 0343, the first operation is a transfer operation performed by the user on the first interface in the one or more first task interfaces displayed on the first screen; operation may include but it not limited to a preset sliding opera, a preset touch operation, a voice operation, a preset body action, and the like.
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619