DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wherein one of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes a through hole and a base, and an other of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes at least one arm (claim 2, see 112b below) and “the two arms extend divergently away from the second clamping portion and are in a V-shape arrangement” (claim 10) and “wherein one of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes a through hole and a base, an other of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes at least one engaging portion, the through hole is disposed in the base, and the at least one engaging portion is inserted in the through hole and engaged with the base” (claim 11, see 112b below), when the at least one arm is combined to the base, the base abuts against the second clamping portion so that the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion are spaced apart (claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 line 3 "to defines" should read "to define[[s]]". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “wherein one of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes a through hole and a base, and an other of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes at least one arm,” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The drawing only show the first connection portion as having a through hole, not the second connection. Likewise, the second connection has the arms, not the first connection. An alternate arrangement of parts is not an obvious modification, for example the second member has a recessed area, how can a through-hole be made? The hole would not penetrate completely through the second member as the assembling portion exists. Secondly, if the second connection was a through-hole, the first connection would have arms that mate with the assembling portion, not the second member. It is further unclear how the arms would mate and affect the shape of the assembling portion. For these reasons, both conditions of the "or" option stated cannot exist. Therefore proper remediation is required. Claims 3-4, 10 directly or indirectly depend from claim 2 and are also rejected.
The term “when the at least one arm is combined to the base, the base abuts against the second clamping portion so that the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion are spaced apart.” in claim 4 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. Firstly, from figure 4, there appears to be a gap between item 82 and item 22, so there is no abutment between the base and the second clamping portion. See drawing objection above.
The term “symmetrically connected” in claim 7 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. What does the modifier “symmetrically” add to the term connected? It is unclear. It appears that these features are connected to the top wall. From figure 9 it doesn’t appear that the features are even symmetrical with one another, nor would a connection be described as such. For example, when considering a longitudinal plane of the support bar (in figure 9), the side walls are not symmetrical relative to said longitudinal plane.
The term “the two arms extend divergently away from the second clamping portion and are in a V-shape arrangement” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. Based on figure 4, the arms appear to extend down ward. Although there are slanted lines, the arrangement as a whole is not V-shaped. In fact, there is no “V” in the shape. The oblique lines do not converge, as in a standard V-shape. Therefore, it is unclear how broadly the term V-shape is being read.
The term “wherein one of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes a through hole and a base, an other of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes at least one engaging portion, the through hole is disposed in the base, and the at least one engaging portion is inserted in the through hole and engaged with the base” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The drawing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Chiang (US 20230219209 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Chiang discloses a tool storage device including: a first member (10) including a first connection portion (13) and a first clamping portion (14, not the lip portion) connected to each other; and a second member (20) including an assembling portion (23), a second connection portion (231) and a second clamping portion (figure 2), the assembling portion (23) and the second connection portion (231) being disposed on opposing sides of the second clamping portion, the assembling portion (23) being configured for a tool to be positioned thereto, the second connection portion being connected to the first connection portion, and the second clamping portion and the first clamping portion being configured (intended function) to clamp a flexible substrate therebetween .
With respect to claim 2, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 1, wherein one of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes a through hole (hole around 13) and a base (figure 2), and an other of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes at least one arm (231), the through hole is disposed in the base, and the at least one arm is inserted in the through hole and combined to the base (as seen in figure 5).
With respect to claim 3, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 2, wherein the through hole is disposed through the base, the base includes a wall (13) and at least one blocking projection (inside surface of 14), the wall surrounds the through hole, the at least one blocking projection (inside protruding lip of 14) protrudes from the wall, and the at least one arm (231) abuts against the at least one blocking projection in an opening direction of the through hole.
Examiner Note: There are atleast two directions that can be considered the “opening direction of the through hole”
With respect to claim 4, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 2, wherein the first connection portion includes the through hole and the base, the base is connected to the first clamping portion (14, not the lip), the second connection portion (231) includes the at least one arm, the at least one arm protrudes from the second clamping portion, and when the at least one arm is combined to the base, the base abuts against the second clamping portion so that the first clamping portion (14, not the lip portion) and the second clamping portion (see figure) are spaced apart. (as illustrated in figure 4).
With respect to claim 5, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 1, wherein the assembling portion includes a main body (main shell of 23), at least one positioning protrusion (figure 2) and at least one resistance bump (30), the main body extends transversely on the second clamping portion (figure 2) and is configured for the tool to be sleeved thereon, the main body defines an axial direction and a radial direction, the at least one positioning protrusion and the at least one resistance bump protrude radially from the main body, the at least one positioning protrusion (figure 2) is configured to be engaged within at least one positioning hole of the tool, and the at least one resistance bump (30) is configured to abut an inner wall of the tool.
With respect to claim 6, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 5, wherein the at least one positioning protrusion (figure 2) and the at least one resistance bump (30) are offset with respect to the axial direction.
With respect to claim 7, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 5, wherein the main body includes a hood portion and a support bar, the hood portion is disposed on the second clamping portion to defines an interior space (portion between the two sidewalls), the hood portion includes two side walls (figure 2), two hollow portions (inner chamber of the hood) and a top wall (figure 2), the two side walls are symmetrically connected to opposing sides of the top wall, the two side walls define the hollow portion therebetween, the at least one positioning protrusion (figure 2) and the at least one resistance bump (30) are disposed on at least one of the two side walls, the support bar is received in the interior space (between the side walls) and connected to the top wall and the second clamping portion, and the support bar is not connected to the two side walls (can be considered directly connected to the protrusion).
Examiner Note: The term “hollow portions” is broad. For example, each portion is not described by side walls, so the hollow portion can be two adjacent pockets of space.
With respect to claim 8, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 1, wherein the first clamping portion (14, not including inner lip portion) includes a body portion and at least one wing connected (figure 1) to each other, the first connection portion is disposed on the body portion, the body portion includes a first side (figure 1) and a second side (back side of the first side), the first side faces the second member, the second side faces away from the second member, and the at least one wing bends (can consider fillet as bend from second/backside towards ) in a direction from the second side toward the first side and toward the second member.
With respect to claim 9, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 8, wherein in the direction from the second side toward the first side, the at least one wing is not protrusive beyond the first connection portion. (features as shown in figure 1)
With respect to claim 11, Chiang discloses the tool storage device of claim 1, wherein one of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes a through hole (hole around 13) and a base (figure 2), an other of the first connection portion and the second connection portion includes at least one engaging portion (231), the through hole is disposed in the base, and the at least one engaging portion is inserted in the through hole and engaged with the base (as seen in figures 4 and 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112b, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Search results for prior art in this field failed to identify wherein the first connection portion includes the through hole and the base, the base is connected to the first clamping portion, the second connection portion includes the at least one arm, the at least one arm protrudes from the second clamping portion, and when the at least one arm is combined to the base, the base abuts against the second clamping portion so that the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion are spaced apart; the assembling portion includes a main body, at least one positioning protrusion and at least one resistance bump, the main body extends transversely on the second clamping portion and is configured for the tool to be sleeved thereon, the main body defines an axial direction and a radial direction, the at least one positioning protrusion and the at least one resistance bump protrude radially from the main body, the at least one positioning protrusion is configured to be engaged within at least one positioning hole of the tool, and the at least one resistance bump is configured to abut an inner wall of the tool; the at least one positioning protrusion and the at least one resistance bump are offset with respect to the axial direction; the main body includes a hood portion and a support bar, the hood portion is disposed on the second clamping portion to defines an interior space, the hood portion includes two side walls, two hollow portions and a top wall, the two side walls are symmetrically connected to opposing sides of the top wall, the two side wails define the hollow portion therebetween, the support bar is received in the interior space and is connected to the top wall and the second clamping portion, and the support bar is not connected to the two side walls; the first clamping portion includes a body portion and at least one wing connected to each other, the first connection portion is disposed on the body portion, the body portion includes a first side and a second side, the first side faces the second member, the second side faces away from the second member, and the at least one wing bends in a direction from the second side toward the first side and toward the second member; in the direction from the second side to the first side, the at least one wing is not protrusive beyond the first connection portion; the at least one wing includes two wings, and the two wings are symmetrically disposed on opposing sides of the body portion; the main body further defines a circumferential direction, the at least one positioning protrusion has a hemispherical shape, the at least one resistance bump includes a first surface and a second surface connected to each other, the second surface is configured to abut the inner wall, and in the circumferential direction, the first surface is longer than the second surface; in the radial direction, a height of the at least one positioning protrusion is greater than a height of the at least one resistance bump; an outer contour of the top wall is octagonal; the at least one arm includes two arms, and the two arms extend divergently away from the second clamping portion and are in a V-shape arrangement.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20230219209-A1 OR US-20250276432-A1 OR US-20230144400-A1 OR US-20230219210-A1 OR US-20140209780-A1 OR US-20120074009-A1 OR US-20260014693-A1 OR US-20260008172-A1 OR US-20240408740-A1 OR US-20240280215-A1 OR US-20230020327-A1 OR US-20220097223-A1 OR US-20210060761-A1 OR US-20200198118-A1 OR US-20090266956-A1 OR US-20090178247-A1 OR US-11594788-B2 OR US-5467874-A OR US-9572437-B1 OR US-6070745-A OR US-5897001-A OR US-4405108-A OR US-20120096698-A1
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735